Honda’s Variable Cylinder Management i-VTEC

Honda is famous for their 4-cylinder VTEC and i-VTEC engines, but they also have V6 engines in their stables. The Acura NSX had a 3.2 litre V6 and the current shark-faced top of the range CBU Honda Accord on our markets has a 3.0 litre SOHC VTEC V6 engine with the code J30A under the hood. However, USDM and Japanese versions of our Accord (actually called the Honda Inspire in Japan) has a new i-VTEC version of the J30A.

What’s special about this new J30A with i-VTEC is it comes with Honda’s Variable Cylinder Management technology. What happens is under low engine load the i-VTEC system disables 1 of the two cylinder banks, effectively turning the engine into a 1.5 litre inline-3 instead of a 3.0 litre v6. What Honda defines as low engine load is actually a mixture of vehicle speed, engine speed and throttle position patterns. The disabled rear cylinder bank is sealed by idling the intake and exhaust valves and no fuel is injected.

Now everyone knows 3-cylinder straight engines have alot of vibrations due to the cylinder count being unbalanced. What happens is vibration is cancelled out by the active engine mounting. This engine mounting rocks in a similiar motion to dampen the vibrations. Noise is also cancelled out with a special speaker which emits the exact opposite phase of the engine noise read from a microphone. Pretty funky stuff.

What you get is a 3.0 V6 with the fuel economy of a 2.4 litre inline 4 cylinder under normal mixed city and highway driving situations. This is approximately 11.6km per litre, compared to the Accord 2.4 running the K24A which manages 12km per litre.

Getting down to the basic performance stats, the J30A makes 250 horsepower and 296Nm of torque.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 9:53 pm

Sounds amazing but the difference is not much.

Wonder how much price difference this new technology will cost? And also wonder if the local Honda mechanics and also the non-Honda-authorised-but-experienced-enough-to-maintain-Honda-cars mechanics would be able to handle such a radical change in technology.

But definitely sounds very cool, especially when telling people about how it works.

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 10:02 pm

So, in one word, u'll get what u want at any circumstance, either pause-and-continue city driving, or smooth north-south traveling… Cool men!!! Honda – really made the term Power of Dream.

Really interested to know how a speaker can cancel out noise by outputting its opposite phase, never heard this before. Gonna find it out.

• Paul Tan on Jan 17, 2006 at 10:06 pm

We've learned in physics before what, when a direct opposite sound wave collides with another sound wave, it cancels each other out. That's how noise cancellation headphones work too.

• SEE FU (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 10:13 pm

Noise cancellation system had been already used on Japanese highway especially at Tokyo city. I was Surprised that Honda had applied it on vehicle too. Great move!

But wonder how noisy of this new Engine could be (I means normal condition without this device) if the noise cancellation device out of order.

I like HOnda engine Technologies!

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!!! Cheers! :P

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 10:24 pm

Yes, I got that active noise control had been there quite long time liao. But really surprise it apply into a vehicle because definitely it won't be cheap.

I think many mechanics would feel sucked to service this kind of hi-tech engine… haha…

• Initial D (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 10:42 pm

looks similar to MIVEC-MD. Anyone felt this too?

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 11:02 pm

Wow, using only 3 cylinders instead of all 6, and noise cancellation. All so cool, wonder how will the engine sound should the noise cancellation gadget go out of order? I like the 3 cylinder idea though, it's really practical and saves a lot on fuel.

• Jason (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 11:38 pm

Huh, why so little difference in mileage. Well, it does run cheaper than 3.0 V6 since they are comparing with 2.4.

• SEE FU (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 11:53 pm

Actually this noise cancellation system is simple. It is actually a MIC, recorder and Speakers. At first Records the engine sound using a MIC and then send back the same Signal or Waves to the engine. To repeat this proceed frequently.

But it is not easy to apply it on vehicle, due to space, environment and durability issues.

Honda engineers is great!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Cheers! :P

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 12:09 am

hmmmm….boring engine…

mitsu already use this technology in mivec-md…

my savvy is savier than this engine,it can go to 18.86km per litre…

the cygnus engine by toyota is really quiet…no need this speaker to do the job…

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 1:05 am

Honestly Syamen, you can't compare a Savvy engine against a Honda 3.0. That would not be a fair comparison =)

I believe Mercedes has something similar in the S-Class engines. But if you guys think that the 3.0 veriable cylinder engine is spectacular, wait till you read about it's hybrid cousin (the 3.0 V6 hybrid available on the US Accord). The engine will completely switch off during idling and then run on electric motors at low loads. Its not just fuel efficient, but is also very environmental friendly, especially during idling as there are no emissions. Cool, huh??

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 1:23 am

heybadigol said,

January 17, 2006 @ 5:05 pm

Honestly Syamen, you can’t compare a Savvy engine against a Honda 3.0. That would not be a fair comparison =)

shaymen said,

January 17, 2006 @ 4:09 pm

————————————————————–

hmmmm….boring engine…

mitsu already use this technology in mivec-md…

my savvy is savier than this engine,it can go to 18.86km per litre…

the cygnus engine by toyota is really quiet…no need this speaker to do the job…

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 2:21 am

Hey, if they can have noise cancellation in cars & highway, perhaps you can find similar application against your noisy neighbour or nagging "significant other", hehe….. Just imagine, your bf/gf start nagging, just shut them up by pointing the noise cancellation device against them.

A question please? The noise cancellation works only in 3 cylinder mode right? Meaning that there is less noise or no noise at all from the engine combustion during idling (except for exhaust & intake note)? Must be weird to hear only exhaust note, but not accompanied by the engine combustion sound.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 5:40 am

Actually, I read about this noise cancellation device a few years ago. I think it was Nissan who was researching this technology. The device was fitted under the front seats (mic and speaker) and it picked up the sound emanating from the engine compartment and sends back the same frequency in real time.

• burn (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 7:24 am

paul..3 cylinder vibrates a lot due to imbalance count? kelisa, kancil (not sure about kenari…kapcai all imbalance count. kapcai one cylinder only…how do they cancel out vibration?

• Isamu (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 7:31 am

Lotus was the company who invented and used the Active Noise Cancellation system.. i think they used it on the Esprit V8..

• catborg (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 4:33 pm

nissan used it in 3.0 nissan cefiro v6. They already have smooth, silky and powerfull engin already .

and already won years 'good engine' awarded .

for me = honda just another kind of copier :D

in my personal view. nissan still the best one in engine = Powerfull but economic.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 6:22 pm

nissan is indeed the leader in technology…they just built a car with non scracth paint..

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 7:10 pm

hooray to nissan..but sayang,msx project from proton is heard to be using nissan engine…sigh..now all gone.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 3:06 am

holy s**t, 520NM from the M5 engine. You could power a small ship with that =)

• ronak patel on Jan 24, 2012 at 12:17 am

yes!!!
    i got my project topic….