NAP Tax Rates

Here are the new National Automotive Policy tax rates as of 22nd March 2006.

Completely Knocked Down (CKD) Cars

nap_ckd.gif

Completely Built Up (CBU) Cars

nap_cbu.gif

For the old tax rates, refer to this image:

new_nap_tax_rates.gif

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• flizzardo (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 2:19 pm

well i dont understand..

• doodle (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 2:38 pm

Is this the 2005 rate or 2006?

• v0ices (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 3:14 pm

Hmm, correct me if I am wrong. But bigger capacity passenger cars are getting more cuts?

Or I just didn't understand what it's showing

• whatsoever (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 4:54 pm

i don't get it. why the overall deduction is more to non-asean? I thought it suppose to support AFTA after all. Besides, why the tax rate is helping rich guy that buying a cheaper big car instead of helping the middle range guy which buying small cc car like most of us here?

anyone can enlighten me? and my favourite 4WD will price increase again. WTF.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:08 pm

i almost fall down, the effective rate ( ER ) is still so high!!!!!!!!!!!

sei lo, how to die?????????

• kuntakinte (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:21 pm

errrr, paul

The 2006 NAP rates does not levy a 10% Import Tax on CEPT (Asean) vehicles but your table indicate otherwise. I have a table downloaded from the (prime minister's office) pmo website

Now, I am confused.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:27 pm

this "bolehland" is never appreciate the 'rakyat"

why when price need to be increase it happen immediately?

but why price need to go down they want to check stock first la bla bla bla?

not professional , no ethic, lack of respect..come on la the "rakyat" will not becoming rich because of buying a lower price car….please bear in mind new G under "super duper PM" increase almost everything including gas for cooking(never happen with the previous PM).

• dranoel (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:27 pm

If you take a look at the table, the tax rate is for the previous NAP announcement in Oct 2005. That's why its writen as 2005 (old) and 2005 (new). This can be confirmed by looking at the CEPT Import duty rate for cars, which has been reduced from 15% to 5% in 2006 NAP.

kuntakinte, you have the new table? Can share the link?

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:33 pm

Paul.. r u sure u got the right list??… it looks like old list..2005's list… 80% is the old rate.. now 2006 is 75%.. and your lists not like what i saw on TV…

Well the fact is only small changes around 5%.. & PM wants auto dealer to reduce the price quick.. dont act like hero la… dealers oso not so stupid.. small change lagi mau murah-murah??.. & what to do with those car in stock oredi taxed?? who want to bear the lost?? thats why auto sellers r still quiet.. dont blame them la…

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:53 pm

I doubt this too, Paul. Just unsure the tax structure same to what i read from ysday night newspaper… :O

• catborg (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 7:42 pm

haiya. TURUN pun bising.. NAIK PUN BISING.. yawn *

/ kancil and kelisa just decrease RM300+ only..

what can u 'harap' much?

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:08 pm

turun just a bit memang la bising.. petrol consumption for a month pun lagi banyak!!! this one like, lepas batuk di tangga… but i know this is one of gov gold mines.. they wont give so much.. but PM act like hero (ask price go down) after he broke my heart (petrol hike) really make me madder… small change like this not worth to wait..

wait again until 2010…

• catborg (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 10:48 pm

buat la kerajaan sendiri..

lepas tu turunkan harga BMW bawah RM20K .. gitu?

• cyborgx (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 11:13 pm

catborg

If you are not posting anything constructive, please be considerate and DO NOT post your rubbish here. Thank you.

Back to the topic, is this the correct list for 2006? I think not.Btw Paul, if you found the right list, it would be wise to put the OLD list and the NEW list together so we can compare them.Now,I m abit confused.

• neurra (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 12:23 am

mycar_stolen:

not just the gas for cooking.. gas for filling my zippo oso naik.. >.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 2:50 am

sigh… still high rate for a bike… there goes my dream of importing a Kawasaki straight from Japan…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 5:45 am

I think you need to explain how the table works

• Hilmax (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 8:10 pm

Well,well,well they only reduce duty import to -10%, duty eksais -5% and total cut is nearly 15% right. And we get overall 5% REDUCED PRICE only. This is sucks. For 2000 cc above they get bigger cut. This means all they cronies G's CAN GET THE IMPORTED CAR cheaper from now on. We see the will more mers and bmw on the road…. This unjustice to 2000 cc below consumer. There goes our dreams.

• Ricc (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 1:31 am

Quoted : cyborgx said,

catborg

If you are not posting anything constructive, please be considerate and DO NOT post your rubbish here. Thank you.

——————————————————————-

Totally agree… He's just to free, therefore wanna mess up here.

Anyway, back to the topic, the financial rates increased now. I bet the NAP is a failure. The rich will continue to buy luxurius car, bcoz they're get about RM20K cheaper. and the middle and poor class will stay the same poor way. RM300 for a Kancil/Kelisa is nothing. The sales person can give u such discount liao. RM5000 reduction for a RM90K car, such as Vios is nothing. My loan is way more than tat.. So, I dun bother to buy new car… at least for now.. :p

• shianghorng (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 10:12 pm

Isn’t it old news?