The Fast and the Furious Tokyo Drift Movie Trailer

ff3.gifSome of the must-watch movies for car enthusiasts would be the Fast and the Furious, 2 Fast 2 Furious and Gone in 60 Seconds. There was even some DVD I watched called “Dead racer”, which was not actually the movie title but somehow Uncle Ho’s minions decided to stamp that on the DVD cover. I never knew the real title to this very day. Some of these car enthusiast movies have horrible storylines and B-grade acting but the hot cars compensate for everything. After exhausting the drag scene in the first two movies, here comes the third installment: The Fast and the Furious 3: Tokyo Drift.

Synopsis:

Sean Boswell is an outsider who attempts to define himself as a hot-headed, underdog street racer. Although racing provides a temporary escape from an unhappy home and the superficial world around him, it has also made Sean unpopular with the local authorities. To avoid jail time, Sean is sent to live with his gruff, estranged father, a career military-man stationed in Tokyo.

Now officially a gaijin (outsider), Sean feels even more shut out in a land of foreign customs and codes of honor. But it doesn’t take long for him to find some action when a fellow American buddy, Twinkie, introduces him to the underground world of drift racing. Sean’s simple drag racing gets replaced by a rubber-burning, automotive art form with an exhilarating balance of speeding and gliding through a heart-stopping course of hairpin turns and switchbacks.

On his first time out drifting, Sean unknowingly takes on D.K., the “Drift King,” a local champ with ties to the Japanese crime machine Yakuza. Sean’s loss comes at a high price tag when he’s forced to work off the debt under the thumb of ex-pat, Han. Han soon welcomes Sean into this family of misfits and introduces him to the real principles of drifting. But when Sean falls for D.K.’s girlfriend, Neela, an explosive series of events is set into motion, climaxing with a high stakes face off.

Cars used in The Fast and the Furious Tokyo Drift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mango1881 (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 1:58 am

yup. it's a must see movie for this year.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 3:03 am

nice, but for more authenticity, they should talk Nihon and with subtitles LOL

• Jason (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 3:06 am

I can see some American cars drifting together. Dont tell me they trying to prove American cars are better than Japanese!

• gowin (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 3:33 am

very interesting…..must view at cenema!!!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 3:37 am

not bad!!!… i am feeling happy: june got gt japan,kl motorshow and now wow fast and furious ,man this is cool….cant wait june to come.. tick tock tick tock….

• neurra (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 5:41 am

heard some of em actors are denying the fact that the drifters who drift they're cars are japs.. they claimed that it was themselves who drifted their cars.. -.-'

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 7:44 am

Ho ho Jason, I'm so agree with you lah. Those bloody Americans, AGAIN! think that they are better than everyone else, even the Japs who invented the drifto. Khoik, PTUIH!!! (Haha, I haven't watch it and YES, I'm bashing blindly here, but hey, this is just the American pathetic way of showing off).

Nevertheless, the actions are breathtaking, and drifting up the spiral driveway is f***king awesome if it's really done by a drifter (not CGi), hehe…. I guess those American should've made Initial D the movie, huh? Heeeee…..

Jangan mara haaa….. Peace! =)

• xefron (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 7:48 am

is that a 350z?

• neurra (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 10:44 am

yeap the silver one is a 350z..

but i don't think the drift at the car park ramp is real.. i mean look how close it is both front and rear.. o.o'

furthermore the road surface of car park ramps sure like mini bumpers rite

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 4:03 pm

holy… whoa… i look forward to this… :D :D :D

• Driven2020 (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 4:08 pm

Hahaha they only can use Jap imports for the drifts coz American cars are crap drifters lol!! (well I'm not sure really, can't seem to drift well at all driving American cars at Gran Turismo :P)

Hey why not we go for lap times comparison in the Deep Forest track? lol~

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 5:16 pm

gorgous………………vry nice

• kody (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Wahlaueh…

After the movie…sure somebody will imitate the drifting style then get 'bang'… In realistic, the drifting will cause high maintanence for the car, i saw 1 in a japanese drifting master DVD… LSD need to perform slight service weekly, overhaul service monthly… & bla bla bla… & high maintenance cost… suspensions need to change very fast… & drifting is only suitable for real wheel drive vehicle.

for 100% sure i will enjoy this in Cinema. What a exciting movie to see. My blood is running hot… but my car is the bloody hell WIRA only… PLUS auto trans somemore, really miss my father's manual WIRA, with 13"steel wheels & overall ekzos system change to performance parts…. I am satisfied with its performance & pickup. Paul, i think ur 1.8DOHC even better… but maintenance wise… i 'takut' loh… "_"

• silverfish (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 6:51 pm

I can't see why ya'll bitching about them using American cars to drift. Something wrong with that?

True, Americans don't do great handling cars but with some mods and the right driver, I'm sure drifting isn't a problem. I've actually seen footage of a Dodge Viper in tsuiso battle with an AE86. So how's that? Anything is possible when you've got skills.

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 7:19 pm

Yes, Paul, it's true that the story wise… thumb down. But nevertheless as the name of Fast and Furious, it already made the excuse.

Hot, adrenalize trailer, eager to see how they twist around packed Tokyo City!

• Apai_Mau (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 8:34 pm

Eh…why don't they feature AE86? It is supposed to be a perfect drift machine kan?

• xefron (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 9:13 pm

the storyline must be not quite interesting compared to 2F2F ,but who cares as long as the hot cars and chicks are rawksss :P

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 10:31 pm

This movie will most probably be banned, illegal racing themes.

how sad.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 11:12 pm

Wahh.. drift in car park??.. can mehh?? never happened in msia yet… like the car park ve no Pak Guards.. like the cars.. dislike the immoral part..

banned??.. its ok.. u can get real live action.. u can join motorhead for Kancil Hell ride.. layan highway at 140kmp.. anybody interested?

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 11:23 pm

the drift is definitely better compares to initial d, filming point of view. But i've seen previous drifts movies by japanese, hongkies and now Americans. They still are a big room of improvement for the drifts screens… that is why I still prefer Initial D in animation.

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:28 am

The drifting is so amazingly cool! The car is so close to shaving the wall! Absolutely impressive!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 1:19 am

I saw one Malay new singer from one of the reality show…

He is driving the "Fairlady 350Z" WAHHH

good for him, I have to work harder to get my supercar.

a supercar not soup-up-car….OR BETTER soup-up super car.

• taufidris (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 5:09 pm

Paul, I believe that the "Dead Racer" film title is actually called "Autobahn Racer", German comedy race film.

F&F Tokyo Drift surely is a must see movie… :)

• El Goodoo (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:26 pm

i think some of the scenes are just 3d visual effects. I don't think some of u know that even in fast n furious, 2fast 2furious movie,. the car chase scenes are all in 3d. looks real rite?

last time my friend who studied 3d animation showed me a video on how they make the movie. All 3d animation.

the drifting scenes look a bit fake… but witht he right lighting effects, it can fool a lot of ppl.

• ilmcrx (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 1:40 pm

looks like a dope show whens it coming out in canada?

• entaro (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:40 pm

You forgot to mention Taxi and Taxi 2, Taxi 3 is a bit of a dissapointment…