French police procure Subaru Impreza WRX chase cars

impreza_policecar.jpgFuji Heavy Industries has just won a contract to supply high-speed chase cars for the Gerdarmerie Nationale police of France. Fuju Heavy Industries who manufactures Subaru cars, will supply 63 Subaru Impreza WRX cars to replace the “rapid interventio bridge” department’s existing Peugeot 306 S16 and Renault Megane Coupe high-speed chase cars. These cars could only go to a maximum of 190 km/h, but the new Subaru Impreza WRX can touch over 240 km/h, allowing the police force to keep up in the most high-paced chases where the driver of the vehicle has to be stopped immediately.

Subaru beat bidders from other French companies for the contract, and even though the police department is usually very loyal to French cars, this time French offerings were just not fast enough to match the WRX.

156 lucky police officers will be trained to drive these new Subaru Impreza WRX chase cars at the Bugatti racing circuit of Le Mans, in west France.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:07 am

And we only have Wajas here… Well that's ok since most of our policemen are lousy drivers too, can't seem to even follow the rules they are supposed to enforce. Give them a better car and they still use it to go minum instead of chasing suspects.

• Jay (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:09 am

Fuh…..i would like to see the police force here use one of this monster machine….Yeah baby "The Impreza"

Second to none !

• Paul Tan on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:12 am

We have Perdana V6 too.

• napps (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:12 am

big deal!

in australia, they've been using imprezas as highway patrol cars for at least the last 4 years

• whatsoever (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:19 am

The Fast and the Furious 4: Fance Drift :D

I seen once, police with V6 chasing ah beng car in setapak and it was right in front of my eyes. The police is very fast but ah beng is even faster. So the police end up round and round the same housing area hope to find that ah beng.

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:22 am

Singapore's traffic police has already started using WRX since last year :)

• E-Nabill (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:23 am

the imprezas thy use in australia are the 1.6 la nt the wrx! ive seen vovlo v70s and rexton oso as police cars here

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:24 am

Nobody beats the police in Italy where they use Lamborghini Diablo for their patrol cars :p

• Paul Tan on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:26 am

the rexton here is polis bantuan, not polis.

• rexis (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:54 am

Should be: TFNTF4 : France Sprint

The police back in M'sia should consider mod a few V6 with turbo, but then, perdana is too heavy to be a sport car…

"156 lucky police officers" yeahh rite, indeed…

• kody (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 1:28 am

Wahlaueh…

chuamike said,

March 31, 2006 @ 4:24 pm

Nobody beats the police in Italy where they use Lamborghini Diablo for their patrol cars :p

chuamike bro, i saw a top gear clip for test on mitsu. EVO8 MR & Lamborghini, Lam. drive by professional driver, EVO by jeremy clarkson. u know what the result… EVO8 is a super sedan that out perform better than Lamborghini. it give superb handling & performance, the Lamborghini try to keep distance from EVO but at last it lost to EVO8 MR.

• nz5000 (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 1:44 am

i've seen malaysian police using satria gti but very rare on the road..

• Ricc (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 1:49 am

Pls correct me if I'm wrong… The Waja used by our police here is an enhanced version. They're different from the normal waja we can buy. Their car is more powerful. Is it correct?

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 1:58 am

Wahh..kody, even the Diablo cannot out perform an Evo8 MR drove by the lousy Clarkson eh?

I don't how true this is. But I heard rumors that our highway patrol's Satria GTi's are actually 'supercharged'. I saw it once a this car chasing a 3-series on KL – Seremban highway just after Bangi before the Bukit Mahkota interchange. Damn fast!

Impreza WRX, huh?

• jonjwlee (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 2:55 am

The Evo VIII MR mentioned is the limited-edition 400bhp version, badged FQ-400.

The Americans use Chargers and Magnums. Bring on the V8 power!

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 3:04 am

what so ever car police have, it is still depend on its driver. first we must train our police personnel to have the skill. And then even in modified kancil also can get rid of big car if the chase is in busy street or urban area

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 3:10 am

i guess impreza ve better handling compare to diablo.. its a AWD car… & proven in WRC… so it suit as chase cars.. impreza cost double here.. thanks to our NAP.. there goes my dream car…

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 3:29 am

haizzzzz…………if Malaysian police has Impreze WRX or other AWD cars , then many ppl wil apply to bcome policeman and policewoman, hehe

• faizazmi (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 4:03 am

In new zealand police r using holden cars. smart wo..if only kat msia ada holden. alaa macam ford tu XR8 , XR6. cun…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 6:31 am

Singapore also going to use imprezzas for police use liao. I saw a whole truck load of it with police stripes being transported in Singapore..

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 7:26 am

I agree with accordmania, lamborghinis, lancer evos, impreza wrx, whatever, they are useless if the driver isn't capable of handling it, they might just end up crashing before they get the job done. That's why I said earlier that the drivers *ahem, policemen* must be capable too. And are they? I donno.

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 8:27 am

Damn it. I wouldn't mind being a policeman if I get to drive the Scooby.

The V6 and Satria GTis are police cars here… very few, and they're usually for "Peronda Lebuhraya". Same goes to the white Volvo 850's they had last time (I used to see many, nowadays it's the PV6 or Waja only).

The 'higher-performance' Waja for police force may be a lie :p Scare people mah.

• Jason (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 8:40 am

Guys, the Lambo for italian police only a gift la. They only have one and use it mostly for transporting human organs. That's what i heard. I think our police need faster cars to catch those Singaporeans and Ah Bengs on our road. Why does the SG police need WRX as their police car la?

• afhstingray (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 10:41 am

remember i posted once the london police use ordinary ford focus……….well it looks normal heheh……….;behind the radiator grille are the flashing lights and under the hood a cosworth raccing engine……….something like a less drastic version of james bond car hehe!

• Isamu (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 11:13 am

This French cop post reminds me of Taxi 1, 2 & 3.. I wonder if they use the "latest model" radar gun as well.. :p

The police livery on the this WRX is ugly..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 4:11 am

Malaysia police no need high speed cars, better give them syillings for buses.

The other day i was at SS2 mamak (some call it indomie mamak) … around 1 am in da morning. A bunch of uniformed nitwits (jpj + mppj) came to the mamak there and saman those cars parking beside the mamak.

Do they have nothing better to do? saman cars that DID NOT OBSTRUCT TRAFFIC ? fork them gao gao …. should go clear up the pot holes to reduce traffic accident and driving conditions here mar… .fork the government.

• Jason (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 6:35 am

Ofcourse, if you break the law, you break the law. Why shouldn't they saman those idiot cars if park wrong place? If let them park like that, then in the future they will do again and obstruct the traffic. Just like the idiots at Jalan Klang Lama. Park their cars on the side and cost a long traffic jam. Selfish idiots. I have seen the police saman before and it happens again.

• ariz8 (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:39 am

Definately the police had done their assessment before procure the cars they wanted to use.

1) Whether for highway patrol or suburb area. – Lamborghini might be good for highway chase but it'll be expensive to maintain.

2) Overall performance

3) Maintenance cost

4)Practicality

* Lamborghini also is a AWD cars (those models under Audi era) fyi.

• ariz8 (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:42 am

Eh, I saw a BMW police car about a month ago. Maybe for very high ranking officer.

• shaif (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 4:11 pm

Don't forget Custom's BMW 3 series that burned chasing the car and hit by a lorry. Most of Custom's car is high end, BMW, Volvo.

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 1:27 am

To Kody, i saw that video too. Imagine Evo 8 being able to go so fast and stick so close to the Murcielago's butt for a fraction of the Murcielago's price? Even though the Evo 8 didn't exactly overtake the Murcielago, it sure did cause the latter to skid and go out of control ;p Clarkson also demonstrated the Evo 8's turbo lag where it was slower than a 1.6L Suzuki Liana (not sure if i recall correctly). It took some time for Evo 8's turbo to "wake up" and overtake the Liana ;p

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:02 pm

the lag was tested on the top gear of both cars, starting at low speed, for sure la big turbo will be causing lag.

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:20 am

yup.. the test that clarkson did is not indicative of the real world. no evo driver in his right mind is going to plonk his gearbox into 6th gear when going only 20km/h.

dont forget, the subarus are popular as police cars, also because they have 4 doors and a boot, allowing them to carry more equipment, or to carry arrested suspects..etc. unlike a lambo. plus.. these "rally" roadcars are well known for reliability, and toughness. they can take quite a lot of damage to stop them.