NAP After-Effects: Honda announces new prices

logo_honda.jpgHonda has announced new prices for four of it’s most popular models, the Honda City, Honda Accord, Honda Civic and Honda Jazz. These prices took effect on 23rd March 2006. The following are the new prices for the four models. All models below are CKD except for the Honda Jazz, where the i-DSI is a Thailand CBU while the VTEC model is a CBU from Japan. Basically CKD models are cheaper now, while the CBU models have gone up abit. But then again, the Honda Jazz is classified as an MPV anyway and even CKD MPVs prices are expected to go up. New prices for the Accord 3.0 V6 CBU, CR-V, Odyssey, Stream iV and Stream I-VS will be announced later.

Model Old Price New Price Difference
Honda City 1.5 i-DSI RM84,300 RM79,000 (RM5,300)
Honda City 1.5 VTEC RM89,300 RM84,800 (RM4,500)
Honda Civic 1.8S RM117,800 RM113,800 (RM4,000)
Honda Civic 2.0S RM131,800 RM124,800 (RM7,000)
Honda Accord VTI 2.0 RM144,800 RM135,800 (RM9,000)
Honda Accord VTi-L 2.4 RM168,800 RM154,800 (RM14,000)
Honda Jazz 1.5 i-DSi RM93,888 RM94,800 RM912
Honda Jazz 1.5 VTEC RM101,888 RM102,800 RM912

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 7:34 am

Is Honda City Vtec RM84,800 is on the road price? I know before the new NAP, on the road price for City Vtec is RM89,800… , hope HM can give more discount…

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 7:47 am

good reduction

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 7:52 am

Sorry for wrong info, before the new old NAP, the on the road proce for city Vtec is 89,300. If it is true for old price (base selling price) RM86,828 and new price RM84,800, then the reducation is just too little…

• king (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 12:25 pm

i think the price should be OTR since when the civic 1.8 was launched the OTR price was RM117.8k. But the accord seems to show the price of the car excluding insurance ( at least from what i know). Prices still high coz when city idsi was launched in 2003 it was priced at RM78888 OTR.

Didn't they come out with the ruling that MPVs needed to be 6-7 or more seater or something? So how come jazz can still be classified as MPV?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 1:52 pm

Honda Accord VTi-L 2.4 for RM154,000? The reduction is way too insignificant, given the fact that there could be a face lift coming this year. Would consider if RM140,000 and below.

Dream on…The Power of Dream

Looks like we have to live with the exorbitant high tax for cars for another XXX years. Sad….

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 5:28 pm

finally Honda DSI is below 80k again.. just like the old price 3 years ago.. now its within budget..

• kendo (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 5:32 pm

city thai, china price is only RM60K!

and u can buy 2 UNITS of JAZZ at RM100K

rubbish auto policies!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 5:48 pm

kendo, agreed with you.

The NAP is actually short sleep, "nap".

Utter rubbish.

I believe many people will go out and celebrate if P brand cars "Chap Lap" "Ta Pau".

• jehutyz (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 6:25 pm

Wooo Civic just launched and now the price drop.

Too bad for those that get it alr.

Now City is back to the last time launched price.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 6:26 pm

As long as WAJAs still around, city will never get near the price.. unless POTON sold all to Honda for good… Honda for national car.. baru syiok.. i am looking forward for this kind of news….

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 8:35 pm

How do u define MPV? There must be a line drawn somewhere. Im still confused. Are models like Jazz, Atos, MyVi considered as MPV? At the back of Atos, u can see the word MFV which means Multi FUNCTION Vehicles, same meaning as MPV Multi Purpose Vehicle.

I dont understand why Jazz is classified as an MPV while generally an MPV is a 7 seater n above. Is it because of the shape of these cars? since i believe City is also a 'MPV' car if judging by the ability to adjust the back seat.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 8:49 pm

The prices are only meant to reflect the % decerees nissan and toyota gave. Its not really something worth wild is it.

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 12:47 am

now honda is really can knock down toyota with just as easy as a..b..c..

camry want compete with accord ? mmm… now way gro

altis… to civic? mmmm… way too far..little bro..

vios? i will choose city without second thought…

avanzaaaa… better don't any car

innova…hahaha.. like a floating" ubi keledek" shape.

sorry lah toyota bro.. you just can't impress me with all your models

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 3:22 am

triplesaber… why they called it MPV???.. bcoz the gov said so!!!.. thats why..

we can not question.. if they said MPV.. MPV la.. get use to it… what to do??

ps: if they said JAZZ is a van oso, i am not shock…

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 3:55 am

accordmania, i like your word "floating ubi keledek". Personally, in term of design, i dont fancy newer Toyotas as their design is 'gemuk' now (sadly, all new cars seem to have that 'gemuk' look). If i had the money to buy Innova, id buy Serena instead.

motorhead, yeah i do wonder if Jazz can b called van olso..haha, since MPV is actually a new millenium term for van i believe.. Ppl just dont call it as van anymore, too retro. The price for Jazz is already rubbish b4, and now they r dumping more garbage into it. In UK, Jazz is priced at same level as Hyundai Getz.

• kendo (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 5:21 am

in thai,china

city and jazz are consider

BUDGET cars.

• Auto seeker (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 6:27 am

Honda's price reduction for Civic 1.8 is so so so insignificant. Compared to Sentra's RM5,000 and altis's RM10,000. Come on HM, just because u think that it is selling good u try to get a bigger profit from us. This is really unfair. I feel like cancelling my order for the car and get the altis instead

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 6:53 am

I just checked at Honda Thailand website, City V MT is priced at RM52k while Jazz vtec M is RM56k. 'Demonstrasi Aman' anyone? hahaha….

• altis_fan (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 7:01 am

I agree with Auto seeker. Let's have altis instead. It is much more elegant. This civic 1.8 is expensive than Altis 1.8, why pay more?

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 7:37 am

on which part of altis can compete with civic???? exterior u all tell me who is sporty ?

spec who has more advance??

interior, who is more sofisticated…. i tell u " altis fans out there, once i also admire altis but that time is few years ago.. now i have realise that toyota is selling only its old aged durabilty products . just like flinstone 's car which is made of solid wood and stone.

pls go and think about it or u can compare it over both website

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 8:11 am

we all are losers because of the NAP as well as to protect that you-know-what car, whether you are buying a civic or altis or sentra, you will be ripped off big time. Why pay something that is not priced right? Just think of the money you actually spent, how much was to pay for the real value of the car and how much was to pay for the !@#$%^& taxes?

Something that is not relevant here, my friend bought a Mazda 6 recently and was furious (she might not show it) after reading the custom's list of CBU cars, CIF = 45,000, buying price = RM150,000+? Just imagine the amount of tax she paid, for what?

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 10:07 am

I think the HM think the new altis will come out soon, and the new altis's price may close to new Civic price, that's why HM doesn't reduce a lot for its new Civic price. I think toyota malaysia just reduces the price and try to flush out their old stock and waiting for the new altis.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 5:53 am

IMHO, this price reduction is merely hype. The ACTUAL reduction of prices won't happen until after 2010. So, guys, my advice is that if you can wait it out til then, by all mean do so. I have been wanting to buy the Jazz VTEC for quite some time now (waiting for the 2006 facelift model) and I absolutely love the new Civic, but after the announcement of the NAP, I thought to myself, screw it, the money I'll be paying for now is simply not worth it.

Let's not forget that recession is coming. Better save those hard-earned money for now.

• Hilmax (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 6:31 am

Yeah but i wonder what another scam be planned by Goverment near 2010?

I even thought those price will not reduce to no level easily. I also quite angry and disappointed when those 'cute' Jazz or Fit(in japan) classified as an MPV.

WTH, surely those G brain is misplaced on the street because i sure Jazz can even Fit with 'seven people'. Better save the money for 2010…..

• blazerSST (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 6:33 am

I wonder if they are going to take out some stuff of the car to cope with the price cuts, how are they going to cope for e.g RM14,000 loss from the current batch of Accord 2.4s.

• Maverickysm (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 8:01 am

The discounts looks pretty impressive. I just bought a Vios earlier without the discount.

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 3:35 pm

no matter what. the jazz is still going to be expensive, being a CBU from japan, and not from any of the AFTA countries. Same goes for the mazda6, its not going to get cheaper.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 5:18 pm

Just buy la now… bcoz 2010 they will use another trick.. may be special license or cert to buy Honda & CBU cars.. that will coz u RM30-50k.. as long as poton around, they will force us to buy poton, regardless the quality.. bad quality oso good for them, so malaysian will keep changing cars.. make more loans, so the bank industry oso can perform.. remember we have more than 50,000 tarik cars.. & then we will have more people go bankurpt.. which is good oso, so these people can sell Nasi Lemak & mee beside the road.. which we can eat oso…

ps: never paid attention to PM's RMK9..

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:40 pm

rakyat are the cows.. keep milking us o global conglomerate.

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:41 pm

honda_driver said,

no matter what. the jazz is still going to be expensive, being a CBU from japan, and not from any of the AFTA countries. Same goes for the mazda6, its not going to get cheaper.

Only the Jazz VTEC is CBU from Japan. The Jazz i-DSi version is either a CKD or from an AFTA country which I can't remember exactly. However, both the Jazzes are still over priced just like the Aveo & Swift in Malaysia. What the heck all the vehicles are over-priced but some to ridiculously high level of pricing.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 9:50 pm

Anyone interested to be a cow??.. hehehe.. cow Honda drivers oso ok… like public said, can support our kind gov oso.. & be a good citizen… but my advice is, dont until u become a black listed cow!! (a cow can not pay cars bank loan especially when you r jobless).. be a smart consumer…

ps:Always try to be positive with the absurd NAP….

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 11:27 pm

I had a dream…..Honda Accord 2.4 selling for RM120,000….The Power of Dream……Dream on….

• king (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:25 am

accordmania said,

on which part of altis can compete with civic???? exterior u all tell me who is sporty ?

spec who has more advance??

interior, who is more sofisticated…. i tell u ” altis fans out there, once i also admire altis but that time is few years ago.. now i have realise that toyota is selling only its old aged durabilty products . just like flinstone ’s car which is made of solid wood and stone.

Accordmania i agree, but you see their sales figure don't lie. they know more ppl will like old stone aged cars with cosmetic changes rather than advance tech. too bad ppl just don't know how to appreciate things.

• paxter (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 11:41 am

Urm in thailand there isnt any petrol subs.

unless you all agree that cheeper cars equals no petrol subs which i have a problem with is ok… then ok lah… cause if not shut your trap. Every gov policy in any country has a give 1 take 1 so you go slightly cheeper cars for slightly expensive petrol

dont compare with overseas markets cause they are truely diffrent, in the uk they pay mad Tax per yr, their road tax and other taxes are 3X higher than malaysia with out multiplying by 6. their petrol is base on the world market and for kinda freaking obvious reasons the gov there has no reason to impose high tax on imported cars

I am really sick of hearing "in the uk", "in australia" cars are so cheep but they tend to cut out the part about high petrol prices and road tax, super high income tax, and the standard of living there. When i studied overseas my friends who own cars sometimes had to not drive for a couple of days(esp during the start of iraqi freedom) cause petrol shot up so much when we convert to msian ringgit it was 5.30 ringgit per L think about that for a sec…. And when i was working in freaking mc i stil had to pay tax where else here u only start paying at 2500 above

compared to here luxuary cars are tax higher to (overall) off set the account books you think your petty taxes pays for everything in msia? think about it only 1 in 4 malaysians are eligible for income tax even then 1 in 10 dont pay up in the first 5 yrs of being eligible so where the hell is our gov going to get their money from?

Its kinda true what my economics lecturer once told me in malaysia what ever you do seems not enough to them no tax, cheep oil, cheep cars, cheep housing loans and high salary is what they want.

be greatful for what you have, and as a malaysian think bfr you open your trap

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 7:20 pm

paxter u make me sick too…

Well, i dont mind paying tax to gov.. if the money well manage la… you tell me which big project is successful???.. give me one… All fail and fail….

i dont mind oso, CBU cars super expensive, then i can choose national cars (protected).. but then the car suck!!.. all owners of gen2 and waja i met not a single one problem free.. all got problem one!! what is this?? this is cheat & daylight robbery!!

i give u a simple example..

Lets say we have 10 food stalls… 9 of the stalls i charge with a special 75% tax…

1 stall is exempted, the stall is called stall P.. i am a customer, i see food at these 9 stalls r quite expensive, some of them r ok, but stiil expensive… bcoz i am not so rich, i have to eat at stall P, i order the food & pay.. but when i ate, i found that the food is ROTTEN!!!

Would u continue to eat paxter?? if u do.. come to my house, i'll serve u rotten food…

ps: Can u dig that sucka??

• avex (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:57 am

Yes, UK ppl do pay a lot of tax. Let me start, they pay their yearly tax (including students wo work part time), their NI (National Insurance), car tax, car insurance, MOT and high fuel prices. Not to mention UK have the most expensive car prices in Europe. But let me tell you this, at least a student who works part time in UK (even Malaysian students) can afford to buy a good quality second hand car while renting a house/room. They make pay a lot of taxes but at least they got a good public transportation systems.

Our public transportations system (mainly LRT) are designed to be used only for tourist attractions, not for rakyat. At the expense of our taxes. Get my drift.

So to conclude you can afford to own a car and take the public transport system at the same time. Kapishh?

Majulah Sukan Untuk Negara.

• megahyper (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 1:05 am

I agree with motorhead.

Paxter is prolly driving a bmw and benz while working in P1 and tell you to accept the extortion from his company, so that he can continue leeching your 9 year loan and life saving and keep his bmw.

Well thats why he likes you to believe his nonsense. My brother work in UK.

Starting pay 2k+ pound net after tax. Malaysia Grads starting pay net with no tax 2k+.

1.6L Car in UK 12,000 Pound latest model with ABS etc. Malaysian car RM60,000 with 80s technology and minimal safety feature. Malaysian life is worthless. They use 2 years to finance car in UK. We have to be burdened with a 9 year loan.

On top of that, UK petrol is 90 pence/L. We have to fork out RM2.00/L. Income to income, car with car, petrol price with the same. Well they really car about us.

PLUS, I shuddered just typing the first word. PLUS! We probably have the highest density of tol booth per square KM in the world.

I can go on and on. But you get the picture.

Paxter, I will definitely support you if you help me get a job there! or supply parts to you!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 2:38 am

paxter said,

April 4, 2006 @ 3:41 am

This is my personal opinion only.

Paxter – Urm in thailand there isnt any petrol subs.

Joe Ooi – Definitely Thailand do not have petrol subsidy, but almost all of their highway do not have toll (e.g. Bkt Kayu Hitam to Haadyai), they are not compel to take burden to pay high tax (Up to 300% – up to 5%) to support P1 & P2. They are not burden by bad quality yet unsafe car!

Paxter – unless you all agree that cheeper cars equals no petrol subs which i have a problem with is ok… then ok lah… cause if not shut your trap. Every gov policy in any country has a give 1 take 1 so you go slightly cheeper cars for slightly expensive petrol

Joe Ooi – The problem in Malaysia is the price of car can be up to 3 times compare to Thailand, but our petrol price is approximately 2/3 of Thai. So thre is no equivalent between petrol subs and car tax, albeit the ratio for petrol:car price is approx. 30%: 150% (say take medium), or 1:5. This can be interprete as for every RM 1 petrol sub, G collect RM 5 from car tax! Yet we have to pay tol almost equivalent to the cost of petrol in term of per km!

It is not a matter of "slightly cheeper cars for slightly expensive petrol", but exorbitant car price with slightly lower petrol price.

Paxter – dont compare with overseas markets cause they are truely diffrent, in the uk they pay mad Tax per yr, their road tax and other taxes are 3X higher than malaysia with out multiplying by 6. their petrol is base on the world market and for kinda freaking obvious reasons the gov there has no reason to impose high tax on imported cars

Joe Ooi – Yes they pay high income tax (up to 40%), but remember all tax collected by UK G will be spend back to their people! UK use tax payer money to implement welfare state, if you are unemploy, the government will provide certain sum per week based on your entitlement. In our case, NAP and tax-phobia structure is design to enrich crocodiles and P1 by milking the car consumers! What a farce and it is "blood sucking". They implement policy with people welfare in mind, but our NAP is introduce to suck the people!

Paxter – I am really sick of hearing “in the uk”, “in australia” cars are so cheep but they tend to cut out the part about high petrol prices and road tax, super high income tax, and the standard of living there. When i studied overseas my friends who own cars sometimes had to not drive for a couple of days(esp during the start of iraqi freedom) cause petrol shot up so much when we convert to msian ringgit it was 5.30 ringgit per L think about that for a sec…. And when i was working in freaking mc i stil had to pay tax where else here u only start paying at 2500 above

Joe Ooi – You mentioned your friends can afford car but remember how many local U students can afford car! Even my time if can afford motorbike is "luxury". RM 2.5 K is equivalent to approx GBP 400.00, so they also do not required to pay tax! In term of Purchasing Power Parity (PPP), petrol at around 80 pence is very affordable. At my time in UK, it cost around 45 – 50 pence!

Paxter – compared to here luxuary cars are tax higher to (overall) off set the account books you think your petty taxes pays for everything in msia? think about it only 1 in 4 malaysians are eligible for income tax even then 1 in 10 dont pay up in the first 5 yrs of being eligible so where the hell is our gov going to get their money from?

Joe Ooi – You ask your self, do current NAP, all the extra money charge on consumers are collected by G. Think twice, the AP issue by G to individual almost "free", but these crocodiles can make easily RM 20K per AP. The issue here is not confined to high tax only, but where is all these money flow!

Paxter – Its kinda true what my economics lecturer once told me in malaysia what ever you do seems not enough to them no tax, cheep oil, cheep cars, cheep housing loans and high salary is what they want.

Joe Ooi – This also applicable to G, P1 and all the big fat crocs. They never seem enough on how much they suck from people! What they want is treat the consumers as cow and suck all the milk, let them make huge sum of moeny and let the people take the burden.

Paxter – be greatful for what you have, and as a malaysian think bfr you open your trap

Joe Ooi – I at all material time very grateful to be Malaysian and owe a duty of citizentry by pay tax, be proud of what

I have and contribute to nation building, but don't ask me to be grateful to P1 and the big fat crocs.

• imrik82 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:24 am

poor dude hehehehe oh well next time dont go fire ur mouth out like that.

/pat paxter on the head

Btw AVEX i got a car but i take the lrt to work every day cause i work in bloody ampang and the jam from and to work is crazy! and to say its a tourist thing i say go at rush hr (Esp klcc) and see for ur self…. prob got to wait for 4 trains bfr u can "try" to get into the train, i wouldnt say it is for the tourist… except the crappy monorail that is shite but the lrt is really useful for me wish it had more routes…

Back to topic this NAP is crap u guys read about the new banks and insurance

intrest rates? with that u prob save like 2g on a new car so much for getting back to the rakyat… shot live publicity stunt

P.s i bet Paxter wont come to paul tan anymore hehehehehehe i say 50 bucks how abt u guys

• imrik82 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:25 am

isnt jazz a budget car? damn mahal crazy ppl

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:31 am

our country is such a suppressed nation hvg to pay more for equal products in other countries eg pay more but drive a car which is considered a budget car if in other countries. we've petroluem oso wht like brunei, why our toll and petrol hv to pay so much, say so fund can channel for more developements but i see more rebuilding of flyover n other kind of funny stuffs only i think. country is too busy doin funny thgs, rather than thinking to improve the country policies, they'd wasting time discussing whether or not shld the policewomen wear a tudung -.-"

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:37 am

Joe Ooi don wry. i don think paxter speaks for the majority which i highly doubt anyway

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:46 am

I totally agree with accordmania, toyota has been bullshitting and sucking honest hardworking people money with their flintstone cars and their car is so expensive when u compare with others

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:49 am

king , at least you agree with me. i am very happy at least you realise that we should not just fooled by brand name like "toyota" we should buy latest technology. honda always looking for new technology for their latest car. i respect honda.

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:58 am

altis_fan, you must have something wrong with your eyes and your brain. which part of altis is elegant? (elephant is more suitable) big ass with no brain.

toyota's slogan or motto ' move forward ' ??? becos they are still in stone age that's why they want to move forward and try to get close to honda…hahahaha

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:04 am

totally agree with accordmania

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:21 am

I totally agree with accordmania toyota bullshiting and sucking honest hardworking people money with their stone age tech bull shiting it is high tech the back side of camry look like big mama elephant back side waiting to FART!!!! how do u justified the handling of the car???

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:24 am

hello

• imrik82 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:26 am

urm paul my last post didnt went thru is it a firefox prob? anyway on a mac now wanted to say lets forget the fool and move on. And back into talking about cars this is a car blog/forum rite?

i was wondering isnt jazz suppose to be the budget line of cars in the honda car family as in its below honda city? i am not a car freak so i might be wrong but the jazz price is just plain expensive! is the jazz fully imported?

• king (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 10:55 am

accordmania, must be either britney spears/ bratt pitt's butt is elegant lar….ahahahah

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:17 pm

civicmind333 said,

April 4, 2006 @ 10:46 pm

"I totally agree with accordmania, toyota has been bullshitting and sucking honest hardworking people money with their flintstone cars and their car is so expensive when u compare with others"

Joe Ooi – In my opinion, Toyota neither bullsitting nor sucking honest hardworking people money, the real culprit is NAP and P1.

accordmania said,

April 4, 2006 @ 10:49 pm

"king , at least you agree with me. i am very happy at least you realise that we should not just fooled by brand name like “toyota” we should buy latest technology. honda always looking for new technology for their latest car. i respect honda."

Joe Ooi – Toyota shall be comparable if not more advance compare to Honda in term of technology, "Toyota" brand as estimated by Fortune 500 is worth approx. USD 22 Billions. Toyota never fool or give outdated technology, except P1! he, he, he, he, …………………..

But to compare technological innovations, I vote Toyota because they are the world front runner in term of latest car technology!

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:42 am

ai……….. car price down but interest rate increase, at the end.. no difference.

why the rich keep sucking the poors' blood, richer get richer, poorer get poorer…

• altis_fan (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 5:42 pm

Pity to Acordmaniac because he thinks that new modelcivic must come

with new tech. Don't be fool. Look at tech altis has put, you said 'stone age'?

C'mon brother, civic is implementing the same spec as altis. Open you wide

eyes. One more thing, the name altis is so great. Jap people cannot pronound 'r' correctly, so they pronound like 'l'. So, we Malaysian should pronound as 'artis'. So, people who wants to be an artis must be elegant,

yes? Same to the car !!!

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 7:22 am

if toyota is come with new tech and sophisticated products then how come they design latest vios with meter in the centre, that will put the driver is dangerous when they need to look at the meter ???????

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 4:20 pm

Altis Fan please wake up! The new civic has 5 speed auto, steptronics, HID light, Double wishbone suspension,flat floor,digital meter,dbw,vsa,4 airbags,opds,safety power window,eps,multifuntion steering,more spacious,superd handling and won 7 to 8 awards already and it is not easy to get awards in the US market and BMW, Mecz are implementing H.U.D in their car and toyota design the Vios meter in the center that is very dangerous when u move your eyes off the road to look at the meter and take a look that the crash test on the altis read it and you will know what I mean and have a good weekend :)

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:12 am

accordmania

Please dun hatam Toyota. Ur old Honda civic is 10x sh*t when lauch last time. Past few year Altis outperform this car. So now, Civic 2006 is new and FL, definately has it advantage, but does not mean Altis is a lousy car than ur new Civic.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:18 am

accordmania & civicmind333- What car do u drive? Please make sure u have one Civic 2006 & new Accord b4 lauching ur critic abt Altis.

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:43 am

hi yukkie

yes we have honda of course. "The Power of Dream" last time we used to drive altis 7 unser but now we have wake up . and we want u all to realise that toyota is always put old tech which only durable but not up to date like honda does

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:51 am

But I dun think u have Civic 2006. So please own one ASAP.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:57 am

Unser is sh*t. Please dun bother abt it.It is a Van basically.

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 3:41 am

aiya take it easylah Yukkie I am hataming Toyota it is just that altis fan said it is still better to buy altis now even after honda cut prices for the new civic what bullshit is this? altis is not a lousy car but the price you pay for it now for what you are getting is not worth the money.Toyota and Honda is all very good company and 10 YEARS AGO I will still buy CIVIC bcos of its good handling, 10 years ago Honda has double wishbone in civic already, what is toyota using for its rear suspension? and it is all depending on what you want out of a car, some want performance,some want comfort, some want good fuel economy and for all that you have to compare the pricing. Vios is a beautiful car if you want the look but if you want good cabin space forget it even wira or waja has better cabin space so relax my friend don be upset. I driven a lot of cars b4 and the bmw 3 series is one of the best in term of handling.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 7:22 am

Civicmind333, assume u r price sensitive buyer:

Original Price b4 G stupid tax & dealer profit

Proton Waja 1.6A – RM31K

Proton Wira 1.5A – RM22K

Toyota Vios 1.5A – RM30K

Toyota Altis 1.6A – RM39K

Toyota Altis 1.8A – RM46K

Honda City 1.5A – RM37K

Honda Civic 1.8A – RM48K

Vios price in fair market should be the same with Waja. I will choose Vios over Wira even Wira has bigger cabin space. If cabin space is what i need, I will chose Altis 1.6A. If you need good FC & a ok Cabin space, City 1.5A VTEC is a good choice. But if you need bigger car like 1.8A I will chose Altis 1.8A over Civic 1.7A. (b4 Civic 2006)

Now Civis 2006 is the in-thing and newly launch. I definately chose Civic 2006 due to its fantastic outlook and impressive spec.

So, dun hatam ppl. we make our choice, u make ur choice.

Sad thing is that we dun have a fair market in Msia. High tax for foreign car is unfair to consumers and foriegn car maker. G is not transperant & we have no visibility over the pricing.

• king (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 10:49 am

vios meter in the centre is just an excuse by toyota that it improves visibility. the real reason is to cut cost so that it is easier to cover all markets with both left hand and right hand drive with simple modifications. bottom line is, they sacrifice everything just to increase profit. Even coming new camry 2007 is supposed to come with the same engine "enhanced" but actually they have maily focused in reducing cost of it.

Finally, look at innova and fortuner – same platform.

Innova 2.0 A/T: 92,900.00

Fortuner 2.7 182,888.00:

1 fortuner can buy 2 innovas yet the interior of both cars are 90% the same. somemore fortuner using same engine as cheap hiace van which costs around 90k.toyota/UMW probably make 30-40k profit for each fortuner that even after tax increase for 4×4 category they still can reduce prices by 11k. yet there is still a waiting list for fortuner.

profit more!!$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ pity altis_fan is getting sucked dry while dreaming of becoming an "artist".

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 2:46 pm

Hail! The KING you are right. yukkie must be driving a toyota that is why sooo upset about what we said. what is fair in this world? altis 1.8 cabin space is not as big as civic1.7 please have a closer look and some more civic has flat floor at the back. We are not hataming ppllah, just a open mind disscussion don be upset.

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 6:40 pm

i salute u guys : civicmind333 and king

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 6:47 pm

let's all be friend and don't hatam each other.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Hi Fren…I am a pround owner of Civic 2006. My family is still owning an Altis. So to be frank I like both brand of jap car. You hatam which brand I also sad and upset.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 09, 2006 at 9:28 am

Civicmind333 – If DWB is so great, why Honda must replace the front with structs again since last civic. DWB is good, but car with no DWB does not mean to be a lousy car. Pls bear in mind most car in 1.5/1.6 cat like Nissan Centra, Tiida, Mazda3, Altis 1.6A, Renault Megane and etc are still using struts, i think BMW as well. Suspension is meant to be simple and effective. Stuts if properly designed and installed is still a very good technology. I still dun noe y u claim Toyota give u age stone tech. If so F1 champion Renault is lousy and age stone. Hey…Altis cabin space is still better than old civic, I experience it. But Civic 2006 is definately better.

Accordmania & King- Toyota and Honda themself do not "tipu" ur money. It is the G that impose high tax, and the dealer like KM & UMW that jack up the profit to make foreign budget cars look expensive and underspec. Car maker orginal price is fair and square.

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 6:17 am

Hello I mean the rear suspension not the front and suspension is never meant to be simple, it is meant to give you maximun control out of your car and this is never easy for the engineer bcos they have to take ride comfort and ride height into consideration also.I never say Renault is lousy and stone age, what makes you said so? find a previous 2001 civic and compare the cabin space and the legroom with your altis then you will know the difference.if suspension is meant to be simple F1 engineer will be out of their job! to the naked eye and layman it will always be simple but not the people who is passionate about their car and cars enthusiast.Thank You.

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 7:18 am

wah lau eh , civicmind333 u are so great

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 12:20 am

Dear my friends – Civicmind333 & Accordmania

If Honda always give u latest technology, the front suspension was DWB before for Civic. Honda replaced and reverted Civic front from DWB to structs again since last gen. This is backward technology. Ur theory abt Honda Frontier Tech is not backed by this outdated change.

I thought u only considered Car that has DWB is latest tech. So Renault Megane 1.6 has no DWB, so equaivalent to age stone. This is ur claim, not mine.

Again, for two of you. I love Honda because I have one and I am still enjoying my ride. I agree with you that at the moment…If I have RM120K to buy a 1.8A Car, I will only choose Civic 2006 over Altis 1.8A. I will not give Altis a second thought. This is exactly what I have done. But Altis still served me well for the past few years.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 1:43 am

civicmind333 – Sad that we dun have F1 engineer to maintain the only DWB at Civic rear suspension. They r to busy to even look our private car. To me, DWB is still simple because it is already a mature technology for decades. What we have now is purely enhancement and modification, or so-called variation.

If u r truly a car enthusiast, to use DWB to greater effect, the front independant suspension shld also use DWB to get the maximum cornering power out of the tires and give maximum predictability when confronted with an emergency situation. Honda offered no convincing answer abt the change to hard-core Honda enthusiast last time.

• civicmind333 (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 7:20 am

you are right honda got no answer for us maybe you like to share what you know? very much appreciate if you can, for me at least civic still got the dwb at the back better than none on the altis. at least you are more mature than altis fan who said even with the new civic he will choose the altis 1.8A.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 5:35 pm

civicmind333

Strut saves space. May be Honda needs space to accommodate the overhaul of engine design on last the Civic. Coincidently, last gen civic engine size has increased from 1.6 to 1.7l. The other obvious reason is cost saving due to less parts in strut design.

Since then racers who likes to tune or lower the car hate it. Strut is not easy to lower the car as compare to DWB. Most probally you need an expensive lowering kit to slam your Civic

If I am not wrong, Honda only claimed it improves traction, easy to steer and better response. To me, no differences.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 5:44 pm

civicmind333 – juz to assure u, i noe a lot of hard-core Toyota fans are still dissapointed with no launching of new FL or G10 for Corolla/Altis to compete with Civic 2006. If situation remains the same, most Toyota fan will jump ship to Honda…hehe

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 12:09 am

hello fellas…..

i'm considering to buy a new car . is honda city idsi is a good buy? can someone introduce sales agent with good discount and services… i got an offer of RM400 discount with 2.71% interest rate lately.. anyone got the better offer than tis..