Toyota developing car operating system

If you look at photos of car interior overseas, you could most likely notice that the area where we normally have our 2-DIN sized CD players is taken up by a little computer, with navigational information as well as entertainment functions. Most of the cars in Malaysia do not have such features, as it’s pretty pointless with the lack of map data on Malaysian roads. Plus it would drive up the costs of our already expensive cars.

These navigational systems normally run on either Microsoft Windows Automotive, or a proprietary OS based on a set of specifications called uITRON. uITRON is not an OS, but a set of specifications for a small-scale industrial RTOS (Real Time Operating System).

Toyota feels that a single control system OS would be more beneficial, as it would reduce the development load between car manufacturers. It is developing a new OS in a joint effort with Nagoya Unviersity’s Center for Embedded Computing Systems. A car’s automotive computers are normally divided into two parts – the information systems OS and the control systems OS. Toyota’s efforts with Nagoya are on the information systems OS, and will be based on a Unix base.

It will use a multi-core processor for the heat reduction benefits that comes with a reduced CPU frequency, and it will have a firewall for the communication between the two operating systems. Toyota intends to allow other car manufacturers to use this operating system once it is complete, but is currently heading development to control the direction it takes.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:08 am

Wah so advance, don't know when Bolehland can catch up with this trend given too much excuse on cost!

• acbc (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:11 am

As long it is NOT Windows… I'm ok with it… don't want the car to misbehave if the OS crashes (BSOD).

• kailaash (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:44 am

i think it is better proton should plan something…..

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:47 am

not bad..

but at least need to have a Anti-Virus software….in case it's online enabled..

• pendek (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:02 am

does this mean a headache for non-it savvy?

and.. while driving i can nuke the other car that trying to overtake me.

cool!

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:08 am

another step to foward

• viceice (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:13 am

Fire Wall? Anti Virus? You must be kidding.

Firewalls and anti viruses are all well and good when you are talking about a general purpose computer with a bloated OS doing everyday things. The worse that could happen to a PC is a reformat and start over.

But in a car, a small glitch can mean that PEOPLE DIE. Period.

I'd rather the code that runs the car be written specifically for the car, by hand, be as simple as possible and cast in Iron.

Take for example the code that runs a Nuclear power plant. It's so simplified it can be printed out on a few sheets of paper, and the engineers who wrote it know EACTLY what each character is for, it's effect on the system, and the contingency for EVERY SINGLE THING that can remotely go wrong related to the code. I want something like that running a car. Not bloat.

Next you're going to tell me it's going to have an auto update feature that checks every week for patches to the carOS… and they'll have a public Beta Program.

• acbc (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 9:00 am

Yeah… especially that drive-by-wire shit on Waja 1.8X (don't like the way it takes over the accelerator pedal). If combine with a faulty OS… it's 'Welcome to Hell!'

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:18 am

acbc: even campro has drive by wire if im not mistaken

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 3:59 pm

Well since its the information systems and not the control system, I guess you don't have to worry as much. If it screws up you'll probably just end up driving into a pond :p

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:14 pm

gosh… if comp hang wat to do eh?

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:17 pm

It's just the information system, like BMW's iDrive I think… the car will not hang.

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:29 pm

TRON project is to sketch the specifications that aims to establish an ideal computer architecture which under open source principle like LINUX. Currently most of these navigation system developed by Japanese makers and this specifications actually developed by them as well.

The car will not be infected with virus because it's not connected to external sources like internet as currently PC do, at least at this moment. The infotainment system hang not going to lead u to death as the control system is separated at this moment.

It's nice to hear that Toyota may share its OS platform to other makers too. This helps to standardise and deploy faster in the car industry.

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:10 pm

Joe, actually cost is not really an issue for any manufacturer or developer in Malaysia. The issue is mismanagement and leechers. Most of the time they have/recieved more than enough budget to run a R&D projects. But unfortunately, those budget already kene "cukai pintu" even before the budget granted. What do you know…..this is Bolehland! Taxland!

• acbc (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:26 pm

I think a few years ago… a Thai minister was trapped in his BMW 7 Series after the iDrive computer failed. The car has bulletproof glass and it took the guards more than 45 mins to get him out…

• acbc (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:30 pm

Oh yeah… the link: http://www.techdirt.com/articles/20030512/1530243… or http://www.aardvark.co.nz/daily/2003/n051301.shtm… or http://www.zdnetasia.com/news/hardware/0,39042972…

Oops… it took rescuers 10 mins to get him out… scary indeed! And according to BMW Thailand, it is an old BMW 5 Series. Hhmm…

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 12:20 am

ooh icic… yeah, it's kind of worrying as they computerize stuff. but good thing the main functions are still… um… manual XD

• afhstingray (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 1:49 pm

pycazu: good post!

having worked with various embedded systems before im going to take it as my resposibility to further inform:P

firstly , in the end they concluded the problem with the bmw was due to another cause, i forget what it is…i'll try googling and if i find anything i'll post that link

secondly the firewall in this article is NOT your normal "firewall" for the good 'ole net.

a firewall is software that controls the permissions/communication between two devices/systems, in your pc's case, your computer and the internet. in this case, between the two systems. this is to enable both the control system, which is the more critical part, to still communicate with the information system , which is the fancy thing you are going to be looking at, while preventing any problem with the non essential information system from affecting the critical control system.

about stability, dont compare this version of windows (based on windows CE) to windows XP on your pc.

windows XP on your pc has to be written to cope wit hundreds of different drivers and devices. where else windows XP embedded or windows CE can be customised and fully tested by the system manufacturer to be stable with the hardware they are using in their system.

this tight control they have is similar to the control apple has over both hardware and software in their computers.

a lot of people dont realise how much of a miracle it is that today you can plug in virtually any printer, camera etc and windows will recognise it (plug and play) although if you want to use it properly you need to install the drivers provided.

majority of the time its a poorly written driver that crashes it. Are all of us aware that most ATM's actually run windows XP embedded???

do not make the mistake of thinking industrial systems are like personal systems.

Im very pleased by this announcement as it would be great to see two "open" automotive operating systems competing. Competition is the best way to improve quality!!! Evolution:survival of the fittest lol!

even if there are maps available for malaysia on gps i dont think the local market demand is that high, especially among mid range 60k-110k cars.