Proton to expand Indonesian operations

Proton will be bringing in new models like the Gen2, Satria Neo, Savvy and Waja into the Indonesian car market in January 2007. It currently sells the Proton Wira there, which are assembled at it’s Cikarang plant in West Java. The USD$20 million Cikarang plant has a full capacity of 50,000 cars a year, or 4166 cars a month, but currently only outputs 300 Proton Wiras a month.

The Proton Wira is mainly marketed as a taxi in Jakarta, Surabaya and Medan, and will continue to be sold there to the same target market of taxi drivers. Proton admits however, that the Indonesian market currently seems to be particularly interested in MPVs.

Proton aims to sell 3,000 cars a year there once it’s Indonesian operations are fully set up. Which makes me wonder, if 3,000 is a target, then how much is being sold now? 300 Proton Wiras produced a month is already 3,600 Wiras a year. Does this mean unsold Wiras are being stockpiled in yards?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 8:47 pm

Ok.. good.. make sure indon apply 75% EXCISE tax on poton CKDs.. indon gov. can earn some income oso.. then see how good poton can sell….

• The Omnipotent (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 8:55 pm

I think they ship back those "unsold" Protons back to Malaysia and sell them to unsuspecting buyers…

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 9:48 pm

wut's is wrong with Proton? Now only want to sell Waja,Gen-2 and Savvy in indo? I thought they have done this long time ago? Gen-2 and Waja is no longer new to Indo and what makes proton think that Indo going to buy those outdated model compare with Toyota?

Wira main market is to taxi driver in indo.. is it not bad marketing? y not to the pesenger? taxi car should be aim for confort and fuel efficient car.. does wira have all this? does altis have all this?

and in malaysia, how many taxi use wira compare with iswara which is even OLDER than wira? y not market iswara as taxi in indo and convert wira in our land as our fav taxi car?

is proton wut we call "national car"? or should i say "national suckers"?

• oversight (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 9:57 pm

let's see if indonesia willing enough to be proton dumping ground….lol

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 9:57 pm

national suckers??.. hahahaha.. sounds ok oso…

but Neo earn my respect….

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 9:57 pm

Pity Proton… no MPVs for indonesian market… I think they better get a Grandis to rebadge first… 300 Wiras for Indon market per month… pity Proton… 3000 per yr only… such bad targets…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 10:00 pm

no more new Proton to registered.even if they want to use KWSP money to bail out then we see how far the G can go? no focus, no identity, no prestige, not safe , no resale value then why still want to buy.

hmmm hmmm hmmm hmmm AFTA AFTA AFTA

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 10:05 pm

300/4166 = 7.2% output only!!!

I think they can't even afford to pay the electricity bill at such low output. Indon definitely will spoil P1 dream again for model like poor savvy,petrol-sucking Gen-2, old Waja, they going to say NO to P1. While sporty Neo may earn my respect, but Indon most likely will say NO however.

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 10:07 pm

But nvrmind, they can "export" those stockpile-at-back-yard back to M'sia, since G won't charge them for import tax what… just ED only mah.

• chun202 (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 1:02 am

sure all the proton export to Indo. will have better quality than malaysia. for example Gen2 .1.3. – got air bag, ABS, cd-player in UK. In Malaysia, what we get got gen2 1.3. wake up lah proton. if dun have EXCISE tax to protect u, i think our malaysians' life will be more happier. motorhead u r right – national suckers.

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 4:14 am

is the equipments mentioned above considered in quality matters? i dont think so… but, however, nice try… only 3000/year wont do much… to export them to UK even seems like not a very good idea coz their money is 'higher' than us… maybe china makes a good place to sell…

• szw (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 4:27 am

good luck proton !

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 7:00 am

wuteverlah proton…

• goingberserk (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 11:55 pm

hahaahhahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahh

• xin731 (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 12:55 am

like motorhead said,

changes 75% excise tax for gov income indonesia,

then see loh…

+++++

RM53000 GEN2 in malaysia,

then in indonesia +75% tax just like below…

Original price RM53000

Excise Tax 75% RM37500

Sales Tax RM 1500

Totally RM92000!!!!!!!!!!!!!

then see how good PROTON can sell the price like NISSAN SENTRA in malaysia!!

Funny!!!!!!!!!!

• scott81 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:51 am

expand production?then who is going to buy the proton?mayb proton is a car which only fit to 3rd world country, like our country.