New Chevrolet Aveo launched in US

us_aveo_1.jpg

The new Chevrolet Aveo sedan based on the Daewoo Gentra was recently launched in the US through a special virtual car launch through a web cast. Specifications are pretty much the same, a 1.6 litre E-TEC II DOHC engine making 103hp. There’s no lower 1.4 litre engine option for the US market. The US version has a variable rate rack and pinion steering, which should ease parking at low speeds and offer more precise steering at highway speeds.

The previous Chevrolet Aveo sold 68,085 units in 2005, and the previous version will continue to be sold as a hatchback Aveo5 in the US. The new sedan is due on our local shores very soon, perhaps next month. More photos after the jump.

Chevrolet Aveo Thai CBU
Chevrolet Aveo sedan in September
DRB-HICOM aggresive CKD plans

us_aveo_5.jpg

us_aveo_2.jpg

us_aveo_3.jpg

us_aveo_4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sewell (Member) on Aug 20, 2006 at 9:26 pm

this seems like chevolate is like our proton. edit and place their name. haha…..

• Bbingbong (Member) on Aug 20, 2006 at 10:02 pm

sewell not proton lar but naza and perodua..

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 20, 2006 at 10:22 pm

If there is one thing I hate, that is stupidly ugly interiors of Korean Cars. (That means you too Proton, even though you're Malaysian).

What the Korean manufacturers also need to focus on is the engine performance.

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 20, 2006 at 10:48 pm

This Chevrolet Aveo will compete head-to-head with Kia Rio here..

• claxxion (Member) on Aug 20, 2006 at 11:56 pm

It looks much better than the Rio though.. I think it will be more suitable to compete against the gen2, city and vios..

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 6:01 am

its ugly alrite but smoehow looks more expensive than the neo or gen2.

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 7:11 am

The car looks ugly. The side profile reminds me of a Honda City, which I thinks is ugly too :P

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 9:50 am

im hopin and prayin it be in da 60 to 70 price range like the spectra…ogsh….if it was i will ask my sis to cnsider it nstead of goin for a gen2….i dun think it be anyway near 80 coz even and idsi city sells for 76 after discountcs and all…if hicom can price it within 70 it be surely a hit!

• Xoomie (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 5:22 pm

Not a bad looking car.

Looked very nippy & stylish. Interior is OK & simple.

Dash looked modern & fresh. Rounded a/c vents is nice too. I like the steering wheel & its of buttons too.

I guess it will be priced in between Waja & Vios.

• motberg (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 5:57 pm

ooohhh… looks nice. may not be everybody's cup of tea but at least it looks miles ahead of the City! In fact any car looks better than the 'sampan' looking City! the problem with this Aveo Sedan will ultimately be the pricing… sigh. Wonder how much the Govt gonna tax it and price it waaaay beyond most people's budgets?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 6:16 pm

What will the Americans say about this car? I thought Americans are all about big-block V8 engines…you know…4.6-litre V8 is "standard" or "small" for them…

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 2:31 am

Hmmm….I like the dashboard design….simply and looks practical. But I kinda don't fancy the steering design. Maybe a 3 spoke steering will do instead of a four spoke steering wheel. As for the exterior design, I don't really mind about the overall shape of it as majority of the time you would spend inside the car rather than outside of the car.

• szw (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:15 am

americans use small car ?

weird…

• intermilan (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:22 pm

i believe that this car is mundane rather than ugly.

but by being mundane .. leads to 'tasteless', void of excitement.

why spend rm70k-80k + interest (another rm20k++) for this kind of thing?

another piece of crap korean engineering/designing.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 9:11 pm

A Vios-City hybrid?

Best of both worlds minus a Jap engine! :)

• owaief1 (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 7:45 am

interior looks nice…better than vios…

• kevyeoh (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:08 pm

haha..the aircond vent like copy from proton..or maybe proton copy from another car… but for me..first time see the rount aircond vent from proton cars… :P