Chevrolet Aveo Sedan Thai CBU

aveosedan1.jpg

Malaysian Chevrolet distributor Hicomobil has plans to launch the new Chevrolet Aveo Sedan here in Malaysia in September 2006, so I thought I’d give you guys a little preview of the car based on the version they are selling in India. The Chevrolet Aveo Sedan was launched in the Indian market in February and is assembled in GM’s plant in Halol. GM hopes to sell 14,000 Chevrolet Aveo Sedans this year, with future targets of about 20,000 units a year.

Our Chevrolet Aveo Sedan will likely come in CBU form from Thailand until Hicomobil can get their CKD operations up and running. The Chevrolet Aveo Sedan was designed by Italdesign Giugiaro Design Studio and GM’s global engineering team using their Virtual Reality Design Center. It will be manufactured for this region at GM’s plant in Thailand’s Rayong Province.

More details on the car after the jump.

aveosedan2.jpg

The Chevrolet Aveo Sedan, basically a Daewoo Gentra with a Chevy badge is a small sedan much like the Honda City and the Toyota Vios. Sharing it’s older brother Optra’s muscular lines and flared wheel arches, it looks somewhat like a more manly Toyota Vios. There are some nice touches that make the car look more upmarket than it really is, like it’s chrome grile.

In the Indian market, the car comes with two engine options, a 1.4 litre DOHC making 94ps and 127Nm of torque, and a top of the line 1.6 litre DOHC model making 102hp and 147Nm of torque. Not too shabby for a car with a 1095kg kerb weight. Brakes are discs at the front, with self adjusting drums at the rear. Both engines are of the E-TEC II series, featuring variable geometry intake system. At low engine speeds, the speed of airflow is increased by directing air through a longer path, while at higher engine speeds the intake air is directed through shorter paths so that more air can enter. The engine also has hydraulic engine mountings for better NVH quality. Suspension is torsion beam at the rear and the all familiar MacPherson struts at the front. Shock absorbers are gas-filled.

aveosedan_boot.jpgThe higher end models have an integrated 2-DIN CD player with MP3 support. The interior doesn’t look too bad, although we will have to wait and see the actual car inself to see how the build quality is. The steering wheel is a four spoke, giving it a slightly more upmarket feel. The automatic version even has a gated shift. I get the overall impression that this is a budget vehicle but Chevrolet has taken the trouble to give you the illusion that it’s a class above what it really is. It’s a nice touch, some might appreciate this. I do, for one.

That’s it for now. We’ll know the Malaysian specifications when we see the car in September 2006, assuming Hicomobil’s plans go well.

By the way, two articles in other publications this week from me. The car’s the star in NST Life & Times and Sports cars in Monster Blog.

Chevrolet Aveo Sedan in September
2007 Chevrolet Aveo

aveosedan3.jpg

aveosedan4.jpg

aveosedan5.jpg

aveosedan6.jpg

aveosedan7.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pablopabla (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 12:11 am

Looks good! I wonder if they will price it at Vios / City range and give them a run for their money.

• tbcheese (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 12:17 am

I like the clean interior. I know this is supposed to be a budget vehicle but the wheels seem a bit too small don't they?

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 12:32 am

nice interior.. look sporty.. how much arr??.. above 80k / 90k??.. no thx la… belum cukup kaya lagi… gaji pun x naik2…

ps: being a car admirer for many years oredi….

• lance (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 12:46 am

They will need to price it below current Honda City iDSI and Toyota Vios 1.5E in order to generate interest – especially since both these cars have 15km/litre proven (practical mixed driving) consumption rate; something that most Malaysians are looking for nowadays.

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 12:52 am

the interior looks nicer than vios' interior.. and the front looks a bit like vios..

motorhead, ever thought of earning extra income every month?

• pablopabla (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 1:17 am

Hmm…I also wonder how is the resale value of Chevys compared to the Japanese makes…

• mankrm (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 1:22 am

hey! i just saw a car exactly like this one at petronas bukit jalil-plus last night with spore plate but with hyundai logo on it.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 2:25 am

External profile is so similar to Vios. But too much chrome at the grille and particularly the rear looking like cheap aftermarket mod. Vios chrome it sparingly so IMO Vios looks better.

Interior is better than Vios. Gated auto gear, normal dashboard position, steering with controls. Bit aircon vents not that nice.

I won't be surprised Aveo's NVH could easily be better than Vios which I find noisy and vibrate when RPM climbs above 2.5K.

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 2:33 am

kinda vios look at the front.. but interior much better than vios lar… at least it has no centered meter display…haha!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:06 am

dont really like to design of it.. i heard that they might bring the toyota belta a.ka yaris sedan. it look awesome and i manage to have a look while i was in dubai for holidays.

well not sure they are gonna make good sales unless they priced below the price of vios with VVTi and city iDSi/iVtec engine. whats the E-tec2 engine all about?

• acbc (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:20 am

Korean cars have lousy resale value… typically drops up to 45% after 1-2 years.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:31 am

Design flaw: How to open the ashtray/coin box with drinks in place in the cup holder?

• szw (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:45 am

vios n city hav a new contender .

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:42 am

its sold as an entry level Holden in australia. so i dont think vios-city should worry much about it.

australia might not have vios-city, but they have yaris-jazz-fiesta-swift… and the safety rating got 1 big whack from the aussie press.

no bashing here.. just share of info.
    http://carsguide.news.com.au/story/0,20384,188800…

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:25 am

actually dont worry bout these budget cars just add 3000 aud and get a base 1.8 civic. get about the same levels of equipment,safety and fuel consumption. also better comfort and reliability and resale value. you make back the extra money you pay when the time comes to sell it. thanks to the civic and also the yaris and swift, the jazz isnt retaining its value that well anymore.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 10:22 am

i will surely ask my sister to consider it if the 1.6 is priced around the 65 to 70 range…..

• demio121 (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 1:59 pm

the new Aveo Sedan looks more a credible contender against City and Vios. The current batch of korean car has a reputation of fuel gulper so this one better be good. Pice will be a factor for its success here.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 5:53 pm

hey, it's 1.6 oni 102hp… x power pun??, but tork equal to campro… i am considering to buy vios…

xg9,

yeah… i oredi made some extra income.. sikit-sikitlah.. now not so many projects oso…

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:50 pm

This is a good buy!

GM quality sedan.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:03 pm

The seats looked very supportive…and comfy!

Rear end design is clean, though quite clinical in execution.

Hicomobil, take off those garish-looking chrome-surrounds of the tailamps PUHLEEEZE!

• kewl (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 10:06 pm

Is it just me or does the rear lamps appear to be a bit on the triangular shape ala the awkwardness of Naza Sutera?

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 6:05 pm

Hmmm….The dashboard design of the Aveo Sedan looks way more modern than the hatch back version. Whopper Likes :-)