Porsche Panamera spotted testing!

panamerablue.jpg

This weird blue car which looks like a stretched 997 Porsche 911 with four doors is a test mule for Porsche’s new Grand Tourer car, the Porsche Panamera, set to be launched in a few years time perhaps as a 2009 model.

The front engined rear wheel drive car will be built exclusively by Porsche in it’s Leipzig plant in Germany, with no current platform sharing plans with it’s Volkswagen and Audi friends. Engines will come from Porsche’s plant in Stuttgart, while bodies and paint will be finished at Volkswagen AG’s Hanover plant.

The 2009 Porsche Panamera will go against more established Grand Tourers like the Bentley Continental GT, the BMW M6, the Ferrari 612 Scaglietti and the upcoming Aston Martin Rapide.

2009 Porsche Panamera to be built at Leipzig
2009 Porsche Panamera
Porsche Panamera Confirmed

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kimmy (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 5:59 am

The rear doors look too big. Don't quite like its side profile. The Aston 4 door looks better. However it is a prototype. I hope they make it more sleek looking though….

• karheng (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 6:56 am

The styling is a bit questionable…..i don't think that Porsche should have such a bulky rear, now that the engine is at the front..They probably forgot how to style cars without rear engines..haha…

In a word….Dugong..

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 8:08 am

Looks weird, ugly side profile. I agree that the rear doors should be smaller, that will make it look better.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 9:39 am

man, looks like my corolla from the side

at least its something fresh from porsche. thats one company that cant go wrong.

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 3:54 pm

yup.looks really weird, but its heavily camouflaged. so all those extra bits could be just put there intentionally to throw off people like us. but its interesting to see porsche expand their model lineup.

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 5:45 pm

Dugong? What a word. LOL! It's too early to tell. If they keep this look, it will look more like a 2006 model than 2009 model by then. In one word….'outdated'.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 6:34 pm

huhuhu…dun worry…bg manyak mase pon sampai 2020 ke…still…they are lazy….laziest dsg studio in d world…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 6:54 pm

can anybody eloborate on the Panamera names?can search thru the net but an expert POV will be better?

• motberg (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 9:48 pm

to mycar_stolen… hope this helps

The Panamera's name is derived, like the Porsche Carrera line, from the Carrera Panamericana race. Earlier prototypes of four-door sedans such as the 1991 Porsche 989 prototype or the even earlier 4 door 911 based prototype, never went into production.

for more, go to – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porsche_Panamera

• motberg (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 9:50 pm

to mycar_stolen,

hope tis helps…

The Panamera's name is derived, like the Porsche Carrera line, from the Carrera Panamericana race. Earlier prototypes of four-door sedans such as the 1991 Porsche 989 prototype or the even earlier 4 door 911 based prototype, never went into production.

for more…
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porsche_Panamera

or go to:
    http://www.automobilemag.com/future_cars/2007/050…

• Kaboda (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 10:07 pm

Does Camero come to mind ?? Thought it was some stupid American car from that photo.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 10:55 pm

Dear motberg,

Thank you very first not very familiar with the Carerra Panamericana race..thank god I thought the name related to the girl…:-)

• dawgHause (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 11:42 pm

the only other car that porsche styled outside their sportscars is the Cayenne. Which according to 90% of the world's population (the other 10% are blind obviously), is i have to say quite hideous.

this doesn't look set to change the Porsche styling statement either.

• motberg (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 11:52 pm

to mycar_stolen…

don't need to thank me. I just googled the word and found the explaination from wikipedia. ah… the wonders of the internet! Actually I also don't know what the Carrera Panamericana race is. I guess its something like how the moniker MME came from the Millenium Merdeka Endurance race. Or something like how Le Mans stuck as catchphrase/icon, something to that effect. I could be dead wrong on all accounts though. :)

• redragon (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 1:12 am

Hey! who turner off the lights? Oh…I must be blind then cos I love the Cayenne, esp the Turbo. Not so hot on the looks but it's grown on me. The drive, the sheer power of this beast is another thing altogether.

I'm sure the Panamera will do ok if they actually build to sell.

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 4:08 am

haiya… ppl, paul mentioned it's a mule. mules are real underpinnings, mechanicals, etc WITH a fake body… remember the Enzo wrapped in a f50 shell? :D

• szw (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 5:09 am

4 doors porsche ?

weird…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:42 am

its porsche. and u know the germans. at least they are there to keep the italians in check. at least in price. also a bit more reliable.

few months back there was a video clip commemorating the pan america race by ferrari i think. f430. youtube

• AMG (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 5:02 pm

4 door? I think 2 door GT is better

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:37 pm

haha….2 door GT just use the 911 turbo. and that is very hard to beat. same trouble with ferrari and thier f430. need to rely heavily on magazine reviews and car brochures to emphasize the GT characteristics of the 599gtb over the f430.

this is a family man's GT. though i doubt you want to drive fast if u have family on board.

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:57 pm

waa…weird…

agree with the Dugong Inspired Styling…

by the way, the car really deviates from the 'reptile' look of its siblings…