2009 Porsche Panamera to be built at Leipzig

The Porsche Panamera, which was confirmed to go into production July last year will be built in Porsche’s plant in Leipzig, Germany. The Leipzig plant also builds the Porsche Cayenne and the Porsche Carrera GT. Engines for the 4-door Porsche Panamera will come from Porsche’s main plant in Stuttgart, while bodies will be manufactured and painted by Volkswagen AG at Volkswagen’s Hanover plant.

Artist’s impression

Around 70% of the Porsche Panamera’s parts will be sourced within Germany, making it a true Made in Germany car. 15% of that will be from Porsche’s own plants, and 6% accounts for the painted body supplied by Volkswagen AG. The remainder is from various auto suppliers in Germany. Porsche’s Leipzig plant will also be upgraded with a new Production Hall and other various upgrades and extensions, costing a total 120 million Euros.

The Porsche Panamera is a front-engine rear-wheel drive and it will be built exclusively by Porsche, not sharing a platform with other manufacturers like how it partnered with Volkswagen for the Cayenne-Touareg platform. Previously there were rumours about the car sharing a platform with the Volkswagen Phaeton. The 4-door Grand Tourer is expected to go into production by 2009 and will be powered by V8 and V10 engines making between 340hp and 600hp. It is expected that the car will cost between 70,000 Euros to 100,000 Euros.

panamera_artist2.jpg
Artist’s impression

2009 Porsche Panamera
Porsche Panamera Confirmed

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KY (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:16 am

4-door porsche? that kinda misses the point of having a porsche

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 12:10 pm

That was quite ugly, it's like extended version of boxer or 911

• Paul Tan on May 23, 2006 at 12:17 pm

These are artist's impressions… not real photos or concepts from Porsche.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 3:11 pm

this is fun…main target for dis car is mercedes-benz cls….the front dsg is bored…i dun like thier new headlamp…like in 911 and boxster…prefer the preceding model's headlamp

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 3:32 pm

paul,

do u hv any info of which carmakers will joining kl motorshow???alfa,beemer,merc…audi…they will join or not??and do u hv any info is it alfa will bringing thier new toy at the motorshoe….the new 159 and brera???

• Jawn (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 4:48 pm

haiya…another funny looking porsche….my only favorite is the 911 series frm 930 till 993 version :D

• raptorclans (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 5:21 pm

paul u gotta cover the klims :D i'm goin too! woohoo~

• accitzone (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 5:42 pm

lokks like head o head with Merc CLS. a nice 4 door car attempt by Porche.. wonder how Porsche Loyalites will go for it.. for 4 door Cayyene is ok coz its an SUV, but a 4 door coupe? hmmm just how abt that??

• stephenstreets (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 5:43 pm

it looks big and clunky to be a porsche

But i do hope its a contender for Mitsubishius evo or subaru impreza

4-wheels

• Jawn (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 6:21 pm

tink it will be too heavy to contest with the evos & sti… closest rival wld be cls amg/maserati 4 door n the likes… ;)

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:06 pm

yup..agree with u jawn..one of the main reason porsche built this car is to compete with the merc cls…

• tbcheese (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:12 pm

the Aston Martin version looks much better though I'll be damned if I remember what's it called

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:24 pm

is this a true decision by Porsche or by their superior countreparts? BUT if I'm a Porsche fan then it will be good no need to buy other brands all from Porsche.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:43 pm

tbcheese….

aston martin rapide is the name…:)…but…preety ugly too that car…

• narrowband (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 8:34 pm

Confusing!

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:05 pm

U guys know there's a megazine called AUTOCAR ASEAN, in the megazine they mentioned abt car that will be shown in KLIM 2006.

• shaif (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 11:56 pm

CBT last Sunday mentioned that NAZA Brabus will bring exotic car as well apart from their Brabus range of Mercs, such as Pagani Zonda, Ferrari, Lambo etc. Mitsubishi show off their WRC car and one future concept car. Volvo with the XCC concept car.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 3:53 am

i know…in the cbt more focusing on concept and exotic cars…wut about the other…like alfa,beemer,merc,toyota,honda,vw or else…

• tbcheese (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 12:09 pm

ahh yeah the Rapide. but its really good looking. the CLS from the rear end is pretty ugly in my opinion. saw one on the road.

haha Zonda..can't drive on Malaysian roads. Richard Hammond got stuck coming down from a ramp. With Malaysian spped bumps it doesn't stand a chance.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:43 pm

yup…agree with u…cls is really ugly…i dun like it also…about zonda…can drive but cant go to the bumpy road and basement like…if u want to experience like richard…u can…pity richard on that shot..

• rafreez (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:48 pm

My dream car…once I got my profit from swisscash, I'll put a down payment for this….

• Dogster (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:50 pm

Out of reach!!!! ringgit not strong enough to enable the normal citizen to buy :'(((

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 8:28 am

jz for a rich ppl

• dec21st (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 9:00 pm

noticed in the first picture that thy've removed the suicide door as shown in the artistic impression…

• jtshin (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 3:35 am

The Panamera looks like Carrera GT… I mean the front n back lights… hehe… It looks like Carrera GT long version with 4 doors… still Porsche classic… not bad… I like the Grand Tourer… better than the recent SUV produced by Porsche now… wat's the name…? hehe… forgot… I think that SUV really ugly…

Ya… Porsche of cos is for rich ppl… even in foreign coutries… hmmm…

• Dogster (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 10:54 pm

~~ DREAMING ~~

"Fat mong"