Toll Road Alternatives

Life & Times, NST, is finally trying to do something to help people out of a jam (pun unintended!). Given the recent toll hikes, some people might be interested to know what are the alternative routes they can take instead of the LDP, Cheras-Kajang, Guthrie Corridor, Kesas and KL-Karak. Life & Times wants to help disseminate this knowledge to all those affected by the hikes.

If you have a route that you know or use that bypasses these tolls, please email [email protected] and list what your route is roughly and which tolls you’ll bypass. Shannon Teoh will then email you back to get more info. Whatever info you have will help your fellow motorist who’s trying to make ends meet. Aso, feel free to leave your tips in the comments section here.

New toll rates effective 1st January 2007
Toll hike amount yet to be determined
Tolls to go up

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:38 am

I thought the G is compelled to provide a road which is not tolled to the same destination. Try getting to KLIA from KL without going thru tol. Hard. You need to go the back door bangi>UKM area then only get to airport. And the road quality is hopeless

• transformer (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:43 am

Bravo Shannon!

You'll have our support!

We all salute you!

• ganz (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:59 pm

mmm.. alternative road…

some of them got.. but not all of them…

u can go to by pass road.. but by the end.. u pay with the time that you lost and the petrol that u burn due to massive traffic jam..

good example.. at Sprint TOL (infront of Siemens/ Philio Damansara).. sometimes, i have to spent nearly 1 hour just to avoid the tol..

is it worth it??

• paxter (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 7:28 pm

prob about using un tolled roads AE.sprint toll i would use it on weekends like 3-4 am when i am coming back from clubs to go to ttdi.

but during office hrs it is mental suicide the jam is insane and it is really worth paying a buck than sitting in jam… damn u sammy u got me either way :D

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 1:36 am

how about we boycotts the tolls booth just for one week..let say at start of school holidays, if we have one guidelines how to avoid tolls then sure we will follow, but the G already tricks us with the pterol price right.

p/s why suddenly the pterol pricing changed at the petrol station…not the selling price the subsidiased comparison price

• faizulamin (Member) on Feb 10, 2007 at 6:07 am

mycar_stolen..

you yourself know la.. our g kan, is sux! hahaha