UMW Toyota plans to price new baseline spec Toyota Vios at under RM70,000

3rd Generation Toyota Vios

It seems that we will be able to enjoy the new Vios recently launched in Thailand for less than RM70,000! This is for the lowest spec version of course, which could possibly be offered with a manual transmission. The Edge Daily has an exclusive report that UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd plans to offer the new third generation (second gen in our market) Toyota Vios at a price of just under RM70,000, the first for a brand new Japanese sedan in a very long time.

If all goes well, this is very good news for the rakyat indeed. While still more expensive than our northern neighbours in Tomyamland who get to enjoy the Vios for between RM50,849 to RM69,830, beggars with the NAP over their heads can’t be choosers.

I really have to give it to the guys at UMW Holdings Bhd. They practically have the whole market cornered. The current Perodua Kancil and the upcoming Perodua Viva should conquer the below RM40,000 market, the Myvi rules the RM40,000 to RM50,000 market, and the new Vios will most likely conquer the B-segment Japanese sedan market as well, following the success of the current Vios. The Camry has proven to be a hit despite rumours of deliveries being hit by AP issues, and while the Civic currently reigns in the C-segment sedan sales, there’s no telling what the new Corolla will do to that segment once it is launched. Kudos to UMW’s outstanding performance.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sudha (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:26 pm

Holy cow…it sure looks good and if it's really going to be priced below 70k, expect some serious price wars among the competitors.

I can only foresee consumers benefiting from this. Two Thumbs UP!!

• azrai (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:32 pm

I guess if it is under RM70k,it maybe the 1.3l version.Belta is offered only in 1.0l and 1.3l in Japan.Maybe.

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:36 pm

They are pricing the new vios the same as the old model in tomyanland. It malaysia, i guess the price should also be the same as the old vios. The

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:55 pm

Alamak! Protong will be Killed soon.

Remember MAA comment about the Car sales drop news and reasons?

I think this is one of the MAIN Factor for not buying any brand new cars, everybody is waiting for Better and Cheaper models.

Toyota is doing the right Strategic now.

First Perodua, next Toyota VIOS and……..so on.

PROTONG is going to kill by TOYOTA soon.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:59 pm

cars are getting cheaper, because the govt is slowly lifting tariffs on foreign makes built within the AFTA zone of operations.

will be interesting to see how 'baseline' is the baseline model. Probably will not have airbags, but who cares, its a toyota ;)

• Paul Tan on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:00 am

i bet it will at least have a single airbag, however rear drum brakes, steel wheels, baseline seats, etc.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:03 am

Wow, this is cool, really good news. I mean, a Japanese sedan, new (well, not so new, about a few years, but not old either) technology, under 70k. When this car launches, I guess it will not only hurt sales of other sedans, it might step into Myvi's territory too, given the not too significant difference in value between the two.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:04 am

Thats great news! In this case, it would cement itself in the compact sedan category. My only concern would be the engine for entry level. 1.3L for a heavier car? Hmmm…

On TCM, if they gonna put a crazy price tag on the Latio like Teana, they are seriously digging their own grave.

• superman (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:09 am

Toyota, world' s Number 1 car maker can't do wrong. ;-)

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:25 am

Less than RM70k, sounds very interesting.. wonder how UMW gonna cut those unnecessary cost? Probably 1.3L manual, steel rim, cassette player, no airbegs, no ABS, no EBD, no rear sensor, no power window, no etc.. Just the famous brand name "TOYOTA"… I believe most of us still want to own one..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:30 am

The end for Proton is nigh. No wonder Toyota has conquered international markets so well especially the United States, they totally destroyed the American car industry!

If it goes through, it would mean revolution in so many ways. Even if it was the base model, most people would not mind all that much. Other spec'd up cars for that price don't offer all that much. Upgrading of other features can be done later or personal modification touches can be applied.

Bravo Toyota for thinking of the consensus. Bravo UMW for providing such great cars to the market.

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:36 am

Makes me wonder should i treat this as accurate or still get the current vios now……

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:56 am

Hikaru,

is worth to wait for new Vios;)…meanwhile b patient abit lor..

wonder how long d waiting list will b once launch here..

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:04 am

with this price offered… im sure the vios will gonna be a hit seller one more time! though i dislike the central meter display, im amazed with toyota's marketing strategy!

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:05 am

you can modify other things yes, but i dont think you can modify your car with airbags and abs though.

but no, i dont think proton will shut down as people always claim. too bad for the proton bashers though, but i suppose they can all go buy a vios now, so no more reason to complain about proton i suppose.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:13 am

cbljkkj said,

April 4, 2007 @ 4:30 pm

The end for Proton is nigh. No wonder Toyota has conquered international markets so well especially the United States, they totally destroyed the American car industry!

——————

Not exactly…. Most Toyotas sold in America are built in North America (Canada and US has the NAFTA). Its far from destroying the american car industry. Its striving. Destroying american brands, thats another matter.

Have to give it to UMW though. This is what happens when your Principle has products that people want. they basically have the market cornered. In additional to the ones Paul mentioned, Toyota also have the Mini-MPV (Avanza), Full sized MPV (Innova and grey imported Estima/Harrier) and even the pickup market (HiLux) where it is seriously eating into the Frontier sales.

That and the new Altis replacement is due so, it will be a royal flush when it does.

Toyota may as well be the new National Car maker…..

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:30 am

If this true, then SAYONARA PROTON!!!

(unless they sell the waja and gen2, 2 for the price of 1)

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:31 am

Well, Toyota is making money but all that they didn't do is make cars with soul like the European cars. They are years in advance on technology but people pay the price for it. They need more exciting products like MR2, supra etc.

Kudos for them to bring technology at affordable price. They sent the benchmark for the consumer market that just wants to get from A to B in comfort.

• toxicboy (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:36 am

this car will come here when? can't wait for it to happen.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:41 am

Interesting…. :) wonder what will proton do….

btw, the last time i checked it's still GM but Toyota trailing fast.. really fast… hev they overtake for the no.1 position (or is it just me who not so up to date?) LOL

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:57 am

If this is true, I salute u toyota. Let's start a price war & force others manufacurer to re-price their car, definately honda will have to lower their city price, TCM will definately be kick out of mkt if try to price the Latio at 90-100K(hahahaha), Hyundai/Kia have to lower their pricing, & ths will benefit US d consumer. If they can bring the 1.3 below 70K, definately will be a hotseller!

• iosis (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 2:01 am

doubt d lowest spec model will be offered as a 1.3L. more likely to b a 1.5L wif no airbags, abs and ebd. a 1.3L car for almost 70K is too pricey dont u think.

• bolo (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 2:15 am

We need good choice of 4 doors 1.5 litre family sedan car in the 50k-60k sector.

• Isamu (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:49 am

The baseline version will not have any airbag..

• transformer (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:02 am

sure, people would still swamp Toyota showroom to get their hand on this new Vios…. people just want a "T-O-Y-O-T-A"!

for most, the brand already means more than anything… a new car with this brand would makes neighbour eye opens! envy or jealous ?

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:17 am

Below RM70K? I bet they offer the ultra-low no-frills spec 1.3L without CD stereo, ABS, airbags, alloy rims, same color bumper, foglight, or even power windows as standard accessories. When all added up, it will be more than RM75K. *Sigh*

However cheap it is, i don't think most people like the center meter dashboard.

• PGlang (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:44 am

Thanks to ringgit appreciation to bring the price down…that would be the reason.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:06 am

To all concerned bloggers, do not "bash" Toyota with all kind of speculation that Toyota will minus these-and-that safety features, either one or most of it if this car is selling below RM 70K. The price is more to do with RM appreciation againts USD, reduction of tax or CBU from TomyamLand. Perhaps assemble at Perodua plant just like Avanza in the near future.

Toyota is responsible world class player that never compromise on basic quality and basic safety features! Not like our P1's stonage milo tin on the wheel that endanger our life on the road!

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:38 am

The same topic we have talked on autoworld, I think the base line vios priced below RM70k could be the single airbag, rear drum brake, manual transmission, or maybe 1.3L.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:39 am

But it is still has some basic safety like single airbag, front disc brake, abs.

• J (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:54 am

It cannot be 1.3 la. Bec 70K is already over-priced for this car. Anyway, good news for the rakyat.

I think this is the first country whose rakyat want the national car industry to die :)

Shame on the G.

• azolkipl (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:58 am

Logic dictates that at RM70k, a basic model vios will still be a 1.5l car. This is because a locally assembled Avanza 1.5G spec is sold at RM72k. That's an MPV with a 1.5l engine, automatic gearbox, ABS & EBD, 2 airbags, rear drum brakes, and alloy wheels.

If we take a Thailand CBU Vios with a lower spec, like no airbags, manual transmission, rear drum brakes and steel wheels, it is still possible that the car will cost RM70k.

Just my two cents

• cell3216 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 8:29 am

In Malaysia, Toyota has offer two model for vios which is 1.5G and 1.5E. 1.5G is currently sold around the price RM83K while 1.5E is sold around the price RM76K. Besides, there is offer cash rebate (i don't know the exact amount) on 1.5E and it make it less than RM75K. From this point of view, I think that the new vios (third generation) which will sold under RM70K (may be RM69,999.99) could be the model 1.5E with manual version or UMW might bring in the lowest model 1.5J (check this out: http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/v…. However, I think highly possible new vios sold under RM70K is model 1.5J. I don't think it will be 1.3L offered because new vios offered in Thailand and Singapore with 3 model are 1.5L. Only Toyota belta carries 1.0L and 1.3L but none of any model of vios. UMW is bringing Toyota Vios, not Toyota Belta. Anyway, I am not Toyota fans but just wanna voice out my own opinion only.

• J (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 9:24 am

Yes, since the new VIOS will be a worldwide model, the production volume will be increased tremendously. Therefore, cost goes down, and it can be sold at lower price then the current VIOS (which is a regional model)

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 9:40 am

hondadriver:

I did state in my paragraph that upgrades such as airbags, ABS can be put in later via UMW Toyota. Modification-wise, I meant better suspension, brakes etc from third party companies.

4G63T DSM:

Haha, i must have misrepresented myself earlier. What I meant was dominating the local car brands in the United States such as Chrysler, Pontiac, Buick and miscellaneous, not destroy the entire industry literally.

Probably got carried away with typing too quick.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 2:06 pm

Japs car not even dominating US market, but pose a stiff competition to American makes dominant in their makret. Japs makes sold around 1/3 of US vol.

Koreans are new kids in the block in US market.

• megadisc (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:45 pm

me getting a vios !

oh mama mia

• kody (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:10 pm

wahlaueh…

from info provided by 'cell3216' , lowest spec in Singapore still not bad at all mah. Fantastic UMW to create another round of stiff competitions which will benefits new potential buyers. Haha… i wonder how's P1 going to do, such delay n delay talks with other giant car makers n make no promising result. Haha… may be next round 50yrs 2nd round offer WAJA – 49999, WIRA – 39999, Perdana – 69999 …than P1 may gain the market shares again… That's the possible on par reasonable prices for P1!!

• kendo (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:18 pm

RM50k lah,

go to HELL NAP"

• kendo (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:19 pm

pathetic MALAYSIAN,

rape and rip

by corrupted NAP!

• mofo (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:35 pm

Rumours still rumours. Lower range of engine selling @ these price, yea i agree. However its 1.5l @ these price, it will badly affecting on the 2nd generation of Vios,.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 10:45 pm

Whatever people say about toyotas that are soul-less, they must have forgotten that their soul-full cars never quite do well. (Celica, Supra, MR2, MRS..etc)

Would you want to buy a Soulfull car (ahem…Alfa) and enjoys its joys and pain when it brakes, or a soul-less car which lasts forever…. Most people will chose the latter. Especially in a country where your most basic car is considered a "luxury" item.

Joe Ooi said,

April 5, 2007 @ 6:06 am

Japs car not even dominating US market, but pose a stiff competition to American makes dominant in their makret. Japs makes sold around 1/3 of US vol.

Koreans are new kids in the block in US market.

———————————

Latest report has the American brands getting hammered badly. Only ones that showed gains were the Japanese and Koreans. Take away Trucks (Pickups/SUVs) and the Americans are left in the dust.

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 11:22 pm

good news?

wonder how the new gen2 sedan will fare against tis?

• skizzo75 (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 4:12 am

Many of u dislike proton although most of ur father using it or the best part u r using it and bashing like nobody business, IF PROTON GOING DOWN SO DOES U ALL HAHAHAHAHA THIS country will FALL like DONKEY DUNG POOR U ALL SMALL MINDED JUST LIKE WHAT ARE U writting REFLECT U'S INTELLIGENCE HAHAHAH EVEN MONKEY CAN DO BETTER

• kody (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 5:46 pm

wahlaueh…

———————————————–

skizzo75 said,

April 5, 2007 @ 8:12 pm

Many of u dislike proton although most of ur father using it or the best part u r using it and bashing like nobody business, IF PROTON GOING DOWN SO DOES U ALL HAHAHAHAHA THIS country will FALL like DONKEY DUNG POOR U ALL SMALL MINDED JUST LIKE WHAT ARE U writting REFLECT U’S INTELLIGENCE HAHAHAH EVEN MONKEY CAN DO BETTER

————————————————

halo bro skizzo75, it looks like u r looking & acting more like monkey kong… If P1 fall Mal will fall…. haha…. you dream too much about Titanic movie… you jump i jump.. ahh.. If P1 fall… it will affect some minority groups only. If our car industry like tomyamland… may b now our auto industries become more advance & crowded or already become asia region biggest hub for car assemblies. Then there will be more jobs as compare to now! I strongly believe u r young n in rich family which don't drive P1 cars… & that's why you wrote like MONKEY KONG…& think like it.hahaha…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 11:35 pm

funny guy… LOL :)

• transformer (Member) on Apr 08, 2007 at 3:56 am

hopes Paul may have the chance to do a shootout between this new Vios and upcoming Nissan Latio….

quite excited to know Paul comment on these two…

as these two already had a good fight in Singapore(our current Vios vs Latio)

let hopes it carried to Bolehland(as both "supposed" to be launched as new model……Apple vs Apple)

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 08, 2007 at 11:21 pm

70k i beleive should have abs and a few airbags. after all its the yaris sedan. it should be more comfortable than the yaris hatch.

• ian (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 8:06 am

Is it me or did it seem that they did not change the chassis?

• Callum (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 5:03 am

If the cancer grows from your fingers, it is better to cut it off than let it grows until the whole body. Keeping the bad apples will eventually ruin the whole tree.

In any factories, if the volume goes up, usually the quality is compromised. However, it is not the case for Toyota. When Toyota climbs up to be world no 1, we had never heard that its quality is degraded. This is the major difference of Toyota as against to Proton.

Look one step further, Proton has indeed lost RM600millions over the last 9 months, this equivalent to 2millions ringgit per day. What has resulted this ?

On the same token, Agusta, RM315million deal was bailed out at euro 6 dollar. MAS fiasco, Bank Bumiputra repeated frauds, Multi Super Corridor project are some of the failures. WHY ? Two reasons, firstly, the money belongs to the government or EPF (but the management of Proton, Agusta, MAS etc doesn't care about EPF money is indeed the rakyat money). Secondly, taking care of the majority (and not taking care of minority like what other countries did).

We are not indicating the Bumis are less intelligent, the main concerns here is, all these frauds are government protected reigns. It is the spiled children, the so-called cancer that grows from the finger spreading across the whole body.

Success is the mother of failure, we cannot continue to feed them again and again. We need to make the children to understand and accept reasonable suffers so that they grow more maturely. A small tree cannot withstand a strong wind will die naturally.

If we all look around the neighbours, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, Philiphines are moving rapidly over their economy. Avanza and Innova were made in Indonesia, VIOS/Altis/Camry were assemblied in Thailand.

Whether you like it or not, your young brother is growing up day after day, they are positioning themselves competiting not only to Malaysia but the world. Malaysia government or or rakyat need to think out of the box and re-align to the globalization.

Good luck to Malaysia !

Callum …KL

• hotwheels (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 4:17 pm

i just got the ‘estimated prices yesterday. no 1.3 model, all are 1.5

1.5E 79.6k
    1.5G 85.6k
    1.5S 88.6k

the S comes with a bodykit and some fancy dashlights. ayooo semua harga naik man.. hahaha what happened to the 1.3lah?