9th International Engine of the Year results soon!

997 Twin Turbo

Come 9th May 2007, we’ll know the results of the 9th International Engine of the Year Awards. Last year BMW dominated the awards and won the main title for the second consecutive year with it’s 5.0 litre V10 found in the BMW M5 and M6.

This year’s contenders include Volkswagen’s 1.4 litre TSI engine which employs innovative use of both a supercharger and a turbocharger, Porsche’s 3.6 litre twin turbo which is the first petrol turbocharged engine to use a Variable Geometry Turbocharger, and Toyota’s 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine which is supposedly the lightest combustion engine on sale today. Of course, there’s Volkswagen’s 2.0 potent litre Turbo FSI.

For now, let’s recap the results for 2005 and 2006 in the posts linked below.

2006 International Engine Of The Year Awards Results
BMW Dominates 2005 International Engine Of The Year Awards

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:05 am

Do Campro CPS participate in this competition???????

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:16 am

That CPS technology already used i think dinosaur world already.. even Toyota used it in his AE86 very long time as TVIS.. Do you think P1 Campro has the chance… Even the EVE project got listed i already ROFL..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:23 am

But Some Protonian still can't accept the fact that P1 is crap yet consider CPS as an improvement.

Back to topic. My personal opinion is VW 1.4 TSI have a good chance to fight!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:31 am

Err… a lot of ppl criticism about the VW 1.4 TSI last year after the golf GTI launch it, But i think it still can win in the 1.4 category, porches V6 and the new M3 V8 might win something also.. Maybe the Nissan new V6 engine can win an award? For diesel, i hope the new Subaru boxer diesel engine might be in the list also..

• peYno (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:37 am

my vote goes to pelodua Dvvt 1.3 engine

powerful like 1.6cc class

FC like 1.0 cc class

prrrfthhh

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:55 am

Wei PeYno, i know you hate the DVVT engine.. Why not u work in to design a good, reliable, powerful and Fuel saving engine.. After wining the award, we all bow to you as hero, and used it in our own P1 or P2 cars. We all Malaysian are proud to have you to invent a world class engine..!

• the man (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 8:09 am

My wish list

1) proton take over by VW

2) VW reshuffle all related with proton (vendor, orga..etc..make new proton)

3) use VW golfGTI chassis for Proton GTI (without cost cutting things)

4) use this award winning 1.4l 170bhp engine…

then I buy proton…..

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 8:15 am

i think it will be won by Audi RS4 4.2Litre V8..its getting lots of great reviews…bt wait til the new m3 comes in july..it mite win it !

n lets NOT talk abt p1 or p2..this topic is not related to thm…dont be rediculous…geez

• infinity (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 9:35 am

haha..watever the topic is, ppl will relate it to p1 and p2..come on guys, lets do some engine talk…for me, the VW 1.4TSI should get the award..

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:55 am

Yeahhh

VW 1.4TS rulessssss!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 4:58 pm

My vote wont go to the VW 1.4 TSFI.

Other than Direct injection, the concept if Turbo and supercharging an engine is not new. Lancia had them in the 80s. Even my mechanic friend has a Turbo -supercharged 4G63.

The Porsche VGT engine will probably make it, as the turbo charger is a significant step toward more refined power delivery for high powered turbo charged cars. Its a step in the right direction.

THe Toyota Aygo's 1.0L engine is basically similar to the DVVT engine in our Peroduas if I'm not mistaken. The Citroen C1 stable mate is very popular in France. I see them all over the place, expecially in the more rural regions of France where I work a few times a year.

• hondadriver (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 5:03 pm

wow.. we have a new laurel and hardy comedy act in the blog. joe and littlefire ;)

btw littlefire, TVIS is not CPS. why dont you go look it up first.

• aesthari (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Is the BMW Twin-turbocharged L4 Diesel in? I think it's great.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:40 pm

Oh sorry.. CPS (Cam Profile Switching) means that the camshaft is designed such that the inlet valves are lifted to two different heights depending on engine speed and load.. Well it is like Vtec and VVTL-i… ppl using it for a long time already.. Anyway Fiat used the VVT since 1960… And one thing they also use Variable Intake Manifold technology that is currently being developed by Robert Bosch GmbH. So conclusion it is still using the technology like T-VIS in Campro With CPS.. So i am still right 50%! T-VIS (Toyota Variable Intake System) The manifold have both longer and shorter pass road, so the theory is the same with T-VIS. But anywayz i am looking forward to see the new supercharge 1.8 engine for satria GTI.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro_engine http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Variable_valve_timing
    http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/t…

But i wonder when it will have direct injection? wikipedia said it is doing research now in Lotus?

Even Volvo new engine 3.2L 6-in line engine combine VCT (Variable Cam Timing) and CPS (Cam Profile Switching) on the inlet side — two key elements in providing the engine with excellent driveability and flexibility. They also include VIS (Variable Intake System) has been equipped with two throttle flap valves which adjust the intake manifold volume to suit the current driving situation. This results in a uniformly high and broad torque curve.

P1 just less volvo new engine the VCT.. Well not bad for P1 is the engine is good and reliable..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:43 pm

Maybe the new engine is timing chain also.. Proton Campro CPS – Still under development, said to be based on Lotus technology which developed Porsche's VarioCam. Porsche VarioCam – Varies intake timing by adjusting tension of a cam chain.

• Bbingbong (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:18 pm

aiya u littlefire, dont need to find long answer.. using this oso can make ppl understand

CPS= VVTI/VTEC

VIM= TVIS

that wat hondadriver want u to noe…

• Bbingbong (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:21 pm

so same la that DVVT,VVTi,vtec, is also a same dinosaur technology that use by proton CPS…hahaha so toyota and honda also same use dinosaur technology..

• Bbingbong (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:49 pm

hmmm im wonder how he do edit thingy in here?

• motherker (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:28 pm

Toyota’s 1.0 liter three-cylinder engine which is supposedly the lightest combustion engine on sale today

how about the kancil 660's engine?

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:35 pm

its heavier cos it is made out of cast iron differ from the toyota….

• transformer (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:11 am

heard Nissan VQ are dominating this award for many years but it seems like the newer ones are smaller in cc but higher in output(in terms of efficiency)

i'll vote for any FSI/TFSI engine from both VW/AUDI

• proton GL (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 4:11 am

i bet VGT for patrol engine is a real expensive, those flaps probally made out of titanum i gues,

-extreme heat!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 4:38 am

BMW's new engine? Does the engine category count with the power saver/generator from the tyres which are obtained from the M series?

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:47 am

some Baka malaysian say. savvy using old tech renault engine becoz of SOHC engine… and they say myvi using new engine becoz of DOHC..

AHO