All-new 2008 Ford Escape – first details!

This is the successor to the Ford Escape currently being sold in our market, but it hasn’t been introduced here yet of course. Still, it would be interesting to look at what new SUVs in the 130 to 160k price ranges might come here, since we have no new SUV models here save for the 2007 Honda CR-V. The X-Trail has just been facelifted again so the replacement second generation X-Trail is nowhere in sight.

Anyway, on to the 2008 Ford Escape after the jump.

The new Escape is once again based on a car platform instead of a truck platform, so that should do well for it’s ride and handling. But a proper truck-like exterior styling is used for that Built Tough image. Trucks should look like trucks. It has a higher beltline now, giving it a buff appearance. On the technical side, it now comes with a speed-sensitive Electric Power Assisted Steering (EPS), which varies assistance according to vehicle speed. This tightens up the steering at highway speeds so the Escape can be controlled better, while assistance is increased at slow speeds to help with parking and other maneuvers.

Like the new Ranger, Ford has put alot of effort in improving the NVH of the new Ford Escape over the old model. The new 2008 Ford Escape is now 12% more quiet on the highway (30.8 sones to 27 sones at 130 kph in the wind tunnel) and 20% more quiet in high velocity crosswinds.

Under the hood there are two gasoline choices – a 2.3 litre inline-4 Duratec and a 3.0 litre V6 Duratec. The 2.3 litre produces 153 horsepower at 5,800 rpm and 206Nm of torque at 4,250 rpm. This is paired to either a 4-speed auto or a 5-speed manual. It’s a bit sad that the auto is a 4-speed instead of a 5-speed, as even the Ranger has a 5-speed now. Then again, we don’t know if our region will receive a 5-speed slushbox unit or not. The 3.0 litre V6 Duratec makes 200 horsepower at 6,000 rpm and 261Nm of torque at 4,850 rpm, also with a 4-speed auto or 5-speed manual.

The 2008 Ford Escape also has a hybrid variant called the Ford Escape Hybrid. It features a permanent magnet AC synchronous electric motor, producing 70 kW at 5,000 rpm and 330V maximum voltage. It’s combustion engine partner is an Atkinson-cycle version of the 2.3 litre inline-4 Duratec, making 133 horsepower at 6,000 rpm and 168Nm of torque at 4,250 rpm. This provides for a combined 155 horsepower. At low speeds of up to 40km/h, the Escape Hybrid runs on electric motor only. Like most hybrids, the Ford Escape Hybrid uses a Continuously Variable Transmission (CVT) gearbox.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mayonaise (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 9:39 am

A nice improvement in terms of looks over the outgoing Escape. The interior is a huge improvement, looks more rugged and modern.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 10:02 am

the escape actually nice to drive bt power and gearbox wise its bad..the 2.0 i mean…styling is abit conservative…bt the interior is ok bt biege color is terrible to maintain clean..only nice in showrooms!

• normaluser (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 4:09 pm

The exterior styling is so-so, not a head turner. The interior looks too plain and a bit cheap.

The built quality is questioble. Is it just me or anyone else, who noticed that wide panel gap on the central console dashboard (1st interior pic)?

But have to see it live before I can make any conclusions. Hope ford malaysia can bring it here and get the price right & affordable.

• jedkoh (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 4:34 pm

I think the interior designers were watching too much of Gwen Stefani's "Sweet Escape" music video, and ended up such interiors. Uwek~~~ :X

• demio121 (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 5:35 pm

if we look carefully, this is not an entirely new car. Its the same as the previous generation but with heavy facelift. The front has got some pretty nice touc but the rest of the exterior is almost like before, which is not bad given Escape is one of mean looking SUV in town.

The interior job is good but not that color. It get dirty too fast and its suppose to be a SUV, so gotta look rough. Beige dun look tough at all.

• aesthari (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 6:11 pm

Why? Why do they have to spoil a macho truck with a cream interior?

demio121:

Ford does that sometimes; the MKIV Transit and MKV Transit looks almost the same inside and outside, the cosmetic difference is even less. What's changed is probably the running gear.

• BigCar (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 6:20 pm

Emmm.. Exterior like Ford Everest lor..

• ossd (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 6:23 pm

The interior is an improvement but it still is ugly as hell….

But woah… the exterior blows me away… looks like a proper FORD now.

This truck has got bling potential.. and especialy with that side profile.. delicious.

• ossd (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 6:26 pm

hey Paul… i made one observation about the interior…. top few photos show the interior in ugly beige color… while the last pic with the burgers and chips show the interior in dark grey…

hmm… are there diff variants on the interior colors?

• haroldz (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 7:06 pm

i tot i saw some teasers in local newspaper 4 tis car.

borneo post available only in sarawak.

dunno lar……

• hondadriver (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 7:10 pm

its got the typical american look.. if you've seen fords in the US, they love these sort of brown interiors.

• timber8115 (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 8:14 pm

looks like facelift rather than new car

• ragnahse (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 8:24 pm

wat more way to show this is an american car…..burger and chips…

• albagmane (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 8:28 pm

urrgh… i hate biege colored interior… looks terrible!

• silverfish (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 8:58 pm

Definitely has the butch, tough looking exterior necessary for a 4×4. The interior is typical American, useless.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 10:30 pm

this exterior looks very similar to new landrover freelander. interior is nice and quite ergonomics. even the colour was good for a executive suv. but not really suitable if bringing this suv to offroad ride with this beige colour.

• aksMs (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 11:27 pm

A good looking Escape this one. But the amount of cheapness inside is scary. Too Gen2-ish. Too plasticky. Bad craftmenship. I hate the interior so much that I want to scream out R-U-B-B-I-S-H-!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 11:27 pm

nice, simple, tough, american style, yeah!!!

Ford BOLEH!!

• greeeny (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 12:10 am

something is missing from the side profile to link the aluminium highlights front and back. Maybe need aluminium side step. Ford can also be more adventurous with their interior fabric color instead of just teh tarik color.

• McQueen_CARz (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 5:58 am

I'm going to get this!!!

• joe203 (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 6:51 am

i think it doesn't matter if the interior is beige. looks stylish for me. hard to keep clean? it's not as if you purposely want to mess up your car anyway. if it's black and it becomes dirty, it will still be dirty if you dont clean it.

to offset the 'kotorkan' kereta guys, beige interior must come with leather seats so that it will be easy to clean.

hmm i agree that the interior is as plasticky as a gen2.

• thow (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 10:03 am

Nice and rugged front look!!errr…..why is the back view of the car look almost the same as the old Ford Escape????But who cares, it's FORD!!!

• thow (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 10:09 am

joe 203. I agree with you. I'm a beige interior lover. And when beige interior is apply in this Ford Escape. It looks great. Nice work from Ford!!

• adad (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 1:27 am

Sorry to rain on your parade folks, but this is not the Asian Escape replacement. This is the US model. I wish it was though.

• kei9 (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 6:16 am

still got the same back design….but i like it! rugged looking.

• waimak (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 6:03 pm

This is Ford not Honda, Mazda or Toyota, dont expect it to be sleek in design.

• owaief (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 7:34 pm

yeah………toyota cars are "sleek"…………

• kei9 (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 10:16 pm

yeah………toyota cars are “sleek”…………

are they? not the fortuner, land cruiser,nor the avanza!

• owaief (Member) on May 10, 2007 at 4:18 am

yeah………toyota cars are “sleek”…………

are they? not the fortuner, land cruiser,nor the avanza!

————————————————

hahaha…i was saying it in a sarcastic way…i meant toyotas AREN'T sleek…..guess it is hard to express something with typed words!

• stevo on Nov 20, 2009 at 2:59 am

Will this ever come to Malaysia? The current Asian version looks like something for my mother.