Proton Satria Neo Delivery Checklist

Satria Neo Track

If you’ve ordered a Proton Satria Neo, as with any car, there are a few things you need to check before you accept delivery of the car. There is a thread on the Satria Neo Club forums that is 9 pages long and provides many useful details on things you should watch out for before signing the acceptance form. Here are a few:

• Make sure CAPTOR alarm system is registered
  • Check rear seat fitment
  • Check front passenger seat “slide forward” mechanism
  • Check headlamps
  • Check if chassis/engine number is same as the one on the registration card

I’ve only listed some as a “teaser”, and there are many more, so head on to this particular Satria Neo Club forums thread to read up. The Satria Neo is an excellent drive, it handles really well, so it would be a pity if your unit has problems. These checks will help you get a car that is as problem-free as possible, so your car can spend more time where it belongs – on the road rather than the service center. With early detection, many problems can be solved more quickly.

Link: Essentials before picking up your Neo forum thread

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aaron_38my (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 6:40 pm

9 pages long? that means on the day of receiving the new car, might as well be pushed to the service department and spend hours for those checklist problem check up.is the new satria really have that much of problem risks? i mean, its really unthinkable. for one, i know the 2005 batch naza citra has quite a number of problems and already not many owners are happy with it, namely the rear lamps masuk nyamuk, radiator leak, steering rack problem and front suspension creating distinct 'thumping' sound when bounces.yet, all these are more or less really just the problem risks with the naza citras and i don't think it could reach more than 1 page for its checklist.check out for the check list for it in www.citraclub.com.

anyhow, i thought the satria neo has been partly developed in Nurburgring?anyone here have a comment on this?

• Paul Tan on Jun 09, 2007 at 6:46 pm

A proper list has been compiled by the end of the 9 pages… so look at page 7, 8 and 9 if you want to skip everything.

• aaron_38my (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 7:07 pm

oh…have yet to see the actual check list but the thought of 9 pages is really shocking.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 8:43 pm

Sure it is good to check everything before you collect the car. Obviously when collecting the car (which I'm sure it is registered by then), you can't change your unit with a brand new one. As a result, you're still stuck with it, and have to depend on the service centre to fix up all those small defects which is covered by warranty.

The best way is if you could view the car before they register. That depends on the sales people you're dealing with.

• fastcx (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 8:53 pm

aaron_38my, the 9 pages usually are usual talks that not really related to the checklist, just check out the check list before you make comment about the risk. Thanks

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 9:09 pm

9 pages? 6 pages comprehensive, 3 pages even for concise. Proton sure can brag about this!

• aaron_38my (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 10:42 pm

yes fastcx and thank you but don't get the wrong idea of the situation, the way i understood earlier from the article was the actual checklist was really 9 pages long with the fact there's more to the few teasers there until Paul quickly cleared that it was 3 pages only that's really accounted for.

i was unsure though which is why i was never firmed with my comments on problem risks of a new satria.I was merely enquiring for credibility.fastcx, i hope you don't misunderstood me as one of those who simply gives comments as i wish to avoid criticisms which could lead to forum dispute. cheers.

anyone can tell me what was developed when the satria neo was in Nurburgring?

• 8918 (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 2:07 am

Well IMHO,this is where the service center play an important role for after sales service.Most owner will be ok if the problem can be solve,it's quite impossible that you receive your new car without any defect at all nowadays.

I wonder what happen to customer who bought those grey imported car…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 3:22 am

this checklist is a generall random faults found,NOT every Neo u recieve will have these issues,very helpful though

• jee sheen (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 3:32 am

hello everyone.new to this forum,but been observing for a while-interesting forum.i sometimes pity proton,they had been trying so hard to regain the market trust,but damaged done so bad to the current customer,seems to lost them for good.now wooing new buyer with several competitively introduced new car adds to the injury.Wells,they are really our automotive high school,many of those leading the other manufacturer/assembler graduated from there..On the bright side,even the luxury car had a very similar scene,Ssangyong Rexton 2 ,for instance,a big surprise to see their inability to cater technical issues even with back ups from Korea,so ..sales dropping.maybe similar to naza.,but look at eg. toyota,or even perodua, big gap ,i think customer priority is services by their people.again i may be not correct.

• transformer (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 5:52 am

So let pray for those who hit the jackpot… Mua Ha Ha!!!!

World first for P1 for its comprehensive checklist for new car owner!

M'sia Bolehland !

• ab (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 6:00 am

'Check if chassis/engine number is same as the one on the registration card ' ? the govt still talk on cracking kereta potong problems when protons are already potong when they leave the factory

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 6:12 am

xtra checks……

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 7:25 am

its important what ever a newly proton produa other makes, check the engine bay ,water ,oil engine, any hose come off, loose connection, -those small thing might lead to a total engine destruction

its good to run a journey under heavy rain making sure of the body is perfectly sealed checked ,

and under-seal compound very well covered undercarriage and mud guard so that no bare metal exposed, stone chip might later caused rust,

before warrent ends..

allignment need to checked. itll save your tyre, if got money try avoid Sime Tyre, go for goodyear (malaysian ok) or batter brand (sometimes thailands)

kumho (crap)

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 5:30 pm

anyways, i agree to the above checklist. My neo is reaching one year and so far so good. The only damage I had was self inflicted and there was once an engine mounting recall, so it was all done :D

• leechorwin (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 9:37 pm

I thought Proton had improved the build quality and claim that they cars is certify with German quality assurance? Or the certify is bluff 1. haha.

Proton is Malaysia taxpayers money sucker!! A 20 years old company still alway need government to pump in money to sustain their business operation, really don't know what they really learn in the past 20 years.

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 9:50 pm

leechorwin said,

June 10, 2007 @ 1:37 pm

I thought Proton had improved the build quality and claim that they cars is certify with German quality assurance? Or the certify is bluff 1. haha.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That TUV thing does not represent anything German at all, it's based in German but its a private entity on inspection & test audit and paid by those who hired them. Just like many financial audit firms generating fictatious report recently in Malaysia, there is always potential lack of integrity in these thing. They didn't mention what is the 'scope' of inspection, and nobody is smart to ask too.

IT IS REMARKABLE THAT 'POTONG' HAS ENTRUSTED THE FINAL QC CHECKING JOB TO THEIR BELOVED CUSTOMERS (SUCKERS).

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 12:20 am

TUV inspection ONLY applies to the savvy , not othr models , that explains y the savvy has almost no problem so far….no matter how many times p1 changes management , end of the day its the guys on the assembly lines attitude that counts , p1 should be strong handed on them….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 5:07 am

yeah..they might even spoil the VW cars IF it happens….But they just wanna 'choi chiak'…….

• Cire (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 3:58 pm

Whether the car is developed in Nurb.or in LeMans, it is only the handling and performance that you will get out of this tracks, but the issues here are the built and parts' quality.

Satria Neo is a gigantuan positive leap for proton in terms of quality achievement, and it would be a waste of everyone's effort if the quality are not maintained and the people building it are not trained and updated from time to time. Well, hope that it did not deteriorated with the announcement of VW deals going on. Sort of demoralising for some, but also uplifting for others that are truly doing their job.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 9:20 pm

i think sometimes, its us Malaysian who need to kick ourselves in the pants. isn't it normal for us to hear about foreign makes having poor CKD quality in Malaysia as compared to their CBU versions? It also not confined to the car market, but to many things malaysian.

maybe its not just a "proton" problem, but a problem with ourselves in general as a country.

as for the neo, the handling is mind-blowing. you'd never expect steering response and grip in a car like this at this price.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 10:15 pm

it all comes down to the public view….about it.

• arcana (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 11:56 pm

helpful guide indeed but shouldnt proton themselves prepare a checklist when delivering a vehicle…..or they couldnt be bothered.

i bought a toyota 4 years back and had to spend about 1hour just going thru the checklist with the salesman and examining everything in the car before i drive it home.

• Irkeez (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:42 am

Shy on you Mr Paul Tan. You are so materialistic. You sacrifice your blog for BMW advertisement only for the money. You are not the real man who love your blog. All of the audience of your blog now "sakit mata" with your advertisement in this blog… If you want money, go to work la…ok.

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 1:53 am

e-nabilll said,

June 10, 2007 @ 4:20 pm

TUV inspection ONLY applies to the savvy , not othr models , that explains y the savvy has almost no problem so far….no matter how many times p1 changes management , end of the day its the guys on the assembly lines attitude that counts , p1 should be strong handed on them….

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Or can we say this model never sell enough for the suffering voices to be heard ?