997 Porsche 911 Turbo Cabriolet Video

911 Turbo Cabriolet 2

This is a professionally produced somewhat artistic promotional video for the new type 997 Porsche 911 Turbo Cabriolet. It’s a shame that for most part of the video the music covers up most of the 911 Turbo cabriolet’s sweet 3.6 litre turbocharged boxer engine noise. Imagine the frustration of viewing a clip that shows the RPM meter going up to the high ends of the rev range, but all you hear is techno music.

Anyway, enjoy the video after the jump. It even has a short section where it shows the variable vanes in the Variable Geometry Turbocharger working.

Video: 997 Porsche 911 Turbo Cabriolet

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 4:44 am

Niceeee

• syir1@porsche-centre (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 4:56 am

guys,behold the macnificent….this car will be in front of my eyes every single day and every minute of the hour…cant wait to have it in the showroom…..

• F430CS (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 4:57 am

911 cabrio's look sucks! F430 spider is far better than this!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 6:40 am

same comments everytime……i dun like porsche's…….except for the

magnificent carrera GT………..sweet.

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 7:05 am

porsche has almost the same appearance from old to new models until now…for me, the looks not really that sucks la…it has unique exterior looking..not to mention its ride and handling…porsche can push out its power during cornering in a very fast speed without worry the car oversteer or understeer…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 7:21 am

it is unbelievable that somebody dare to give bad comment on this car.

i also admire the f430 and i do love the handling of porsche.

lastly, the sport race edition of f430 is called challenge. no stradale

challenge stradale has been given to 360.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 8:23 am

Porsche is better in term of value.. U see a lot of magazines opts that, even the Ferrari, lamborgini, Bugatti & others supercar that are faster n better then porsche.. but in term of value & fun driving is still porsche win the day! Porsche is cheap compare to all of them, and since its engine layout is MR with boxer type engine. It make it more special compare to others using either V8,V12 or W16 engines… Anywayz porsche is voted the best sportcar in the world last year in discovery channel..

• nmh (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 8:41 am

love porsche…bcoz the most practical and cheapest supercar…not styling. My favorite porsche is the cockster…whatever jeremy said. A lot more cheaper then 911. Im a lambo enthusiast btw

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 9:07 am

no doubt the ferrari f430 is the best car in the world in my opinion. but if u had to buy one with your own money. it would be the porsche. 911 model.

porsche is alot cheaper, more discreet in looks, more reliable and more fuel efficient when you step on it to the full.

the 911 is RR anyway not MR and its the fastest sportscar from factory short of the bugatti (but the bugatti isnt relevant coz u cant buy it even if u had the money and it's a one-off car)

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 9:33 am

Wohoho…There you go Paul my man,

Kudos to you for making my day.

Damn Porsh…It's just absolutely marvelous. The ultimate #1 automobile in my 'list'. It's just a matter of which variant to land my hands, feet and arse on. Yet to be realistic, i'll aim for the Nine-Eleven Turbo,and in black of course…by god's will.

Certainly there are other good super cars as well. Within the ring, we'd have Ferrari, Lambo, etc..but i'll go for Porsche definitely. For me the reason is simple…PRACTICALITY. Besides it'll render you one of the best in terms of technology, luxury, speed, prestige, quality, handling, rev, and…. romance.

Furthermore, i need not to elaborate since Mr. LittleFire85 has already noted the good points above, and i couldn't agree no more with you LittleFire85. Concord ! Yeah Porsche do really appreciate our monies.

Ooh Porsh..my androgenic hormone raged, damn !! Just too superb to be true.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 9:37 am

of coz ferrari n lambo still top of my list…any models…if u hd to choose btween dis car n r8…definitely go for r8…porsc will b my last resort…

• F430CS (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:00 am

Sorry… when i put this, i din know the new one will be called challenge instead of CS. and.. what i mean jus the exterior..F430 spyder is more beautiful,don't u think so? 997 coupe is nice looking, but not cabrio.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:07 am

Yeah nmh & topgunthang, concord to both of you too. Cheers..ops, Kanpai !!

One more thing, [email protected] you working with that NAZA Premier Auto @ Juru ? What is the most expensive and cheapest Porsh available over there ? Cayenne might be the cheapest model but in terms of car i reckon it'll be Boxster right ? If i am not mistaken. Boxster would cost $45,600 @ ~ RM 160,000 in USA but i'm unsure of how much it is in Malaysia. WoW, i guess it's gonna be a nationwide celebration if that was the price sold in Malaysia, aye !!

Anyway syir1, looking forward to meeting you at the showroom one day. Just wanna hail the beautiful 'Germans'…

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:26 am

Another thing i like about Porsche is the crest. It's simply aesthetic and implying the graciousness and glory. Just perfect !!

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:32 am

to my sense,any cabriolet look hideous.especially porsche.

i mean cabriolet porsche la.coupe one more stunning.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:36 am

Dear F430CS,

Yeah… i'd rather go for the coupe too instead of cabrio.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:56 pm

for me porsche would be the same as ferrari, lambo, bugatti, aston martin althought the porsche is the cheapest of them all. i can see a porsche can out ran many other supercars because of its excellent handling. i also really admire lotus which for me is the best handling car in the world. no doubt.

if 1 day i hv many many money i would buy them all except for the bugatti veyron because it is not really practical and valuable. just my 2 cent…

• narrowband (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 7:43 pm

Porsche's design is timeless. It sticks true to its old cues and roots. That's one of the characteristic of a soulful sports car. The Italians, on the other hand, go the extra mile by experimenting with bold designs and exploring new looks – That's how the 599GTB's design was conceived and I personally think it's not the most-beautiful Ferrari around.

• syir1@porsche-centre (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 9:26 pm

torishimeyakuin said,

June 24, 2007 @ 2:07 am

Yeah nmh & topgunthang, concord to both of you too. Cheers..ops, Kanpai !!

One more thing, [email protected] you working with that NAZA Premier Auto @ Juru ? What is the most expensive and cheapest Porsh available over there ? Cayenne might be the cheapest model but in terms of car i reckon it’ll be Boxster right ? If i am not mistaken. Boxster would cost $45,600 @ ~ RM 160,000 in USA but i’m unsure of how much it is in Malaysia. WoW, i guess it’s gonna be a nationwide celebration if that was the price sold in Malaysia, aye !!

Anyway syir1, looking forward to meeting you at the showroom one day. Just wanna hail the beautiful ‘Germans’…

well,i am working here and i'm surrounded everyday with these beauties….boxster is the cheapest,rm 520k.cayenne V6 is a bit more expensive.but the top of the range cayenne turbo is simply astonishing.500 bhp and 700 NM torque!!Do come to the showroom coz i'll always be here.

btw topgunthang and littlefire85,let me correct u guys on something.the 911 turbo is not MR or RR.the engine at the utmost rear of the car,just behind the bumper.Its also all wheel drive.

F430CS, this 911 turbo will ALWAYS SMOKE the 430 amytime of the day,rain or shine,road or track.and best of all its very comfortable.

all the ferarri drivers will end up is osteoporosis and terrible back pain…..kesian!!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:10 pm

Then why my father old VW beetle 1972 is drive line MR in the JPJ documents? VW and porsche old engine and layout is almost the same~! Just the new porsche is 4 wheel drive!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:13 pm

Porsche car are sell by Tun Dr.M son in Malaysia.. That why Tun Dr.M so rich laa… I heard if u sell 1 car u earn a lot hoo… RM15k percar? Syir1?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:58 pm

PTAllTheBest:

Yes, there is a Challenge Stradale for the 360 Modena. Please do some research first if not sure.

This new 997 911 Turbo was one of the most anticipated cars ever since the previous generation GT3 Cup.

For pure unbridled insanity, you guys should take a look at the 9ff Porsche Turbo TRC 91.

http://www.seriouswheels.com/cars/top-2007-9ff-Po…

4 liter boxer-6

Twin Turbo

910hp

671 lb-ft of torque

0-100km/h in 3.1 secs

Top Speed – 244mph/392.679936km/h

Can you say….ball ripping performance?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 12:46 am

if u want a car to drive fast everyday…go buy porsche la…bt if u want a car for holiday treat..there cars that move more heart then head….4 me…ill definitely go 4 2nd choice…of course ferrari 4 me…if u c porsche n ferrari side by side…which one is eye catchy???4 me…ferrari 4 sure…

• ~wj~ (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 1:51 am

well.. porshe has the talent , technology and most of all .. patients to create a monster car.. but i wonder why would they limit their performance.. still.. it doesn't mean that it is not fast.. it is!!

• transformer (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 3:13 am

NICE VIDEO!

Would appreciate if Carrera GT are the one appears in this video!

maybe Porsche is currently developing a new Carrera GT with a twincharged twin turbo VGT to smoke the others….

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:21 am

The car looks slightly longer to me…or is it some optical illusion..?

• syir1@porsche-centre (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:42 am

well littlefire85,not really that much laaa per car…if it were that much,i would be the happiest guy on the planet….sittin all day surrounded by these beauties and earn that much per car….wow….dream come true!!!

the fact that jpj doesnt really know much abt cars if i may say so on some certain cases…for instance,i once saw the color written on the 'geran',the color of the car is bronze or someting,but they put 'coklat' for the color….on paper it's hard to clarify.but the 911 range all are rear engine.only the turbo,targa and carrera 4 models are all wheel drive.

• nmh (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:30 am

But I expect sumthin like hardtop convertible from porsche…not this softtop

• lowprofile (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:54 pm

porsche's expertise if to leverage on its technological prowess. do note that among top end supercars, porsche is probably the only brand that has a strong horsepower/cc ratio, developing more horsepower from less cc. most of the other supercars have cc of above 4L while the 911 turbo makes do with just 3600cc.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:59 pm

nmh, not possible for the 911 to have foldable hard top due to space constraints and weight for now. perhaps the next gen 911 may have it. also, i don't think the other supercars have a foldable hard top as they too want to keep weight down (there are one or two exceptions to this though). foldable hard tops are more suitable for the mid and lower end pseudo sports cars (there are exceptions here too) but mostly, they are too much weight for the top end supercars. imho.

• syir1@porsche-centre (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:06 pm

those folding metal roof only adds weight and eats up the space in the car.compare the BOXSTER and the SLK…boxster has far more space than the slk in terms of boot space plus theres 2 boot instead if 1 in the slk….

• F430CS (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 5:18 am

syir1@porsche-centre-penang,

zzzzzzz.. yeah.. i do agree turbo 997 is really fast.. but what i wanted to say is only the looks! And personally, i think 997 coupe is beautiful, but just NOT cabrio… zzzzz.. yeah.. porsche got its styling.. and..again.. personally, porsche never looks good in any cabrio.. but the coupe is really gorgeous.

• nmh (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 1:36 am

They can use any other material like fiberglass or carcon fiber…lightweight. Merc SL did well with their hard foldable roof…im not sure what material they used. Hope porsh did it in future model