Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution’s new S-AWC system

Mitsubishi S-AWC System

The new Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution will have an updated version of Mitsubishi’s S-AWC (Super All Wheel Control) all-wheel drive system. An improvement over the old system is the new addition of ASC (Active Stability Control), which adds to the existing ACD (Active Center Differential), AYC (Active Yaw Control) and Sport ABS (Sport Antilock Brake System) components, as well as yaw rate feedback control.

All four systems work together to provide the Lancer Evolution driving experience, managing torque and braking force to each of the four wheels with precision. There are three operating modes – TARMAC for dry and paved surfaces, GRAVEL for wet and gravel surfaces and SNOW for snow-covered surfaces. Most will probably drive it in TARMAC mode most of the time.

ACD (Active Center Differential)

This system uses an electronically-controlled hydraulic multi-plate clutch which optimizes clutch cover clamp load for different driving conditions, regulating the differential limiting action between free and locked states to optimize front/rear wheel torque split. This produces the best balance between traction and steering response.

AYC (Active Yaw Control)

Active Yaw Control adjusts torque in the rear planetary gear differential to limit yaw movement. This enhances cornering performance. AYC also has an LSD-like effect on the rear diff, suppressing rear wheel slip to improve traction. This new version of AYC improves on the version in the Lancer Evolution IX by adding a yaw rate sensor as well as brake force control.

ASC (Active Stability Control)

As I’ve mentioned before, this is something new in the S-AWC system. It manages torque and brake force at each wheel, and has a brake pressure sensor at each wheel to allow more precise control. It’s basically the new Lancer Evolution’s version of stability control systems like DSC and ESP. The system can increase braking force on the inside wheel during understeer and on the outer wheel during oversteer situations in concert with torque transfer management for better cornering performance.

Sport ABS (Sport Anti-lock Braking System)

This is a special ABS system tuned for sporty driving, serving a function similiar to any other ABs system – it prevents the wheels from locking under heavy braking.

Mitsubishi reveals Twin Clutch SST gearbox

Mitsubishi_Lancer_Evolution_Proto_X

Mitsubishi Active Center Differential

Mitsubishi Active Yaw Control

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:24 am

more and more feature..

but improvement of ABS name as Sport ABS??

mayb next time call racing ABS.. (^Q^)

btw, using the gear to transmit torsion to rear wheel, would it be all 4 wheel having same speed or torque??

since the energy may loss during gear transmission… ???

• szw (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:50 am

wah…

all rally stuff ?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:14 am

cool system

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:35 am

I think the basic name for the system is 4-wheel LSD+ABS system+traction control system… Now i more understand.. But what i learn before, the more system apply on the car.. the more worst the feeling of handling, coz all have been taken over by the system for more safety reason..

Like last time Top gear compare a Evo6 with a Evo9. In track time, handling n cornering Evo6 win over the Evo9. But for drag Evo 9 win coz of 6-speed manual.. So the conclusion, evo 6 still win da day for excitement, cornering and handling, coz evo6 has less system compare to evo9, so the driver control most of the car then the system overtake.. For a racer, handling n controlling the car is more important then the lousy system. That why in Rally they are using more basic, light, simple n tough system.. Compare to commercial which is heavy and a lot of safety feature.. Boring..

• transformer (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:04 am

quite similar with SKYLINE R33's ATTESA-ETS Pro

all power and traction are controlled(digitally) for each individual wheel…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ATTESA_E-TS#ATTESA-E…

couldn't wait for the next SKYLINE to be introduced…

• happymeal (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:31 am

littlefire85 , u sound like u have driven an Evo before…. u sure its boring and worse off ??? quite a far fetch comment on a car that came with so many good reviews…especially on the handling.

lovely aluminium suspension arms…. yuummmyyy….

wonder what is that servo on top of the front diff…

paul, any high res photo of the 1st main photo. thanks.

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:11 am

LittleFire85; you got several things wrong there.

One, it was Fifth Gear who did the shoot out between an Evo 6 and an Evo 9.

Two, the conclusion was that the Evo 6 was faster around the track and the Evo 9 was more of a hoon to drive, since it likes to go sideways so much.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:20 am

LittleFire85:

Agree with you, the car handling's will improve with all these systems, but the driving experience would be dampened. I can feel the difference, based on some different normal cars I drive regularly :p

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 8:26 am

Opps! fifth gear i suppose.. Anywayz i test drive a modified FF Wira with Evo3 engine inside before with modified mivec LSD gearbox. I test it with an original Evo7 from a rich brad who challenge me, conclusion Wira Evo3 win the day.. So not big n expensive car will win always..

• Tracks (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 9:07 am

Although I agree with most of you that S-AWC doesn't necessarily makes the car goes faster around the track, I wish remind everybody not every is a capable driver and everyone makes mistakes. Such system helps in extreme situation especially when the driver makes an error. Similarly, ABS is not super brakes that makes braking distance shorter but enables you to steer under hard braking.

For those who think that they are good drivers, opt for the stripped down RS version which would have eliminated some of the features as well as shed some weight to improve its performance.

Even with new technology, the only way to make the road safer is by driving safely and carefully.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:31 pm

Littlefire, your rich friend probably doesn't know how to drive his EVO very well or know how to pick his races.

On a standing start (ie. 1/4 mile), power output on par, no way the AWDer will loose to the FWDer (less obvious with a RWDer). The AWDer will still hold an advantage even at a significant power deficit. I recall out dragging a Dodge Viper to the 1/8mile marker (most stoplight races are only that long), with my slightly modified 300hp 4G63T AWD. Of course by the end of the 1/4mile, i was breathing in Viper exhaust.

The situation is reversed on the highway. You never race anyone on the highway with an AWD unless your AWD has some fancy auto-decoupler for the centre differential leaving it either FWD or RWD.

At the end of the day, you are still a modified Wira, he is an original Evo. I would very much prefer an original EVO.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:46 pm

True enough.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 10:31 pm

From this news, what I am getting is that the evo has improved and refined their high tech traction control. the sport-abs is can be thought of as abs version 2.0. u know, like a software upgrade.

I think the biggest improvement is the dual clutch gearbox. This will make the car really fast.

Whenever i test drive a car, I always try out the brakes or ABS first. very easy, just emergency brake the car and approximate how much G-load you're getting. I can conclude one thing, not all ABS are the same, some weak ones are lancer (not the evo), yaris and magna. The strong ones, MX5 and Mazda3.

My car does not have ABS so I can test the raw stopping power of my tires. Mind you, just because a car has ABS, it does not mean it will always be more effective in stopping. I almost crash a car ones because I brake late thinking that it was normal brakes, the ABS was interfering.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 8:06 am

4G63T DSM,u smell foreign n think u very rich and show off guy.. I am on the other side very poor and only have a small wira to modified.. Well taken ur RM200k Evo7 (Malaysia market) and modified into a race beast n go sepang to race.. If kena langgar or collision with another louzy car like mine dont cry ok? Anywayz who dont want to drive a new evo? It is becoz of Malaysian G who always tax like hell who force ppl like me to go and buy half-cuts.. which are more cheaper.. Anywayz, if u drive an Evo n loss to a kid wif only driving an old AE86 how do u feel? This is what i given to those rich brad who think old cars sucks.. Even i loss, i no loss so much face coz i race in old car.. U are racing a dodge viper, i can also say that the dodge drive maybe also doesn't know how to tune his car n drive also..

Well, even the pink lady from Thailand also modified his silvia to FR only, but not 4WD for the drag open in sepang, who which he already win a lot of times… So which are good or wrong? What i know, if u want to drive safe, take the original 4WD 1. If u want to race take the RS version, which is strip down version.. Not all 4WD are the best, Even ferrari, 350Z, NSX also using FR or MR version..

• Kelisa n/a on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:58 am

4G63T DSM, i think that wira mentioned by littlefire won the day is in term of driving excitement rather than driving pride. People who drive proudly always buy aftermarket stuff and keep it as original as it is. With it there will be no improvement at all and no different from any same car that can be bought elsewhere. People who excited to drive will always make any improvement by all mean to improve the car’s performance. It is like pushing the car to the limit. so 4G63T DSM, from what i read you are not a car enthusiast. Brand does not make sense in car enthusiast world. BHP, torque, lap time, body-roll, turning radius, 0-100 performance, top speed, wind drag and feel matter the most.

P/S: race car never wore aftermarket parts, even the chassis.