New Toyota Landcruiser to make Sydney 2007 debut

Toyota Landcruiser

The new Toyota Landcruiser is even larger now, and it will make it’s world debut at the 2007 Sydney Motor Show sometime early next month. The Landcruiser is the Toyota-badged cousin of the Lexus LX, and this new version is 60mm longer, 30mm wider and 15mm taller in terms of roofline than the model it replaces. The Landcruiser’s wheelbase remains the same at 2850mm.

The new Landcruiser will also be used to introduce Toyota’s new Kinetic Dynamic Suspension System technology, or KDSS for short. It works like BMW’s Dynamic Drive active stabilizer bar system. Other than having the ability to be adjusted on the fly, he stabilizer bars can also be completely disconnected to allow for a longer suspension stroke during off-road situations.

It’s construction still uses a body-on-frame design that has been strengthened in this latest revision to increase safety, reduce noise and vibration as well as enhance interior comfort. The front suspension now uses a double-wishbone setup with coil springs instead the previous version’s torsion bar setup. The rear remains a live axle with coil spring setup.

Another new feature is Toyota’s CRAWL system which allows the driver to set the Landcruiser to slowly move over the terrain at speeds between 1km/h to 5/kmh in 3 steps. The CRAWL system will then automatically control the engine and brakes to proceed at the set speed with minimal wheel spin or wheel lock. The brakes are special multi-terrain ABS brakes.

The new Landcruiser will seat 8 people in comfort and protect them with 10 airbags. Wait for the unveiling in Sydney for more details. It will most likely get the new LX570’s 381 horsepower 3UR-FE 5.7 litre Dual VVT-i V8 gasoline engine, and the new 4.5 litre 1VD-FTV, Toyota’s first V8 turbodiesel engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 4:10 am

a very nice SUV, will toyota bring it here?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 4:46 am

go to to Dubai,almost everyone has a landcruiser ! and none are diesels,all big fat v8 !

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:30 am

Sabah & Sarawak need it more than Dubai though.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 8:30 am

Dubai there cars and gasoline are cheap. Over there almost all are desert, so without a 4WD car u gonna be in deep trouble if went off road.. So most of them prefer landcruiser coz easy to get over sand hills… Damn… Even taxi’s are Camry & Altis overthere…

• longjaafar (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 10:40 am

The road tax on this vehicle will be very prohibitive in malaysia. Moreover, with it’s enhanced height, it is unlikely that it can go into all underground car parks.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 10:44 am

I think i like the previous model without any specific reason…maybe the split headlamp looks nicer…anf of course i choose diesel, cant afford to fuel up V8

• altimi (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 10:47 am

“It’s construction still uses a body-on-frame design that has been strengthened in this latest revision to increase safety, reduce noise and vibration as well as enhance interior comfort. The front suspension now uses a double-wishbone setup with coil springs instead the previous version’s torsion bar setup. The rear remains a live axle with coil spring setup.”

I prefer an X5/Murano. Body on frame construction promised a very clumsy handling. Typical Toyota shit.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 10:49 am

hmm body on frame design….soon the rappers in states will convert it to be a loooong limosuv

• Javanese (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 11:01 am

Still looks argicultural to me (ie crap)… Toyota designers are one of the worst in the world.

• acbc (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 11:16 am

I’m driving a Landcruiser “Ninja” VX and while it is huge… it will still clear a 1.9m max height level car parks. However, if u add roof racks, it won’t clear (require a 2.1m max height level instead).

• legacy88 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 11:21 am

“Javanese said,”

“Still looks argicultural to me (ie crap)… Toyota designers are one of the worst in the world.”

WOW! No wonder Lexus LS460 has won 2007 World Car of the year, since its parent company aka Toyota aka their designers are one of the worst in the world huh?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 11:24 am

vague wheel arch

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 11:29 am

I can imagine a typical 5 foot kampung Malaysian driving this. This car is HUGE!! LOL

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 12:21 pm

damn…haha nice ninja…

• altimi (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 1:14 pm

“Javanese said,

September 19, 2007 @ 11:01 am

Still looks argicultural to me (ie crap)… Toyota designers are one of the worst in the world.”

Agreed. Toyota got no imagination at all when designing their cars.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 1:17 pm

never underestimate it if you haven’t encounter with one of these!

there was once a fren modified WAJA was cruising around eastcoast at 190km/h being overtook by this monster Toyota 4.7 VX/LV monster!

that path are not straight either! WoW!

• altimi (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 1:18 pm

“legacy88 said

WOW! No wonder Lexus LS460 has won 2007 World Car of the year, since its parent company aka Toyota aka their designers are one of the worst in the world huh?”

I’d take S350 any day.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 1:20 pm

no effort in reducing the weight…instead just added 1000cc displacement to maintain the performance…lazy engineering

• boonspot (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 1:56 pm

I reckon this is quite similar to the 2008 model which was launched in the States? land cruiser 2008

• szw (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 2:01 pm

err… huge

• legacy88 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 2:42 pm

altimi said,

September 19, 2007 @ 1:18 pm

“I’d take S350 any day.”

Good for you son. Err…can afford ka?

• arcana (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 3:17 pm

hmm…roadtax eh….previous one was a LX470….thats 4L+, pays a bomb as well but none matters, buyers of those vehicles can afford it anyway.

as for no imagination…..i wonder why?…..or becoz their focus is family buyers…..so their purpose and objective aimed at 1. not like toyota make lousy designs….some are very nice, e.g. lexus models and some toyota models too…..cant name that many….

• Tanpanama (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 3:21 pm

Wow nice looking landcruiser….My dream car/4X4..Sure laku with all tauke balak in Sarawak..Previous model, lots of them in Sarawak..Almost all the tauke balak and contraktor in Sarawak have one..

• mr_em (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 4:54 pm

the longer i look at it… the more it looks like its poorer sister…
    it looks like a ‘posh’ Toyota UNSERRRRRR!!!! Profile wise this new LandCruiser looks like a smoothed-out, slighly curvy Toyota Unser… heh heh cant fault the Toyota DNA there… ugly….

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:11 pm

proton.GL.. said,
    September 19, 2007 @ 11:24 am

vague wheel arch

Not just the wheel arch, everything is vague. What has happened to their SUV designers? c’mon, Nissans’ designs are more articulate. Don’t tell us you can’t even afford Peninfarina…

• altimi (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:13 pm

“legacy88 said,

altimi said,

September 19, 2007 @ 1:18 pm

“I’d take S350 any day.”

Good for you son. Err…can afford ka?”

If given a choice la. S350 looks way much better. Can’t afford it though.

• altimi (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:20 pm

“mr_em said,

the longer i look at it… the more it looks like its poorer sister…
    it looks like a ‘posh’ Toyota UNSERRRRRR!!!! Profile wise this new LandCruiser looks like a smoothed-out, slighly curvy Toyota Unser… heh heh cant fault the Toyota DNA there… ugly….”

Indeed. A very expensive Unser.

http://autoreview.belproject.com/item/320

• armandd (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 7:50 pm

an S350 can’t go off-road laa…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 8:11 pm

Which S350 are u guys talking about, the Merc S350? or is there a Toyota S350…and I’m wondering why has Transformer compared a mod waja (even when it is slapped with a 2.5 ltr engine, the most) with a 4 ltr landcruiser, ‘cruising’ at 190km/h on a road at eastcoast! he must be making it up!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 8:43 pm

looks better than the pimped up hilux aka fortuner, though i guess the price will be around rm 400,000

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 9:03 pm

omg… this car looks ugly!

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 11:01 pm

The size getting bigger, the engine getting bigger too.. boring.
    Design look like Unser facelifted if decrease the size.
    Tokey should like this.
    What for?
    Show to everyone that you are rich man to waste so much money to burn fuel.

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 11:42 pm

It doesn’t even try to look good. But its sheer size leaves me awestruck anyway.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 2:18 am

Should we say slightly smaller than the humvee

• king (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 2:48 am

another boring souless product from toyota. they never really put effort to produce proper cars for enthusiasts…which explains why they are currently at the top bcos they focused on the centre of demograph for car buyers i.e people who are not car enthusiast and do not know much about cars.

Another 2 generations and it could well grow to the size of a dumptruck.

conclusion : toyota is Good at producing cars , not at producing Good cars.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 9:02 am

nobodyatuk said,
    I’m wondering why has Transformer compared a mod waja (even when it is slapped with a 2.5 ltr engine, the most) with a 4 ltr landcruiser, ‘cruising’ at 190km/h on a road at eastcoast! he must be making it up!

Not 2.5L its just a basic mitsu engined Waja 1.6L NA 5MT with modified gear ratio, flywheel, cams, intake, exhaust and few electronics.

You’ll never know IF you never “encounter” with one of these…

• Javanese (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 9:35 am

legacy88 said,

WOW! No wonder Lexus LS460 has won 2007 World Car of the year, since its parent company aka Toyota aka their designers are one of the worst in the world huh?
    —————————————

Wow, since when being the best car means best designed car in the world? A Lamborghini never won any best car award, does that means their car looks like carp?

Lexus designs are boring at best, but they’re good cars if you want a huge, geekish, lifeless, unexciting, quiet car (which seems to be the case with most americans) go ahead buy one. I’ll take the W221 merc anyday; it’s cheaper and more exciting. Before you ask, I can afford a S350, but only a used W220.

• king (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 10:46 am

agreed…..americans cars are real crap but they still sell well in north america

• legacy88 (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 1:00 pm

Javanese said,

September 20, 2007 @ 9:35 am

“I’ll take the W221 merc anyday; it’s cheaper and more exciting. Before you ask, I can afford a S350, but only a used W220.”

Ha ha…good for you too, since you’re already answered that before i ask. He he. Anyway, I do own a used German car and a Japanese one aka Toyota, which the latter gives me a trouble free and cheap to maintain. Well yeah it soulless and god damn boring too look at, but I like its reliability.

On the other hand, the Germans makes a truly good car to drive and it handles way better than most Japanese cars. That’s what I like it at max. And before you ask, it comes with a Hoffmeister kink. :)

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 6:39 pm

United Nation (UN)

• Javanese (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 7:40 am

lol @ proton GL comment… so true.

Yeah, I drive a used Beemer too, but it’s an SUV so it didnt hang in corners that well. For everyday “pasar car” we have a Honda, realiable and cheaper to fix if you ding it.
    Put in it this way, I rather be stuck in a traffic jam for 3 hours in a Beemer than any japanese car (except the harrier, I have a soft spot for that car :p ). It’s more comfy and command a little more respect hehehe..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 3:11 pm

hmmm…… Everest is better

• king (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 3:12 am

haha, i didn’t quite realise that – a luxurious UNSER…..especially from the rear….i’ll have 5 unsers …thank you.

• ah liew (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:35 pm

WOW! Sabahan’s will love it. pallarel import is doing BIG time there…

• jenatixel (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 10:05 pm

for a car this is the best, its big,has a v8 engine, lot of horsepower, 10 air bag, and what could u ever need more?

• Landcruiser on Jun 30, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Can someone please tell me why UMW didn't bring in this model?

• Rodel on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:43 am

this is my favorite SUV. great design and monster engine

• maguiraga cheick tid on Jul 19, 2009 at 11:27 pm

BONJOUR DR COMMERCIALE TOYOTA

veuillez m' imformer vos prix le plus moin de vos vehecule

je reste convaincue que ma demander rettiendre votre attention

• Head Hunter on Apr 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

body on frame is best when offroad. that is why people prefer land cruisers to go off road than range rovers. it doesn’t roll, neither does it shake you to pieces when off road. i would love to have one for my next car. my old pajero is tired and worn, need to rest it for pasar use. what is passion and soul if you don’t understand what a car is about? in this case, suv for off road. what ‘soul’ are you talking about altimi? i bet, you don’t even drive a suv off road. probably never seen a narrow 2 lane road. put on two big dura grappler tyres and this baby can crush your small car.