Black and white Proton BLM spyshot

These are more spyshots of the Proton Saga Replacement Model or better known as the Proton BLM, which is a codename that stands for Base Line Model. This new Proton will be the most affordable model in Proton’s stables – a three box sedan said to be based on the Proton Savvy with space for 5 and a proper boot for luggage.

Reader december who sent these shots in apologizes for them being in black and white because he shot them with his mobile phone camera that was pre-set to black and white mode. Well, I say no need for an apology mate – you’ve been generous enough to share this with us and the car is clearly visible.

Perhaps being black and white we are able to better guess the shape of the car because there is less distraction from the camouflage tape.

One more shot after the jump.

Related Proton BLM Posts:
New Proton BLM spyshot – this time in turquoise!
Another rear shot of the Proton BLM
Is this the new Proton BLM?
Clearer Proton BLM side profile spyshots
Proton BLM Artist’s Impression by Maru

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• geejun2 (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 2:48 am

oh…. not bad wor… looks like LATIO oni…. hahahahaha

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 2:48 am

cannot tell anything from side view….

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 3:51 am

em…impressive..anyone know the spec for this car?how about proton mpv?gen2 and waja with cps??

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 5:51 am

Perodua bungkus la after this….

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 6:59 am

So, when is the launch date for proton BLM…

• longdongsilver (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 7:15 am

Malaysia is a 3box sedan market. This is Perodua’s weakness.

• peYno (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 8:48 am

yes msia is 3box sedan market and it is not perodua’s weakness, blame perodua’s partner (daihatsu)..later ask peodua to JV with Honda/nissan.. then can assemble honda/nissan’s sedan cars

• scorpicore (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 8:54 am

Do malaysians who are looking for afordable car (car like kancil, viva, etc) looking so much on a car’s spec? I think may be not. Looking at the photos, with the external appearance similiar to most compact sedan car in the market, i think the price would determine the market rather than so much on the spec. I think P1 may not introduce 1.3 L engine for Persona with the introduction of this car soon. If the price is so attractive like those for sagas, below 30k, then i think malaysian will buy it without much consideration. BUt if the selling price towards >35K, then buying will look into the spec to make decision.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 9:57 am

hm….god.

• nazrin (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 10:23 am

goshh..,it’s honda city son..!!! damn cute.. hehehe
    better than the gen.2-persona..

• ragnahse (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 11:19 am

i dunno…sumhow the first half reminds me of that chinese car..geely sumthing..

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 11:50 am

maybe boxy cars suit malaysian taste more? i reserve my comments until they releases this car officially…

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 12:17 pm

a three box sedan said to be based on the Proton Savvy with space for 5 and a proper boot for luggage.
    ————-
    Another “buttock extension job” from Proton!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 12:18 pm

scorpicore said,
    October 21, 2007 @ 8:54 am

Do malaysians who are looking for afordable car (car like kancil, viva, etc) looking so much on a car’s spec? I think may be not.
    ————-
    If really selling below RM 30K, milo tin on the wheel 1 star NCAP rating also will sale like hot cake.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 12:20 pm

The rim very similar to Waja.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 12:22 pm

In future, Staria Neo likely to get “buttock extension job” as well.

• hazremi (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 12:27 pm

wow.nice view …hope the final product is good also with good price

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 12:33 pm

#
    BigFish said,

October 21, 2007 @ 12:17 pm

a three box sedan said to be based on the Proton Savvy with space for 5 and a proper boot for luggage.
    ————-

another comment from this blind basher..if other car manufacturer do butt extension,he will never give a bad comment…i dont what actually in his head??prfffff…..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 12:46 pm

sory for typo sket..

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:02 pm

cute… looking a lil like the aveo sedan :)

• whodz (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:08 pm

It was said to replace the gearbox with sentra gearbox and it’s going to be around rm30k. With 1.3 campro it’s more worth than buying rebadge myvi! Believe me.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:56 pm

hope that the headlamp will look nice…

• transformer (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 2:52 pm

how long has this BLM project spyhot being leaked ???

i still remember when the replacement for Satria, Neo spyhot leaked for more than two years before the official launch….. guess how long will this come out…. though Persona are rather quick due to butt job…. isn’t this a butt job too?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 3:10 pm

if compare to savvy rear cabin for this saga is of course greater than the savvy’s

well butt job ,facelift is common place in auto industry, bmw, mercedes, pug, mitsubishi ,

but when alteration made, the 90 the architectute of the car should be redone and recalculate, starts from the engine firewall to the back, suspension recalibration, and to the extend where final drive of the drivetrain need to match the new purpose, and to the extend ecu program need reprograming to the load and character if contributed to differences needed to be done so,
    to suit the purpose,

• BW (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 3:43 pm

I already have the full pic of this car… It looks like a korean car and the back looks like Audi…

• BW (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 3:44 pm

What i mean full is without the salotapes and etc blocking it….

• elpaciko (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 4:15 pm

share it with us

• Xylan (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 4:45 pm

looks kinda like honda city

• szw (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 5:20 pm

owh… base line model .

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 7:03 pm

akshen_kamen said,
    October 21, 2007 @ 12:33 pm

another comment from this blind basher..if other car manufacturer do butt extension,he will never give a bad comment…i dont what actually in his head??prfffff…..

@Askhen

So If I were to say the same thing as what Big Fish said, would you label me as a blind basher as well? Would you also insult the blog by calling everyone a blind basher just as long as your ego and pride for this car is not damaged? “prfttt” ?? What, are you 3 years old? I would suggest you show a little bit of maturity.

So for the record, this is another car with a tagged on boot just to applease some market preference. And yes, it is ungainly.

..and before you embarass yourself by opening your gap and proceed to calling me a blind basher, the same logic applies to the Vios, City, Sx4, Latio sedan… hatchbacks with a boot tagged on is never pretty.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 7:50 pm

#
    4G63T DSM said,

October 21, 2007 @ 7:03 pm

akshen_kamen said,

@Askhen

So If I were to say the same thing as what Big Fish said, would you label me as a blind basher as well? Would you also insult the blog by calling everyone a blind basher just as long as your ego and pride for this car is not damaged? “prfttt” ?? What, are you 3 years old? I would suggest you show a little bit of maturity.

aiya…are u the brother of bigfish?why suddenly you do personal attack one me?your should read all the bigfish comment from the first time.you can know that he is bias in his comment..every thing that related to proton he will comment like hell.even some time its not logic.but if its other car manufacturer, he will defend like hell.i not proton defender.i just give my personal comment.

Would you also insult the blog by calling everyone a blind basher just as long as your ego and pride for this car is not damaged?

i only call blind basher to certain people in this blog who give comment blindly like you.how your know that this car related to my ego and pride?this is blind comment.this car never related to my ego and pride. i dont design this car la.i just give comment.everyone in this blog can give comment.this is public blog where every body can give comment.i know u want to do personal attack on me.but your should shame for what you doing.blindly doing the personal attack just to show your maturity.

.and before you embarass yourself by opening your gap and proceed to calling me a blind basher, the same logic applies to the Vios, City, Sx4, Latio sedan… hatchbacks with a boot tagged on is never pretty.

come on la.you should show your maturity first before you comment other people. pretty and beautiful is very subjective think.where ur maturity?think before give ur comment and do you personal attack on me.

• angelo2689 (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 8:40 pm

Base line with alloy rim, good! (I think…)

• ilmondo (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 9:09 pm

reminds me of Chevy Aveo Sedan..
    i dunno but look at dis relation:

LG Design Studio-Chevy(Daewoo) Aveo Sedan-Proton BLM????

any relationship??
    feel tat d front looks not bad tho.. hope it blends well wit d side and back!!

goodluck proton!

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 9:48 pm

this design can win some china motoring industry awards.

• outspoken (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 11:16 pm

It is definitely a trend for car makers to do a hatchback-sedan combi.. However,I don;t think that the front end look like savvy…but maybe the platform is the same..

it is supposedly a BLM (base line model).. so, i guess the design suits the segment and more practical compare to Viva.. It would be interesting how Perodua will react with the introduction of this model.. I do not see viva can withstand the competition as most “Base Line customers” (no offence intended) will seek cheap with the biggest size.. about time Proton replaces the “Iswara Kereta Kebal”

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:06 am

The rear looks like the old kia accent, btw, I hope they can change the meter color on this BLM, I really don’t like the meter that used on savvy, I likr the meter on neo, or make it more classy, family look…

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:12 am

I hate savvy yellow color meter and that cheap looking steering…I think honda civic steering looks nice…everyone has comment on savvy steering???

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:16 am

I think for proton models, neo has the best looking interior, and BLM can use neo sterring too…

• moha774 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 8:33 am

Sometimes Black and white do have its own advantage…thanks for the pics.. anyway, not all people dont really what the spec will be since the target price will be around RM30K, what would you expect… I think we can expect car specs. something like Saga with new interior fitting… but the best part is the engine i suppose, with 1.3 Campro (less) engine already producing 94hp for Gen-2, I suppose it can give more than enough speed for car this size…

• moha774 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 8:36 am

sorry, typo error… it should read ” not all people really care what the spec will be….”

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:09 am

come on Proton, nuff with the testing, just bring the car out to market already man..or else u guys will be tad bit late again, just like the introduction of Persona, where VIVA was already on sale several months!!!

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:32 am

MisterBenjo said,
    October 21, 2007 @ 5:51 am

Perodua bungkus la after this….

–hahaha, why bungkus?? u have been doing a lot bungkus job lately. egg burger bungkus……….kakakaka.

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:36 am

peYno said,
    October 21, 2007 @ 8:48 am

yes msia is 3box sedan market and it is not perodua’s weakness, blame perodua’s partner (daihatsu)..later ask peodua to JV with Honda/nissan.. then can assemble honda/nissan’s sedan cars

–hahahaha, whenever i read ur comments, i just can’t stop laughing. still the same, never learn anythin. better than laughing pills. dude, manufacturing license and approvals to manufacture certain cars and engine capacities. please don’t simply comment if u know nothing at all. ahahaha.

• waimak (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 10:19 am

I just hope that this company finally found a ‘winning formula’ in all its new model. Any indication on the launch date of this model?

• johanbey (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 10:40 am

im not a car engineer, just a avid reader of AUTOCAR and this blog. even that i know engineering a modern day car is one on the most difficult process in the world. Hence:

a butt extention:
    there is no such thing as to just a slap on or cut off. when you design and built a car, there is a thing call weight distribution, which will affect the suspension setup, which will lead to the brake force and ABS, which will require the remapping of the EMS, which will change the gear ratio etc etc.

get it out now:
    this mentally of manufacturing getting things done without proper test is how p1 got into the current shit, they hire a p2 guy to be MD is to ensure the culture is changed and quality is upgraded. so shut your mouth and wait!

3 box design:
    if the car is good value for money, do you really care? latio is ugly not matter from what angle you are looking at it, still people buy it because of it offer comfort, quality and assurance. so if you dont like the BLM, go buy the gen-2. so shut your mouth tigher and observe!

P1 or P2:
    No matter wo sells more cars, the country is better because the money is kept within the country. otherwise, everyone in bangkok drives a collora altis, so? the country’s economy never flourish, do they have what we have? something that Thai can call as their own? so except you have a PhD in economics, shut your mouth and other holes otherwise you can migrate to thailand.

i dont like proton cars either, i prefer p2.

• TheDuck (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:12 am

Johanbey, why are asking people to shut-up? This is a free country.

Sometimes only through their opinions (rubbish criticism or blind loyalty) can we form a general consensus as to the sate of the BLM’s popularity right?

Anyway, the BLM looks nice. Just hope it’s below RM30K so that many from the lower income group are able to afford to own cars. Our country needs an alternative to the ‘kancil’; and VIVA is not doing the job.

Good luck Proton, I hate the Proton badge, but I think this is Proton’s last chance in proving to the critics

• TheDuck (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:12 am

Johanbey, why are asking people to shut-up? This is a free country.

Sometimes only through their opinions (rubbish criticism or blind loyalty) can we form a general consensus as to the sate of the BLM’s popularity right?

Anyway, the BLM looks nice. Just hope it’s below RM30K so that many from the lower income group are able to afford to own cars. Our country needs an alternative to the ‘kancil’; and VIVA is not doing the job.

Good luck Proton, I hate the Proton badge, but I think this is Proton’s last chance in proving to the critics

• biggie (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:16 am

a quick note here. becoz of Proton car development being done here in M’sia, we are being blessed with many and early spyshots taken by enthusiast etc. It is different from other makes where spyshots are very few as the development is not being done here.

Its the same for all other car making countries, shots from own makes can be obtained easily, however imported one not that many.

• abtm (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:42 am

looks like a vios meet dacia logan, the future malaysian taxi…proton please put the 1.6 in it!

• aaron_38my (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:46 am

In my opinion, i think this saga replacement should be and i hope its not bad but then again, its too early to tell without seeing an actual one. the shape of it reminds me of Daihatsu Ascent or was it the Hyundai’s little car?
    Anyway, in short, I have to agree with the statements made by scorpicore and the duck. If this model is priced below 30k, i think it should be a shoo-in.even if at 35k, it might be a little pricey but still…

• jimmykho (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:13 pm

I doubt the price will be less than RM30k. remember the Iswara (the version before the Saga) was selling at around RM38k (with the limited edition hitting RM40k), so I guess the BLM will be price at around this region. Somemore pricing below RM30k will eat into P2 market. Not forgeting that this model will definitely place above Savvy. The Savvy lite is RM33k and the HL selling at RM42k(!!!!) and the Base-line Persona is RM44k, so I place my bet that this model is going to be RM38k and above.

Want a cheap brand new Proton…get the current Saga before stocks run out…haha!!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:47 pm

akshen_kamen said,

#
    BigFish said,

October 21, 2007 @ 12:17 pm

————-

——————
    Never Ending Personal Attack – when I said “buttock extension job” for BLM, you carry out stinking attack that I am blind basher.

You go to Toyota’s Vios thread, I mentioned the same thing to Vios as Yaris with butt extension? Then you never said I am Toyota blind basher? Where do you stand?

Some more you accuse me blind Proton basher and strong Toyota supporter, where do you stand? I own and drive Proton car for more than 12 years and never own Toyota car?

Finally, what argument and proof do you have to show that “buttock extension job” remarks is BAD comment?

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:51 pm

akshen_kamen, better mind your language and remove “hate-monger” from your mind to avoid all kind of shitty and mindless accusation. Just for your info, look at all comments, posted by me, there are neither ALL bad comments for Proton nor ALL good comments for other (i.e. Toyota) but it is just “constructive” opinions from consumer view.

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:52 pm

Proton BLM: Poor man’s Vios.

Not enough with faulty Persona(it’s bound to be faulty, ask any Persona owner…::sweat!::), bring another faulty junks again? But it’s a base line, read: BASE LINE, what more can you expect if nothing more than just a crappy JUNK?

Perhaps, in any car market, there’s enough unsuspectingly ignorant buyers for Proton to survive(coupled with NAP-“never against proton” policy of course).

Who are we to fool, Proton? Huh, try to convince(and hopefully dupe) VW with all these faulty junks? Better close shop, it’s more like a clowns joke.

• shaif (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 1:20 pm

Put this junk beside the ‘tank’ iswara and it should be better than its predecessor.
    Whatever it is, Proton’s brand still need a time before it achieve the status of of Nissan, Toyota and Honda, that if Malaysian really want to support its own product.

• scorpicore (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 3:05 pm

For BLM price range, my prediction is between RM 32k++ to RM 43k++., with 1.3 L +/- 1.2L.

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 3:24 pm

“For BLM price range, my prediction is between RM 32k++ to RM 43k++., with 1.3 L +/- 1.2L”
    And also with a guaranteed 5-years of faulty parts. Tak caya tanya any Persona owners around…

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 3:37 pm

Ah! another item to be Bombarded by Proton Bashers. Keep it up boys.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:17 pm

#
    Max88 said,

October 22, 2007 @ 3:24 pm

“For BLM price range, my prediction is between RM 32k++ to RM 43k++., with 1.3 L +/- 1.2L”
    And also with a guaranteed 5-years of faulty parts. Tak caya tanya any Persona owners around…

u already use persona?have problem?have faulty parts?until right now i never heard problem regarding proton persona and neo..maybe other can tell me..

for this model,prefer wait n see…cannot talk more.proton basher will get angry..haha..

• infinity (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:19 pm

it’ll anytime kill viva…and probably myvi…persona is priced at45k (cheapest model)…this blm will be surely below 40k…and according to rumours, below 30k..at the price range of viva and myvi, u can get a full size sedan…and hopefully with campro cps (not likely)…so, for those with tat budget range, how can u resist the blm?

and please dun bring the NAP issue here…it’s already here and nth can be done…if u dun like it, migrate to other countries without NAP or watever they call it…we should compare the price of cars locally…if it’s below 30K, than it’s dirt cheap…take note tat the current proton saga is 28k…

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:36 pm

overall the height really not fit with the car and tyre really small, looks like somewhere something goes wrong. but anywhere congrates to proton, hope it will be big hit model like pesona. and make sure price tag come afordable. :)

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:54 pm

well this is not a sporty sexy model,
    this is a budget car that, not too big tyre ,ample space, good for longer distance as well,
    the look is sedate, and neat, with no unnessasaries,

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 5:35 pm

infinity said,
    October 22, 2007 @ 4:19 pm

“and please dun bring the NAP issue here…it’s already here and nth can be done…if u dun like it, migrate to other countries without NAP or watever they call it…we should compare the price of cars locally…if it’s below 30K, than it’s dirt cheap…take note tat the current proton saga is 28k…”

–do agree stop talking about NAP. so does stop talking about migrating. being not happy with the car price hv to migrate away? what kind of thought was that? hmm…………..

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 5:43 pm

A very decent model indeed, and hopefully a very good value for our money. We should call it the peoples’ car. If it is packed with the Savvy’s specifications plus the ample luggage space, this will proof to be the best overall model Proton has ever made. Maybe a 1.5 ltr with AMT gearbox for the highline model…?

• ady (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 6:26 pm

ok lo….
    not bad,size same like vios me..?
    cant wait…

• ganz (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 6:26 pm

mm… price should be below 35k… but i really do suspect the internal quality are similar to saga “battle tank”…and of course w/out airbag/abs/cd/ power window for rear, non-motorize side mirror,

Quality? who care. i need car.. which can help me travel to point A to point B Safety?? who care…who am i.. not enough money to buy a decent car… to much taxes, tolls and petrol…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 6:32 pm

stiff body than the current saga, of course.

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 7:14 pm

I,ve seen once at the federal highway but covered with black tapes,I was tailing it for a while around 140km/h and Its quite fast for a small car…

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 7:47 pm

NICE CAR LA…..CUTE…GOOD HANDLING..LESS NOISE VIBRATION N HARSHNESS..NVH…HI QUALITY SPEC… N… TRULY AFFORDABLE PRICE… AROUND RM30 000…..

• wong (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 7:47 pm

Max88 said,

October 22, 2007 @ 12:52 pm
    Not enough with faulty Persona(it’s bound to be faulty, ask any Persona owner…::sweat!::), bring another faulty junks again? But it’s a base line, read: BASE LINE, what more can you expect if nothing more than just a crappy JUNK?
    —————————————————————-

The problem with my Proton is .. I don’t think theres any..thanks for your concern anyway…

• bmx (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 8:19 pm

another expensive JUNK just for malaysian ?
    that money i can buy a solid second hand camry overseas….

• altis_fan (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:21 pm

Proton should put safety feature such as ABS + EBD, air bag, etc as standard. Don’t compromise on safety aspect. During hari raya journey on PLUS hiway, during raining, somewhere at Senawang (km 226.8) to North, I saw 4 proton cars in the drain, apparently due to skid and uncontrollable during breaking.
    If those cars got ABS, maybe they would not end-up in the drain. Toyota car such as ALTIS got ABS+EBD+BA and Traction control. So, Proton should follow
    these, and of course with LOWER Price !

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 10:31 am

to be fair, i think proton has catered well to the market. with the persona, there are 3 line options, with the top line having abs, ebd and pretensioner belts. these things cost extra money, so i assume its only fair that you pay for it if you want it. the option is there.

if you decide to buy the cheaper variant without all the extra options, should the car company be blamed?

btw, the altis cost more than RM100,000.

• waimak (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 11:51 am

Talking about engine capacity, P1 is known for producing models from 1.3 cc and above. It’s rare for P1 to introduce engine capicity below than 1.3 such as in the case of Tiara and Savvy. As for this one, we are not certain what’s the market segment P1 is targeting. Perhaps P1 is has other plans in capturing the market/ meeting the stiff competition.

Also, in an introduction of new models, manufacturers usually introduce new features or/ and technology. Affordable price, yes. New design, yes. Space, yes. But new features and/ or technology has never failed to pull the crowd to the showrooms.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 11:56 am

COOL…PERODUA..PLEASE DO SMETHNG…LIKE…

MYVI 1.3 EZi RM39 000

MYVI SE EZi RM 42000..OK WAT??

THE PRICE OF JUNK MYVI NOW IS EXPENSIVE LA… IF PROTON CAN MAKE A EDAN CAR AROUND 30 000 IN PRICE…PERODUA SHOULD DO SMETHING BOUT IT

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:07 pm

“..to be fair, i think proton has catered well to the market. with the persona, there are 3 line options, with the top line having abs, ebd and pretensioner belts. these things cost extra money, so i assume its only fair that you pay for it if you want it. the option is there.”
    To be fair to all rakyat, Proton must ITEMISED/disclose each price of the safety features. From ABS to glove box, let rakyat choose according to budget needs, not according to Proton will & wishes.

“..The problem with my Proton is .. I don’t think theres any..thanks for your concern anyway…”
    You better hope so. Pray hard for it. Very hard.

“..if you decide to buy the cheaper variant without all the extra options, should the car company be blamed?”
    It’s your hard-earned money anyway, whether it is well spent, worth buying every single RM and cent or not.

“..and please dun bring the NAP issue here…it’s already here and nth can be done…if u dun like it, migrate to other countries without NAP or watever they call it…we should compare the price of cars locally…”
    Unless you own every inch of this country, install yourself as God to rule every monkeys in the jungle, then you can piss off anyone, anything.
    Btw, you can say it all nonsensically, like in Dewan Rakyat to be exact.

“..btw, the altis cost more than RM100,000.”
    Btw, you seem to be very surprised indeed…ever wonder why? Perhaps your guess is as good as mine then.

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:27 pm

RE: Itemized breakdown of airbags/ABS prices.
    I dont know of any car company that discloses the prices of ABS etc as individual components.

RE: Altis price
    ==The Altis is the upmarket version of the Corolla sedan designed for the south east asian market. Yes, it is RM100k+, but even if Proton/NAP __DID_NOT_ exist, the Altis will be in the RM80k region (OTR w/insurance). You cant compare it with the BLM that is a Sub 45k budget entry model, and a smaller car btw.

RE: “Unless you own every inch of this country, install yourself as God to rule every monkeys in the jungle, then you can piss off anyone, anything.”
    == Grow up.

• wheregotcar (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:48 pm

Max88 said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 12:07 pm

.. bla bla bla

ekceli i tak paham la your point Max88.. confusing really. what is is about?

and you havent answered previous question.. exactly who persona owners are your referring to? yourself ke?

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:53 pm

“RE: Itemized breakdown of airbags/ABS prices.
    I dont know of any car company that discloses the prices of ABS etc as individual components.”
    Not a bad idea if Proton can do it. Every rakyat deserve to a fair disclosure.

“You cant compare it(Altis) with the BLM that is a Sub 45k budget entry model, and a smaller car btw.”
    Oh…how enlightening. Very impressed with your intelligent remarks.

“RE: “Unless you own every inch of this country, install yourself as God to rule every monkeys in the jungle, then you can piss off anyone, anything.”
    == Grow up.”
    Aren’t you? You ought to be.

“and you havent answered previous question.. exactly who persona owners are your referring to? yourself ke?”
    I don’t know. Please ask any Persona owner. I don’t know. “I don’t know.” Got it, boy?

• TheDuck (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 1:21 pm

Let’s be fair

If you ask me, if the BLM is priced BELOW RM30K; i wouldn’t mind owning such a cheap car. We pay for what we get right?

But if it’s priced ABOVE RM30K; most Malaysians will then have to agree with Max88 that the car is now a JUNK. In fact, let’s all do our part and END this Protectionist Policy in our country by boycotting the JUNK.

Let’s wait and see.

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 1:56 pm

“If you ask me, if the BLM is priced BELOW RM30K; i wouldn’t mind owning such a cheap car. We pay for what we get right? ”
    Call it ‘Cheap Junk’.

“But if it’s priced ABOVE RM30K; most Malaysians will then have to agree with Max88 that the car is now a JUNK.”
    Call it ‘Expensive Junk’.

“Let’s wait and see”
    It’s crappy, cheap, junk. Why wait any longer? Just buy it!
    (Pls patent/trademark the above tagline before Proton grab it.)

• wheregotcar (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 2:07 pm

Max88 said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 12:53 pm

I dont know of any car company that discloses the prices of ABS etc as individual components.”

==>> have seen toyota, honda or any car manufacturers disclosing their part prices? even to their own home country? do enlighten us..

• wheregotcar (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 2:13 pm

because.. if u do a slight comparison to the low, medium, or highline proton variants which the differing specs is the additional Airbag or ABS.. its about 3-10k. me thinks thats as good as disclosing the price itself..

do take consideration of manufacturing cost (cost of transporting, installing, warranty etc)

auto giants such as GM or toyota may have cheaper prices as they procure ’em in huge bulks.

p/s: mind the simple english n explanation.. im just a BOY.. bohoo

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 2:22 pm

“…which the differing specs is the additional Airbag or ABS.. its about 3-10k. me thinks thats as good as disclosing the price itself..”
    “..p/s: mind the simple english n explanation.. im just a BOY.. bohoo”
    Ok then, “Honesty is the best policy.”
    Sorry, utamakan bahasa melayu baku:
    Bercakap bohong, lama-lama jadi menteri…Eh sorry, jadi pencuri.

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 3:26 pm

if proton try to puts safety thing like abs, airbag etc. it can cost more, then customer ( mostly malaysian ) will arguing bout the price. its a normal things when people talk about safety things then want a cheap price tag. the way u drive its important. malaysia boleh!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 3:47 pm

have anyone meet someone to replaced the deployed airbag, how much it costs?
    then u know..

• wheregotcar (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 4:23 pm

Max88 said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 2:22 pm

“Bercakap bohong, lama-lama jadi menteri…Eh sorry, jadi pencuri.”

wtf, whats your problem??????

anyway, sticking to the BLM topic (duh!)
    I hope proton continue to provide wide range of variant for each of its models (low, med and highline). while i personally opt for ABS and airbags, for some they are willing to such risks.. an upgrade from motorcycles they used to perch on. i admit im no proton fan, but im sympathetic in their effort to regain market share.. BLM can be either they saviour or downfall.

most important, i agree with kaka811, drive safe be safe

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 4:43 pm

“..while i personally opt for ABS and airbags, for some they are willing to such risks..”
    Indeed for no reason, they like to live dangerously.

“..BLM can be either they saviour or downfall”
    Sounds like a great college thesis to present. Your cross-reference must be the BMW-Rover case study.

“..most important, i agree with kaka811, drive safe be safe”
    Undeniably, public transport is your 2nd best option.

• wmg (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 5:36 pm

proton.GL.. said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 3:47 pm

have anyone meet someone to replaced the deployed airbag, how much it costs?
    then u know..

—————————————————————-

air bag deploy..accident right?
    repair??.. claim je la.. boleh masuk skali claim insurance je ma

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 6:37 pm

wmg, i think proton.GL means cost of airbags since many mentioned like airbags r cheap…

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 6:38 pm

from this article, it seems it’s not cheap http://www.scienceservingsociety.com/ts/text/ch12.htm

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 6:42 pm

for those who wonder y different trim have so much different in price, perhaps u should pay more attention to details, for example, satria neo, M-line’s seat fabric is different from the 1 in H-line, persona’s dash quality is different for M-line compare to H-line, touch n see carefully, thats 1 of the minor things tat add up the sum. so pls pay attention to detail b4 question for differ

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 7:19 pm

proton.GL thinks that the airbag are cheap?. aren’t they?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:39 pm

its not cheap of course,thats what i mean,

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:41 pm

What a load of rubbish from Proton blind basher and defender for today posting!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:51 pm

wheregotcar said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 2:07 pm

Max88 said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 12:53 pm

==>> have seen toyota, honda or any car manufacturers disclosing their part prices? even to their own home country? do enlighten us..
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Someone blind defender argue that airbag never itemize in price even in oversea market! But for market like Japan or Europe, airbag is not optional item but is compulsory safety feature! Do they complaint that their car selling expensive in their own country?

The basic question is, in the corporate social responsibility (CSR) perspective, can the omission of airbag means put our life in higher risk of greater injury or get kill which in turn can it be measure in monetary term?

If foreign market treat ABS as part of a car to minimize injury or prevent death, then why in our country treat it as optional! Is that our life can be consider as “optional” as well and the value is maybe equal to ABS $$$$ only! “Cheap car come with cheap life”!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:54 pm

The main point here is make ABS and other safety feature as compulsory, so there is no argument from consumer about the price as well as manufacturer that want to cut cost use it as excuse for not to provide it.

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:56 pm

Then buy europe or japan car. case close.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:58 pm

Anyway, as some of the blind defenders “collectively” comments, don’t expect too many feature including safety items as this is BLM! Of course “luxury items” like leather seat, good trimming, high end radio/DVD player etc shall consider as optional items, but not airbag, ABS, EBD, etc.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:58 pm

could be more than rm5000,

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 10:02 pm

Blind defender, please don’t have that kind of “crap mentality” that view safety features like airbag, ABS, EBD, etc. as “luxury items” that shall be available to high line model only!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 10:06 pm

anyway to be exact check for your self,
    the bottom line its not 500 or 1000rm,…its expensive
    i agree with joe, should be standard, but cost is undeniable,

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 11:16 pm

tis time i must agree safety feature should b included, airbag, abs with ebd, if cn included seat belt pretensioner is even better, i would rather it be rm5k more expensive if they add them! at least 2 air bags for blm pls…

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 11:25 pm

TheDuck said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 1:21 pm
    Let’s be fair
    If you ask me, if the BLM is priced BELOW RM30K; i wouldn’t mind owning such a cheap car. We pay for what we get right?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    The BLM should be below RM30k (non-OTR price).

I dont think you could get a budget small sedan for under RM30k OTR anywhere without sacrificing alot on quality (eg. the indian built Tata).

Also note, the Savvy Lite is only RM28k. But due to tax it is over RM30k. If the BLM really is based on the savvy, they should be able to bring the price under RM30k… OFF road price that is. Insurance and normal taxes still apply.

Max88 and Bigfish: I will respond to content. But there arent really any points other than ad hominem rhetoric to respond to. Let other readers be the judge of this.

Bigfish said,
    “If foreign market treat ABS as part of a car to minimize injury or prevent death, then why in our country treat it as optional! Is that our life can be consider as “optional” as well and the value is maybe equal to ABS $$$$ only! “Cheap car come with cheap life”!”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    ==True, ABS does save lives. But one overlooked factor in saving lives is simply the mandating of the wearing of seatbelts. Sounds absurdly simple. But when everyone wears seatbelts, casualty and disability rates dramatically decreases. Australia implemented it after epidemiological studies showed that. Having ABS does save lives too, but wearing seatbelts is more important.

Having more speed cameras and seatbelt enforcement will save far far more lives than ABS*.

It’s like the US Govt thinking of installing anti missile tech at airports… when a better way of preventing hand held rocket launcher attacks on commercial jets is simply a perimeter fence that most us airports simply dont have :-P.. (take it with a pinch of salt. read it on slate). Costs like a tenth of the price.

*OT. I just got fined RM600 for going 3km/h over the speed limit (70km/h). in melbourne. cant contest. all on tape. w00t. I’m never speeding again.

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 11:38 pm

BigFish said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 9:51 pm
    Someone blind defender argue that airbag never itemize in price even in oversea market!
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Actually, nobody suggested that. Someone did suggest that no other car manufacturer gives itemized prices for ABS/airbags etc. Never mentioned anything about overseas markets at all. For all you know i think the “blind defender” was referring to the local malaysian market.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 11:48 pm

Airbags are expensive. PERIOD.

what can I say, Malaysians are asking for it. We dont really give crap about our own safety.

Go out, take a good close look. I see people not wearing seatbelts (last checked they were compulsory), no one uses seatbelts at the rear (any newer car will have 3 at the back), I see parents have kids unbelted, standing up in the front seat. I would venture even as far to say these all belong to a certain racial demographic. You know who i am talking about. I see all that every day.

Why would the manufacturer incure costs to safe guard your life when you dont care about it yourself?

That said, Airbags should be standard. PERIOD. ABS should be standard. PERIOD. Proper driving education should be standard. PERIOD.

Cars dont have safety equipment, dont buy it. It wont be long till they figure something is amiss. hmmm…I wonder why foreign marques are so popular……….. er..because they are preceived to be safer? maybe? Perhaps more research has gone into development of a safer chassis (with or without airbags).

As far as I know, only the Waja has been crash tested by an independent authority. Didn;t fair so well, last time it did. Bear in mind the 3 stars was WITH upgraded safety gear for the export market. Why not crash test the Persona/Gen2, why not test the so called “built tough” Savvy?

I for one would like to see how well these cars stand up in a standard test, with standard equipment. Not a bogus picture of a Savvy that has been rammed into a lamp post at low speed…..

If proton does not offer these as standard and set the bar high, no one else is going to put thier own products at a disadvantage due to pricing.

Shame on the government and all the local marques (that includes Perodua and NAza). Shame on the people that woudn’t care less about thier own safety.

If Proton manages to build a NCAP 5 star car, and price the safety gear NOT AS AN OPTIONAL EXTRA you’d see very quiclky that everyone else would follow. Either Proton is lazy or not competant enough to do that, or they would have.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 12:12 am

In our NAP-compliant environment, Proton always cited safety features like ABS, EBD, Airbag as costly, thus make it “optional accessories” rather than compulsory safety feature. But log on below: –

http://www.drivearabia.com/proton/#savvy

Proton Gen2 – Safety features include ABS brakes, dual front airbags and seat-belts for all seating positions, while side airbags are optional in the higher models.

Selling price – Dhs 32000 – 35000 (US$ 8700 – 9500)
    ———

Savvy – The Savvy is available with ABS brakes and dual front airbags.

Selling price – Dhs 23000 – 25000 (US$ 6200 – 6800)

———-

Waja – Safety features include ABS brakes, dual front airbags and seat-belts for all seating positions.

Selling price – Dhs 33900 – 36000 (US$ 9200 – 9800)

CONCLUSIONS – whether the price is “Showroom price” – Off road or OTR price, the fact is OTR price with road tax and insurance is not part of car manufacturer pricing, thus not contribute to the profit level of Proton. So what the hack to argue safety features like ABS, EBD or airbag is costly since they can equipt all these features for export market (Middle East), yet selling at ridiculously low price. Perhaps “below cost” if refer to blind defender who said Gen-2 cost is RM 36K (USD 10K).

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 12:22 am

If there is no “limited jaguh kampong competition” with P2, seat belt, disc brake, 2 star NCAP rating and above, (apart from ABS, airbag, EBD), etc will be consider as costly items and may become “optional accessories” as well!

So, all poor consumers will driving milo tin on the wheel that put their life damn cheap on the road!

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 12:33 am

4G63T DSM have a good point there, even tho abs, airbags r there, ppl do not put on seatbelt…when accident happens, airbag not gona help if d occupant are all around the place…seatbelt is to restrain occupant when accident happens to reduce damage due to occupant’s body bounce around during impact, like it or not, seatbelt’s purpose is tat n more, not just for cosmetic which many malaysian love the most – form is important, w/o function also boleh attitude -.-

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 12:35 am

safe to say i wouldnt mind the aditional rm5k for all those safety features, even for B-line spec, cheap fabric n cheap radio is fine, those cn change to aftermarket anyway if u wan a cheap car to begin with

• shooter (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 1:35 am

I’d like to see safety features like ABS and airbags become mandatory, period. safety should not be an option. moreover as ezralimm and 4g63t mentioned, education and (strict) enforcement should take center stage; too many lunatics and jokers on our roads in their big Volvos/ BMWs and such… its kinda ironic, the safer the car gets, the more risks the drivers take…..

• Vengeance (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 3:29 am

Lets do some estimation
    H line Persona auto – RM 55800
    M line Persona auto – RM52800

So this seems like extra RM 3k to get ABS, EBD, one more airbag, and remote trunk! Tat doesnt seem so expensive, does it?

Im juz guessing stuff, so if im wrong pls dun flame me…hehe
    Drive safe, think of ur loved ones, and the ones who loves u

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 8:09 am

Vengeance, you argument is valid if the 3K is a different between H and M line for Persona is for safety items like ABs, EBD and Airbag!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 8:11 am

shooter, neither your statement come with PROVE nor other posting as well!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 8:19 am

Drive safely as argue by 4G63T DSM is a good point. However, drive safely is not limited to the human good driving practice (no doubt the majority for causes of accident is human error), but extend to the safety feature for the car and the road as well as practice by engineer who design them.

Why F1 driver can drive easily up to 300 km/h yet nobody complaint they are reckless driver?

Why Mat Rempit with kap-cai at most go to 120 km/h already perceived by society and authority as road menace?

The answer to these is F1 tract is build for top speed, wide enough for them to corner safely, guar rail, sand bag, etc to minimize impact in the event of accident. Even chances for driver to survive involve in major crash is very high with special safety cloth, helmet, etc. Just think about it, safety is one of th emost important thing for design engineer in any field, be it building, car, bridges, etc. The only constraint to this is budget, and sometime commercial product like car, biz man or cronies make “commerical decision” to maximize profits at the expanse of safety! That is sad truth in our auto sector.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 8:25 am

Look at our iconic KLCC tower, they spend million for safety feature like hose reel, sprinkler system, fire door, etc to make the building safe. So far all these feature never perfom fire fighting function for the last 10 years of KLCC as it never catch fire.

But if we look at ABS or EBD for car safety feature, every day you drive it, then you alreday apply this feature in driving. Of course airbag only function in the event of crash. Think about safe driving and safe car as well!

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 9:10 am

ezralimm said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 11:25 pm

Also note, the Savvy Lite is only RM28k. But due to tax it is over RM30k. If the BLM really is based on the savvy, they should be able to bring the price under RM30k… OFF road price that is. Insurance and normal taxes still apply.

==dear i thought the car were for off road. hahaha….. what off road price or on the road price? u and i also don’t know yet because the car not yet on sale.

==rm600 for a summon was cheaper than in uk. i got it about rm900 in uk.

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 9:41 am

Vengeance said,
    October 24, 2007 @ 3:29 am
    Lets do some estimation
    H line Persona auto – RM 55800
    M line Persona auto – RM52800

So this seems like extra RM 3k to get ABS, EBD, one more airbag, and remote trunk! Tat doesnt seem so expensive, does it?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I agree. Perhaps the govt could help by making those features considered accessories and thus not be subjected to the same tax as cars. But that would create the problem of inefficiency as factory installed systems are cheaper and more reliable.

BigFish said,
    October 24, 2007 @ 12:12 am
    CONCLUSIONS – whether the price is “Showroom price” – Off road or OTR price, the fact is OTR price with road tax and insurance is not part of car manufacturer pricing, thus not contribute to the profit level of Proton. So what the hack to argue safety features like ABS, EBD or airbag is costly since they can equipt all these features for export market (Middle East), yet selling at ridiculously low price. Perhaps “below cost” if refer to blind defender who said Gen-2 cost is RM 36K (USD 10K).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    This has been debated to death already.

Bigfish/Joeooi has quoted that drivearabia website many times. I have yet to find another source with similar pricing. As far as i know, proton cars are generally more expensive overseas. Perhaps the arab country has no road tax, no GST, and no insurance requirements (or those costs are not included in the prices quoted by the website).

RM36k is the official price (pre-tax, non-inclusive of insurance, non-otr) of the Gen2 baseline variant in malaysia according to Proton Edar.

More information here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=510116&hl=NAP+myths

• Vengeance (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:39 am

Accidents happens sometimes even when we are very cautious..who knws some drunk or reckless driver will crash into u? Thats why safety features could plays a vital role in saving lives in accidents or avoiding dangerous situations.

This topic is bout Proton BLM, den become a discussion of car safety equipments, hehe..

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 4:43 pm

ezralimm

Bigfish/Joeooi has quoted that drivearabia website many times. I have yet to find another source with similar pricing. As far as i know, proton cars are generally more expensive overseas. Perhaps the arab country has no road tax, no GST, and no insurance requirements (or those costs are not included in the prices quoted by the website).

RM36k is the official price (pre-tax, non-inclusive of insurance, non-otr) of the Gen2 baseline variant in malaysia according to Proton Edar.
    ——————–
    You don’t get my point. My argument is to justify whether the safety features like ABS, EBD, airbag, etc is costly and shall be mandatory or “optional accessories”: –

1. I am not argue with you until the cow come home for comparing OTR price for car.

2. I am put forward the message that since the selling price for UAE is so low with all that safety features. The argument for this safety features is costly to provide in our market is not justified. Whether OTR, Off road, show room price, harga warta by G, MRSP, Invoice price, etc that may include insurance, road tax, ID/ED/ST, etc. All this nonsense cost is not form part of cost to produce a car by Proton, but the cost have to be paid by consumer to acquire such car to be on the road.

The above selling price by Proton strongly show and proof that ABS, EBD or airbag is not costly in relation to production cost per unit. It shall be mandatory for safety reason, rather than treat it as “luxury optional accessories” just like leather seat, MP3 player, etc.

Do you get the point, Mr. “Intelligent from Down South” studying in Ivory Tower with high IQ level.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 4:45 pm

ezralimm, do you have any problems to understand English or you have difficulties to understand my “China-Apek-Wan-Tan-Mee-Manglish”?

• owaief (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 5:34 pm

all those safety features such as airbags and ABSs does come as standard… to do that, u just need to put ur hand over the price list for both the Basic and Mid line model… isnt there only the High line on the list right now? why do ppl argue so much about making all the safety features standard? yes, it saves lives, but not everyone is so fortunate to be able to fork out 3 or 4k extra, and need to save as much as they can. so why not create a more basic model to cater ppl with lower income?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 7:57 pm

#
    owaief said,

October 24, 2007 @ 5:34 pm

all those safety features such as airbags and ABSs does come as standard… to do that, u just need to put ur hand over the price list for both the Basic and Mid line model… isnt there only the High line on the list right now? why do ppl argue so much about making all the safety features standard? yes, it saves lives, but not everyone is so fortunate to be able to fork out 3 or 4k extra, and need to save as much as they can. so why not create a more basic model to cater ppl with lower income?

i agree with you..there are no free thing in the world.you pay what you get..if the abs and airbag become standard,the price of the car also get higher..put after that will be some people will bising because the price of the car goes up.they want safer car but they want it cheaper also.there are no such things exist..better we back to the topic..peace everybody

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 8:23 pm

little vid image,

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=X6e2UjWwVMk

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 10:52 pm

I still maintain safety features shall be compulsory!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 10:52 pm

Life is precious, can’t measure by few K!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 10:55 pm

Consumers already paid prohitive tax under NAP, many easily exceed RM 10K , why we need to save this few K to endenger our life?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:24 pm

#
    BigFish said,

October 24, 2007 @ 10:52 pm

I still maintain safety features shall be compulsory!

i agree with bigfish.but it will take time to happen.maybe few years more.our local car producer and assembler also should implement more safety feature.proton and perodua share some vendor if i not mistaken.even maybe each car need different type of safety features,why not they assign one vendor to produce the abs system and airbag for their.if they do that,they easily can reach economy of scale and make price per each much cheaper.so their car price not go high too much..this just my opinion.

• altis_fan (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:38 pm

Now there are so many vehicles in Malaysian roads, and the ODD to get into accident is greater than before. If safety features in vehicles such as ABS + EBD + BA + TCU + Air Bags are not enforced, then the chances to get into accident and get killed are greater. Policy maker must consider these points. Don’t just produce cars and not considering safety aspect.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:27 am

Even if not make these safety features compulsory, at least Gov can implement policy that among other, take these safety feature at minimum or no tax at all to help reduce the cost. Or if the models come with these safety features, they get some reduction in tax under NAP.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:28 am

Sorry typo error, shall be “…….tax these safety features ……….”

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 6:45 pm

Airbags and ABS are both ‘hidden’ safety features, and most people are not even aware of it, just like in bulidings,bridges,trains etc..when we call it accident we don’t know when it will happen,and these hidden safety features might saves lives….these should be included as compulsory the same as seat belt,third brake lights..etc..and of course drive safely…

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 11:20 am

“..why do ppl argue so much about making all the safety features standard? yes, it saves lives, but not everyone is so fortunate to be able to fork out 3 or 4k extra, and need to save as much as they can. so why not create a more basic model to cater ppl with lower income?..”
    “..there are no free thing in the world.you pay what you get..if the abs and airbag become standard,the price of the car also get higher..put after that will be some people will bising because the price of the car goes up.they want safer car but they want it cheaper also.there are no such things exist..”
    Never underestimate any car buyer.
    If Proton afford to feed their cronies in gazillions RM, standard safety features shouldn’t be the cost issue to absorb also. From poor rakyat to crooks cronies, isn’t supposed to be a ‘fair’ treatment?
    Rakyat boleh, Crooks pun boleh.

“….these should be included as compulsory the same as seat belt,third brake lights..etc..”
    Oh, you forgot to add: Feeding the cronies crooks also a mandatory in our country.

“..Consumers already paid prohitive tax under NAP, many easily exceed RM 10K , why we need to save this few K to endenger our life?..”
    Gladly to repeat: That few K taken to feed the cronies crooks, which also a mandatory in our country.

• Notoriez (Member) on Oct 28, 2007 at 2:10 am

According to inside sources, Jan 2008 is the launching date for the new BLM (Savvy Sedan). Proton haven’t decided yet whether to use Renault engine or Campro 1.3 :) and the max price for this car would be @ RM40k

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 28, 2007 at 5:39 pm

http://uk.youtube.com/user/ephol

• syanas (Member) on Oct 28, 2007 at 8:55 pm

Still waiting for new waja but this BLM not bad la, still blh mkn if it comes with the expected price

• Zul.P (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 4:56 pm

i just want to share to ur all about this new picture of Proton BLM..
    enjoy it….

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2294/2040820390_4b215e0bbe.jpg
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2314/2040820598_21ce7a750b.jpg
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2233/2040026675_85628a00d6.jpg

• Zul.P (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 5:04 pm

check this out…

Proton BLM new Picture….

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2294/2040820390_4b215e0bbe.jpg
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2314/2040820598_21ce7a750b.jpg
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2233/2040026675_85628a00d6.jpg