Eight F1 Grand Prix Holiday Packages Up For Grabs!

Shell V-PowerIm on my way to the Circuit De Catalunya 2008! Well… not quite, yet. But I could be. Anyway, the next time you fill up at Shell, you could be one of the eight lucky Malaysians to win a grand prix holiday package for the 2008 F1 season.

The contest which is in celebration of Shells 60-year partnership with Ferrari, offers consumers any racing destinations of their choice in Malaysia, Bahrain, Turkey, Spain and Great Britain. Each holiday package comprises of grand stand tickets, return flights, accommodation for two people and RM5,000 cash!

Joining the contest is really simple! You can live your F1 dream by just filling with every RM30 fill-up of any Shell fuel or purchase of Shell Helix products. However, for those who fuel up with Shell V-Power Racing you stand twice the chance of winning. But remember, to qualify all contest forms must be submitted with the original receipt at all Shell stations nationwide.

The good thing about this contest is there is no need to crack your head for a creative slogan. Basically, all you need to do is answer two easy questions. I always avoid contests with slogans as I am not good at slogan writing.

Another good thing is accumulated receipts can also be combined – I did not know that at first. My Perdana’s full tank always maxes out at about RM115 – so there was once I tried forcing in RM120 just so I could get 4 double chances at entering the contest, but the fuel tank overflowed. I had a field time cleaning up that mess.

I think I’ve submitted about 20 over entries already, thanks to two 2.0 litre guzzler cars parked outside my house (yes, I’ve added something else to my garage) and the double entries I get by filling up with Shell V-Power Racing. I know it’s pricier but apparently it has engine-cleaning properties… or maybe I just really want to win. I’ve got my eyes set on Spain. Never seen a F1 race live before, especially not at the Circuit De Catalunya, so if I win – Ole! Actually, theres only 6 left, cause two spots have already been won.

If you’re not one of the lucky winners (like me for the moment, unfortunately), dont fret! You might just be in the running for the 1600 Shell or Ferrari merchandises. The contest is on till November 14, hurry and fuel up at your nearest Shell station, who knows you might bump into me there!

Check out the contest details!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ak03 (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 5:27 pm

what is that something else may i ask ? =)

• transformer (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 6:07 pm

“Malaysia, Bahrain, Turkey, Spain and Great Britain”

I had chosen Turkey and Britain, went to Sepang in 2005 already.
    Next year will going to our neighbouring country down south for their Night Street Grandprix!

• armandd (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 6:14 pm

paul, let me guest.. the other 2.0l ride is… hmm, an Evo 6? heheh..

• kazai (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 6:22 pm

Paul Tan’s post is boring now.

• transformer (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 6:27 pm

Our Sepang buiilt cost of USD120 million… Guess how much Singapore are using??? SGD5 million ? or more?

http://www.sportsvenue-technology.com/projects/sepang_mrc/
    http://www.virtualmalaysia.com/event/event_view.cfm?event_id=F2F0FE56-188B-76AA-006CF4AA789C7686

then our taxi ride to space programme cost RM95Millions…
    guess oneday if Sawadekap land or Kiasu land would spend how much to sent their cosmonaut to space? ?

UNBELIEVABLE !

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 7:10 pm

I think paul new car is the old ford car from 90’s if i not mistaken. It got VGI or so call VIM on it’s intake manifold… Paul is it right? :P U

bought it just between RM10k.. hehe..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 7:51 pm

paul…what car did u drive??

congratz to ferrari after wnning both championship…i luv to c kimi won the title..but really2 luv if michael win the title for dis year

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 8:22 pm

I ticked Spain on the contest form……

Paul Tan’s post is boring? not all, its getting more and more interesting!!!

hey Paul, what’s your new ride???

• tango5 (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 8:32 pm

Me wifey got the Shell lube for second round. Well actually, I’m the one submitting the form. She nearly freak out when the gal from the advert firm called and asked additional question – luckily the answer is yes or no.

Its my trick to double the chance when joining contest, submit mine and wifey’s name. It works but moral of the story – tell your wife if you’re using her name so she wont freak out :)

• Paul Tan on Oct 26, 2007 at 9:38 pm

1992 ford telstar 2.0 automatic.

kazai: sorry it is boring to you. ive been in japan for the past week for the tokyo motor show and a honda R&D center visit, and we’ve been on a tight schedule so there is not much time spent in the hotel room with internet. things will pick up once i get back.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 6:28 am

This contest, nothing attract me. Previously Petronas more practical by offer car.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 8:20 am

Watching the race is nice. But I wish they would allow you to drive on it.

One of my life’s must do it to drive on the major road and racing circuits around the world. So far the count got stuck at 4……

• xg9 (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 10:01 am

only rich ppl can win the petronas contest… ppl who travel a lot and fill up a lot and everyday….. next time im not gonna go for the contest anymore… this shell contest, i dunno… but v-power is damn nice.. contest or no contest, v-power is the one for me…

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 10:10 am

Haha, I’ve had the filled-in forms and receipts ready in my car since last week, just waiting for the fuel indicator to light up now :)

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 12:57 pm

@Paul
    What? So you’re actually there in Tokyo to attend the show?

Btw, will u post abt ur visit to Honda’s R&D? Please do, I’d like to know abt ur experience there :D

• sabochii (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 7:43 pm

hmm interesting

• Paul Tan on Oct 27, 2007 at 10:22 pm

i will, i am now writing my experience driving the honda FCX fuel cell vehicle. its really AMAZING

• szw (Member) on Oct 28, 2007 at 8:28 pm

ferrari rox !!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 10:20 am

Dam u Paul, lucky baistard!! :P jkjk

Just read today’s NST, Honda said they are preparing to mass produce the FCX concept for production nxt yr, and Japan n US are goin to be the first to get them at approximately USD100k++ Bt u Paul, had already become the lucky few (and probably the only) Msians to experience it!! Any other Msian(s) wit u there, Paul? Denis? Chips? Mel Lee? Donald Cheah? Chris Wee? Jeremy? Shannon?

#
    szw said,

October 28, 2007 @ 8:28 pm

ferrari rox !!!
    ————–
    >>>QTF. VIVA KIMI!! VIVA FERRARI!!! Hamilton got PWNED!!! MUAHAHAHAHAHAH…..

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 10:33 am

advertorial blog posts? hmm are you getting free petrol from shell paul?
    hehehee just kidding….

i’m now filling my car with shell.. just to enter the competition.. wait until petronas got nice competition then isi petronas back. dont know bout you guys, but competition makes me switch brand of petrol.. lol..

• Paul Tan on Oct 30, 2007 at 11:12 am

fadzlizuka: no free petrol lah.

tokmoh: just wait for the magazines to come up then you’ll know who was there :D

i’m waiting for the photos to be sent to me before i post the writeup up, as we weren’t allowed to take cameras into the R&D center, so honda provided a photographer to take pictures for us.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 12:27 pm

Which means we’ll get to read abt ur experience late nxt month =.=? I can only predict AUTOCAR ASEAN will be the first to publish abt them……….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 9:48 am

im jz stick to shell