Volkswagen Golf R32 in Malaysian showrooms soon?

r32_jpj_1.jpg

There are alot of Volkswagen Golf GTIs on the roads these days, probably Volkswagen Malaysia’s best selling car. It’s at that magical under RM200K mark too, although just barely at RM198,888.

While the 2.0 litre TFSI engine is sweet, and 200 PS combined with that excellent chassis is more than enough for most people, there will be those who desire more.

Enter the Volkswagen Golf R32, set to give the BMW 130i M Sport a run for its money. This is the car that Jeremy Clarkson picked in a shootout between the two, and it could be in Volkswagen Malaysia showrooms pretty soon thanks to this sighting at JPJ Putrajaya (photos thanks to jD), which is usually where alot of new CBU cars will be parked at for type approval and other procedures before they enter the market.

A launch sometime soon in time for the Christmas season perhaps?

More photos after the jump.

r32_jpj_2.jpg

r32_jpj_3.jpg

r32_jpj_4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• soporific (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 5:06 pm

1st w00t!

finally, the bugger is here.

• motherker (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 5:13 pm

all wheel drive baby!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 5:15 pm

Very interestink.

• drgn86 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 5:52 pm

gonna cost a bomb, and with the fuel hike soon, many might leave this one…..

• benkenobi19 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 5:54 pm

3.2L Engine and 4WD, Volkswagen Golf R32 is hot man! One of my dream car!

• leongylun (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 6:24 pm

i want one now!!! my dream my car my dream car !

• Javanese (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 7:38 pm

This is old news, whoever visited a VW showroom for the past 5 months will tell you that VW salesperson at one point have informed them of the two R32s at port kelang waiting for buyers… the price? RM299,000. That’s ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND ringgit more than the GTi. Personally I dont think it’s worth the money.

Paul, when are you gonna put an article of a made in germany Ford Focus XR5 thats sitting pretty at the Jalan Tun Razak showroom? It’s cheap too RM190,000 for a 6 speed manual 230bhp european car. Offers better value than a civic type R and the GTi. If you were there 1 month earlier, there’s a Ford Falcon FPV GT-P for sale for a cool RM840,000 (sadly sold already)

• Paul Tan on Nov 15, 2007 at 7:57 pm

i saw the focus XR5 when i took photos of the Ford F150 harley earlier this year. warranty and spareparts abit dodgy since its a one off grey import.

• s60t (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 7:58 pm

unfortunately you will eventually have to sell any car that you buy. So a RM 190,000 ford focus will really hurt your pocket more than a civic R unless you can ind a fan who is willing to pay what you ask for. The GTi will also be less difficlut to sell compared to the focus.That’s probably why it is still sitting in the showroom unless you have so much money to blow it on the car just for it’s power and consider it as scrap when you are doen with it.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 9:08 pm

Wah.. Nice… If i have the money to buy.. 1.4L TSI twin charge already good for me… But in Boleh land.. All these car are expensive.. Wah… T.T…

Now only hope VW quickly buy over proton and transfer those technology into it or built cheaper VW GTi for us! Racer are born not made!

• rosdi (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 9:36 pm

This car only looks good in white or red.. the rest is so so only.

• arcana (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 10:20 pm

wah sleeper car……..so tame compared to the more aggressive GTi
    even the rims dont look garang.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 10:43 pm

Dream on the car!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 10:45 pm

Let VW take over Tg Malim plant and assemble this car locally, maybe cost less than RM 100K.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 10:47 pm

Air Asia – “Everybody can fly”.

No NAP – “Everybody can buy”.

If Proton is helm by Tony Fernandez, the pricing of Proton car must be interesting!

• kimmy (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 11:07 pm

Hey if it really is going for 300k it is still some 30k cheaper than the BMW 130i.

Having said that though, the GTI is good enough for me!!

• Javanese (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 11:54 pm

Being used to grey imports cars like the toyotas and japan spec euros I dont think warranty is a big issue and I’m not at all worried about spare parts. It’s still a FWD focus with a Volvo engine. You can fix any engine problems at Federal Auto or go to singapore. What I’m really concern is in case of accidents. The focus came with a special bodykits and finding that might be hard.

As for resale value… nobody in their right mind going to pay for a 200k civic unless they’re enthusiast. Same case for the focus (although it might suffer more actually…). The golf always going to have a better resale value than the CTR just because it’s a german car. These are a select group of cars sold to a select group of buyer. Normal janes and joes will say, why pay more for a manual Civic when you can have an AUTOMATIC civic for a much less…

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 11:55 pm

Thank you for our NAP…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 12:23 am

I tot NAP is preventing from a lot of ppl from getting it cheaper in Boleh Land…

This is the youtube video about BMW130i VS VWR32, actually the R32 is more better n cheaper then BMW130i! Wow…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=caPXinmR1cc

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 12:25 am

And it cost about 27-28,000 pound, is almost RM190,000 in Malaysia. At this price we only can get 2.0L Gti…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 12:54 am

100k more for something that looks like it and cost less… maybe just buy the slower golf.

• kington (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 11:12 am

The GTI remains the favourite for many, even the EU testers have rated the cheaper GTI as a better drive than this R32.

The R32 was conceived for those who are looking at Gran Tourer in a form of a hatch to bash up and down the freeways. The 1.4 model, although christened as a GT, seems to serve more of an point A to point B type of car, offering both a supercharger and turbocharger.Very sprightly from the moment you step on it.

I’ve not driven nor have i tested this car, but based on what we have on the specs, this car may not be that good a weapon around the track, especially against the 130i. Buy the R32 if you need a mile muncher but for those who appreciate something easier to drive on a daily basis.

The Civic Type R’s (CTR) pricing slots it firmly in the GTI range but because it’s a stripped-down-all-out performance road and track machine, i think those who have their mind settled on the GTI, will not give the CTR a second glance and vice versa. These cars are just too different to compare them together.

For me, i’d gor for the GTI because it’s by far, one of the better cars i’ve driven. The 120i was a great experience not too long ago but i don’t think i can live with it on a daily basis. The R32 is worth considering but 3.2 litres on a 5 door hatch is pretty over-the-top for me.

• szw (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 11:29 am

i will still wan da gti pls

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 11:57 am

seriously rm299k??i tot it will be more expensive than the 147gta…arnd 327k..btw..i still prefer the gti…

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 1:52 pm

BigFish said,
    November 15, 2007 @ 10:47 pm

If Proton is helm by Tony Fernandez, the pricing of Proton car must be interesting!

—————————————————-

Then u have to pay the car in full cash or credit card this year, and wait for delivery of ur car next year… and not to mention the car might come without windscreen, air-cond or radio… but the good thing is maybe u pay zero for the car and pay only the road tax and fuel surcharge… err, fuel usage sorry…
    =)

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 2:00 pm

s60t:

Don’t agree for you, some cars are just to good to be sold off :p

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 3:54 pm

vw golf has been a very nice car since the very first version….

still waiting for the civic 3-dr type-r and the clio v6, deeply in love with those 2 cars…..

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 4:29 pm

Gotta love that matt chrome!

• BigCar (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:45 pm

BigFish said,
    November 15, 2007 @ 10:47 pm

—————————————————

if Tony Fernandez teruk la jalan.. Sure heavy jem.. Everybody can buy…. 3 cars each house..

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:57 pm

its on Monday!! the launching day……

its next week!!

• geejun2 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 10:49 pm

wah… i dun mind having traffic jams and riding in one of these…. hahaha….
    anyway, this is a great car and just with a little bit of modification…. EXCELLENT!!!

• I my (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 9:17 am

I think they bring in the DSG ver… not the manual box ver.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 5:11 pm

monday???izit open day to test drive??

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 10:43 pm

wow… tailpipes damn nice…

• b4nd3r (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 12:04 am

fairllady Z, Volks R32, i335 .. which one ? huhuhu sounds very interesting for comparison.

• darren82my (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 12:45 am

Golf GTi R32…. Skyline GTR R32…… haha….

anyway….i like it…..cooolll man….

• nmh (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 2:12 am

malaysia lacks of 2 doors hatchback….bring more 2 doors plz

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 2:08 pm

But malaysians dont like hatchbacks, If no one will buy, how to bring it in?

I’ve only driven the 120 and the GTI, so I guess I can’t comment on the R32 and 130. But with the R32 and the 130, I will go for Bimmer. No doubt the R32 will be a better daily driver, but probaby for fun, the Bimmer is better.

If I was still in North America I would get the R32, AWD is a nice thing to have, especially when it snows.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:06 pm

i’d be happy to have 1