Hummer to offer E85 and FlexFuel engines

2009 Hummer H3T

The first E85-capable Hummer will be the 2009 Hummer H2 truck and H2 SUT pick-up truck, with GM also planning to offer more than 15 FlexFuel models for the 2009 model year (including the recently unveiled Hummer H3T and H3). As for Hummer, it has committed to offer biofuel options on all its vehicles by 2010.

The problem with E85 Hummers in its native market of the USA is that less than 1% of fuel stations nationwide offer E85. GM wants to get around this by selling the E85 fuel at the dealer. Yup, you buy your car from a dealer, then you go back to the dealer to fill up.

Classic Chevrolet-Hummer in Grapevine, Texas has spent about half a million US dollars to install nine pumps dedicated to E85, E10 and biodiesel. The biofuel station is called Classic Clean Fuels and is located next to the dealer’s Hummer store.

General Motors vice president of R&D and Strategic Planning Larry Burns says in the future GM could also look into hydrogen fueling stations at dealers.

Related Links:
2009 Hummer H3T to be unveiled at Chicago 2008
Hummer H3T Video
The Malaysian Insider: Green fuel may not be so green after all

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 7:18 am

Good thought but is it practical?

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:32 am

c even the hummer already have bio diesel engine ~ wat the Fxxx Malaysia doing ?? so many of plam oil for wat ?? only cooking oil ?? Malaysia Boleh ~ =.=

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 1:08 pm

sadly.. it’s illegal in malaysia..
    not enough road width .. hehe..

sxe10r .
    actually.. to make biodiesel from palm oil still at super duper very high cost. They got to find cheaper option for mass production too.

research is headache btw.. not as easy as speak out.

• Paul Tan on Mar 31, 2008 at 2:07 pm

I saw a H3 last week in Bangsar. It’s not very big, just about the size of the Toyota Land Cruiser only.

• GlowJo (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 5:13 pm

sxe10r said,

March 31, 2008 @ 8:32 am

c even the hummer already have bio diesel engine ~ wat the Fxxx Malaysia doing ?? so many of plam oil for wat ?? only cooking oil ?? Malaysia Boleh ~ =.=
    ==============================================

Don’t want laaaa…. it will makes the cooking oil insufficient in the market laaa… dah la every time festive season cooking oil, sugar etc will be sold out… U still want bio fuel. Use different source la, cleaner like electric car…

Bio diesel is not cleaner than diesel actually, if the engine is not well maintained it will produce more harm than good. because Bio oil is thicker than diesel, when diesel evaporated what’s left behind is the bio oil…

So, I opt for electric car rather than bio fuel.

Last month there was a big issue raise by environmentalist, if we all focus on biofuel, what happened is all our foodsource will be divided into 2 types, 1 is for fuel and the other one is for food. Looking at current rate there will be more jungle will be cleared for bio fuel purpose. Thus the bio fuel is doing more harm than good.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 5:41 pm

Yeah, I think the H3 is the most practical Hummer yet… biofuel… hmm… :)

• szw (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:55 pm

paul , izit a blue H3 ?
    where u see it ?
    i saw it too the other day…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:12 pm

Not practical, also the car drinks petrol so fast that before you get to the dealer, you are out of gas. Only Arnold Susah nak eja likes this car a lot.