Audi RS8 confirmed to use twin turbo V10

Audi RS6 Engine Bay

Remember the Audi R8 prototype that burned to the ground? It was all part of the painful (for us to watch the R8 test cars burn down) engineering process that has let Audi finally announce this – the upcoming Audi RS8 will come with the RS6’s twin turbocharged V10.

Cooling for the twin turbocharged engine will be via design modifications that will provide extra cooling to the engine bay, including NACA roof air ducts for the turbos. NACA ducts get their name from its developer, the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (which eventually ended up as NASA). This is not the first time Audi will be stuffing a turbocharged engine into the R8’s engine bay, as it has done it before with the Audi R8 V12 TDI, so there has been constant cooling know-how gained over time.

The 5.2 litre twin turbocharged FSI direct injection V10 in the RS6 puts out a constant 580 horses between 6,250rpm and 6,700rpm, and a collosal 650Nm of torque from a very low 1,500rpm all the way up to 6,250rpm. This is a very very scary engine indeed.

Autocar UK confirms that the RS8 has been signed off and approved for production, and we will be able to see some form of glimpse of it by Q2 2009.

Related Links:
Audi RS6 Avant with twin turbo V10
Burned down Audi R8 prototype
NACA ducts

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 4:24 am

yummy torque

• azrai (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 7:24 am

Twin man.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 7:30 am

paul…

actually im a bit confuse with the code name…are u sure it is rs8??the code name(rs8) is belong to a8 or r8??

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 9:35 am

Torque monster….. thank god it has AWD.

650NM@1500rpm. Barely above idle……almost electric motor like feel

What really interest me is that is that it has flat torque delivery from 1500 all the way to 6000rpm. That’s some clever engine management system (and timing/valve control no doubt) but it feels like some sort of VGT is in play.

Paul, any indication that VGTs are in the R8 V10?

• wookie00 (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 11:26 am

even the engine looks sexy

• gonggok (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 12:04 pm

Now that’s how an engine is supposed to look like…

No big plastic panel that hides the engine (like so many current engines) Look the exhausts are visible and the big induction pipes are there for all to see…

• Vengeance (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 1:22 pm

This engine is sexy indeed, looking at it, im thinking bout rihanna’s body… O_O

• I my (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 4:08 pm

walau… power!!! this time sure can tapau most of the supercar liew!!

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 5:03 pm

gas guzler.. hehe

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 5:57 pm

i believe i can fly!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 05, 2008 at 3:58 pm

OH MY GOD!!!

650 @ 1500 !!!!!!!!!!

INSANE!!!!