Lucky draw for Proton Saga buyers

Proton Saga

There are currently long waiting lists for the Proton Saga, but there might be a way you could get delivery of your car in 2 weeks via a new lucky draw scheme by Proton. No, you don’t get a free Saga, but what you might win in the lucky draw is a chance to skip the long queue that currently takes months and get your Proton Saga delivered in approximately 2 weeks.

The lucky draw will be held weekly and will be carried out in the presence of an internal auditor. Every week, ten lucky customers will be picked, and will be able to get their cars delivered within 2 weeks of the draw. Winners must meet all the buying criteria – the settlement of the full down payment and receipt of the Letter of Undertaking (LOU) from the finance company.

BTW, any Proton Saga owners here? How is your ownership experience so far?

Proton Saga – 23,000 bookings, 5 month wait!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 8:20 am

Yes, New Saga owner, how’s the experience?
    Really considering getting one

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 9:56 am

Wow, very unusual marketing plan, Proton must have learnt this tactic elsewhere.

• ys (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 10:56 am

i dont feel comfortable with the idea.
    why not spend more time focus on the output and quality.
    dont repeat the same old mistake like 90’s
    all the best proton.

• waimak (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 1:52 pm

My officemate doesnt care much about the model, specs and etc. Due to Saga’s long wait, she told me that she resorted to just book the Savvy, which will be delivered in less than 2 weeks.

• the stik (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 2:52 pm

i’ve tested da new saga.. manual.. gear shifting agak kasar n tak selesa.. but the room space inside sgt2 menakjubkan.. very luas n besar, u can even play ‘galah panjang’ in it.. hehehe

• PepsiMan (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 3:53 pm

Im an owner of the new Saga. Its been 2 months now. Im driving the manual transmission, its no so fun shifting the gear. Another info, fuel consumption is not like what previously has been stated. 6.7 ltr per 100km? Nooo it doesnt go till that far. The first time i full-tanked the car, it goes 51km average 80km/h per bar (theres 6 bars[fuel bar]). If you speed(more than 100km/h) it can go up to 43km. Then i was dissapointed bout the fuel consumption, so i send my car for the first 1000km service and told them bout the problem. They said it was the IAFM which im not really sure what it is. Well, now 1 bar can reach up to 60km. So, thats my ownership experience. If you guys experienced different things, worst or better than mine, mind to share. Lastly, my advice is… BUY AUTO!!!

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 4:40 pm

what with the iafm,??
    if it just switch to short runner all the time, could possibly bit high in fuel since the righ foot fighting for torque,

a proper working order iafm could give a nice millage i guess,

since you said proton identify the cause, surely they have a remedy for that if that the source your unfriendly gas millage,

• muscle car (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 7:05 pm

Get my car last monday , but get something sound when cornering ,then masuk bengkel on next day.

• ... (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 10:14 pm

a friend bought an auto BLM saga, before the 1st service there is already vibrations and noises from front wheel hub/driveshaft. still no solutions from proton after checkup durng 1st service.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 1:58 am

wah… ni yang aku risau dgn bakal kereta aku nih…
    dah booking bulan lepas… tak tau bila dapat… harap2 dapat yg ok…

• PepsiMan (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 4:15 am

usually proton’s first and second batch sure got problem. well, nobodys perfect.
    i forgot to tell u guys how good the saga’s suspension on bumpy roads… really, try it. like u dont expect a 37k car will be that good. but what saddens me is, the rear window doesnt have a wiper. ;S

• naikmotoje (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 4:57 am

even elantra got no rear wiper…
    huhu

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 10:50 am

most sedan got no rear wiper bro… nothing unusual.

rear wiper is normally for hatchback.

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 11:12 am

no ah beng aftermarket rear wiper meh?

• azrai (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 12:33 pm

Lucky draw? Potong Q?

• the stik (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 12:36 pm

bro, u can just tampal rear wiper lancer gsr from kedai potong, aku tngok ramai buat camni.. no motor, just tampal it on the rear window.. if u creative enough, can also tampal kat cermin tepi or mane² u suka.. heh

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 1:40 pm

PepsiMan,

why asking for a wiper for a ‘sedan’ rear windscreen? there’s no need.. as bro intermilan said, rear wiper ‘normally’ for hatchback not sedan.. some sedan do have but it’s depend how the boot design..

sedan have a ‘longer’ boot which mean that when u r driving in a dusty road, the dust caused by air turbulent at the back end of the car mostly collected at the boot & the not the rear windscreen (at the same time, the air turbulent create at the rear windscreen prevent the dust from ‘laying’ on the windscreen itself)

on the other hand, the hatchback design mean that there’s no boot & the air turbulent have different effect at the back end & dust do collected much worse at the windscreen.. that’s why hatchback ‘really’ need wiper for rear windscreen.. :)

btw, last 2 days i’ve visited proton showroom.. the salesman said that the manual being ‘on-hold’? maybe they found something & going to rectify.. i don’t ask any further coz not interested.. maybe Paul have someting.. the highest spec must wait 5-6 months but he said a B-line Auto can have within 2 weeks..

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 10:33 pm

Maybe must take up loan from proton as part of the T&C?

• zidane (Member) on Apr 10, 2008 at 7:14 am

wah!!! really got problem with saga manual….

• neurra (Member) on Apr 10, 2008 at 2:40 pm

lolz.. lucky draw to potong queue.. i think lucky draw get a big plasma still sounds fairer.. or free servicing for 3 years~ but potong queue?

• mejaneujoe (Member) on Apr 10, 2008 at 7:52 pm

i have actually asked the salesman regarding the saga manual. I mean, of course this might sound abit biased, because its coming from the salesman himself. He said, he has little knowledge about the saga manual having technical problems. But what he said was, the production might be a bit slow due to vendor problems.maybe the vendor(s) supplying components for the saga manual are not able to supply ontime? lets just hope its not technical/mechanical problems.cheers.:)

• zidane (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 7:29 am

Let’s wait for Proton to announce it themselves.

These are all rumours. Looking at the current management, i’m sure if there was a technical problem, they’d have announced it by now.

regards,

• richx (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 10:25 pm

I am still waiting for my M/T Saga after about 12 weeks of waiting. I call my salesman about thrice a week to bother him. Today I just signed my bank agreement after inspecting my unit that just arrived, so the rest of the paperwork should take a week or slightly more.

It does seem like there’s a shortage of the M/T models, even with the B-Line. The streets seem to be crawling with these B-Line A/T units already, but my car was nowhere to be seen. The salesman tells me there’s a supply shortage of the M/T, and also airbags from Germany. Well, I hope they’re working hard to sort out their supply issues because the order backlog will just keep increasing as this car picks up popularity.

The Aichi F30A gearbox is supplied primarily to Nissan, so perhaps Proton has to fight for supply capacity there, especially with its smaller orders, and even more so with its custom ratios. Well, I hope I won’t regret buying M/T over A/T … No matter how bad the shifter feel is, the additional economy, acceleration and control should make up for it.

• andrewtan (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 8:07 pm

Luckily Draw? Well, i been waiting almost 3 months after i booked the saga (MT) a day after pak Lah launched it at PWTC. With the luckly draw i think i m goin to wait for another few week ( hopefully not more than that). So just Blame myself for not being luckly enough….

• SY0H (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 4:26 pm

Asalamualaikum/Hello,

I’ve read some articles in Paul.Tan.Org on “Red Concept Saga” and “GTi Concept Saga – artist impression”. Looks definitely cool. I would buy one if these concepts are geared-in for production. Any news? I hope, I don’t have to wait ages for this cool bodykit-concept to be out there on the road. Just like the R3 concepts which was introduce not long ago, I hope Proton would be clever enough to produce this ones as well. Cheers!

• richard (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 2:27 pm

Proton Nightmare!!

What a bad experience!
    My daughter Cynthia has passed her driving test and got a “P” driving licence. She has graduated from secondary school and in a college now. She has requested for a car so that she can drive from Cheras to Sunway instead of giving us troble to fetch her to-and-fro everyday. We have read article about new Proton Saga, with so many good comments, we decided to book a new Proton Nightmare!

What a bad experience!
    My daughter Cynthia has passed her driving test and got a “P” driving licence. She has graduated from secondary school and in a college now. She has requested for a car so that she can drive from Cheras to Sunway instead of giving us troble to fetch her to-and-fro everyday. We have read article about new Proton Saga, with so many good comments, we decided to book a new car for her, worth about RM40,000.
    After a few months waiting, the salesman finally told us that the car has arrived. I paid the balance of the down payment, and the car was hand over to me on 30th May 2008 (Friday) afternoon 3:00pm at EON office, Taman Mutiara, Cheras, Kuala Lumpur. My dauther, Cynthia with excitement, pick up the car with his brother, Eric at 6:00pm after schooling. Driving from the EON office to about 1KM, the car brokedown. I called the salesman Kenny, and he seem like it is none of his business, I have to call the Sahabat EON myself.
    Handing over A PROBLEM NEW CAR TO CUSTOMER IS NOT HIS BUSINESS????????? Where is consumers rights?
    He finally call his friend, a foreman from EON Chan Sow Lin to make a repair. But the car breakdown again and unable to restart a second time when reaching home. The foreman from local service centre at Bandar Damai Perdana was unable to fix the problem either.
    What a nightmare!!!!!! New car with QC PASS tags!
    The car was towed to the EON workshop this morning. Hoping that this time, they can hand over the car with error free!!
    Say “No” to Proton for the rest of my life after this incident!!!!!!!

• richard (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 2:29 pm

Proton Nghtmare!!

What a bad experience!
    My daughter Cynthia has passed her driving test and got a “P” driving licence. She has graduated from secondary school and in a college now. She has requested for a car so that she can drive from Cheras to Sunway instead of giving us troble to fetch her to-and-fro everyday. We have read article about new Proton Saga, with so many good comments, we decided to book a new car for her, worth about RM40,000.
    After a few months waiting, the salesman finally told us that the car has arrived. I paid the balance of the down payment, and the car was hand over to me on 30th May 2008 (Friday) afternoon 3:00pm at EON office, Taman Mutiara, Cheras, Kuala Lumpur. My dauther, Cynthia with excitement, pick up the car with his brother, Eric at 6:00pm after schooling. Driving from the EON office to about 1KM, the car brokedown. I called the salesman Kenny, and he seem like it is none of his business, I have to call the Sahabat EON myself.
    Handing over A PROBLEM NEW CAR TO CUSTOMER IS NOT HIS BUSINESS????????? Where is consumers rights?
    He finally call his friend, a foreman from EON Chan Sow Lin to make a repair. But the car breakdown again and unable to restart a second time when reaching home. The foreman from local service centre at Bandar Damai Perdana was unable to fix the problem either.
    What a nightmare!!!!!! New car with QC PASS tags!
    The car was towed to the EON workshop this morning. Hoping that this time, they can hand over the car with error free!!
    Say “No” to Proton for the rest of my life after this incident!!!!!!!

• andrewtan (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 7:33 pm

I m still considering whether to say ” no” to proton. It’s already more than 4 months and my saga havent arrive. When i book the car they told me that waiting period is around 2-4 months and its actually damn long for some1 who book it on the day after it launched. if i cancel the booking, i may loss 500, if i continue to wait and they still cant give me the car i oso will loss 500 which will be entitled for me once i submit d car grant to my company. Recently also i heard a lot of complaints regarding the car such as rusted drive shaf, alarm system, door,lights….. breakdown…

Once u receive your car, you got to prepare to face all this kind of problem. sometimes its depend on the luck (yeah such as the luckly draw).
    when u complaint they try to avoid the responsibility and pass it to another party. The dealer blame the supplier, d supplier blame the dealer….never ending story.
    When u emailed they only entertain u once, when u call they will ask how many times had u call before this before arranging some1 to talk bout it. If u never call, the never bother to work on it ( eventhough u call oso d same LAH)

So malaysian, Should i give 3rd chance to proton? Or mayb i shud ask,”

Should i give 3rd chance to proton?

• andrewtan (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 7:36 pm

I m still considering whether to say ” no” to proton. It’s already more than 4 months and my saga havent arrive. When i book the car they told me that waiting period is around 2-4 months and its actually damn long for some1 who book it on the day after it launched. if i cancel the booking, i may loss 500, if i continue to wait and they still cant give me the car i oso will loss 500 which will be entitled for me once i submit d car grant to my company. Recently also i heard a lot of complaints regarding the car such as rusted drive shaf, alarm system, door,lights….. breakdown…

Once u receive your car, you got to prepare to face all this kind of problem. sometimes its depend on the luck (yeah such as the luckly draw).
    when u complaint they try to avoid the responsibility and pass it to another party. The dealer blame the supplier, d supplier blame the dealer….never ending story.
    When u emailed they only entertain u once, when u call they will ask how many times had u call before this before arranging some1 to talk bout it. If u never call, the never bother to work on it ( eventhough u call oso d same LAH)

So malaysian, Should i give 3rd chance to proton? Or mayb i shud ask,”

Should we give 3rd chance to proton?

• 939chris (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 1:52 pm

I’m planning 2 buy a new car, at 1st my choose is Viva cos my budget is

• Maggie on May 28, 2009 at 5:00 am

Well, i cant go into commenting through all the technicalities but here's a few things i can say about the saga.

ive been using it since january this year and from a rating of 1 to 10, 10 being most satisfied, i am at 7.5.

firstly, this being my first car after my first job, so this is a good first car and VERY affordable. especially since its fuel saving and ultra efficient. i drive an auto and driving in the city, so all is good there. more on fuel saving: it cost me just 75rm to drive from kl to kuala perlis one time. no kidding.

secondly, the air-con is very-very cold even when ive lowered the cooling temperature…features and what not is great, plus the spacious boot.

the negative thing about blm is firstly, that even after going twice during servicing my car; ive complained that when im in the car and running the engine idle, not moving anywhere for about 15mins, when i start to drive off, the engine will die out and i have to start the car..or sometimes when traffic is slow and im inching through traffic, the engine dies, or when i make a full turn with the wheel, the engine dies.if anybody out there has the answer as to why that happens, maybe i can let the proton mechanic know about it. it doesnt happen all the time but at least 5 times so far.

another thing is accelerating with the blm is not that great, i know..its auto, but the time it takes to pick up speed is quite sad.especially when you overtake and all of a sudden the car 'cannot' go…to say, need to service the car, i dont think its the best reason..so i think that if someone is contemplating to buy a blm, you either are within this range of affordability and in it for the fuel efficiency..and is a patient driver when the car wont pick up..but overall you'd be happy with the blm, handling and everything!

• ikmal on Aug 13, 2009 at 12:46 am

thankgod i'm just a lucky guy to get the limited production of 1.6l blm which same like persona engine…1 of 400 units…with the lighter chasis but the same engine capacity like persona,the acceleration is superb…i can feel it when overtaking…its a fun driving experience….even more expensive than 1.3 M-line but the 1.6l engine is worthy…rm39k for 1.6l…compared to viva 1.0l (rm36k)…myvi1.0l (rm38k) or 1.3l (rm43k) or waja 1.6 (rm60k++)…1st day i get my car,i changed my rim into 15inches n the result is very better handling..i feel confident when accelerating down the hill..thats all..

• William on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:47 pm

I'm now working as a new teacher in Kedah. For work purpose, I need a car. I considered the Saga and Persona, and was close to booking a Saga until my aunt recommended a Perodua Myvi. I put my booking on hold and did some research and asked around for opinions. I was told to choose Perodua, because being Proton, the Saga's quality is 'really bad' and is not really reliable (breakdowns, etc), and also was told that the current Perodua cars (particularly the Myvi 1.3) are better in quality and reliability. Convinced that Perodua does deliver better quality and reliable cars, I booked my 1.3 automatic premium model that cost me RM49,700 (Around RM7700 more than the Saga M-Line auto that I once planned to buy) and got the car in 7 weeks time at a Perodua sales center..

I've been using my Myvi for 5 months now, and the mileage has reached 5600+km and I couldn't be more satisfied, and remain convinced that Perodua models are indeed better in quality and reliability that any Proton models for that matter. The RM49,700 I paid is indeed worth every ringgit. My Myvi is excellent in everything and haven't given me a single problem yet. Fuel consumption is also very good for an automatic.

In short, 'cheap things no good, good things no cheap'. If you want a good car, you simply have to pay more, and don't just randomly buy something just because of its cheaper price.

• miss j on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:34 am

just bought my first saga few months ago..mana ada problem lgsg,very menjimatkan fuel dan besar,kat highway pn tak gegar sana sini mcm myvi. myvi design huduh nak mampos.saga yg sekarang ni ok je.it's all in the mindset la u see..kalau dh buatan malaysia,mmg semua org kutuk..x sedar diri punya olang..kononnya xde class la local made ni tp ingat2 sket,kalau kita x sokong produk buatan malaysia..smpai bila2 pn korang x maju la bodoooo. ingat sket industri otomobil ni byk bantu rakyat kita dpt kelija, eksport ke luar negara.kalau korang pandai sgt,bg la idea2 yg bernas nk majukan kereta tu..jgn asik nk kutuk je..