Proton and Perodua vendors push for higher excise duty for MPVs and SUVs

Proton MPV SketchThe Proton Vendors Association (PVA) and Kelab Vendor Perodua (KVP) are pushing for the excise duty for cars, MPVs and SUVs to be set at the same level. According to the two associations, the excise duty for MPVs and SUVs are currently lower than those of passenger cars.

They say the government will benefit from such a move because of higher excise duty income, and the related authorities will also benefit from the simplicity of multiple vehicle types being assigned a single tax category. They say the increased duties will encourage automakers to locally assemble their MPVs and SUVs, and for those who are already assembling them locally, it will encourage a higher use of local content.

We all know that both Proton and Perodua will be introducing MPV vehicles in 2009. This push for a single excise duty will definitely benefit the Proton MPV and Perodua MPV as the percentage of local content in the two vehicles will be higher than locally assembled or ASEAN-imported foreign makes.

Also in the memorandum sent to the Ministry of International Trade and Industry is the recommendation of streamlining the road tax prices for both petrol and diesel vehicles to promote the use of fuel efficient diesel vehicles, a proposal to scrap import duties on automotive-related raw materials, and a proposal for a vehicle end of life policy.

Yup, in times where fuel prices are so high, they’re still trying to get the government to take away that 25 year old car that you’re forced to use because your monthly fuel expenditure is too high for you to afford the loan repayments of a new car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:23 pm

we support PROTON not perodua.!

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:32 pm

to streamlined the road tax is a good move but the others is doubtful.

EoL policy is debateable because there is pro and con to it. but the main question, if government decide to impliment it… what is the benefit to rakyat? if we are forced to buy new car at the present price and fuel price…. might as well use public transport or jalan kaki. then see how PVA and KVP would react to all the stockpile of cars that cannot be sold.

PVA and KVP should work to improved their product quality and reduced cost before asking things from the government. because of vendors, both Proton and Perodua suffer from inferior product. they should pull their socks, not the rakyat.

• kody (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:43 pm

wahlaueh…

What a shamful request from P1 & P2!! :( all the vendors supported by P1 & P2…

why dun ask raise all taxes of car to 300%, P1 & P2 free of taxes… yeah… then get richer & easier…

Please dun let me look down @ P1 & P2 again… be a men’s game no more children’s game ok!

God know the bad guys who always try their best to slice our hard earn monies… they will get the repayment later…

• ragnahse (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:30 pm

The government should improve the public transport sector first. Only then should they be looking at policies like this. Many village and small town areas do not have proper public transport services; forcing people to use their very old; reliability and safety compromised vehicles to get around. They are not to be blamed, they do not have a choice. As for Perodua and Proton, I think it’s high time for them to become independent. Proton has been around 2o+ plus years now, its time to leave the nest. As to be fair to Perodua, give it another 5-10 years of protection. Set a level playing field; taxes based on engine capacity and not based on make or model. Without competition and pressure, improvement will come at an extremely slow pace. I’m not saying Proton or Perodua has not improved but there sure is room for more.

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:41 pm

in another words, they want all the competition to be priced higher than their products or simply more protection..proton can get away from climbing the ladder through by manufacturing good quality products to compete around the world for better volume, if they can’t do it then close shop and cut your loses..already they are creating too much suffering with the public tied down to excessive prices for years with the finance companies. Recently I read of an interview with the new BMW Malaysia boss, he mentioned about how surprised he was with our car prices and never seen anything like this anywhere else..in another topic, finance and insurance companies are quite dependant on our inflated prices as it contributes to a big portion of their revenues thus has a strong lobby to keep prices high..so either way we’re srewed until maybe a new G comes into the picture..

• OpenMind (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:52 pm

The way P1 and P2 are running their business reminded me of children who also turn to their parent to get support. In parenting world, perhaps this is fundamentally good, however in business, this gives me a really awful impression.

Firstly, P2 was just importing and promoting Nautica not long ago and now requesting for such move (as a preparation for their new MPV next year).

Secondly, Proton has never build and sell an MPV (a serious MPV) before, and it’s just that they are about to launch their first MPV next year, suddenly this lower excise duty seems to be in their way.

I have a better suggestion, why not propose that each P1 or P2 car purchased or owned, can rebate additional tax. Why not propose that KWSP money can only be withdrawn to purchase P1 and P2 car. How about having an enforced law that any non-P1 or P2 car can only be used for 5 years, and subsequent to that an exorbitant yearly extension fee need to be made. Why not all goverment servants including MP or ADUN can only purchase P1 or P2 car and government loan will only be given to those that purchase P1 or P2 car.

Come on, even the MP and Government Servant want to spend tax payer money to buy Merz E200, Camry, Accord, X-trial, etc at such pricing (after the tax)….

Good luck to the car industry……

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 10:23 pm

Unfortunately until today Proton and Perodua still not able to stand on their own feet. Still need their parent support, i mean the Gov to hold them until they die.

• ckcheong (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 10:38 pm

What to do, Abullah minat kereta protong.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 10:40 pm

i guess what G is doing is they are not actually burdening the rakyat. they just want to make sure we or atleast asian monopolize our business in our own world. yeah i agree that imported cars are expensive, maybe because G realize that Nation economic is more important than imported cars. if possible i think G dont want to have imported cars at all. perhaps the high price for imported car is just to give a chance for those who really2 want and (have money) to own an imported car in order to have a higher standard looking car (mindset or for comfy and self satisfaction)
    i believe when our cars p1 and p2 achieve the world’s standard in terms of quality and technology, then we are able to compete with fare and square. let us hope for the best. well i just want to think this way, we will live comfortably if our economic is very good. if our economic is ruined by just reducing the tax of those imported cars, i choose a stable economy rather than imported cars. because sooner or later i believe brand does not matters anymore, comfy, quality, design and performance is the main attraction. not to forget money in the our pocket whether we are able or not.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 10:53 pm

proton is G property therefore its natural for G to protect what’s theirs. and as a G of a nation, there are always priority such as economy, low income people and so on. and not always to cater s for those with high income people who wants to own an imported cars but not willing to take out their money from their stuff. what to do, if you are the G, what will u do? dont you want Malaysia become like Korea where most of the people use their own korea car? if possible of coz. the thing is some of us still being traumatic from past bad experience. and it takes time to recover and to proove that proton is ok now. even after u say there’s no complaint so far about persona. who wants to believe that? even though it is true (example only). my mum said, think from different perspectives, and put yourself in other’s shoe sometime. personally i also wants something else apart from our own product with cheaper price of course but we might have to loose something obviously maybe no more fuel subsidize or what so ever which is very sensitive to some of us.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:37 pm

Guys, as much as you want your Proton or Perodua to have better built, we are first and foremost citizens of this country, and we need to SUPPORT our not-so-competitive vendors.

I’m not saying that we have to condone their non-competitiveness in producing good quality products, just that it TAKES SOME TIME and there are several reasonable factors that prevents this in recent years.

Please go and learn about the automotive industries in nations like USA, Japan and Korea. And learn about the nature of their peoples.

Only then will you understand and know what is needed and why we, as Malaysians, need to protect our country by supporting our automotive industry players. Sure, there are bad apples, but don’t throw away the basket.

The vendors are only suggesting something for them to continue and survive in business. Don’t mock them, just give them better ideas if you have one. An idea that balances the needs of the consumer and them. It is only fair.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:39 pm

yea…be forced to buy national car and die with it. it doesnt even on par with the money we are paying for, dude! monopolizing? eh, who is getting the benefits? consumers or proton?

it shouldnt be protected in the first place! let it be competitive! at least they will realize its tough and to survive, they will do their best to improve it, give us the best of it with honesty, yo! not to mention its locally built. wheres the quality control?

buy honda city or toyota vios make us look superior? u gotta be kidding. its considered crap in other countries, only we here treat it like luxury entries because its expensive and who’s fault is that? to own foreign cars is not for being classy, its for the sake of better protections and better peace of mind, not having to worry if your cars were to break down at midnight…etc! comfort? dont you think we deserve at least a little of it or do you think we still live in stone age with that crappy dated national cars.

• csv (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:40 pm

wow, seeking help.

i tot they were already having brass balls for asking higher interest loan rate and they got it.

now want this, probably the government will support it too.

whatever it is, we all suffer. haiz…

• delos3nos (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 12:11 am

another words is they asking for protections from gov again so they can monopoly the SUV and MPV market after they have monopoly the sedan and and mini car segment which is 0 star EURO NCAP.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 12:25 am

an example of mindset…
    “not having to worry if your cars were to break down at midnight” any cars of any makes dont come with labels (does not break down at midnight). if comfy is not the matter then y make a fuss over an imported car? dont worry if u have extra money u can buy any car. most of them are available here in malaysia. peace.
    i too want a cheaper with good quality and all. but i just wonder can malaysia mantain its economy if some of the incomes were to be cut. yes i know there are sorts of income. i believe we will enjoy a cheaper price for thos imported cars when our nation is free with poor people and being list in one of the developed third world country. we were considering developing country regardless of giant infrastructure or companies that we own because the world view us from the bottom or worst point of the nation. that is what i learnt from westerners view when talking about asia. try to be at the same platform is useless unless we are totally prepare. people complainst when thing is not on their favour. if people demand to be fare n square.. then petrol and diesel petrol.. nah i wont continue

peace:…

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 12:28 am

another words is they asking for protections from gov again so they can monopoly the SUV and MPV market after they have monopoly the sedan and and mini car segment which is 0 star EURO NCAP.

wow new info.. where did u quote this?

• ignas (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:16 am

yea peace. well, hopefully i can learn to be positive like you do, look at things from diff perspective, being optimistic, hopefully one day our government will improve…..

about cars breaking down, i was trying to say based from my practical experience, i seen many proton made cars broke down more often, with the thought owning one n if happened at night…terrifying. o perhaps i forgot majority of the cars driving on the road are national made cars. my mistake. peace too. btw, im driving a national car too and broke down twice in 2 yrs, so-called standard tear and wear.

i understand about the job opportunities and national incomes from proton. but along the way, i do believe we suffered more lost than gain.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:30 am

If the G had sense it the first place, there won’t be any nonsense of some ‘national car that we can be proud of.’ To begin with, we never had the economies of scale. Even the Detroit car-makers are having problems now and GM,Chrysler and Ford used to be the top three car-makers in the world.
    When they had the chance to sell of Proton to VW, they talk about nationalistic pride. For heavens sake, that was a nationalistic shame. I think I would had declared a holiday if Proton was sold off. Look at Skoda, they use to be worse than Proton. Now after selling off to VW, they have a world class product and if choose to take advantage of VW’s global logistics to sell all over the world. Have Skoda lost their image? No! In fact since they do not have to worry about engineering a car from ground up they focus upon other issues like the design of the car itself.
    And before anyone flames me for the fact that it provides job etc etc, it’s a case of penny wise pound foolish. You’ve made the whole damn country suffer with exorbitant car prices just to make an extra few thousand jobs in the country. ANd think of this, with VW leaving to go to Thailand to open a new factory, guess which company provides more jobs leaving the ‘nationalistic pride’ aside?
    Furthermore, gas prices has been below 120USD/barrel for almost a week now. Where is the talk about lowering gas prices? Naik harga very easy, turun harga is like getting blood out of stone.

• blaze (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:57 am

“The Proton Vendors Association (PVA) and Kelab Vendor Perodua (KVP) are pushing for the excise duty for cars, MPVs and SUVs to be set at the same level. According to the two associations, the excise duty for MPVs and SUVs are currently lower than those of passenger cars.

They say the government will benefit from such a move because of higher excise duty income, and the related authorities will also benefit from the simplicity of multiple vehicles being assigned a single tax category.”

What the fuck! A bunch of greedy nicampoops who suddenly asking the goverment to change the policy so that they can get richer??? You idiots can go to hell!! I m pretty sure all of them got some kind of imported SUV or MPV in their driveway anyway.. Benefit to the country?? Ptui!!!

I will hang on to my old and faithful Fiat and Ford.. Not Proton or Perodua.. Maybe when all cars in this country will be trated as equal, than only i will consider if its really good..

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 5:33 am

Last thing on people’s mind is to increase tax rate. If ask to lower the car tax to current MPV and SUV tax would be better. Not the other way around. With lots of incentives gov give proton, still not enough to kill the rakyat off is it?

I only assume that there is no english word for Kelab Vendor Perodua, cos it becomes PVC=perodua vendor club. LOL.

• muharifz (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 7:37 am

Another typical scenario in BOLEHLAND. Only if they can produce a really good quality car which is up to international standards, then people will automatically support their products. (What happened to PWira in Turkey) As long as they produce Proton TMilo or Perodua TMilo, sorry to say, might as well they concentrate on making Kereta Sorong. Don’t waste time on trying to do something new while at the same time couldn’t fix the current problem.

Proton, 20 years have passed, still need support? Perodua your time will come…so better improve or…(you guess)

• shaif (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 8:09 am

The Proton Vendors Association (PVA) and Kelab Vendor Perodua (KVP) should look at reality of people being burdened by oil prices, higher price of foods..everything increase except the rain.
    So on what ground they have for this proposal. Are they really thinking about the benefit of the Gov…or is that for their own bank a/c?
    Why don’t they push for higher product quality. My 6 old wira dashboard has imperfection..noise everywhere, in which this basic thing won’t happen to any corolla or even my father’s Datsun 120Y…
    Just because some stupid vendor with stupid connection with some stupid ‘Dato’, don’t drag people just to accumulate your wealth la. Be kind to people, not the way around.

• moha774 (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 8:22 am

I bet that, the members for the both vendors association is consist of the same companies.. that is why they can agree on the same philosophy….

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 9:37 am

totally agree with shaif. but not with the point of saying proton burdening rakyat. bcoz their price so far is acceptable and accommodate rakyat. yup quality is not there but getting there. Sorry for owners whose car is really in bad shape. i hope the new batch is getting better. part vendors has been announced so u know what to do later on. regarding taxes like Shaif has said(maybe).
    i hope the new car price did not immitate the mpv’s price of other makes since national caris not being tax that much. Whatever the situation is tax is the main issue.
    if anyone have bad exp regarding p1 new batch please let us forumers know. and anyone from proton who have ‘accidentally’ seen the price quote for mpv, please let us know. so far their pricing is acceptable but with taxing issue… let us hope for the best.

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 11:35 am

Since savvy, or persona… i didn’t heard any super serious problem with Proton. Nowaday’s i saw Saga’s everywhere!..

In economic wise of view.. If G give proton 500million, then from that money can make proton build better car / MPV.. that gonna save for malaysia BILLIONS RM’s/years from flew to japan or any other state. (Which is good for internal cash flow).

But in selfish view.. naaa…… i’m cannot afford Alphard at this momment.. G’s suxk..

Proton.. please make your MPV as good as Alphard with a price of Wish… oh.. Omg.. i oso selfish…. :D

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 11:40 am

i also want one. y dont G put a quiz of gores& menang every month to win a national car. heheh at least can tune down the volume of tax issue heheheh

• 2 dogs (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 12:12 pm

They want to push the price of foreign MPV’s & SUV’s lagi higher? Might as well close the whole country door & back to stone age! G is chasing all investors away to Thailand.

• Huz (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 12:16 pm

Hm…well, the main objective of having excise duty for foreign cars is to help Malaysian car producers to survive the competitive auto industry. Acceptable. But,

1stly, this is not a reason for the national cars to start competing the price of their products to the price of vehicles that has already been excised. Why in the world is a Perdana V6 are sold at RM100+k and a Waja RM70k+ when we can get a Mitsubishi or Honda or Toyota of the same class at about the same price if not only a bit more? Wouldn’t it be labelled as cheating? Or taking advantage? We are left with the option of buying an overpriced foreign car OR buying a Made in Malaysia car thats competing against the overpriced foreign cars.
    Rather silly I would say.

Secondly, IMHO, I think excise duty policy is the main culprit why the quality of Malaysian cars is so poor. They are being pampered with the idea that they are safe no matter what they sell, or how low the quality of their product is. We are put in a situation where they would say “Kalau nak barang bagus, pegi la beli yang mahal punya!”.
    Rather silly again.

Lasty, P2 must be very determined more to have locally fixed cars, considering the fact that their latest product is a CBU Toyota Rush (Nautica?), when Toyota itself is forced to sell their “Made in Indonesia” product here. Very Smart.

• alwayswishingforabettercar (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 12:27 pm

ridiculous move. but not unexpected. put entire families in substandard suvs & mpvs and wait for the carnage to ensue!

i really wouldn’t mind it if i was paying the prices they ask and give me their export standard model. then i’d know it’s a car i’d be able to rely on (like the humberside police force who sing nothing but praises).

but the ones here? give me a 10 year old civic anytime!

a

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:05 pm

I actually believed in temporarily protecting our industry so that proton would have a chance to develop our own automotive technology to world standards. however, after a few years involvement in the process personally i found that proton was a place where excessive milking by several well connected people and was not a place where they were real technological development was happening. Quality got worse, most development jobs were subcontracted, proton got more and more distant from understanding consumer needs a and arrogance set in. For the first 20 years, Proton had no real focus, even their distribution system which are suppose to be their front line against foreign players were in disarray, competing each other instead of competitors..today, despite being better focused in its direction, proton seems to be playing catchup plus facing poor image problem from its own biggest market and supporters..the malaysian motorist. so much time and money has been lost through poor management and lack of direction and with free trade agreements implemented, M’sia as a country is affected badly through its failure to attract FDI in regards to automotive development to thailand whom are exporting millions of cars every year. M’sian’s today are paying more than a third of their salary and up to nine years for a car just for the sake of proton..with fuel prices up, how much more does the rakyat need to sacrifice just to save a few??

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:12 pm

After reading the news and few comments in this post, I GOT to agree with Ignas, Trustgtr, Dodgeviper88, Kingbrutal, Blaze, Shaif and others who thinks that such implementation WOULD ACTUALLY benefit some party (the cronies) rather then the whole Malaysian. To some like Maddy-Kun, I understand your view by seeing in different perspective when facing certain issue but don’t you think the Malaysian people should HAVE their very own rights on what to do or purchase with their hard earn cash? Maddy-Kun, some of the voices here don’t actually expresses their HATE towards Proton or Perodua but more of their FRUSTRATION towards the government’s system which is by human rights…IS NOT FAIR!! Maddy-Kun, every country in this God given world had impose certain tax duty on any import cars but ONLY Malaysia have the world’s most ridiculous cars tax ever been made!! Trustgtr point out the core problem in our automotive industries when he stated that the BMW’s new boss commented “how surprised he was with our car prices and never seen anything like this anywhere else in the world”. Maddy-Kun, I believe that God gave us a ONE chance to live in this world…to live the very best by doing good towards others and also to enjoy and experience the very best that the world have to offer. So, answer me this…doesn’t we DESERVE the very best the world had to offer?

OpenMind says it best with, “even the MP and Government Servant want to spend tax payer money to buy Merz E200, Camry, Accord, X-trial, etc at such pricing (after the tax)….”! If they could spend what is not theirs, doesn’t we the Malaysian citizens have MORE rights to buy a better cars with OUR own money? As far as I can see…this ‘higher excise duty’ scheme will only benefit to ONE party and that is not…US! A merely citizen two cents…peace! :-)

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:15 pm

To Huz,

That’s a very, very good comments!

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:22 pm

I like it when you point out, “Kalau nak barang bagus, pegi la beli yang mahal punya!”. That is what we always hear in Malaysia. Towards Proton, it’s not that we hate it but after more than 20 years…it’s time for them to fight fair and give to the people the very best of quality. If they still need more years to be protected, then they simply will NEVER learn…

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:54 pm

hurmm true true..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:07 pm

this is sickening… G promise to give money to them to improve & now this?

check this –> http://paultan.org/archives/2008/04/18/rm400-million-for-proton-vendor-development/

now they r helping G –> “They say the government will benefit from such a move because of higher excise duty income, and the related authorities will also benefit from the simplicity of multiple vehicles being assigned a single tax category.”

very HELPFULL toward each other… both news with same conclusion, we’ll screwed at the end

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:56 pm

back in ’96, i was part of a team which did a study and proposed that proton would be given the freedom to source components from suppliers from all over the world. We felt the G cannot build a automotive manufacturing and automotive vendors at the same time, proton should concentrate on engineering and assembling cars and buy components outside which are 50% cheaper and high quality until it has enough volume, until then a localized vendor program would be feasible. For example, components such as the water pump which was brought in from India by Autolec was 50% costlier than if proton were to buy from Aisin (japan) which makes millions of many sort of pumps for the auto industry plus at higher quality,power window components from Korea which are more than 60 % percent cheaper. However this went to deaf ears and proton went around spending it cash reserves into which deemed unnecessary instead of putting money into technological development locally,proton could even hire the best engineers and management team from japan or germany and push through some programs to develop itself with local engineers, but instead decided to spend for all the wrong reasons..today proton has a engineering team which are limited in their capabilities and still dependant on on other manufacturers to provide know how..here’s a list of proton models that it has to offer and supposedly able to compete with other manufaturers..

1. Savvy – engine and wiring harness from renault- maybe the only car reasonably built proton.

2. Saga – structure engineering ok but engines and drivetrain somehow a generation behind competitors..not as efficient as it should be.

3. Gen2 – Image destroyed by it poor build quality and low tech engine, even after several improvements the damage to its reputation is done.

4. Persona – a little too late, a car that should have been built back in ’04..carries the poor image from the gen2 where it is based..Engines can be a lot better, a decent car nevertheless..

5. Waja – 8 year old car which has only improve a little and suffer from poor fit and finish, again the campro should be better plus the latest facelift made the car looks worst..very dated model and should be replaced yesterday.

6. Perdana – a rebadge discontinued mitsu and considered absolete…sweet V6 though..

Campro engine – only engine that proton has..lotus developed twin cam 16 valve design is quite reliable however it machine which is a little rough at the edges..requires a leap in technology for increased efficiency and refinement..

Proton has ran out of time and do not have a proper lineup to compete and the rakyat has ran out of patience as well especially with the increase in price of essential goods which includes cars as well..we need to get rid of unnecessary burden and sacrificing for proton is no longer affordable..

• Huz (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 3:20 pm

torque : thnks mate :p Im just so pissed of that our G seems to manipulate us like this. I dont mind paying for taxes and craps. Everyone pays them. But with the things that they are doing, I feel more like being robbed. Anyway, the saying goes with “Malaysia Boleh”.

And to BMW’s new boss : “Welcome to BolehLand!”

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 3:45 pm

4. Persona – a little too late, a car that should have been built back in ‘04..carries the poor image from the gen2 where it is based..Engines can be a lot better, a decent car nevertheless..

Vios 2004 vs vios dugong 2008.
    Use the same Engine!!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 4:50 pm

fuck off proton

• Jie (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 4:52 pm

Shit, will this then affect the prices of Stream and Wish? Does that mean I should buy them asap?

I thought I wanted to wait until Proton MPV’s launch before deciding which one to buy.

• Huz (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 5:07 pm

Jie : what to do..no more peace of mind.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 5:19 pm

it’s nicer if we all can stop buying P1 & P2 car.. choose a 2nd hand foreign car instead of new P1 or P2.. if this proposal get aproval then screw them, i’ve decided, enuff is enuff.. sick of all this bullshit decision.. fuck them.. fuck G..

• tikus (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 5:47 pm

P1 and P2 go fly kite. Danm cheapo

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 6:11 pm

satria neo?? u forget 1

• ignas (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 7:06 pm

thanks torque. now i wonder what does those proton supporters have to say now. its very obvious that majority of us are being cornered and conned. @#$& Proton and those fat maggots in the G, parasites of the malay land.

• OpenMind (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 7:36 pm

Some did mentioned about giving them chances and argue that this is a better move from the economic perspective for Malaysia. I dont think so, firstly, expensive car indirectly forced longer lifespan among user (unwillingly since cannot afford a new one so frequently). Thus, having lower cost car (with less duty) might trigger shorter lifespan of car (better for the environment).

Secondly, you can only grow if you are in serious competition, increasing the duty for MPV/SUV will of course scare away some potential foreign car buyer but that doesn’t mean they will buy P1/P2 car.

Thirdly, even we have more local components for local car, but that doesn’t mean better economic cycle internally. This is not a direct reflection of how economy principles are working. Just on the human resource perspective, most if not all of the people working in Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, etc are pure Malaysia who are paying good amount of tax to the Government. If P1 or P2 is more successful then you will expect more people from foreign car dealer, service, salesman crossing over to P1/P2. So the effect is rather neutralized. Also, all the supporting industry still survive or undergo minor restructuring. Bare in mind, this is gloabl economy, without the scale, no company can survive, and pls calculate how many company can survive by just supplying to P1 or P2 with competition cost structure (that would benefits P1 or P2).

A lot of people argue that P1 and P2 are product reasonable car and I am not going to argue about this. But, let me post another question, giving the price difference is lesser than 2k-3k (if not same price) between a Persona 1.6 HL and a Toyota Vios 1.5G or a Hondy City 1.5 or a Nissan Latio 1.6, guess how many would end up buying the Persona. YOu may argue that perception is wrong, branding is not strong, etc..etc….BUT this is reality. So, meaning to say that over the years, P1 and P2 have not been able to convince people about their unique selling point, be it the service availability, the performance, the quality, the brand, the whatever…..

• ignas (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 8:19 pm

well said OpenMind.

• ckcheong (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 9:01 pm

My opinion is that all malaysian deserves to enjoy better quality product. By pricing protecting P1, the government is simply denying everyone the choice. If P1 product is competitive, good quality and reliable, then I believe most malaysian will receive it with an open heart. But contrary, it is the other way around. By protecting P1 is actually harming it in the long run. At the end of the day, the rakyat loses and P1 loses. I don’t see any win situations for the past 20 plus year of P1 operations. We are not talking about the desire to own luxury cars like Merc or BMs. Regular toyata, honda and etc are just normal family sedan in other countries, but in malaysia, these are priced so high due to exhorbitant taxes and duties until almost the same as price of buying a house. Fair? People buying proton during the early years of its operations due to support for local product, I believe, but when P1 loses badly in quality, innovation and this has made a majority of consumers lost faith in the brand. There after, people buy P1 because of no choice as other brands are out of regular rakyat’s affordability.

• kody (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 9:14 pm

wahlaueh…

‘The Proton Vendors Association (PVA) and Kelab Vendor Perodua (KVP)’ again i believe frm… the Pa La la la la….cronies…

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 9:24 pm

bmpower said,
    August 12, 2008 @ 3:45 pm

Vios 2004 vs vios dugong 2008.
    Use the same Engine!!!
    —————————————————————-but at least toyota don’t ‘force’ you to buy their products!

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:11 am

Sorry Open minded,
    i would have disagree on the 3rd point. Where you said more local component for local car doesn’t mean better economic cycles. Basic economic principle said capital expenditure bring in the multiplier effect. Less local component mean less capital used for machinery which is synonym with capital expenditure. How are you going to explain imported part bring in the same result as local component used as obviously there will be no investment on the capital or machinery itself. Exported automotive parts which mean more money going out and that is obviously hurt the cash flow and somehow affect the currency itself. Then there is factor of trade balance which obviously brings in more negative effect. Producing local component although it seem it is not bring any sense especially on competitive advantage theory but looking at the macro aspect of it, it will bring more jobs opportunity, better cash flow cycles and more economic activities. I don’t know where did you study your economy but your theory are obviously flawed. Example Spending RM 1,000 on capital expenditure (ie machinery and plant) will bring back about RM 7,000 back into the economy (i.e our multiplier effect are said to be at 6 to 7 times). Spending 1,000.00 for labour (ie, staff working in foreign company) will never bring the same result as spending same amount on machinery and plant for production of local component. Get what i mean?

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:42 am

Sorry to comment on those car lover who are over quality product. There is point by protecting P1, government is simply denying everybody choise. Looking at the bigger picture, maybe we are being oppressed with artificially high price of imported car but car is just one part of our life. Talking on economic point of view which is obviously affect everybody 100%, in extreme example,would you driving 40k Toyota Altis with high price of economic good and high inflation and high price of fuel? For those who said, protecting P1 is harming the country in long run, please do give me reason why. Economically??. How in God earth a company which spend million and billion on capital expenditure (plant,machinery, r&d and so on) will bring negative effect to economy as a whole. The company who employ 8k direct and another 100k indirectly working for proton in this country. Proton one of the biggest investor in capital expenditure. One question could everybody drive BM, altis and accord by today if proton never exist? Are our economy and standard of living will be the same if proton never exist before?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:55 am

Thumbs up to

OpenMind

• ignas (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 2:49 pm

well i know we OVER-paid our national cars, and most of the profit single channeled to cronies. so i suppose its good in a way because it ended up to our malaysian so they can spend lavishly overseas, right? thou i have no actual proven facts to back this.

• shaif (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 4:30 pm

Actually my praise to Proton to be one of car manufacturer in the world. Not every country could do that for some reason, but Proton is said to be a catalyst to propel Malaysia to industrial nation.
    However, along that line, quality of Proton become jeorpadised because of the bad vendor. Of course they are good vendor but as whole, Prton image has been tarnished by this bad apple.
    So mr tebuan, its true that Proton give jobs to many malaysian either directly or indirectly. It is a fact that Proton helps the country economically. But it must not neglect the very basic foundation of customer support here. I bet some of the first owner of Proton when facing some product quality issue with Proton, they will change their preferences to T or H model which even it higher prices but it comes with peace of mind.
    Having said that, I want to buy next model of Proton, but somehow their waja CPS still lacking of good fit and finish…the gap is like 6 years ago…so what R&D, management and vendor do all this time….kira duit kah..
    Wake up Proton, be fair with Malaysian who spend money on car priced on par with low cost housing scheme. Except that house hold and appreviate their value..Proton…nothing to say.!

• 3S (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 5:06 pm

i have nothing to say or talk about P1 and P2…
    i juz can wish good luck to those who already bought P1 and P2.

i juz wonder if P1 and P2 never exist …the no of ppl died in car accident in Malaysia whether can be reduce or not…..?
    think about it..!!

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 5:16 pm

trustgtr,
    Your point on decision which is not beneficiary to proton as per part price is more on political and economical bias. Imported automotive as you said is cheaper and much more high quality compared to local made but if proton a pure private company, that what they should do, import it as it is much cheaper and higher quality. One must remember Proton exist to spur the heavy industrial industries and to create bigger and higher value chain. Why did proton wasted they money on developing vendors and create their own supply chain? Easy answer, that is what government want proton to do. Proton is to withhold Government policy especially the creation of local SME and vendor. Proton had created more vendor and developed local supplier (which most of them really take for granted the opportunity given). This in the bigger picture will create more economic activities and some small number of this vendor efficient and become a major player in the automotive industries.
    Look at bigger pictures my friend, although proton making less profit with local part which cost higher, the benefit to overall economy is undeniable. Yeah, the price of car is too high but at least our economy is still moving and more and more are invested internally. FDI is good but internal or domestic investment is also good. Our economy are much more diversified.
    If you are government you will look at the bigger pictures rather than few point of view (ie, the net profit of proton or price of car). The bigger pictures is to promote and encourage economic growth by spurring economic activities especially on automotive part via vendor programme which will bring economic growth as a whole. How many percent of economic growth is their main concern. Cheaper and higher quality car doesn’t mean high standard of living, reduced in poverty, low unemployment rate, increase in GDP or PPP, low inflation rate, distribution of wealth and so on.. Like your parent when you are child, they think about your overall wellbeing rather than pleasing your specific need. Get what I mean folks?
    Having said that i would agree with the point that the vendor need to buckle up and increase quality.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm

people… people… :D

the proposal is still a proposal, albiet done in a bad taste. and the people that is making the proposal is the PVA and KVP, not Proton and Perodua. (indirectly maybe but who knows?) so we should cry foul to PVA and KVP for being insensitive to the plight of rakyat now. it’s like they go shitting everywhere and ask others to clean up for them. enough is enough, if they want to succeed, bring up the quality and reduced cost, then fight head-on with foreign brand, show how Malaysia Boleh they are. Or they just want to cry foul before competing because they know their product is kaput? Proton and Perodua should screen their vendors, removed all the parasites and retain those who perform. so what if a few hundred or thousand lose their job, it’s not giving them job if their output is like that. for the good of a thousand or for the good of 30millions? I’ll choose the later.