New Honda City: new image appears on the net!

New Honda City

Reader Simon wrote in with a pointer to a thread on pantip.com that is discussing what is supposed to be a product shot of the new Honda City that is expected to be unveiled internationally sometime in the late third quarter or early fourth quarter of the year.

The rendering looks similiar yet different from what Autocar India came up with. The Autocar India rendering (based on internal sources and spyshots) looked like a sedan version of the European Honda Civic and was much sleeker.

This image shows a rather high roofline, making it much more similiar to the current generation City. It is more proportionate though. The front end is inspired by the design of some more recent Hondas such as the Honda FCX Clarity.

What do you think of the new Honda City?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fairozee (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 8:40 am

First!!!

Nice! This is better than Vios. More masculine and sporty!

• xenith (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 8:43 am

Very nice! Any rear shot?

• mahs (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:13 am

look cute aunty and gal will like it

• rhoma (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:13 am

looks nice..even nicer if the price is right with adequate equipment level

• ahOpe (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:17 am

please give us a manual trans version with dohc ivtec!! please please please

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:24 am

waoh… u guys can read indian… tamil?

the rear shot is also in the thread anyway…

• rodimus (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:30 am

I htink it look great!!! I love this design!! Keep it up HONDA!!! Cheer

• joe1209p (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:51 am

am I the only one who think it is hideous?

• freeze (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:15 am

joe1209p,

Could you tell us what car is good looking to you, if this is hideous. Just curious about your taste.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 12:19 pm

This is not pictures of the new Honda City. It is a mere rendering with only some elements of the new car.

The real Honda City pics will reveal that the new car is much better looking than the current "Guppy fish" City.

(in fact, almost all of the newer Hondas starting from the Civic looks mighty good)

• abtm (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 4:20 pm

looks like a badly shrunken Accord Euro and still a bit fishy, but i'll take this over the Yaris/Vios anytime

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 4:21 pm

The current City looks good, but boy they made this one better… I was actually worried cos the new Jazz is rounder and more mpv-like compared to the old one, and how that was going to be brought forward to the City. But they seemed to have taken cues from the Civic Type-R hatch as well…

• mytouch (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 4:35 pm

This car will sure kick the new Vios @$$!! very sporty & aero dynamic…only thing is the sport rims is a bit "yeakks!!"…

• King Samurai (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 4:37 pm

This City looks damn good….heard that Thailand is gonna launch it somewhere end of next month!!! In india its before diwali (deepavali) accroding to their scoop sites. Also heard that interior and functionality is now further apart to the Jazz. Seems to be City & Jazz are no longer close siblings now. Just wait till next month and we can get better view from Honda Thai website. When its gonna launch here then…anybody have a clue???

• xstan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 5:08 pm

Darn!! Fabulous look . certainly miles better looking then the Aunty/Girlie look of the Vios.

Honda is known for new innovations & if it complements with the new looks, ita certainly much better car of its category rather then the …old conservative & a"lways maintain" Toyota's.

No matter ..Vios still score in sales as there are still plenty of conservative people & ladies driver.

While Honda M'sia still maintained its productivity exclusively limited to 1,000 units p/mth.

• ka_one2000 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 5:16 pm

dcwhz83 said,

August 18, 2008 @ 1:24 am

waoh… u guys can read indian… tamil?

the rear shot is also in the thread anyway…

its siamese not tamil….

• wuichi (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 5:34 pm

very nice, the front looks very European. This car is so much better than the vios

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 6:26 pm

This City looks better than the mutated dugong-like Vios.

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 6:29 pm

At first glance it does looks similar to what was posted by AutoCar India & the spy shot on Indian soils. But when looked closely i found some differences. IMHO, this should be another photoshop, but I would use the pics from the indian spy shots as a base for my imagenative mind. BTW, this new pics looked rather interesting.

1) The small window in C pillar is not "pointy" to the rear as AutoCar pics.

2) The front signal lamp is now "stretched" backwards.

3) This car have a bee sting antenna which the spy shots does not show.

4) Now this car have a signal lamp on the side mirrors.

• intermilan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 6:32 pm

It is pointless to look aggressive, sporty, etc etc if the final product didn't actually deliver the performance of the image it associated itself with. its deceptive.

example, some people believe that marketing a confusing image of a car, (look sporty and aggressive and on the other side.. proceed about promoting how fuel efficient it is, excellent level of creature comfort bla bla bla ) is wrong. unless, it is actually true, which most cars are not. the reason for "most cars are not" is simple.

Sporty performance and fuel efficient don't belong together. Currently, Shell Malaysia is running an advert campaign lead by the guys & his wife who set the world record travelling the world in a Golf with only a few tanks of petrol. All fuel-efficient-advices by this guy have no hint of driving your car aggressively or sportly in order to save fuel. It similar to the issue of ride vs. handling. Very very few car excel in both departments. And City will not feature on the list. Honda S2000? Maybe.

Admittedly, this 'confused image' sometime is just what the customer actually want (!). They want a car that look aggressive, actually drive dynamically and also comfortably, price is cheap (e.g. <RM80K) and sip fuel all the time.. minimum benchmark – 20km/L.

So some car manufacturer will 'deliver' this to you, in 'complete package'.. or at least that is what is concluded based on what been seen or heard. Basically, they put all the 'fact' in front of you and it is you how draw the conclusion.

for those who r in this category of customer, the remaining comments would be Greek.. its okay if it is not understandable, mean nothing or wrong in your point-of-view or you guys didnt bother at all. its okay.

look but please don't give the bhp and torque figures printed in the brouchure too serious a thought. that is just a 'suggestion' alrite? unless they include a rolling-road dyno chart and explaination (Honda should do this), which will give a slightly better insight of the engine and car performance (which btw still ain't enuff).

So.. if wanna know want the car actually "is"…. either read a few car magazine test drive review…. or… if u really want to know what u'll spend your rm900 for.. on monthly basis for 9 years ( or 3 years coz u'll sold it and buy the new City in 2010)… test drive it yourself amd ensure you know what to look for in a test drive. make a list for thing to test.

test drive it (not crazy driving) at roads like KL-Karak highway if u wanna know if the new 'aggressive' City worth it salt. but expectation should be commensurate.. as high as the aggressive-look of the car. indicator of a poser is if the car doesn't behave the way its look (or dressed like a rocker but am listening to Mariah Carey new album though his ipod all the time kinda guy – get it?). Its a shame to be a poser.

== simpler version ==

by looking at the picture, it is a good looking car (compared to new Vios) for sure. the look is fabulous, modern, immediate-impact type of image, whether it would still deliver the 'look' in a long run is open for debate. but the rule of thumb is for day-to-day car (which City is), the bolder, radical the looks, the quicker the glitter and pulling power will gone, if the car design trend moving differently. Am sure this opinion is held not by me alone and also not agreeable to many out there in this fraternity.

But in bolehland, how can it go wrong with Honda?

i bet there are people already place an advanced booking for it!

• iskandar (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Yup. I agree that this could be a photoshop version instead of original.

The last version of Honda City launched no longer had an antenna sticking out of the rooftop. It has a printed antenna on the back window (just like the Accord, Civic etc)

So you guys better restrain yourself from commenting about it's look.

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 6:57 pm

Gazillion times better than VIOS!,n 100 times improved form the current model:

i shall say very sharp ,edgy design, n something modern sexy that you want to see on the road.

Vios is like a pillow or a puffy metal cloud rolling on the road.

Comparing this n the new Kia Forte (Kia Spectra) ill get hard time picking either one. cause both design are clean edgy sharp design n simple.

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Vios is like a fat fish on the road i rather go for Persona with that bootylicious butt that u feel complete to smack.

• SquarePetrolHead (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 8:04 pm

Nice. Looks good… An option to the Honda Accord as I cannot begin to dream to afford it. The front end looks aggressive enough. The rear end doesn't look promising though. Hope that they kept all the goodies in the previous marques and added to it…

• rcopt2000 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:12 pm

wow!!!! nice !!!surprice i always support honda,i will buy it !

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:14 pm

the front looks really really nice. but not sure about the rear. maybe its the camera angle that made it look weird. kinda like saga shape + vios tail lamp.

my guess on what JULIAN LEE/ALPINA BMW would say :-

ugly! stupid car. only stupid ppl buy this car. better buy golf. the bestest best car in the world!

:-|

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:57 pm

wow if this is true… i would love the new Honda City! the shape looks more normal as a sedan le… the sharp front is one eye catching design, if the budget stays around the price of current City, i think this model can sell like hotcakes…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:36 pm

xg9,

I'm not being a busy body, However, I can't help but noticing there were at least 3 posting by you highlighting specifically on JULIANLEE….about his personal views and your obvious reasons….

Just my little observation.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:58 pm

It's fake!

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Guys, dont get too excited with these photoshoped pics.

Hey Paul, why dont you post those real spy shots testing in India. It will give a better picture for us hopeful Honda fans…

I have seen it and its not as hot as these photoshoped & AutoCar render pics…

Cheers

• ignas (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 12:20 am

Real car is not out yet as it is not yet officially launched. So there wont be any actual pictures or details of the car at the moment. Beside, this rendered graphic will give us the rough idea at least how it looks like. Regardless, it depends on individual but it sure does looks better than vios and latio imo.

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 12:21 am

front grille looks good, not sure about the back. still have high roofline, as it predecessor. looks like kura kura from the side view. same old same old…

~ReactiX

• DRC (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 1:50 am

Hopefully the noise-vibration-harseness if improved. Tested current honda City. Felt 'cheap' and noisy tyre sounds. Current Civic is not much better; still worse than the cheaper Innova, surprisingly. Toyota is good at noise insulation.

• xstan (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 2:06 am

Hello DRC..here's the comment on one of few new Vios owner who complaints on the bad NVH of the new Vios:-

"Type G and S will

have additional sound insulator which is totally USELESS… Sat in Type E

b4 and I owned one unit of Type G. Noise is utterly rubbish..U can hear

noise everywhere from engine, tyre and wind noise coming in from side

window..I done some DIY sound deadening on the undercarriage and wheel

arc..Improvement in ride handling as well as road noise but the engine

noise is more obvious right now…" from Auto…..asian.com.

New Vios certainly has noisy engine. Kid u not. It roars when push..but it wont bite.

• s60t (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 2:36 am

DRC, not always true that toyota has better sound insulation.my Honda CRV is quieter than my Toyota wish.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 3:18 am

If they go this design would be cost effective. The front lights can be taken from the European Honda Civic. Only difference is EU civic has a perspect glass coating, this one would not have. I really like the rear. Reminds of Previous 3 series.

I notice different rims on the cars, I like the rims here rather than simple straight lines

• mPay (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 3:25 am

it's real,

ain't render version anymore.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 3:56 am

this car seriously looks good, with this honda city, only the really stupid of people will buy a vios

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 4:00 am

huduh. peace!

• sam1983 (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 5:49 am

The front of the car is really out of expectation and similar to FCX. I have slight doubt of how it looks in front as it differs from Paul Tan previous post. Another unfortunate news is that assuming that this is how it looks, I guess the Honda City 2009 will cost no less than RM95K to factor in higher raw material price, 5-speed gear box and styling cost.

• WIRA (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 6:38 am

As expected, Honda is going to make Toyota running for their money while they launches the type J with Rm2K fuel voucher and etc …. worth waiting for the new city with what puzzles me will be the affordable pricing.

The exterior look from the back is the new CIVIC, front look very similar to the recent launched accord and I bet that the interior should be similar to the new Jazz. I bet you that almost everyone will like it

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 6:43 am

@xg9 said,

August 18, 2008 @ 1:14 pm

gosh.. u kept telling that to everyone here.. =.=

@Julianlee

Yes.. Stupid people.

HOW RUDE ARE YOU?

Back to the post;

The front design is badarse, but i'll have top wait for the rear design.

But it is better than vios. More masculinity.

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 7:14 am

Very nice design, wait for the official launch next month. Real competitor for vios and nissan latio

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 7:19 am

Looks kinda nice on the photo but remember photos do lie sometimes – time will tell

• shamel (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 8:44 am

Photoshoped new city. But l believe grille will be similar to the rendering. Though those prefer longer 'butt' will opt for vios this city will restore honda superior position again, pre-altis scenario. Only thing will make toyota status quo maintain is PRICING. Hard for honda to sell it within vios junior RM69k price bracket even with manual.

• alanchai (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 9:35 am

Very Ugly ,,,,, looks more like a Tank not a car

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 4:55 pm

looks like a tank?? last time i checked, tanks came in matte camo colours, had a turret with a big gun on it, had tracks, and lots of flat sided armour..

i didnt realise they now make tanks with metallic paint, steeply raked front end, alloy wheels.. etc.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 6:30 pm

it looks good but not in a sleek kinda way. afterall, it is still based on a tallboy hatchback and will still have the progile of a swollen guppy like the vios or sx4 sedan but still, it's one of the more successful designs around for a family car with a hint of sportiness. i like it. it will probably sell like hot cakes.

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 7:05 pm

lowprofile,

what do u mean "afterall, it is still based on a tallboy hatchback "

which/what model are referring too?

• skis11 (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 10:56 pm

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, guys. So please stop arguing between each other about how good it looks, or how hidoues it could turned out.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 7:17 am

isn't it based on the jazz? i may be wrong though but the 2nd gen city had always been based on the jazz right? nolah, not arguing. i think the new one looks way better than the old shape though.

• Realeyes (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 4:52 pm

Nice car, it looks better that the predecessor.. I bet the price will be just below 100k.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:19 am

hmm i dun think it will based on jazz's platform. from the body, it already looks bigger like euro civic. now cant wait to see hows the interior going to look like.

• fit5505 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:53 am

the front look very sporty than vios …..but dunno the rear is how leh ?? hope not like the rear of vios look!!

• pajeroio (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 8:35 pm

I think the front headlamp look like Honda Airwave.

• The Honda models become more uglier!!!The cars were beautyful,powerful and dynamic.I´m disappointed about Honda.It´s once of the most several carmakers with the most ugliest cars.

• I´m disappointed with the Honda design(it looks so ugly!).