Ferrari 430 16M Scuderia Spider: only 499 units!

Ferrari 430 16M Scuderia Spider

And here we have it, a slightly mixed up creation by Ferrari – a hardcore stripped down rear engined, rear wheel drive racing car… with a convertible roof! This is the drop top version of the 430 Scuderia and its been christened the Ferrari 430 16M Scuderia Spider, limited to only 499 units. It’s apparently to celebrate their F1 team’s 2008 constructor championship title.

The 16M Scuderia Spider shaves 80kg (as a comparison, the 430 Scuderia shaved 100kg off the regular F430 coupe) off the regular spider through the omission of a few stuff like floormats and other weight reduction measures such as increased use of carbon fiber. Playing around with product tie-ins a little, there is also a Ferrari-customised Apple iPod Touch integrated into the center dock in front of the dashboard.

Unlike the 430 Scuderia which featured the single clutch F1-Superfast2 transmission, the 430 16M Scuderia Spider gets an even faster shifting 6-speed twin clutch transmission for uninterrupted power transfer. Interestingly this is one cog down from the 7 speeds in the Ferrari California, I wonder why.

0 to 100km/h only takes a blistering 3.7 seconds, thanks to the power unit which is the highly tuned direct injection 4.3 litre unit from the Ferrari California putting out 510 horsepower at 8,500rpm and 470Nm of torque at 5,250rpm. It revs up to a limiter of 8,640rpm.

Look after the jump for a whole photo gallery of the new Scuderia Spider.

PHOTO GALLERY: Ferrari 430 16M Scuderia Spider
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:136]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:54 pm

maybe it doesnt want to compete with the california, else its pretty much a california with a f430 look

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:57 pm

Hey !!!!! Itz my baby !!!!!
    Finally my F430 is out in da forum…….!!!!! First to comment too !!!!
    The front spoiler seems different from mine…. mine kinda oval, i mean the vent on the spoiler … and the interior seems all-black… think i should go back to singapore showroom to check-out this rim is available or not !!!! It lukz hotter than my current rim !!!!!!!

• Paul Tan on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:58 pm

Or maybe the 7-speed is not ready for rear engine installation yet.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:00 am

maybe so. that applies to the same idea that the dsg gearbox was not made for the tiguan for offroading too. but i still think, practically, its still a california based engine, but would churn out different handling. some ppl like it to be FR, much like what BMWs and mercs are nowadays

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 1:33 am

Paul, i would like to order 1.

• jamsbong (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 8:46 am

Sometimes I wonder if Ferrari is really worth that much money? You can definitely score a better deal with lambo, or even cheaper still with Porsche. the Exciting factor (x-factor) belongs to Ferrari and Porsche. Speed, belongs to Porsche. Lambo, holds title for exotic looks, comfort and ease of driving.

One thing is for sure, you can really feel the presence of the Ferrari. The screaming exhaust note is loud and addictive. I think that is why it is worth so much more.

• kai_stereo (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 9:36 am

i hope i have this car in my house. huhu…. =D

• isfufushah (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:09 am

If i’m filthy rich… i will own this car for my collectioon.
    ;-}

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:09 am

the f430 spider is the ugliest ferrari i’ve ever seen

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 3:33 pm

check out the front disc brakes…is it seriously that huge???

• happiesdog (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 5:06 pm

Why it comes with 2 different RIM??? Is this 16M lower than the usual Scuderia Spider ??

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:30 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 10, 2008 @ 11:09 am

————————————

Excuse me …. may i know u r referin’ to normal F430 or this one ( spyder ) !!!!!!

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 7:56 pm

like this one!! that 430 Scuderia already make me cannot sleep. haiyaa,lucky u Xx-Ferrari-xX.

• varman24 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:19 am

always the best of ferrari.This is my most favourite.Im ur tifosi 4ever

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:16 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 10, 2008 @ 7:30 pm

————————————

Excuse me …. may i know u r referin’ to normal F430 or this one ( spyder ) !!!!!!
    ———————————-
    this one, sorry if the ferrari model you own is a f430 spider…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 10:34 pm

November 13, 2008 @ 2:16 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————

———————————-

————————————————–

nope… mine is not spider… its the normal Ferrari F430, year 2007…. well, i think mine looks better than spyder… the rear part of spider also looks very bad… i hate the squary air vent on the front bumper of this spider too, mine kinda oval shape and definitely looks hot !!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:12 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 13, 2008 @ 10:34 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————

———————————-

————————————————–

nope… mine is not spider… its the normal Ferrari F430, year 2007…. well, i think mine looks better than spyder… the rear part of spider also looks very bad… i hate the squary air vent on the front bumper of this spider too, mine kinda oval shape and definitely looks hot !!!
    ————————————————
    luckily, i totally agree, the 360 modena spyder was nice, but ever since i saw that f430 spyder on miami vice, i hated it…i’ve never seen a ferrari ehich gave me such negative impact since that ferrari 348 gtb

• orangetribal (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX,can you share a picture of ur car for us to drool at,can? hehe…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:14 pm

November 14, 2008 @ 11:12 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 13, 2008 @ 10:34 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————

———————————-

————————————————–

————————————————
    luckily, i totally agree, the 360 modena spyder was nice, but ever since i saw that f430 spyder on miami vice, i hated it…i’ve never seen a ferrari ehich gave me such negative impact since that ferrari 348 gtb

———————————————

yeah, u r exactly true…. this model have created a negative impresssion for me for a luxurious super car like ferrari…. actually f430 spider do look like a super car but it looks very bad…. I’ll rather go for Lamborghini Gallardo LP560 than this one…. Gallardo LP560 is already on sale in Singapore and i saw a white colour one in the showroon… but my convoy buddies just have the normal gallardo and two superleggera… and got one more buddy havin’ silver 360 modena…. Normally we used to hang around in jb and orchard in singapore on public holzZ…..

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 8:59 pm

singapore must be a nice place to be in, what about bugatti’s, any there yet?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:38 pm

November 14, 2008 @ 8:59 pm

————————————————

even if u own a ferrari here in singapore, it doesnt mean a lot here coz we have a large number of million dollar exotic cars here…. Only when i bring my ferrari to malaysia, all the local people would be lookin at my F430 in a weird way…. In singapore, ppl dont care even if u park Ferrari or lamborghini anywhere… three months ago when i had convoy to Genting, we had a yellow Paganni Zonda joinin’ our convoy !!!! and guyz, u know what, we have a white Audi R8 in our convoy recently, if u guyz dun believe, the car no. plate [ SGZ 7389M ] , so those stayin’ in JB watch out for this R8 on weekends…. I dont think R8 is in Malaysian shores yet !!!!

• orangetribal (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 12:45 pm

LOL!Ya ONE big braggart!!! I’ll put my money on that

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 3:12 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 14, 2008 @ 10:38 pm

————————————————

even if u own a ferrari here in singapore, it doesnt mean a lot here coz we have a large number of million dollar exotic cars here…. Only when i bring my ferrari to malaysia, all the local people would be lookin at my F430 in a weird way…. In singapore, ppl dont care even if u park Ferrari or lamborghini anywhere… three months ago when i had convoy to Genting, we had a yellow Paganni Zonda joinin’ our convoy !!!! and guyz, u know what, we have a white Audi R8 in our convoy recently, if u guyz dun believe, the car no. plate [ SGZ 7389M ] , so those stayin’ in JB watch out for this R8 on weekends…. I dont think R8 is in Malaysian shores yet !!!!
    ———————–
    r8? we are happy to see any audi a5 or audi’s with quattro badges. here, all the expensive cars are owned by the corrupted cronies of BN or they are from the useless royal families who only know how to eat our money, become fat, buy maybach’s for themselves, ferrari’s for their children and bmw m5’s for thier bodyguards. fuckers…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 4:30 pm

November 15, 2008 @ 3:12 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 14, 2008 @ 10:38 pm

————————————————

———————–
    r8? we are happy to see any audi a5 or audi’s with quattro badges. here, all the expensive cars are owned by the corrupted cronies of BN or they are from the useless royal families who only know how to eat our money, become fat, buy maybach’s for themselves, ferrari’s for their children and bmw m5’s for thier bodyguards. fuckers…

————————————–

yeap….. its an Audi R8…. and i drove the audi R8 from malaysian checkpoint to singapore on da bridge since that guy wanna test drive my F430…. so we exchange our cars at the checkpoint… Quattro’s can be found many too here…

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 10:38 am

still, less and less aingaporean’s are willing to bring their machines back, all i see these days are mercs, bmws, toyotas, hondas and nissans, although they all look better than our mercs, bmws, toyotas, hondas and nissans….the beauty of fully imported cars

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 12:41 pm

November 16, 2008 @ 10:38 am

still, less and less aingaporean’s are willing to bring their machines back, all i see these days are mercs, bmws, toyotas, hondas and nissans, although they all look better than our mercs, bmws, toyotas, hondas and nissans….the beauty of fully imported cars

—————————————

well u got it wrong here…. all the super-car owners here like ferrari, lamborghini, R8, aston martin, Porche, skyline and so on dont really use or bring our super-cars too often… all of us actually own some other continental cars for normal everyday use… we only bring these machines out on weekends and durin’ convoy…. normally our convoy wld be to JB or genting highland !!!! we just had a convoy to malacca 2 months ago !!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 8:34 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 16, 2008 @ 12:41 pm

—————————————

well u got it wrong here…. all the super-car owners here like ferrari, lamborghini, R8, aston martin, Porche, skyline and so on dont really use or bring our super-cars too often… all of us actually own some other continental cars for normal everyday use… we only bring these machines out on weekends and durin’ convoy…. normally our convoy wld be to JB or genting highland !!!! we just had a convoy to malacca 2 months ago !!!!
    —————————–
    what about the ferrari that got robbed at genting, you know him? and how long did you wait for your ferrari.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 10:35 am

this is just ferrari trying to stretch its product timespan.its getting outdated now. whats the damn diff anyway from other f430s???

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:07 pm

you hair will turn messy….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:12 pm

November 16, 2008 @ 8:34 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

—————————————

—————————–
    what about the ferrari that got robbed at genting, you know him? and how long did you wait for your ferrari.

—————————————

owh… u mean dat incident… if im not mistaken, it was somewhere on september… well, i was one of those in the convoy to genting on friday afternoon with our ferraris and yeah i know him and his gf… he’s gud buddy… his car also same like mine… Black F430 but mine red… the problem was they drove quite ahead from our convoy… and he was robbed at the highway near seremban, not in genting highland…the front part of the car was crashed badly…. luckily its just the boot, not the engine compartment… or else he wld be in headache…we had a shock after gettin phone-call from his gf tellin the story b4 we rushed to pick them up and made a police report in genting station… he told me dat he lost his Rolex and notebook as well as some other things costing him $80K…. Bleedy f**ker sh*t robbers !!!!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:22 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 17, 2008 @ 5:12 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

—————————————

—————————–

—————————————

owh… u mean dat incident… if im not mistaken, it was somewhere on september… well, i was one of those in the convoy to genting on friday afternoon with our ferraris and yeah i know him and his gf… he’s gud buddy… his car also same like mine… Black F430 but mine red… the problem was they drove quite ahead from our convoy… and he was robbed at the highway near seremban, not in genting highland…the front part of the car was crashed badly…. luckily its just the boot, not the engine compartment… or else he wld be in headache…we had a shock after gettin phone-call from his gf tellin the story b4 we rushed to pick them up and made a police report in genting station… he told me dat he lost his Rolex and notebook as well as some other things costing him $80K…. Bleedy f**ker sh*t robbers !!!!
    ——————————————–
    yea, they make me sick. how long was ur waiting list for the ferrari?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 6:40 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 10:22 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

—————————————

—————————–

—————————————

——————————————–

—————————————————-

Well, i was given 18 months for the delivery of the F430 from the date of registration but it was delayed another 2 months…. So, it took me 20 months plus in the waiting’ list !!!! I got my car mid of last year July…. But i dunno how come another buddy’s same F430 arrived just in 16 months !!!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:13 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 19, 2008 @ 6:40 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 10:22 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

—————————————

—————————–

—————————————

——————————————–

—————————————————-

Well, i was given 18 months for the delivery of the F430 from the date of registration but it was delayed another 2 months…. So, it took me 20 months plus in the waiting’ list !!!! I got my car mid of last year July…. But i dunno how come another buddy’s same F430 arrived just in 16 months !!!
    —————————————-
    blame the brokers, they buy huge amounts of ferraris and sell it to people who desperately need one in a week for double or triple the price

• Scuderia Ferrari on Jun 26, 2009 at 5:49 pm

Hi all, I am not Singaporean, but I have been there for many times (more than 100 times, but strangely I still don't remember the road well). I am saving for two Ferrari. I wonder how much F430 coupe and F430 Scuderia will be in Singapore? Can anyone help me? At Sydney it cost AUD 500,000 for F430 and AUD 600,000+ for Scuderia F430. Any idea? And what make R8 more special then Ferrari (well, I think R8 interior is more luxury then F430).

PS: On my last trip to Singapore last week, I saw 2 F430 Spyder and 3 GT-Rs (white, red and yellow).

• nazrin on May 20, 2010 at 9:20 pm

hi there..
    i have question..
    1.What is the road tax & insurance of Ferrari F430 in Malaysia?
    2.What is the fuel usage per km of Ferrari F430?

Thank you