Jan 1 2009: 242 summonses issued for rear seatbelt rule offenders

Rear seatbelt

Has anyone been stopped or noticeably been checked out by the cops yet for rear seat belt usage (or more appropriately, lack of)? I haven’t but on the first day of the new year alone, a total of 242 summonses were issued related to the new rear seatbelt ruling. Out of this amount, the most summons were issued southern-most in Johor (95 summonses) while on the other end of the Peninsular we have Penang, racking up only 6 summonses. The totals for Kedah is 12, Negri Sembilan 11, Perlis 12, Pahang 2, and Malacca 11, while the remainder summonses and states were not reported in the dailies.

Have you started buckling up at the back, or are you still going on with old ways hoping that the cops don’t spot you? I personally have not seen any specific road blocks just to check whether rear passengers are buckled up, not even an increased amount of cops on the lookout for offenders, but this is probably because the federal police in KL did not plan any special ops specifically targeting rear seatbelt rule offenders, instead just instructing cops to watch out for them during regular daily routines.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 7:49 pm

This shows the Malaysian attitude. Tell 100 times, still got people who don’t really care. Also how stupid must they be. You see road block, or cars stopping in middle of the road, a sane person at the back would immediately buckle up. Guess for the 242 people, RM 300 is just pocket change.

• xg9 (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 10:13 pm

and thousands more ‘belanja encik polis minum kopi RM20’

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 10:17 pm

wd thy summon u if ur driving alone or summon wen got passengers but no seatbelt on???

• BW (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 10:32 pm

i sawa few cars kena stop by the cops at my area for not wearing seatbelts… I’m from kuching by the way….

• red7 (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 10:56 pm

good. singapore had enforced the rule far earlier than us.

• calvin_ngan (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 12:21 am

our minister said this rear belt ruling is to save lives. I say, walk the talk by forcing proton to produce quality/up to world safety standard cars, i bet more people die because of proton’s lousy quality or non existence safety feature against those ‘not wearing the rear belt’ death.

We pay so much for car tax, so much for highway toll, more for petrol… … that is why ever life is important to BN, coz if can’t milk you dry if you’re six feet under the ground and decaying!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 12:31 am

I think this whole implementation of buckling up at the back is too messy. Why are some vehicles exempted? Govt should have compelled manufacturers to include rear seat belts (maximum units, not without centre lap belts like in Proton Gen2) as standard accessory maybe 10-15 years ago. Mind you, I’m not against the ruling (seat belts save lives, no doubt) but the way it was being implemented. Govt should have foresight…..but no, they are all heads but no brains!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 1:45 am

I dun get the point why JB a lot of summone !!! maybe bcoz Johor G not enough money after building CIQ Immigration complex…..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 8:16 am

First to come to mind…. Only? Only 242?

Oh and Calvin,

Making safe cars and wearing seat belts are 2 seperate issues. You can have a 5 star NCAP car and if you don’t wear seatbelts, its pointless, you’d get seriously hurt anyway.

Besides its up to the consumer to pick thier car of choice. Don’t feel proton is safe enough? Don’t buy it. Can’t afford a new safe german car, buy a used one. Options are there.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 8:18 am

calvin_ngan said,
    January 7, 2009 @ 12:21 am

our minister said this rear belt ruling is to save lives. I say, walk the talk by forcing proton to produce quality/up to world safety standard cars, i bet more people die because of proton’s lousy quality or non existence safety feature against those ‘not wearing the rear belt’ death.
    ——————————

Proton cars have been satisfy world safety standard since long ago… r u still living in the era of the old saga / iswara?????

BTW cars only ensure about 50% of ur safety the rest r depending on ur driving style….. if ur driving like shithead then even a very high safety standard car can’t prevent u from die in an accident!!!

• revo (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 8:36 am

LogicallyMad said,
    January 7, 2009 @ 8:18 am

calvin_ngan said,

——————————

Proton cars have been satisfy world safety standard since long ago… r u still living in the era of the old saga / iswara?????

BTW cars only ensure about 50% of ur safety the rest r depending on ur driving style….. if ur driving like shithead then even a very high safety standard car can’t prevent u from die in an accident!!!
    —————-

True, proton has meet the standard, just the way of driving among malaysians is suck. those people in UK, and aussie, they do drive proton too. but they dont get killed or accidents. because they drive safely. unlike malaysian. they dirve like jakun, neva had a car before. not only proton drivers lah, all of them.
    btw calvin,
    proton had stated in past years. the proton cars will be equipped with full specs of safety features. have u seen gen 2 driver dead or persona or savvy or new saga dead in news? nope, because these cars equipped with safety features. those car that accident like ages old proton with some shithead dirvers.

• revo (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 8:40 am

If how hard the government tried to force malaysian to wear seatbelts, and the only time people wears seatbelts is when they facing roadblock also no use maa… like they wud accident during slow motion movement in Q-ing for roadblock.

• rexis (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 8:41 am

I dun get it, why only JB? Why not KL?

If the point is to save lives, why only certain places have actions?

And the ruling, omg, its as messy as hell, so I can argue my wira is 1994 made and is excluded from the ruling even thou it has backseat belts.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 9:10 am

calvin_ngan said,

We pay so much for car tax, so much for highway toll, more for petrol… … that is why ever life is important to BN, coz if can’t milk you dry if you’re six feet under the ground and decaying!
    _______________________–

its pretty clear you’re using this topic to put forward your own personal agenda against proton and the govt..

and btw, in case you didnt realise, you only pay a lot for car tax is you buy a fully imported car. petrol is also generally cheaper for us for a much longer time than everywhere else.. we also pay a lot less personal tax and roadtax as well.

the point is, just belt-up for your own safety and not because the govt told you to do so. dont know why there are people who seem hell bent to make this issue into something else.

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 9:52 am

Yes, seat belt save lives. Btw, out of topic a bit, i do notice that our emergency & ambulance are very slow to react or reach an accident. I do believe we need to highlight ths to the authorities coz more lives can be saved if the respond time is quicker

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 10:41 am

dzat46 said,
    January 7, 2009 @ 9:52 am

Yes, seat belt save lives. Btw, out of topic a bit, i do notice that our emergency & ambulance are very slow to react or reach an accident. I do believe we need to highlight ths to the authorities coz more lives can be saved if the respond time is quicker
    ————————-

Most of the time the lateness of the ambulances are just because some of ignorant or stupid malaysia drivers dun give a shit about making way for the ambulances to pass through…

• nonengko (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 1:38 pm

I took a leisurely ride on my bike yesterday evening in KL and I noticed only a handful passengers actually buckled up. In some cases, even the front passengers and/or drivers also failed to put on the belt. “Who cares?” was the impression I can make up from their faces. Put on belt? Oh really?

Anyway, it is not easy to spot whether the rear passengers is actually buckled up unless the vehicle is not moving fast and provided the glass is not heavily tinted. Certainly not easy to enforce the ruling.

It is really up to road users to ensure their own safety actually.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 3:52 pm

It is really up to us, the drivers or passengers, to ensure our own safety. Buckle up, drive carefully, not exceeding speed limit, not cilok2, give signals when turning or changing lanes etc, etc…… It’s not hard tbh….

But as usual… some drivers… don’t even care to do that… when law is created to ensure them doing it, they blame other ppl such as govt, police etc…

when they involve in an accident and some one died… they blame car manufacturer….. never once they look back and realise that the way the behave actually inviting all those things to happen…

sad…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 3:53 pm

correction… “the way they behave…”

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 4:08 pm

Bloody stupid move.

How many people die from not buckling backseat belt? I’m guessing not that many. Most of the time, due to our poorly constructed cars, wearing backseat belt or not is no different. Kancil smash into lorry or car at 110-120km/h – wearing backseat belt can help much?

No doubt, this move may save SOME life, but hello, govt dun have any brains. Treating the small problem before the BIG one.

Most people who die on the road are what? Bikers. Yes, thats right. So how does this help to reduce their fatalities? Hm. It doesn’t. Thats why this move is nothing but hangat2 tahi ayam and another excuse for polis to “cari makan”.

2ndly? Most accidents happen on trunk roads. Why? They are poorly maintained (most 2 lanes only, some very narrow, esp in East Coast) and the highways are limited, and are VERY EXPENSIVE. Toll from KL-JB to and fro is almost RM100 already. For poor people, its a lot of money! So save money drive on the trunk roads, drive recklessly + poor road condition = accident = die.

Smartest move Govt could make is to reduce taxes on cars (all models) and lower car prices while making it more expensive and difficult to ride motorbikes. Also, dealing with problem of mat rempits. Now THAT will make sure number of deaths OTR decrease by a lot over 1 year! Secondly, get rid of the tolls, or, get rid of the toll companies and use the money collected from toll to imrpove trunk roads.

Sadly, our Govt got no brain. Care abt the useless minor stuff only, but big problem either don’t see or don’t want to see.

Blardy useless G.

• iamisiamwhatiam (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 4:11 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 7, 2009 @ 1:45 am

I dun get the point why JB a lot of summone !!! maybe bcoz Johor G not enough money after building CIQ Immigration complex…..
    _________

Because its new year, and they put roadblock around Dataran Bandaraya. People were caught offguard, thinking the police is there because to control the traffic into and out of JB.
    On the other side of perspective, JB police is immune of bribe. You can see which states has more corrupt police.

• tunomura (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Gud move by government..better late than never..but it is nothing to me and it is the way the G to collect people money. Malaysian gonna be tricked again by the G’s seasoned law. Clever mah…

For long term issue, G need to built better and effective public transportation in order to reduce traffic accident including motorist. By enforcing people to wear rear seat belt is only small and tiny action and maybe only provide a few decreasing in death. In Japan, the Japan’s G have spent a lot of money for public transportation especially in train system and the result is the rate of accident is very low. Don’t have to look too far, I think Singapore also have a low accident rate because they have efficient public transport.

Maybe after this, you can’t see many super mega petrol station in Malaysia because people will prefer to use public transportation…Me keep dreamin’..

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 8:32 pm

iamisiamwhatiam said,
    January 7, 2009 @ 4:11 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 7, 2009 @ 1:45 am

_________

Because its new year, and they put roadblock around Dataran Bandaraya. People were caught offguard, thinking the police is there because to control the traffic into and out of JB.
    On the other side of perspective, JB police is immune of bribe. You can see which states has more corrupt police.

————————————————

Well, are you from JB ??? I was in marina bay durin’ new year eve…. Well, wad u said might be true as well… I think JB ppl thought police are road-blocking to regulates cars heading to danga bay ….

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 9:31 pm

not_ah_beng said,

January 7, 2009 @ 4:08 pm

Smartest move Govt could make is to reduce taxes on cars (all models) and lower car prices while making it more expensive and difficult to ride motorbikes.

—————————————————————

Really, that would make the number of death lower? By making it difficult to ride motorbike and having more cars on the road? Then all the rempits will move to cars then! It’s not the matter of cars of bikes, its how we drive on the road. If you drive like an arse, you’d die in an accident even in a 5-star NCAP car!

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 10:46 pm

tiadaid said,

January 7, 2009 @ 9:31 pm

Really, that would make the number of death lower? By making it difficult to ride motorbike and having more cars on the road? Then all the rempits will move to cars then! It’s not the matter of cars of bikes, its how we drive on the road. If you drive like an arse, you’d die in an accident even in a 5-star NCAP car!
    ——————————–

This statement, only half true.

1) Sure, if you drive crazily, you can still crash and die, even in 5-star safety car. The difference is, not everyone drive crazily, and not all accident happen at 120km/h. If you drive a 5-star NCAP car and accident at around 60-80km/h, you have a good chance at surviving. If accident around 120km/h, maybe 60%.

At least better than on motorbike, when even accident at 60km/h has high chance of being fatal. Add to that our local motorcyclist dont wear the required safety gear like thick leather jacket and jeans (due to weather maybe) to reduce injury.

Also, note that if you drive crazily, rear seatbelt oso wont help you…..

2) Not all accident victim drive crazily. May be someone else drive crazily and knock you. When that happen, I rather be in a 5-star NCAP car then a motor. I guess, you do too!

Always pays to be prepared.

Btw, I do agree its all about how we drive on the road. So tell me, how do rear seatbelt improve driver attitude?

This stupid law all for photo opportunity and publicity for the G and some minister. They care a damn for us Msian lives.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:36 am

Ararara, for once, I quite agree with not_ah_beng. If say, the govt decided to lower car tax while increase bike tax by 9000%, I bet we’ll definitely can see a veeeery drastic drop of road fatality. ;) However, we may hear more stories of snatch theft victims getting rolled down by cars rather than err, w/e possibly done with motorbikes. jiwa rempits nvr die…. -_-

In any case, just belt up la. Front, rear sama je. I hv 2 frens who survive accidents cuz of seat belts. Ironically, the oni role of airbag to them is to give them a few days MC for chest pain, skin burn and bad headache cuz of the “POP!!” noise. Bcuz of them, I 100% make sure I belt up whether I sit at the front or rear. And be more alert when it rains.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:38 am

Oh, btw, if anyone thinks of wantin to get a rather affordable 5-star Euro NCAP, get the Ford Focus.

• saki77 (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:41 am

not ah beng ni laki ke pompuan?…emo giler….

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 8:37 am

what if you’re wearing rear seatbelt in your local car but ram into a little Fiat with Euro NCAP 4 star rating? Who survives?

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 10:28 am

” Smartest move Govt could make is to reduce taxes on cars (all models) and lower car prices while making it more expensive and difficult to ride motorbikes.”

———————–

His point is…. so he can finally drive his dream car… so far until now he cannot buy it cuz its too expensive… nuthing to do with safety.. =p

• revo (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 10:42 am

not_ah_beng said,

January 7, 2009 @ 4:08 pm

Bloody stupid move.

How many people die from not buckling backseat belt? I’m guessing not that many. Most of the time, due to our poorly constructed cars, wearing backseat belt or not is no different. Kancil smash into lorry or car at 110-120km/h – wearing backseat belt can help much?

No doubt, this move may save SOME life, but hello, govt dun have any brains. Treating the small problem before the BIG one.

Most people who die on the road are what? Bikers. Yes, thats right. So how does this help to reduce their fatalities? Hm. It doesn’t. Thats why this move is nothing but hangat2 tahi ayam and another excuse for polis to “cari makan”.

2ndly? Most accidents happen on trunk roads. Why? They are poorly maintained (most 2 lanes only, some very narrow, esp in East Coast) and the highways are limited, and are VERY EXPENSIVE. Toll from KL-JB to and fro is almost RM100 already. For poor people, its a lot of money! So save money drive on the trunk roads, drive recklessly + poor road condition = accident = die.

Smartest move Govt could make is to reduce taxes on cars (all models) and lower car prices while making it more expensive and difficult to ride motorbikes. Also, dealing with problem of mat rempits. Now THAT will make sure number of deaths OTR decrease by a lot over 1 year! Secondly, get rid of the tolls, or, get rid of the toll companies and use the money collected from toll to imrpove trunk roads.

Sadly, our Govt got no brain. Care abt the useless minor stuff only, but big problem either don’t see or don’t want to see.

Blardy useless G.
    ————————————-

I think this fella has gone mad,
    if govt reduces the taxes, how they want to maintain the road? Blame the govt again. if you put high prices on bikes, and less price for the car, how the poor people wants to fill in their gas in their car that consume larger amount of fuel? u want to give them money ar?

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 10:44 am

This is a true story – 3 of my officemates gone an accident 3years ago in a Nissan Xtrail 2.5cvt..airbags ok,ABS ok.driver and front passanger wear their setbelt,but at the back,he dont wear..(he’s weight about 100+kg)..imagine their car speeding at 140km/h on a Bdr Penawar-Kota Tinggi rural road and suddenly hits waja.my friend (100kg+ one),broke his hand and broke his leg.MC about 2-3month.Syukur they still working wt me now.

the thing is, wear seatbelt and drive smart.

• food_fan (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 10:50 am

If im not mistaken, the G had ruling to allowed only car fitted with ABS and at least 1 airbag to be registered starting from 1st July 2008.. Since our local car manufacturer claim that its not cost effective, the G decided to postponed it later.. Then our fellow JKJR decided, a cheap other way to save lives just wear your rear seatbelts..

Because, if Rakyat dont wear seatbelt, the G can summon us.. the 1st day alone the G income rise another Rm72.6K.. not the mention the police side income for stopping the one not wearing seatbelt.. Its good since our current global economy situation..

P/S: its just my personal opinion… No one to blame..

• revo (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 10:53 am

not_ah_beng said,

January 7, 2009 @ 10:46 pm

Btw, I do agree its all about how we drive on the road. So tell me, how do rear seatbelt improve driver attitude?

This stupid law all for photo opportunity and publicity for the G and some minister. They care a damn for us Msian lives.

————————–

Dont wear seatbelts then! did govt mention, wearing seatbelts will improve our driving attitude? Dont wear seatbelt becuz u can drive so good rite? when accident happens a car crash on u, and ur car roll over, while actly u drive so good. you can fly out of the windscreen! or you smacked your head on the dashboard (if you dont have airbag, and you think how airbag can improve driving atitude).

Govt dont care? okayh… why the heck they asked us to wear seat belts? why do they provide roads for you?! you want to drive a car, make the road on your on and put a big signboard not_ah_beng road! you crash there. let you be there, there’s no ambulance. because the gov doesnt care rite?!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:26 pm

more duit kopi for police

• saki77 (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 8:23 pm

pehal le korang layan si not ah beng tu….neway, still in the topic..ok laa…

imho..if u want to wear it, just do it…if u dont want to, dont have to la… everybody big enuf to drive a car, so must be cerdik enuf to make a decision…

if dont want to wear it, nampak road block tarik je la belt tu..apa susah..hehehe…habis kuat pon kena fine….

if u think its good for ur children safety at the back of the car, ask them to wear it…if not…biar je la…bila emergency brake je..suddenly ur children melekat kat windshield tu..what to do?..hehehe…macam cicak….

my seventy year old mother pon tau pakai belt kat belakang….
    she said its easier for her to wear the rear seatbelt than the front one….
    ikut pendapat masing2 le….

just curious le…for hatchback or compact car…when the impact is at the rear of the car..say, a lorry knocked u from behind…is it safer to wear the belt or not? from what i watch, from a test in Fifth Gear ( latest one Jan 09), the backseat passengers tend to force back(coz of the belt) to the back of the car onto the lorry front…this is very dangerous coz the back of ur head will be hit directly by the lorry front….any comment? ada paham ka ini cerita?hehe..