Seatbelt fine of RM300 from 1st January 2009

Rear seatbelt

From the new year onwards, all passengers in a car whether sitting in the front or back have to buckle up or face a RM300 fine. This only applies if the passenger is over 17 years old, but if you are younger, the driver of the car is the one who will be punished as according to Road Transport Director-General Datuk Solah Mat Hassan, it is the responsibility of the driver to ensure the safety of the minors that they are driving.

This new seatbelt ruling includes the rear seatbelts, but excludes the following:

• Cars registered before 1st of January 1995
  • Cars registered after the 1st of January 1995 but not equipped with rear seatbelt anchorage points
  • Commercial vehicles such as taxis and rental cars
  • Vehicles with more than 9 seats including the driver’s
  • Transport vehicles with capacity above 3.5 tonnes

Wait, that’s not all. The RM300 fine will be in effect only within a “grace period” of between the 1st of January 2009 to the end of June 2009. From the 1st of July 2009 onwards, this fine will be upped to RM2,000 and you could even go to jail for up to 1 year. Yes, it may seem harsh… but if you buckle up, you won’t have to worry. It’s for your own safety anyway.

Set an appointment to install rear seatbelts for your Proton for free

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 11:08 pm

some crappy annoying law that doesn’t make sense at all….

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 11:46 pm

Bestest gift to start your New Year!

• corollaaltis (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 11:53 pm

Safer New Year……hehe

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:04 am

Great! This will help reduce deaths due to motor accidents.

BUT I just hope its not a new avenue for us Malaysian to “feed” the police when caught.

• n8cky (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:21 am

“Yes, extra income..” the officer says..

• csv (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:44 am

more duit kopi!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:54 am

hard to think of this positivly , we all have this impression of them being even more corrupt..jus like wen thry summon u , thy will ask ” do u want to settle this now” ???

tragic wen its done and thy look so normal like its a standard practice encouraged by law or sting…police need to ‘ BUCKLE UP’ themselves to gain our respect first…

• 2 dogs (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:56 am

Punish us for our own safety?

Jail sentence is for criminals, not for traffic offences!

BTW, the law still very vague on the nos of persons to belt up in an MPV. I’m afraid even the cops are in the dark!

So when we’re in the kampung, we do not need to belt up, issit? Kampung folks don’t need to wear seat belts, helmets, no lights, no licence etc etc!!

• seat-belt (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 1:03 am

hey back passengers, don’t 4get to buckle up me!! hahaha…

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 1:19 am

what’s wrong with u guys here? law is to REMIND U of something u should’ve known! n u guys keep going to the negative end. to give rasuah or not its ur own shit, they asked for it doesn’t mean u need to pay…if u really break the law, they ask for rasuah, n u pay bcz u wan2 escape the summons! the thing is, is ur life/ur ur passenger’s life more important or rm300/rm2k/jail more important? do the government needs to spoon fed u guys with logic/COMMON SENSE? before u RESPECT other ppl, LOOK AT YOURSELF! have u done UR JOB as a HUMAN n RESPECT ur own LIFE?

laws r there to regulate things that we should’ve known! if no law around, then u dont need to wear seat belt is it? do u all need other ppl to tell u how to save urself from hazard because u all r like kids? WAKE UP MALAYSIAN!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 1:34 am

what? jail sentence for a year??… just imagine in jail with other criminals…
    Criminal: apa salah u buat ah??
    Driver: tak pakai tali la…
    Criminal: tu la..lu tak mahu bayar duit kopi ah..padan muka( laughing in his heart)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 2:23 am

fastcx :
    ur very one-dimensional ! we pay bcos thy accept…not bcos we downat to pay summon!

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:04 am

i think belting up at the back is a good idea, but i think the govt should focus on other things rather than this now. most accidents happen because of bad road conditions. ive been to thailand and i dont see any potholes. so i hope that they fixed their own problems first before they ask us to do ours. also jailtime for 1 year is stupid. only criminals go to jail. its fair they just suspend u from driving for 1 year and thats it

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:09 am

e-nabilll, u like to twist it all u want rite? thing is, u want an ez way out, so u pay smaller sum by rasuah, they just give u option!

Kevin Lee, yes road condition is 1 thing, but i believe u live in malaysia long enough to drive on it’s road, u know how malaysian drive! do u see lots of smart ass wannabe? do u see ppl sit behind without buckle up? do u have relative die due to smart ass sit behind him din wear belt n smash into him after the airbag deployed?

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:10 am

one-dimensional is the keyword, u guys see it being illogical cause u didnt see the reason behind it, u just wont understand it if u cant see thru the options

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:13 am

1 more thing, did u guys even read the whole new law? rather than just read what paul summarised n start bashing! u went thru education not to just simply listen n bash, u went thru education to teach to u know what to do with ur knowledge n how to acquire it! find it n read the new law!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:25 am

law is one thing , enforcing it is another…unless uve been in a different country for the past few years…law enforcements is very weak…stealing is againt the law right?? thn wat hapens to snatch thiefs that hapen on an hourly basis ??? thrs no police around…no law enforcing…and wen that hapens…becomes easy for criminals to do their jobs…it even encourages them….

we are not bashing….basically we are reminding others of the ugly truth …that laws can be written…but wen enforcing it is weak…thn becomes almost redundant….u dont have to bash our education….we r jus talking in a civilised manner…

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:25 am

Fully agree with FASTCX. Excellent move by the G.

It is a shame that people here need a law to buckle up. I buckle up for my safety and not because I am worried of the police. Sitting in a moving car without a fastened seat belt feels like going out of your house naked.

Why do you need to worry about the penalty / bribe and all that if you don’t break the law. Belt up and you have nothing to worry about.

• awak (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:24 am

IMPORTANT!!

few thing have to be cosidered,
    the height of the passanger, where age might be related to this,
    children might need booster seat (raised) or car seat (for baby),
    (need no booster for centrally strapped for children).

its not simply fastening seatbelt, but PROPERLY straped,

the most vulnarable not being strapped is kids, even at the slowest speed, at any sudden stop, they might be thrown foward as normally they sit just about anywhere they like ,standing sometime, wtihout any precaution in mind,

• tricycle (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:41 am

the question is will the Datuks and Tan Sris and espcially Tuns wear the seat beat while they are sitting at the back? I bet they won’t. It will sure look really funny to see these type of people wearing seat belt (it is just IMHO).

If these type of people is not wearing seat belt while seating at the back then why should we? It is a good idea but to fine people for not wearing it is just so F ridiculous!

Happy New Year! May we all have a great year and a better G next year!

• Cire (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:43 am

like it or not, there are ppl who would not give a hoot on laws or whatsoever to do with their life. Almost 80% of the drivers that I have seen does not buckle up, what’s more to say about the rear passengers? For them, its extremely inconvenience, and some even to the extend of not able to breath..?! But please for the sake of other road users, buckle up. When there’s an aquaplane or sudden movement of your car, being not buckled up at all will make you loose control of the car. Your car may hit another car or other road users. This is not fair to the victims. If you choose to live life dangerously or have already surrendered your life to the the almighty, then please do no brainer else where.

Anyways, its your life. Who cares that you will left with one limp less or your family members are mimed in the accident caused by you. Who cares!? Who cares that your kids will be ophaned?! Your choice. Good luck.

• eggie (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:46 am

So does this mean, let’s say, a BMW E32 7 series is exempted from the ruling even though my car has rear seat belts in place?

• Topper (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:47 am

i think most people here argue because it enforce by gonverment. if opposition came up with this, people will praise even thou the police still ask for duit kopi.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:58 am

e-nabilll said,
    December 31, 2008 @ 2:23 am

ur very one-dimensional ! we pay bcos thy accept…not bcos we downat to pay summon
    —————————————–

If u want to pay the summon, then don’t give them bribery… when they offer, say to them ” no i rather pay the RM300 summon than give u RM30″. I bet most malaysia would not say that…

• andrewdaniel (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:03 am

I was crazy to have jail term if not wearing seat belt and the fine of RM 2000 is even a joke as it only will increase the corruption. Don;t understand at all why have a jail term for your own safety. Just imagine an genuine innocence person just forget to wear seat belt and go to jail with all other criminal. Why not have better way like to force them doing community work. Crazy

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:04 am

tricycle said,
    December 31, 2008 @ 7:41 am

If these type of people is not wearing seat belt while seating at the back then why should we? It is a good idea but to fine people for not wearing it is just so F ridiculous!

————————————-
    Why should u wear the seat belt?? ummmm cuz u value ur life? or ur family life? If the datuk or tan sri or tun dun care about their safety and dont appreciate their life do you want to be like that as well?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:21 am

I really don’t understand why some of you guys complain about this.
    You must be those that don’t belt up. One advice for you. Don’t crash.

What is so difficult to wear seat belts? I’m sure you lock your house when you leave in the morning right?

Keven Lee, plenty of countries will throw you in a lockup for traffic offences. DUI offences will garantee you a government sponsored night. Yes, Go to jail, do not pass GO.

e-nabill, I see your point, but thats putting the cart before the horse. If you and your passengers belt up anyway, what is there to worry about?

• raverus (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 9:08 am

Well first impression more kopi duit?
    Don’t mean to sound negative but as a Malaysian, i do think like that.

Sometimes we doubt the G don’t do anything for us, maybe this time we should do something for ourselves. The penalty sounds frightening, well im not buckling yet, lol.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 9:15 am

In this great country, sometimes laws are made with the wrong priority. Did you know that goods vehicle such as commercial lorry and trucks are NOT REQUIRED to buckle up? So why the harse penalty on passenger vehicles while lorry drivers get immunity?

Besides that, what about Lorry or Bus drivers that are being blacklisted or with an expired licence? Previously they also mentioned that vehicles with outstanding summons are not able to renew their roadtax too. All these are half baked regulations and enforcements.

So focus for 2009 is on the killer rear seat passengers without belts.

• adlanb20 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 9:19 am

I also don’t understand many of u guys. I know our G has alot of issues, but just becoz this came from them, it doesn’t mean its a bad idea. What’s so hard about wearing seatbelts?!

I belt up even for a short trip to the shops, not becoz i’m kiasu, its just become second nature. I also belt up my kids in their car seats. Safer for them, less distracting for me as the driver, makes our lives as parents easier. When they wanna sleep, they simply fall asleep in their car seat. The trick is to start as young as possible so they get use to it.

Its crazy when u see kids standing up in the car, going from front to back, on the parents lap while the mother/father is driving!!! I personally would consider it as a crime coz the parents deliberately put their children in harms way/danger, and if something happens, they should be held responsible.

When i was in the UK, when a friend of mine gave birth there, the parents had to sign a declaration saying that they have prepared the necessary (child restraints, etc) to drive their newborn home!!

• Shaekey (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 9:43 am

I do support the idea of making rear passenger to buckle up. Even before I heard talk about introducing this law, I always encourage my kids to wear seatbelt. They are 6 and 10 years old now and whenever we go on weekend outing, they sort of automatically put on their seat belt when they got in the car.

However, on a long trip balik kampung (mine took about 5 hours), kids may become restless and getting them to wear seat belt the whole duration of the trip is a challenge. Sometime, they got tired and want to sleep, so they unbuckle and lie down on the seat. Most toddlers I’ve seen usually don’t like to stay in a child seat for long and this is a big problem to many parents. You can trained them from babies but most I’ve seen refuse to stay in child seat after certain age.

Jail sentence definitely too harsh I think but I’m sure it’s not a blanket punishment for the offense. Each offense should be treated and weigh differently. While safety is very important, a child sitting in a child seat crying all the way to your destination because he/she wanted to get out of the chair is not a pleasant thing to experience while driving. I’m sure many parents can relate to this.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 9:52 am

Wearing a seatbelt is good thing, but do yo really need to educate people on safety on just enforcing law with high summons rate and a jail penalty? id say this summon and jail thing is a kind of extreme move to do, then again Is it really true that now wearing rear seat belts are the real killer? As far as i can see, people die on the road when they have accidents, not just a mere of not wearing seatbelts. i’m not saying that wearing seatbelts are no good, but for the past 30 years, when front seatbealts law has been running, you can still see people die on accidents, so why still happening?

First of all its the attitude of the driviers, but to change this would take time on future gen education, but in this case Seatbelts, they are only a passive safety device for drivers/passanggers, but then, they are more passive safety measures that the goverment can impose rather than throwing people to jail for this one particular passive safety device. For an instance, the gov. should impose passive safety on car manufacturer first, rather than people, like put up some law that car to be sold in malaysia must be at least 3 star of safety ratings, and must be put up so people can know which car is better. There is no point for people having buckle up at the back when you get a high speed accident in a kancil, the car will just be pulverized up to the back, and i believe most of malaysian accidents that contribute to fatality are high speed accidents, and many of malaysian having cheap cars such as kancils with pathetic car safety ratings as good cars a so damn mahal in this country.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:01 am

joe, I have no idea what you’re trying to say at all..

irregardless of the law, or what type of accidents occur, or what car you drive…. you buckle up for your own safety and the safety of whoever is travelling in your car. if you’re in a kancil, its better to buckle up than not to buckle up. same with a motorbike rider.. its better to wear a cheap local helmet, than no helmet at all.

even if you’re in a “5-star” safety car, and you didnt buckle up.. whats the point?

my point is, why wait for a law and enforcement blah blah to buckle up? we should be buckling up all the time anyways with or without a law.

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:04 am

basically, i think the 4th person at the rear seat no need to buckle up need a bit of tweak ..

imagine the impact caused to the front passanger and driver if the car had a emergency stop …

both driver and passanger would be injured ….
    so this will not make the passangers feel safer …

• scottloeb (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:06 am

Pathetic Malaysian. The moment they enter Singapore they simply wear their seat belts (rear or front) religiously. Cross over the Causeway they try to bribe everybody then blame the polis. Good. Those Datok/Tan Sri stupid dont wear seat belts got involve in accident mati you mau ikut ka? I remember 1 perdana driver (govt owned) got killed and being thrown out through the windshield in LPT Pahang some years back. Why? simply because he did not wear the belt. If the airbag is there he might tore the bag and at the same time head injury and whiplash will kill him. It is not the nicest story to tell but always remember man is the no 1 cause of accident, not the machine. The design engineer put sore much effort to design the cars with lots of safety features (air bag, body rigidity, beam, force distribution, firewall, cross member, collapsible steering) and convenience (blinkers/signal stack, fog lamp) but the driver keep on betting on his life and even the simplest rules of using blinkers is being ignored. No point driving E-Klass but end up breaking the car into two (1999 – KL/PJ) while driving at 180km/h hitting a tree and killing yourself and girlfriend at the age of 20 just for a bungkus of burger.

• f1 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:09 am

i agree & disagree with some of u guys coz for some of us that dont know the pain of loosing love 1 or disable in a car accident would never understand. U never know d pain until d knife cuts u. It may not be 100% die or disable poof but would hv higher % avoiding it to happen.

As the ad always say U HAVE A CHOICE & U CAN MAKE THE DIFFRENCE.
    If u dont wanna pay summon or kopi o then buckle up or do d opposite & gamble with the lives of ur love 1s or others. If u wanna gamble pls do it when u r driving alone.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:34 am

u make the fault, than u blame the police for it…

what a looser… whos fault it is if u pay the ‘duit kopi’ to the police when u make the fault? u isnt it?

the police will nego either u want to be fined or pay him… if u want the police to be credible.. you will take the fine.. if u just corrupt and support the corruption, you will pay him….

again, the one who blame the police for corruption is just corrupt as them…

what a looser…

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:37 am

What i’m trying to say here is, the gov is trying to solve/improve fatality on-road accidents rate problem, but the thing with this new rear seatbelts law is not solving the root cause of the problem even. Is it really true that not wearing rear seat belts are the root cause of road fatality in malaysia? again ROOT cause? i’d say no.

Ok maybe they want to improve one thing at a time, passive safety, that is now the rear seatbelts, but theres also still plenty of other passive safety device or measures that the gov can impose first rather that this rear seat belt with ridiculous high summon rates and jail, such as law on automaker to make better car first, such as ABS, EBD that can give a higher chance of avoiding accidents at the first place, and IF still accidents occurs, better impact zones, and side impact zones with added airbag would be better to have on having higher chances of avoiding fatality. And in malaysia, most people forgets the side impact zones importance. kancil side impact?

ok so what are the odds of 5 star safety rating cars with people on the back not wearing seatbelt but have ABS and EBD to stop from hitting a direct tree at 100km/h from a kancil or any lousy safety rating cars with no other passive safety device to stop? then the side impact airbag if having a side impact collision?

bottomline is, not that rear seat belts are no good, they are, and many research have prove it, just google it, but in malaysia it is not the root cause of accidents fatality, and there a lot more other passive safety that the gov can opt to, PLUS with the country economy heading no good, putting this law involving paying a high sum of money to the people will just gave it another more rejection rather than people realize it as one of a safe live measure.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:37 am

typo…

“loser”…

• pippen (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:55 am

The attitude, the drink driving, the lacking of hash penalty for unsafe big vehicals or irresponsible drivers are the main caused, and ultimately, it is the corruption that keep encourage such incident. Well, now here is another kopi price to give. Jail 1 year for not wearing seat belts? what is the penalty for those rapist that kills, the snatch thief that kills, that threatens the civilians safety? Not wearing seat belts threaten others? The jail is for action that threaten other people’s life like drink driving, and we spend so many time discuss about it in the front papers. How about Malaysia RM loosing competitive to SG $? What is the proper plan for social illness?….instead of discuss about seatbelts at the back seats..

• carsut (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:58 am

event police ot buckle up!! i rarely saw this so call law protector fasten their seatbelt.. how funny this guy..

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 11:02 am

In bulehland i notice lots of Britney Spears (heard she lose her child custody & condemn by the public) drivin around wt their babies/toodler on their laps…….over here, its normal occurence….wt that kind of mentality, no wonder lots of ppl against this seat belt rules. Safety education still loonng way to gooo…..

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 11:30 am

another good reason to rob money from people.. hehe

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 11:31 am

someones death will be blame to the govt…

the malayisan demand high power car, fully featured and so on… yet, the basic of safety knowledge is not practised…

depending 100% on the car rather than safety thinking… weird malaysian….

demand first class product, but treat it with third mind thinking….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:18 pm

the ruling itself is good…but thy wil have a hard time implementing it…and the the argument…not the law..the enforcment part of it…thats all…

from wat i understandabove …transport busses are exempted izzit?? u have 40 odd passengers than can be thrown out of the bus like potatoes if sting hapens..buses should have NOT been exempted…

• BW (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 12:47 pm

i think the july onwards fine is kinda too high! RM500 is already enough and to me rm500 is a bit high already…

Anyways,

Wish you all

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009!!!!
    ????????????????????
    ?????????? • N E W Y E A R 2 0 0 9

• wuttaheck (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 1:07 pm

the compound amount shouldnt be an issue here.as long as you buckle up, you dont have to worry even the compound is RM 20K!
    to those who oppose the compound, r you planning not to buckle up?is it so hard?
    furthermore, the enforcement is a good thing to prevent you and your loved ones from flying off the windshield should accident occurs.at least, you did your part to minimize injuries and should the worst happens, no one will dare to say “i told you so”

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 1:09 pm

bad for 5 peoples if the car is only build for 4.

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 2:00 pm

how much for the penalty isnt the issue if u buckle up! dont say more opportunity for corruption, like many others said here, if u r corrupted urself, u’ll pay to corrupted cops also..so y blame others whan every morning u look at the mirror u r looking at a corrupted piece of shit face huh?

do u want ur off springs learn what u do? dont u feel ashame of urself? like a kid in primary school tat need rules n regulation to behave urself? basic safety also dont know? rm2k more valuable or ur passenger’s life? u dont seem to care about ur life anyway

• fliedlice (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 2:02 pm

I fully agree with all that “fastcx” said. glad to see that someone has logic.

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    December 30, 2008 @ 11:08 pm

———
    what are you talking about? it is proven that rear seatbelts help protect passangers in the event of an accident. it makes plenty of sense. you are the ignorant one with no senss.

e-nabilll said,
    December 31, 2008 @ 2:23 am

fastcx :
    ur very one-dimensional ! we pay bcos thy accept…not bcos we downat to pay summon!
    ———
    e-nabilll, the police don’t force you to bribe. no doubt there are many who accept bribes, but you can always say “no, I want the summon”. if your principles are as strong as you claim, then you should do that no matter what the difference in cost is between a bribe and a summon. if you don’t, then you are just a hypocrite who is no better than the corrupt policemen.

• adlanb20 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Some people don’t get it… This ruling is NOT to reduce accidents. Its to lessen potential injury in the event of an accident… of course you should be looking at other factors which cause accidents…

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:28 pm

LogicallyMad said,

If u want to pay the summon, then don’t give them bribery… when they offer, say to them ” no i rather pay the RM300 summon than give u RM30?. I bet most malaysia would not say that…

=============================================

I have said this to a cop before and they just sigh and let me go scott free after being adviced…. jalan jalan jalan…. lain kali jangan buat lagi. LOL!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:47 pm

fliedlice said,
    December 31, 2008 @ 2:02 pm

I fully agree with all that “fastcx” said. glad to see that someone has logic.

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    December 30, 2008 @ 11:08 pm

———
    what are you talking about? it is proven that rear seatbelts help protect passangers in the event of an accident. it makes plenty of sense. you are the ignorant one with no senss.

ferrari has no rear passanger…. hence no need rear seat belt…

• Peanuts (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Some of the comments here clearly shows the typical narrow-mindedness that has infested some of our Malaysian minds.

1. It’s inconvenient to wear.
    – If you care about your safety or the safety of others, you buckle up. It isn’t 100% fail proof but every bit helps. If you want to take the risk of not wearing, then go ahead but you never know what may hit you one day.I bet you won’t complain any bit about the inconvenience then, if you’re still alive that is!

2. Lack of enforcement will make this ineffective.
    – Once again, refer back to #1. So what if no law enforcer is gonna catch you or other people for not buckling up, it’s YOUR safety and the safety of those you care about that’s within your responsibility! If you can think maturely, you don’t even need someone to force you to take care of YOUR own safety.

3. Too harsh penalty and bribery potential.
    – Once again, if you buckle up, you don’t have anything to worry right? As in #2, if you’re thinking maturely, you don’t need anyone to force you to buckle up for your own safety. And if you get caught, it’s YOUR FAULT that you didn’t wear in the first place. So if the police asked for anything you are equally guilty in the first place for giving it to him. Remember, it takes 2 hands to clap.

• legacy88 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:51 pm

Sheesh! Just buckle up lah stupid!!! Unless you are test crash dummy.

• fliedlice (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:58 pm

Bravo Peanuts!! Well said!!

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:09 pm

This is a worse punishment than Singapore but I think is good as you really need to push people to wear seatbelt. I lived in Singapore for awhile (2006 and 2007) and most people don’t buckel up at the back there either so can you imagine how much you must push us Malaysians to wear belt? And I totally agree with fastcx.

P.S: I hope that the police enforce this law and don’t ask for rasuah.

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:13 pm

Ralliace said,
    December 31, 2008 @ 3:28 pm

LogicallyMad said,

If u want to pay the summon, then don’t give them bribery… when they offer, say to them ” no i rather pay the RM300 summon than give u RM30?. I bet most malaysia would not say that…

=============================================

I have said this to a cop before and they just sigh and let me go scott free after being adviced…. jalan jalan jalan…. lain kali jangan buat lagi. LOL!

My friend from Singapore got caught for speeding once and asked me to bribe the policeman as he didn’t know Malay and the policeman didn’t want to take his money. Instead of bribeing him, I got out and told him that he was doing the right thing by not taking rasuah. He then just let us go scott free too.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:50 pm

very good example by the policeman…
    Thank God, there is still honest policeman….

• Fridz (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:51 pm

legacy88,
    the test dummy also wear the seatbelt laa…

ayoyo…just buckle up yur belt laaaa….why talk so much?inconvinientLAH,safety not compromisedLAH,bribeLAH…

im just thinking,the only way to make Msia as a developed country IS TO CHANGE THE WAY YOU THINK.you got 1st class ifrastructure but you hv 3rd class narrow minded.same as drive a 5star NCAP Merc car but didnt fasten the belt..

just change the way we think…

• westleytca (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Wearing safty belt is good for the safety of the passengers but the fine is too much. From 1st Jan 09 to 30th June 09, the fine will be RM 300.00 .After 1st July 2009,the fine increased to RM 2,000.00 plus 1 year in jail.The government really desperated for our hard earn money. We paid everything for the government but they still want get some extra money from us. This morning i saw an articles in newpapers in which someone commited CBT involved of RM 20,000.00 but only sentenced to jail 1 year only without any fines. Compared with the offence of not wearing safety belt, i think the CBT case is more serious than never wear safety belt. I don’t know what are the government trying to do. To take action on innocent people but let the criminals go away. What government is this!!!!! Frankly, how many accident involved that rear passengers passed away? I don’t think the government really know? If really government want to implement on safety belt issues, why don’t set a standard rules that all vehicles at rear must wear sefety belt no matters whether passenger or commercial vehicle (including bus). Take example of flight, all passengers are required to wear safety bely before/after take off and also landing. I think government is running out of idea how to make money from their citizens, that is why they are trying to collect from the vehicle without safety belt. Landslide happened at Bukit Antarabangsa, what have government done to prevent it? They did nothing.Sheesh,this types government should not represent the citizen of Malaysia…………………………..

• legacy88 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 5:07 pm

You can spot many test crash dummy driving everyday here in Malaysia. Not to mention some dumb parents who let their kids in MPV with sunroof hanging out like a dog taking a fresh air while the vehicle is in motion.

With that kind of attitude and mentality no wonder we are the best for road fatalities.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 5:14 pm

westleytca said,

all u think is about money taken by govt…

where the safety awareness of yours?

money is important than ur life?

• fliedlice (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 5:17 pm

westleytca,

Many intelligent people have already explained that wearing your seatbelt at the rear is for your own safety. If you have any intelligence at all you will realise that the fine is there as a deterrent to make sure people here wear their seatbelts FOR THEIR OWN SAFETY. Plus, it is not difficult or uncomfortable to wear your rear seatbelt.

Use your brain; learn how to spell and how to write properly in English before you shoot off such a large pile of rubbish.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 5:22 pm

Allow me to state my opinion that this law is very stupid. To begin with, there are exemptions of cars before 1995 bla bla bla. This makes it very difficult to enforce. Imagine police man having to check registration to prove that this car is registered before 1995 and check anchorage points etc etc. Furthermore, if you’re really concerned about the safety of passengers, force automakers to make airbags and other safety equipments mandatory. In the UK even the lowest spec car has at least 6 airbags & ABS standard. In 2011 the US is making traction control a standard equipment and they have tire pressure monitoring system a standard feature. Passing half-baked rule like is stupid to say the least and I’m highly doubting that it is for our own safety.

• fliedlice (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 5:29 pm

dodgeviper88,

If you look at an airbag, it is labelled “SRS”. That stands for ‘Supplemental Restraint System’. It is meant to supplement the seatbelt. Seatbelts are still the main safety restraint system in cars. So, having people wear their rear seatbelts is the first step. Putting in many airbags is the next step which I also would like to see. But don’t doubt that it is for your own safety. If you understand and accept that wearing seatbelts in the front is for your own safety, then the principle for rear seatbelts is the same.

• fliedlice (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 5:31 pm

Oh and I think someone has mentioned earlier in the forum that all the airbags in the world; and a 5 star EuroNCAP car is useless if you don’t wear your seatbelts. That kind of says it all really.

• alvin_chan88 on Dec 31, 2008 at 6:26 pm

It is good that this law will be implemented, I do agree with some of them saying that it is an opportunity that the police will have another “source of income” or the government earning even more from the rakyat… but WAIT! If we did not offend the law, how in the world they will have the chance to do so? So for the sake of your loved once and also to reduce corruption in the country, and also stop the G from sucking our money, We shall just OBEY THE LAW. Hehe.

But 1 more question, what if I have more than 3 passengers in my car, will the 4th 1 kena? If the 4th passenger is omitted by the law, then what is the law implemented in the 1st place?

But anyhow, JUST BUCKLE UP FOR THE SAKE OF YOUR LOVED ONES. HAPPY NEW YEAR PAUL AND TO OTHER VISITORS AS WELL. Thank you Paul and everyone for providing valuable info through this blog. Thank you everyone!

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 6:36 pm

anything related to current G or proton will kena bash, no matter what, malaysian mentality -.-” really disappointing! no matter how harsh the penalty is or how expensive it is, does it bothers u if u wear ur belt? they put exemption u also need to bash? go check those cars n bus!

for bus, they r suppose to hv ppl stand, n they r suppose to cruise at slow speed! n its a big heavy mass, on impact it wont have the kind of impact smaller cars get!

older cars, u think just simply drill n install can take the force? sudden pull for restraining passenger need high strength, the harness need to be securely attached to the car’s chassis.

this new law is as good as it gets, but some malaysian r just a bunch of monkey that keep making noise no matter what! sad case for malaysian mentality

• 2 dogs on Dec 31, 2008 at 6:38 pm

I TOTALLY AGREE that wearing seat belts is a good thing for our own safety.

I TOTALLY AGREE that stiff fines and we should never give duit kopi.

BUT for those who thinks they follow all the rules, answer these questions.

1. Have they EVER exceed the speed limit while driving down a 6 lane highway with a speed limit of 70kph!

2. Have they EVER park on yellow lines (outside your apartment, near banks, near mosque while praying, around DBKL building, along the highway etc)??

3. Have they EVER accelerate their car when the traffic lights is orange (you’re suppose to slow down) when the timing of the lights has gone haywire (very often) and you’ve waited very long?

Rules are made by man, and if silly man create silly rules AND not run or enforce them properly, we became more silly. We are not against the seat belt ruling, but against the silly Malaysian way of creating rules that punish the innocent while those speedsters, road bullies, modified cars, blinding halogen lights, heavy tinted glass, queue jumpers, etc got away scott free!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:41 pm

Its about time. Malaysians who go to UK can do it, why in our country we cannot do it as well. So time to get used to buckle up at the back

• Anonymous on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:57 pm

I would like to know if cars that are registered before 1995 a exempted from wearing or exempted from installing? What happens if you car has rear seat belts but is registered before 1995?

• alvin_chan88 on Jan 01, 2009 at 1:15 am

Ya, same goes to my question, what if I have 4 passengers at the back? I know its not everytime but sumtimes we do ferry more than what it should be rite? So what will happen towards the 4th passenger or the driver?

as for 2 dogs:
    Ya, I totally agree with you, that is why I hope all of us can buckle up for the sake of our loved ones… Since our enforcement are considered…. weak?

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 1:23 am

So what do we have here….

Hmmm buckle up at the back. Nice. We all should do this.

My view. I see this more like a supporting regulation. More like a finishing touch once all the main issues were sorted.

Have the government properly study all the statistics, the data, the main cause of accidents, analyses ways to overcome it and came up with all the necessary regulation, action and proper enforcement?

For example, we all aware that motorcyclist recorded the highest fatalities due to any reasons name it negligence, road condition or just plain rempit.
    They (government) just introduced a law to prevent motorcyclist from wearing half-sized helmets, a law which kind of ‘extra’ for me. Will that reduce the number of fatalities among motorcyclist?

As a ruler, G should know how to make the roads a safer place and it doesn’t have to be this direct.

Or this could be one of it?

• Peanuts (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 2:49 am

westleytca, if you really don’t want to wear your rear safety or to remind your back seat passengers to buckle up, it’s really simple. Don’t wear it, but don’t ever regret if anything ever happen to you in the future.I hope for your own sake nothing ever will. Ask yourself this: Why are there rear seat belts in car the first place if it’s not really an issue? And if you say g’ment are “robbing” our money, you willingly let yourself be “robbed” in the first place!

2 dogs, It is true that no law is perfect. Even enforcement in this country is “hangat hangat tahi ayam” at times. But once again, the laws are there to tell us what we, if we have any common sense, SHOULD have been doing in the first place to ensure safety of ourselves and those we care about. If you are gonna be driving recklessly, speeding, breaking the traffic lights, etc., no number of laws, summons or whatever gonna help you or anyone for that matter be a safer driver. If other people are gonna be a devil on the road, they are risking their own lives. At least you have thought about your own safety first.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 1:47 pm

Arararara. My least favourite topic. Safety. It is the topic where idiots come out at full throttle to display their stupidity.

Finally. I admit our govt is full of sheez, but not this one. In fact, this is quite a gem actually. More ppl can hv higher chance to survive in crashes, police meanwhile gets more kopi from idiotic stubborn arseholes who’d rather die than doin what was told by a party that calls them pendatang. Sure indeed, their pride is more valuable than rm10 kopi + fractured skull.

To those worried abt “what if got 4 passengers”, ermm….. I suggest tryin to get the 2 thinnest rear passangers to belt up wit the same seat belt. It’s possible seriously. Unless all 4 are santa claus, dat one sory la….

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 5:25 pm

to clarify most of the concern, i belive motor trader posted a great Q&A on their site, http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/article_1729/page_m.asp

• walksay (Member) on Jan 03, 2009 at 4:01 pm

it’s all about the back passenger own safety.
    if they don’t want to die, they will buckle up.
    but if they want to die and don’t want buckle up,
    why would the police give a summon?
    why should they enforce the law and try make it money
    from them? just educated them is enough!

it’s all about the insurance company. they want to minimize
    claim of life insurance. if you die bcoz you not buckle up,
    it against new law and then you are not entitle to get any claim.
    it like you commit suicide. die for nothing.

but then let the insurance company enforce that law, but why
    need to police or JPJ enforce it too?

more summon item, more opportunity to make more money.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 04, 2009 at 11:44 pm

walksay,

if u are the transport minister, I dare u to say that to the public. Ponder on this: more people die bcuz of car-related incidents than guns. We’re just into 4th day of new yr, but check out Sunday Star’s front page on how many Msians hv died due to accidents.

Since those idiots dun wanna buckle up, might as well make some money out of them, they’re gonna die anyway, rite? Why waste opportunity? Dun like it? Wear seatbelt la!! Dare u to complain to the authority that police taking bribes cuz u broke d law?

The media can show gory images of accidents. They can make it front page news everyday on dangers of not wearing seat belt. But do you think it has ever worked?

See why I hate to talk abt safety? When Msia impose heavy fines, say will encourage corruption la, ask to let it be la, proton la, kroni la, BN la, but if Australia, Japan, US, UK do the same, say “bcuz they 1st world country, they strict, they civilised, they got no UMNO, they this, they that blablabla”

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jan 05, 2009 at 11:34 am

Again, it was not a fully or throughly research on public safety, just half bake fruit cake, Just take research journal for safety from other country without doing research on our own country implementation. Safety is not a thing that can be implement half bake to see good results.

The result has been shown on the new year fatality accident in gua musang that took 10 lives involving a kenari, kancil and a nissan-murano. I doubt, from the condition of kenari and kancil not even a rear seat belt can drastically change their fatality fate, and yes 10 lives were taken from a pathetic level of car safety standard, malaysian made, nad for the murano, none, not even the cockpit area were compromise.

The goverment should do a throughly effort on safety, not just half bake stuff, wasting money but no decent results. Such as road conditions, Gua musang or the kelantan area road has been having high tolls of fatality accident mainly head on due to over taking incindents, why they dont do something about the road? Why dont upgrade the road to 2 lane per way. This should reduce head on accidents causing from over taking. But why until now, nothing has been done? why? politics issues? Are accidents select people from which party?

Safety is a system, a system is secured as it weakes point, like the gua musang case, if you think u are secure in a car by having only safety belts, but you’ll probably need to look more further on car itself and other factors such as the road conditions.

• walksay (Member) on Jan 05, 2009 at 4:51 pm

from the gua musang incident, current buckle up enforcement didn’t give
    any advantage! this kind of enforcement should be the last thing to do by
    the police. they should tackle on how to avoid accident first.

for me, this enforcement only to avoid fatality and nothing to do with number
    of accidents. its like 2007 have 1,000 accident with 20 fatality, this year
    they target 1,000 accidents with 5 fatality. they better reduced the number
    of accidents to 0. with 0 accidents, where got fatality one.

btw, without this enforcement, i’m buckle up all the time. it for my own safety.
    no need to enforce me to buckle up!

• walksay (Member) on Jan 05, 2009 at 4:56 pm

Joe v2.0,

if they upgrade to 2 lane road, more money to allocated the project and
    less opportunity to make money from summons.

so, what they do? no need to upgrade the rodd, remain the same
    opportunity to make money from overtaking summons + new opportunity
    from buckle up summons.

no money out, more money in.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:39 pm

more duit kopi for the mata