Set an appointment to install rear seatbelts for your Proton for free!

ProtonProton will install rear seatbelts for the following cars for free under its free rear seatbelt installation program.

The affected cars are: 144,000 units of the Proton Saga/Iswara LMST produced from 2004 to 2008 with the chassis numbers between B933165 to B244061, and 81,930 units of the Proton GEN2 produced between May 2006 to June 2008 with chassis numbers between G000001 to G107849.

For affected users, please head on to this form to set an appointment. Hopefully the form works and Proton will contact you to set an appointment for you to bring your car in to get your seatbelt fixed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yapyawwah (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:55 pm

Paul

Any forms for perodua car?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:56 pm

gen2 got rear seatbelts….or maybe the 1.3cc variant??

• Paul Tan on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:56 pm

No, not that I know of anyway, since my many attempts to get in touch with Perodua’s PR personnel have been completely ignored (maybe they don’t really care about this website because perhaps they think Perodua owners cannot afford internet access), but some details can be found at this page:

http://www.perodua.com.my/index.php?section=perodua&page=rearseatbelt

• the stik (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:15 pm

e-nabilll… gen2 got only 2 rear seatbelts before this.. tengah punye takde.. cam aku punye.. thanks paul.. already submitted the form.. wonder if they can change those with 3 points racing seatbelt hehehe

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:32 pm

The so-called useless company is useful after all……

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 5:07 pm

Wisdom said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 3:32 pm

The so-called useless company is useful after all……

still will be bashed… trust me…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 5:35 pm

as usually… when its proton…. all good things is meant to be forgotten…. only bad things is to be remembered…. malaysians…. what to say…. sad sad..

• ENZO (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:11 pm

ARGHHH~~~~~~~~~~~~my saga’s chassis number is not in that range!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Made Year is 2005!!!!!
    And IT got no middle rear seat belt!!!!!!!!!!!!!

HOW????????????????
    Cham LO~~~~~~~

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:54 pm

finally. they ought to do so long time ago.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:12 pm

what about Nissan and Mitsubishi ?

Does ETCM also install seatbelt for free ?

But who will do for Mitsubishi then….??

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:32 pm

toyota?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:34 pm

but then, anybody wears rear seat belts?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:49 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 1:34 pm

but then, anybody wears rear seat belts?
    _________________-

hahaha.. some people do, but its a very very good point ;) i think many still have trouble belting up in front, let alone behind.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:21 pm

if the police catch the people, we say police makan duit kopi, if they don’t catch, we say they not responsible.

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:42 pm

I know so many people (and you can see them on the road itself) who are not even bothered to fasten their seat belts when sitting in the front let alone behind. These f**kers are not bothered about thier own safety BUT you’ll find them first in line to redeem their rear seat belts just because its free installation!

Go ahead and cheat yourselves and then please don’t dare to ask why there are so many deaths on your roads.

What about those people who can afford Sagas and Iswaras but have more then 3 children? Because if they enforce wearing of rear seat belts, you are only allowed to have 3 passengers in the rear seat! How? Balik kampung is not going to be the same again!

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:00 pm

Some kid (especially under 5 years old) needs special thought to use rear seatbelt. Tend to cry when we forced them. Anybody here have some tips or trick?

• nocrid (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 7:25 am

You mean by default they don’t have seatbelts at the back? All these while?

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 9:35 am

nocrid,

oni some models.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:32 am

its important to wear rear seat belts, so that they wont compromise the safety of the front passengers

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:46 am

Sex is… water. said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 7:21 pm
    if the police catch the people, we say police makan duit kopi, if they don’t catch, we say they not responsible.

But if we are the one who was ‘to be catch’, we are also the one those begging to be free… from summoned, even will to give duit kopi what?

Anyway, from what i watch around me, the driver those always driving fast, will fasten seat belt.. when the driver use the seat belt, the one beside you automatically use it.

But slow and boring driver.. (always drive slow like ah so, women driver so so) they not always use the seat belt. neither the co. passenger.

Then… to apply rear passenger is such harder.. even IF the driver itself not belt-in!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 12:07 pm

kl most people wear seat belt. but in the rural districts, those people dont wear seatbelts one

• lmst (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 10:24 pm

mine is 2006 model..but chasis number not in list..why??my car spec is 5 seater but the fifth belt ( rear middle) not have..can anybody help me??..maybe sifu can answer.. :-)

• awak (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 2:54 am

IMPORTANT!!

few thing have to be cosidered,
    the height of the passanger, where age might be related to this,
    children might need booster seat (raised) or car seat (for baby),
    (need no booster for centrally strapped for children).

its not simply fastening seatbelt, but PROPERLY straped,

• awak (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:03 am

the most vulnarable not being strapped is kids, even at the slowest speed, at any sudden stop, they might be thrown foward as normally they sit just about anywhere they like ,standing sometime, wtihout any precaution in mind,