2009 Honda City: first drive impressions review

2009 Honda City

The Japanese B-segment market is indeed a hot one and is dominated by the H and T badges, despite honest efforts by other manufacturers such as Suzuki to make an impact with cars such as the SX4 sedan. The City and the Vios remain the champions of the under RM80k non-national sedan market and are the target of many people who long to break out of what they feel is the curse of Proton ownership, so naturally the launch of the new Honda City this year was very eagerly awaited. The new City is blessed with good looks and now that the launch and fanfare are over, it’s time to take a good look at the car and see if it is indeed as good as it looks.

Read my full driving impressions after the jump.

Design

2009 Honda City

While the design of the City is not perfect, it’s way better looking than the odd hatchback with a boot slapped previous generation City. It’s also got a more classic sedan look to it with none of that A-pillar triangular window stuff. A sports sedan to be exact. I still like the shape as much as I did when I first saw it on the spyshots on the internet, especially the white one transported in China. It’s just too bad Honda isn’t offering the car in white here, in fact there are no white Hondas on sale except for the Type R, but I was told white is being added to the CKD paint process soon.

The top of the line model gets foglamps but I kind of prefer the bumper without the foglamps as somehow it helps make the car look wider and shorter. Chrome for the door handles are a nice touch, while the fuel lid opens up with just a touch much like more pricey European cars.

Interior

Honda City Interior

With the new City, you no longer get that airy feeling that was present in the old City. This is the result of the seating position being much more car-like rather than mini-MPV-like, thanks to Honda distancing the City from its boot-less Jazz sibling. While the Ultra Seats are gone, things like using the bottom of the rear seats to store an umbrella is a great idea. Never again do you have to place it in some random area on the floor of your car and get your whole carpet/mats soaked more than necessary.

Honda City Driver Seat

Being someone about 181cm tall, I was quite happy in the driver’s seat of the City. Everything was quite ergonomic, from steering position to seat height and position. The storage compartments are also easy to use and the little storage area under the driver side air cond vent is quite usable for your Touch N Go card as its slant prevents the card from sliding out of the compartment. The fuel tank is located under the front seats so there’s not much room for you to install your aftermarket ICE amplifiers there.

The raised floor caused by the fuel tank also juts out a little when you push the front seats nearly all the way back as I needed to do because of my height, so you are quite limited in where you can rest your leg if you want to fold it inwards towards you instead of placing it on the footrest.

Honda City Legroom

There is enough headroom at the rear and decent leg space. Nothing to complain about there. You could definitely seat 3 adults in the rear bench with reasonable amount of comfort, as it is wide enough. The rear bench is reclinable in the top spec model so that adds a bit more comfort for long journeys as you don’t have to sit too upright.

The instrument panel looks good and is easy to read, and there is a multi-information display that can show you various data such as fuel consumption in real time. Well, not exactly fuel consumption but more of fuel economy as the reading is in km per litre, so the higher the bar goes the more km you are getting from each litre according to your driving style.

2009 Honda City

The CD player slot is hidden behind the radio display, which is rather neat and I liked how the paid attention to how the radio display actually flipped down – it doesn’t just snap down like how a cheap metal pencil case made in China would open, if you get what I mean.

2009 Honda City

The USB interface is hidden in front of the gear lever in the storage compartment. You can load MP3s and WMAs from a USB device, and because the USB port is powered, if your PDA uses a USB cable for charging you can just plug it into the USB port and juice up. The radio LCD display is a very low resolution one with limited text display capabilities so it doesn’t do much to show your full song title or CD ID3 text completely.

Center Dash

Despite refinement in certain areas, Honda could really have done better with the choice of colour for the whole center dash area. It seems poorly styled compared to the rest of the vehicle. Sure, it’s functional, but choices of material in certain areas especially the center dash makes it look rather toy-like. It’s got nothing to do with the quality of materials as I am sure they could have pulled this off within budget and not look cheap at the same time. A case of good intentions but misguided styling perhaps. While you may be put off by it at the showroom, this is something that you will get used to and forget after a while.

Honda City Trunk

The boot is cavernous at 506 litres, and to achieve this space there is no full-size spare tyre but one of those thinner emergency ones. One nice touch is how Honda has neatly hidden away the wheel jack and other tyre change tools under a plastic part with a wheel jack logo on it.

Driving Experience

Honda City

The City handles Malaysian roads quite well, absorbing road irregularities to a level that is expected from a car like this, and striking a good balance between comfort and handling which is what a Honda buyer would expect. The steering and pedals are light and easy to use for a beginner driver. The City can take corners with confidence and even when you start sliding out of control it is very easy to correct. The combination of the electric power steering accuracy, weight and the lack of any excessive bodyroll except in the extremes makes the City a car that’ll keep the driver happy, that is until he is joined by passengers.

Honda City Meter Panel

Honda’s media drive to Malacca assigned 3 of us to a car and I began to understand why Mainland China consumers get a 1.8 litre motor in the City. The City may feel sluggy at times and it was made worse by the really hot day. While the engine boasts 120 PS of output, this is only achievable way beyond the 6,000rpm rev range so none of it is actually usable when you are in a hurry but exactly in a hurry enough to slam the pedal to the metal and let the car rev to the redline in all gears. It’s enough power to get going but not enough for the whole gutsy feeling that Honda likes associating the car with. So yes, it’s best to drive gently and smoothly whenever there are maybe 2 or more passengers in the car to keep both yourself and the engine happy, otherwise you’ll be looking for air filter, exhaust and all sorts of mods to extract more power from the car.

Honda City

You also don’t get to keep the revs up as often as you’d want because despite having 5 gear ratios, the last 2 are overdrive gears with one extra tall gear for more silent and economical highway cruising (for this purpose it works rather well), so during City driving and acceleration it performs identically to a 4-speed auto. While this works well for a car like the Civic 2.0 where the engine is meaty enough, perhaps Honda could also have taken the opportunity to provide more closely-spaced ratios instead to improve acceleration, and have just one extra tall overdrive gear (instead of one very tall one and one not as much) for high speed cruising?

The feeling of a stepped gearbox is nice, and contributes to giving the City a more sporty feel, rather than the rubberband-ish feeling of a CVT, no matter how much more efficient a CVT actually is. The engine doesn’t seem as smooth as a Honda should be, getting a little loud and rough (and slightly Campro-ish metallic raspy reverb) from the high-mid revs onwards. But under normal and relaxed driving conditions, none of these characteristics are noticeable.

I eagerly wait for the day Honda decides to phase out this stuff and replace it with a 1.4 litre i-DSI Turbo or something. 120 PS and 180Nm of torque from at low as 1,400rpm sounds nice. They already have an i-DSI turbo for the Honda ZEST.

Honda City

The high spec car’s paddle shifts are easy to work and just plain works, but this isn’t a quick shifting DSG box so there is a noticeable lag between you pressing the paddle shift and the gearbox actually doing something. If you engage paddle shift mode in the S mode, you will be in the M mode which means the gearbox will not shift even if you go past the redline, after of which the revcut will kick in and prevent you from over-revving the engine. The gearbox will also never downshift on command if it detects that the engine will be over-reved on a downshift.

Honda City

The car was quite stable and planted (some would say it feels “solid”) at most speeds until you reach about 160km/h where in a straight line you could feel a little nervousness in the car, like your tyre contact patch to the ground wasn’t very large. It was only present in the lower spec car, which at first we attributed to the smaller wheels but once we gave this feedback to the Honda engineers he said the difference should not have been that big. This could have been an alignment issue with the test cars which we were told were prototype cars, so I hope to have this tested again in another drive.

If you keep to the brand values that the average Joe on the street associate Honda with, this new City seems much more like a “Honda” than the previous City ever was but at the same time loses what made the previous City unique. The previous City was something more like a Citroen or any random wacky European manufacturer in its concept, it did what it was supposed to do really well and was nice and airy on the inside but its looks suffered because of the good interior dimensions.

Honda City Comparison

This new City on the other hand has a traditional sporty forward-shooting wedge design, and has the driving position to match. I’ve tried my best to give you a detailed report of my day with the car, the rest is up to you to feel the car yourself and do a little more research on (if there are) any potential problems early adopters might be encountering, and how to go around them.

While there are 2 airbags and the standard anti-lock brakes, nowhere in the world is the Honda City available with any form of stability control, which is a concern at the moment if Honda wants to bring the car to Europe, unless it is only thinking of the poorer Eastern Europe countries. They are working on this, so it may be a feature that will debut with the facelift model.

Honda City

Next up I will try to get the City again for a fuel consumption test as well as another high-speed stability test. To learn more about the new City, read the two stories below. There’s alot more to read and know other than the driving impressions in this report.

2009 Honda City 1.5E and 1.5S launched in Malaysia
2009 Honda City in-depth details and specifications

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 5:38 am

Nice review Paul, the car looks great except the aircond knob that Honda taken from my Samsung washing machine. The alignment problem affected many owners as well.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 7:02 am

Below 80k? I thought the City costs around 90k?

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 7:17 am

MisterBenjo said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 5:38 am

Nice review Paul, the car looks great except the aircond knob that Honda taken from my Samsung washing machine. The alignment problem affected many owners as well.
    ======================================
    not washing machine aa,,,,, it was from my dapur masak …next generation honda city will put tong gas also… so we can cook inside,,,gud aa

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 7:19 am

City has been above 80k since 2003 if I’m not mistaken. Anyway I’m telling all my friends to wait for the Kia Forte.

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/07/02/first-photos-of-new-kia-forte-sedan/
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/08/27/kia-forte-more-photos-of-korean-domestic-model/
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/09/02/video-peter-schreyer-and-the-new-kia-forte/

I just hope they manage to price it under 80k. It’s a C-Segment car positioned to hit Civic/Altis actually.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 7:27 am

Akazamabamaboo said,

February 5, 2009 @ 7:02 am

Below 80k? I thought the City costs around 90k?

I think paul was refering to the first generation of city and vios wen it was first introduced. The new ct cost 85k base model to 89k for high specs

Frankly im disappointed with the new CT. Am an owner of 2 for myself (1st Gen and the 2nd gen (2008)). I was hoping that they retained the ultra seats configuration cos personally i think the under seat container is useless and only good for storing umbrella.

Then comes the folding seats. Unlike the old generation, the back seats fold flatly (thanks to the ultra seats). The new gen doesnt and restricts long haul item.

Interior looks very cheap plastic to say the least.

Design wise is love it or hate it. Its an improvement to the old design but it doesnt mean the old design was bad in any way.

jus my 2cents

cam.shaft

• the stik (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 7:40 am

oi oi no laa.. its from my mums Zanussi baking oven..
    my frend just got his city 2 weeks ago, take a look at it and
    i found out dat the knob looks reallllly cheap..
    but the car is cheap what? 89k.. ok la tuu..
    nak nmpak knob dia mahal2 beli laa bentley.. kan?

• hyundai (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 8:17 am

The engine is really noisy especially above 2500rpm… The refinement is still way behind the Latio’s… While space is quite good compared to Vios although still not to Latio’s. And the price is really ridiculous, considered the Elantra X20 just 93k.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 8:30 am

having driven the car, i thought that the centre console looks a little cheap at first..

but i think thats unfair to harp on that only, coz the rest of the car feels so upmarket. the seats, the door trim, and dashboard, has elevated this city towards civic type quality. it certainly lifts the car above the “budget” tag in my opinion and certainly much better than the vios. and like paul said, after a while, you dont notice it anymore.

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 8:50 am

Paul, regarding ur driving experience at high speeds, the feedback that u got from the engineers, were they from the engineers from honda japan, or from the engineers in the assembly plant in malacca? I think i understand wat u meant by ‘you could feel a little nervousness in the car, like your tyre contact patch to the ground wasn’t very large’, do you mean like u were feeling like the car was floating? Another thing, i doubt the car’s that u drove were prototype cars for reason’s as below:-
    1) a car manufacturer will never let the public to test drive the prototype cars as it costs a bom! sumtimes the prototypes might cost 10x or even 20x more then the final production version since the prototype car was build using development parts (parts specially made and in a small number) so it costs more.
    2) a prototype car still has many ‘rough edges’ and its still subjected to alot of design change.
    3) a prototype car wont be registered as a legal road car because its still in development, and it might not meet certain regulations yet.

I can confirmly assume, the cars u drove were pre-production cars (that were used for launching and showroom car) but it shud/must be the same as the final production car. I think the engineer that u talked to might be just ‘finding a way out’ from the question u asked.

Regarding the floating effect, i have personally driven many japanese cars and i find all of them have this problem after reaching a certain speed. Especially the mid size sedans and hatchbacks have this. From my observation and knowledge, i think this is mainly caused by :-

1) Handling in a whole.
    2) Suspension set up
    3) Steering feedback. (Using a electric power steering eases town driving but it does reduce steering feedback at high speeds and cornering compared to the traditional hydraulic PS) Thats the reason, manufacturers like BMW and so on uses an adaptive steering system, where the sterring ‘gets heavy’ at higher speeds for better steering feedback and precise control at corners.

However please do try to get another version of the CT and try the high speed test again to reconfirm back as u said earlier. I might be wrong so please do correct me if i am…

Cheers

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 8:56 am

my girl has been driving her city for the past month now.

paul asked for the consumption of the city.
    urban driving w/ lots of traffic (uptown, ampang, kl) =13-16km/l
    long distance driving = 16+km/l

like paul, tried red lining it and found some difficulty doing that. to say that the engine feels sluggish, i dont know, the more i drive it the more i feel that this car was never meant to be pushed like the 2.0 civic was. it serves better taking it slow and steady. the final overdrive gear kicks in and you are cruising 120km/h at 2.5k rpm.

dont get me wrong, its a fast car but you just dont feel like you are picking up speed going up the gears in S mode. it lacks that punchly-i’m-going-fast feel.

handling is spot on but i wouldnt jam the accelerator in corners. perhaps i’m more comfortable with my waja’s heavy handling.

hyundai : this shows how heavy your right foot is. the city was meant to be an easy and relaxing drive up to the final gear.

on the cheap looking knob, its functional and no one looks at it when driving.

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:04 am

si-fu :

floating feeling of the city can be attributed to:-
    1) tyre size 185/55/16
    2) tires could have been over inflated to 50 psi if they were indeed showroom cars. my girl’s city when 1st arrived were at 50 psi. crazy honda bastards. after rectifying the pressure, the car felt much better at 140kmh.
    3) the backside of the car feels heavy akin to a hatchback. if you were to drive fast over undulating patches like say on KESAS, the back side suddenly feels light coming out of the wave like road.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:10 am

Compare this car with Pug 308 feature for feature(except engine) and the City will appear pricey. Conti cars are making a comeback.. sort of.

• izaman (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:17 am

pug 308 is in C-segment. same as civic segment. so it sort of unfair to do the comparison

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:19 am

I found that the more aerodynamic the design, the better planted the car is at high speeds. Could the floating feeling be due to car design as well? But these cars all get wind tunnel tests, right?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:25 am

izaman, i guess you’re right, but i was just looking at it from engine size point of view, the sizes look closer compared to civic, regardless of segments. My mistake.

• xstan (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:33 am

Thanks Paul for the write up. Good fair bit of review. Was hoping for more ..wat about new features offer ..such as the motion detector offer, reclining seats, spacious interior design as with the curve out arm rest, wide opening boot, nice oddometer design ……all of plus point.

Why oh why people still compare with pug?

• catchcart (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:37 am

Si-fu,

I would like to ask you a few question regarding car suspension system. Currently I am trying to repair my Waja. I will tell you in an email. Please email me catchcart at the excite dot com.

• Nozzydive (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:44 am

I have tested the car & I wud say a bit sluggish as i expected 120PS…i know 120PS @ 6,000rpm but it really did not have the torque as in Vios. Engine noise kinda rough to me, but overall it was a nice car with ample boot space.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:44 am

No matter if people say ‘if you cant afford it, buy something cheaper’, I still feel cheated out of RM20,000 due to ‘Proton’s curse on Malaysians’, even if I can afford it, won’t there be at least a little bitter aftertaste, knowing just across the border it’s cheaper, by 20K. No, I’m not saying I want to be a Thai national. But if you say it this is not a valid argument, so be it.

• Peroistopper (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:49 am

Try Sarawak road from Kuching – Lundu , Kuching -Sri Aman, Sibu-Bintulu, Sibu-Mukah, Bintulu -Miri next time…always road in semenanjung where all nice and highway ( maintain nicely ).

• Peroistopper (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:50 am

Also try the car using Kuching-Simunjan road….

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:25 am

Testing – my earlier comments posted before 8AM didn’t seem to come out.

• xstan (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:33 am

Nozzydive said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 9:44 am

I have tested the car & I wud say a bit sluggish as i expected 120PS…i know 120PS @ 6,000rpm but it really did not have the torque as in Vios. Engine noise kinda rough to me, but overall it was a nice car with ample boot space.
    ————————————————————–

Best is it is not as coarse or as noisy as Vios.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:44 am

50 psi is the PDI long storage norm. You keep PDI cars at 50 psi to help eliminate flat spots. Looks like with 6000+ orders the showroom guys were in a rush to push metal and forgot to reduce tyre pressures. This has been a recurring problem since 2001. Must do PDCA.

• tracktion3 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:54 am

in Malaysia somehow, the looking good cars always win…… :P Don’t care how it look inside….. ha ha ha ha ha further more is a H.

• msian (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:04 am

over priced….

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:17 am

msian – you might want to wait for the 1.6L 124PS Kia Forte C-Segment sedan coming soon. More bang for buck.

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:25 am

si-fu said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 8:50 am

Paul, regarding ur driving experience at high speeds, the feedback that u got from the engineers, were they from the engineers from honda japan, or from the engineers in the assembly plant in malacca? I think i understand wat u meant by ‘you could feel a little nervousness in the car, like your tyre contact patch to the ground wasn’t very large’, do you mean like u were feeling like the car was floating? Another thing, i doubt the car’s that u drove were prototype cars for reason’s as below:-
    1) a car manufacturer will never let the public to test drive the prototype cars as it costs a bom! sumtimes the prototypes might cost 10x or even 20x more then the final production version since the prototype car was build using development parts (parts specially made and in a small number) so it costs more.
    2) a prototype car still has many ‘rough edges’ and its still subjected to alot of design change.
    3) a prototype car wont be registered as a legal road car because its still in development, and it might not meet certain regulations yet.

I can confirmly assume, the cars u drove were pre-production cars (that were used for launching and showroom car) but it shud/must be the same as the final production car. I think the engineer that u talked to might be just ‘finding a way out’ from the question u asked.

Regarding the floating effect, i have personally driven many japanese cars and i find all of them have this problem after reaching a certain speed. Especially the mid size sedans and hatchbacks have this. From my observation and knowledge, i think this is mainly caused by :-

1) Handling in a whole.
    2) Suspension set up
    3) Steering feedback. (Using a electric power steering eases town driving but it does reduce steering feedback at high speeds and cornering compared to the traditional hydraulic PS) Thats the reason, manufacturers like BMW and so on uses an adaptive steering system, where the sterring ‘gets heavy’ at higher speeds for better steering feedback and precise control at corners.

However please do try to get another version of the CT and try the high speed test again to reconfirm back as u said earlier. I might be wrong so please do correct me if i am…

Cheers
    ———————————————-

As a Proton staff, u sounds well inform and humble enough. Should reflects your product ok.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:31 am

I agree with sifu. ‘Prototype’ cars won’t be type approved to Malaysian features settings and registered. A bit of a joke from that engineer maybe? What he probably meant to say is ‘Trial Production’ car. But from what I understand Honda and other manufacturers really do a full check on test drive cars, media test drive cars especially. Would you risk a prototype car with the media?

Even the old Accord felt ‘floaty’ over 160km/h but of course this can only be on a test track as you cannot legally drive over 110km/h in Malaysia, can you? :)

• BlackJKX (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:41 am

Yes, egi need more pulling power

• lambov12 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:51 am

the paddle shift in the city is totally useless …

honda, if u wan to put a flappy paddle gear inside a car, do it like volkswagen ..

let the driver control the gear, not the “intelligent” gearbox ..

• tanasi (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:53 am

The new Jazz in its highest trim level has electronic stability control – Honda’s vehicle stability assist. I think it is only logical if Honda presents this option with the new City.

Especially with a rear torsion beam set up, where stability especially during avoidance manoeuvre is always suspect. I still wait for a journo to do a lane change on the new city. Hope it isn’t as scary as the old one, or the Vios.

• 8918 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:54 am

Haha….now maybe the CT 120ps can’t let my vios 109ps east dust liau….side by side to me onli..

• youaresofunny on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:42 am

1.5l i-VTEC can easily smoke your little 1.5l vvti. Stop dreaming my friends. I bet you eat a lot of dust in last 5 years.

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 12:05 pm

Catchcart,
    u can ask ur question in here…at least everybody can learn/know something…..

Wisdom,

thx…we will try our best to give the best product. so…fingers crossed!

• common-sensor (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 12:27 pm

“until you reach about 160km/h where in a straight line you could feel a little nervousness in the car, like your tyre contact patch to the ground wasn’t very large”

Facts;

1) You don’t buy B-segment car to drive 160km/h (unless you are out of your mind)
    2) B-segment vehicles is NOT F1 vehicles that has to be road-intact even beyond 200 km/h
    2) There is NO Auto-Bahn in Malaysia, as such its ILLEGAL to drive beyond 110km/h in any available roads in Malaysia

IMHO, it is not an issue at all because as drivers in Malaysia that you have no opportunity (not allowed to) to reach 160km/h. Be real guys …

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 12:47 pm

that nevousness could be the light wieght of the car…steering also plays a big part….i hav a question

1- izzit worthwhile to upgrade to the new city frm the previous generation city??

btw , i still feel no other 1.5/1.6 litre car drives beter tham the Persona wen it comes to ride and stability…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 12:57 pm

except for 116i hatch

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:00 pm

I have to agree with u e-nabilll…..from my personel experience (off work), one day i was in the highway heading north, in my frens bmw 325i (2007 model). I was doing about 170 – 180km/h. then suddenly, i saw this gold persona was trailling me from behind….it came as close as a-car-distance behind me….i was quite suprised to see that, and that person continued following me for quite some distance. The best part was, the driver…it was a lady!!!!!…..she looked like a middle aged lady, wearing tudung and it shocked the hell out of me looking at her courage and braveness trailling a BMW at that speed and she was all alone in the car. I can assure, if PERSONA is nt stable and handles well, she wouldn’t even dare to drive at that speed moreover tralling a BMW….so there u have it…

cheers!

• trustgtr (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:01 pm

its a decent looking car, good for utility and day to day purposes..the pricing is somewhat disappointing, I hope the NAP review this coming April would be able to bring prices down at least to RM70k (dreaming lah). Cars like these shouldn’t be priced close to 100k..madness

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:03 pm

dont get me started on ladies driving at insane speeds !

• jazzer (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:05 pm

yeh,honda x bole challenge nye..persona mmg bgs pun..good value for your money..i belive.the coming neo will be much more better than this city..so eager to has it one once it launch soon…hidup proton…

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:22 pm

Dear TRUSTGTR

Car prices in malaysia is high not due to the tax but because dumb@ss malaysians still buy them at such stupid prices…

case 1 Vios
    Toyota can make and sell the Avanza at 60K+ (at a profit). Then by right the Vios should only be 50k+ since it is cheaper to make (less steel, less parts, less seat, less windows and so on) but people buy it at 80k+. Ha ha suckers!

case 2 Suzuki
    How come you can buy a CBU JAPAN 1.6 Suzuki sedan for less tha 100k when CKD Altis is much more expensive? Like I said, people are stupid and don’t want to think…

• haroldz (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:31 pm

msian – you might want to wait for the 1.6L 124PS Kia Forte C-Segment sedan coming soon. More bang for buck.

——————————————————————-
    it will be launched in sgpore in month
    1.6L and mayb 2.0L as well gamma engine like spectra5/ kia c’eed

but theta engine would be better
    korean cars can sell lower than japs car
    japs car in msia are striped down version due to high tax..

nasib la…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:51 pm

honda is f**king unstable…

owh… i mean honda EX5… ahaha

• alamak (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 2:16 pm

Maibatsu – PDCA, Plan Do Check Action ? haha u must be from Honda…

Ularsawa – 185/55/16 – what is the max speed rating for those tyres? It is not safe to speed beyond the limit of the tyre.

I think this City will be very successful due to the Honda brand heritage, good resell value, reliability and modern appealing design.

• pulge (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 2:24 pm

Hmm, sounds like the City is suitable for city driving. Hence, the name.

(Look forward to my brother who wants to sell his old Porsche 924 for this car.)

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 2:30 pm

alamak : not entirely sure bout the speed rating. but the car is barely two months old, you think my girl will whack the engine kow kow?

pulge : more suitable for city driving may not be entirely true.

i would put in it this way; the new city is meant for the driver to drive it in a city driving way (congestion, red green stop go). the final gear is great for highway runs. 120kmh @ 2.5k RPM.

• abtm (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 2:55 pm

i won’t buy it for these reasons: it’s got torsion beam with a sohc engine, both setups compromised in terms of performance. Interior looks cheaper than the old model…and it should cost $10k less as well

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 3:31 pm

abtm actually my butt-o-meter can’t tell the difference between fully independent and twist beam. My old 1975 Mini had a fully independent rear! Rally Winning stuff. ;) But I do agree with you on the dash. The old model did have a higher perceived value. Nice seat fabric though.

• shun2u.CoM (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 4:37 pm

I checked online, Honda city is around 100k++, Toyota Vios is more cheaper, around 80,000. I drove Honda City and Toyota Atlis before, compare both, Toyota car is much more better, more silent, the Toyota Compressor what i can say is, excellent! ;)

• GOGOobama (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 5:09 pm

we dun care of tax… asal u suka, u beli saja! if u care ab tax , u r miskin orang ! city in thailand jus rm60k, while in malaysia , become rm90k. so wat ? no money dun buy lar… buy back ur proton .. keke

• hotwheeler (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 5:48 pm

shun2u.CoM,

u r sooooo toyotak salesperson….anyway, i’m a proud persona owner!

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?id=1217767465&pid=30316665&cp=1217767465&cps=b47b88acaa

• tec96248 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 5:50 pm

si-fu said,

February 5, 2009 @ 8:50 am,

‘Regarding the floating effect, i have personally driven many japanese cars and i find all of them have this problem after reaching a certain speed. Especially the mid size sedans and hatchbacks have this.

3) Steering feedback. (Using a electric power steering eases town driving but it does reduce steering feedback at high speeds and cornering compared to the traditional hydraulic PS) Thats the reason, manufacturers like BMW and so on uses an adaptive steering system, where the sterring ‘gets heavy’ at higher speeds for better steering feedback and precise control at corners.’

–is this the right comparisons? what about those not using electric steering? are u sure all japanese cars have this problems? have u tried the other continental cars apart from BMW for high speed cornering?
    Can’t agreed with u on this.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 5:50 pm

si-fu said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 1:00 pm

I have to agree with u e-nabilll…..from my personel experience (off work), one day i was in the highway heading north, in my frens bmw 325i (2007 model). I was doing about 170 – 180km/h. then suddenly, i saw this gold persona was trailling me from behind….it came as close as a-car-distance behind me….i was quite suprised to see that, and that person continued following me for quite some distance. The best part was, the driver…it was a lady!!!!!…..she looked like a middle aged lady, wearing tudung and it shocked the hell out of me looking at her courage and braveness trailling a BMW at that speed and she was all alone in the car. I can assure, if PERSONA is nt stable and handles well, she wouldn’t even dare to drive at that speed moreover tralling a BMW….so there u have it…

cheers!
    —————————————————————-

Yeah I agree with you too. I got 2 Personas at home, both Hline but different batches, all I can say it’s damn stable at speeds between 140-160++km/h. I have no complaints about the qc except the fc, which is higher than the dugong car, and the reception of the remote control for the alarm system is damn weak. Afterall still it’s a good car for the money. happy motoring!

• pulge (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 5:53 pm

I don’t mind the car is not fun to drive, as it is not a performance car. If you drive around town or regular roads it should be enough to drive it “gently” because that’s what Honda intended for the City. Comfort and practicality is the importance here.

Want more power then go for Lancer GT or Evo or Civic Type R.

• tec96248 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 6:03 pm

the city that i test driven is ok and quite good as for the particular segment. small car just can’t compare to bigger cars. FWD, AWD and RWD cars have their differences, and characteristic. The physics already told; especially in corners. the city is good enough in its segment.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 7:02 pm

jazzer said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 1:05 pm

yeh,honda x bole challenge nye..persona mmg bgs pun..good value for your money..i belive.the coming neo will be much more better than this city..so eager to has it one once it launch soon…hidup proton…

blind talk -‘-

proton mana boleh fight dengan honda? proton adalah kereta mainan budak budak kecik punya…patut fight the remote control car la

• maserati (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 8:04 pm

Once you guys test drive the latest Peugeot 308 VTi,you will feel that HOnda is conning you guys.

Rm 90k for a plasticky interior,cheap dashboard..Pls take a ride in the Peugeot then you will know how good the Peugeot is compared to this rubbish City.

Besides Peugeot 308 is just 6k more exp than HC.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Dudes 160km/h is 100mph. I guess Paul was timing the century dash when he felt the floating. Its aerodynamics ler. When its so smooth looking on top, its a wing. Especially when there’s 6in of air between the floorpan and the ground. Why feel light arsed? Coz the engine’s in front and so’s the driver. Good thing that spare tyre is heavy.

Don’t compare City 2009 handling with 308, do it with a Naza Bestari 206 2005 at almost half the price. Looking forward to a shootout article.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 8:52 pm

ya i saw today one in showroom in pj , interior is very plasticky…doesnt look like its gonna be rattle free for long time…somehow the whole ting feels flimsy to touch….its fine for this segment bt its not bloody fine for that price..

somemore i read news today honda msia got more than 6000 bookings for city , i want to know who those 6000 ppl are !!

good car for badge snobs , not great for other ppl…if i was looking for a car , i wd get waja cps , so much more room , so much more power , definatly more stable…interior might not be great buildwise bt its very good in other areas i dont mind to sacrifice that bit…its my opinion anyway

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:03 pm

Just thought of something. The fuel tanks is further up front ainit? Bet you that spoils a bit as there’s less at the back. You might think of an awkward weight distribution.

My guess for the City 2009 Modulo bodykit includes a spoiler at the back?

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:05 pm

How does the car know not to downshift if you plan to accelerate? Maybe just taking the feet of the pedal rapidly gives a sense he is going to press hard? This sure is annoying.

• awak (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:21 pm

1.5 for 1150 kg.
    even the best torque produced. its a torque of a 1.5,
    so when i test it, alternatively, i tend to squeeze it hp at higher end, just to get the sensation.
    its not something that we always want to do,

traditonally a 1.5 engine 8valves (low end pickup power) or 12valves pushing a sub 1000kg car,
    so you know what i mean this new city is lack of push sensation.

• awak (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:28 pm

people complaining about acc switch, (p 1 mpv)
    how about this city switch?
    what do you think?

• csv (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:46 pm

i thought its a pretty decent car, looks and whole.

but it still falls short of latios ride comfort. although latio’s looks takes some getting used to. and the autobox.

• bugbear (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:54 pm

some1 juz compared a b segment city with a c segment altis?
    haiz~~ shakehead~~ >.<

• chanel (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:27 pm

i’m currently owned city vtec…..in term of handling, I would say i still like Waja handling & ride….thanks to lotus….

• Carz (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:36 pm

persona.. vios .. city .. which one is good choice? want to upgrade current car.. current have a satria.. much dissapointed.. previously owned a Honda CRX… superb handling..

• Carz (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:44 pm

the steering of the persona is really ugly + no quality…
    i think the steering at the Game Arcade (ie Daytona) is much nicer…

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:49 pm

i dont like kia. but if they can price the 2.0litre kia forte/cerato at 80k. then i think would be a nice blow to honda and toyota and almost will kil proton. if im not wrong the output is same as the civic sport if not more.

i think kia can come close to the 80k to 90k price point as just attended the honda city debut party in aust and they are priced in the same bracket. cerato comes as 2.0litre only and honda city is 1.5litre.

at that price the cerato kills any proton assuming both depreciate alot but you get 5 years unlimited warranty on the koreans. i think cerato would take some of the civic/corolla sales. and it has 6 airbags as standard.

• king (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 1:30 am

maserati said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 8:04 pm

Once you guys test drive the latest Peugeot 308 VTi,you will feel that HOnda is conning you guys.

Rm 90k for a plasticky interior,cheap dashboard..Pls take a ride in the Peugeot then you will know how good the Peugeot is compared to this rubbish City.

Besides Peugeot 308 is just 6k more exp than HC

_____

if you factor in the lower interest rate for pug 308, the 6k becomes almost negligible. So the 308 vti costs the same as the city e-spec and the vios dugong s-spec….of which both jap cars are just shameful especially on the interior. So why cannot compare with the jap entry level cars? Fair and square in terms of price…but for the pug you are getting better value in every category.

at least the city still looks handsome on the outside… much better than ugly dugong but still no match for the stunning pug 308 vti IMO.

• awak (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 5:56 am

Carz said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 10:44 pm

the steering of the persona is really ugly + no quality…
    i think the steering at the Game Arcade (ie Daytona) is much nicer…
    ———————————-
    ok im talking in the real world,
    have you ever hold it,
    have you ever hold the one with leather wrapped?
    get in gen2 cps, you know it , the steering is thick .

why do i say that,
    i found friends who own toyotas or produas, they say that meaty proton steering is saciating,

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 7:41 am

A few years ago I recommended that my friend buy the City i-DSI. 1st week she experienced a water-logged floor when it rained. Right now rust discolouration is showing through some weld seams on the door and around the front strut tower area too. I understand that the Honda staff get bonus based on ‘Bell Curve’ which means only maybe a few out of 10 can get good marks, a fixed number MUST be mediocre, and a certain number MUST be useless. So in actual fact hard work doesn’t get rewarded and the message is ‘be mediocre’. Staff turnover is usually 2-3 years. These disillusioned and guys have been known to retaliate by doing stuff to the products. Sadly, despite doing PDCA so many times, they still stick to this bell curve nonsense which other Japanese companies have abandoned so long ago.

• apisgogo (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 8:57 am

honda city is not a comfortable car to begin with.

• alexsincl (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 9:35 am

Most of you seems to be unhappy with the Honda City and prone to compare it with the latest offering in the market such as latio and 308. I understand it is frustrating to pay so much for a car which doesnt need to cost that much. Afterall, this is a Honda we’re talking about. Just like Toyota, Volvo, BMW, Jaguar and Mercedes, they are charging us a premium based on their brand awareness.

When comes to pricing strategy, one have to consider various issues such as reliability (Honda/Mazda is in the 1st and2nd spot when comes to reliability for cars driven after 5 years, according to a report i read previously), security (NCAP, JNCAP, US****), after sales service, resale value and brand awareness.

It is rediculous to compare City with 308 because they are very different. I am sure Pug/Ford will charge you even more when they enjoy Honda’s brand awareness.

As for the “car feel like floating when driven around 160km/h”, I am sure most of the cars behave the same way considering their kerb weight and tyre size. I am driving the latest civic 1.8, the most i can confidently drive is 170km/h. Upon changing the tyres to pirelli, add in origional modulo bodykits and mugen style spoiler, i confidently drive it up to 202km/h on a highway. Don’t ask me where. You can find out the answers from 8thgenerationcivic.

If you’re a bargain hunter, go for proton (cheaper) but more vulnerable. If you’re looking for a balance, a Japanese car will be the right choice. If you’re looking for excitement and driving experience, go for european brand lorr, it depends on affordability only. Golden rule: Always compare apple to apple.

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 9:40 am

alexsincl : bluntly put; we have proton/city bashers that have it imprinted into their minds to worship toyota.

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 9:57 am

i am very tempted to say that the peugeot 308 vti is better than the new city in almost all aspects.

but since 308 is in c segment where civic is and city is only a b segment car, direct comparison between the 308vti and city 1.5e (high-spec model) might be seen as unfair. it is just that the price difference of rm6K (which is a pretty small sum for cars in different segment) ‘allowed’ them to be compare. let me show why.

it is ‘shocking’ to know the huge huge price gap of rm17,300 between 308vti and civic 1.8 (civic is the pricier car here) …. and rm17,800 between 308Turbo and civic2.0 (again, civic is the pricier car here). this is cars in the same segment, mind you.

due to the pricing of the 308 is nearer to the city, this point could be use to compare them. comparing the 308 against the civic.. the huge price gap alone, IMO, make sense to sway the vote to 308. and be surprise on the fact that the 308 is still the higher-spec car than the civic, maybe not in all areas, but in a significant amount of areas (given the huge RM17K price difference).

and lets not getting into the fact that this is Euro vs. Japanese car, where by ‘law’, the euro should be the pricey one.

but i have doubt in my mind that a lot of people would believe that for an extra rm6k, whatever advantage the 308vti have over the city 1.5e high-spec is worth the money, even if its true. even when the 308 is in higher segment. such is the hold ‘H’ have in most of people mind.

alas, persona looks like an acceptable product, but since its a proton, had to ignore it. i’m done with proton.

• vampirex (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 10:07 am

common-sensor said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 12:27 pm

“until you reach about 160km/h where in a straight line you could feel a little nervousness in the car, like your tyre contact patch to the ground wasn’t very large”

Most of the Jap made cars feel floating when reach high speed excess of 160km/h

You wont feel that in conti car especially BMW :)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 11:08 am

I guess you could compare segment to segment, then further breakdown by engine size, body shape (sedan/hatch) but in the end realistically, IMHO the guy with the budget to spend will consider any and every vehicle within his budget and not by the criteria mentioned above. Price-wise I’d say compare City/Vios with the upcoming Forte but I don’t think they can match the CKD (Thai source) pricing favourably.

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 11:16 am

the city may feel less planted on the highway perhaps because it was designed to handle more bad roads rather than highways. in other countries that it is sold, india, thailand and elsewhere, the road conditions may be very different from here and that could explain the floaty feel. a good set of aftermarket suspension should solve it and perhaps better tyres too.

btw, the 206 which is a really old design by now is super stable even at 170kph (i’m not advocating speeding though).

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 11:36 am

Honda R&D benchmarked the VW Jetta and Peugeot 307 when developing the current Civic so that gives you an idea of whom Honda uses as benchmarks/references as far as ‘Ride & Handling’ is concerned.

• riched (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 11:47 am

Assuming everybody here is at age 25, think about what you really need in another 25 years time (that’s age 50) about a car…

Speed? Look? Brand? Whatever it is…

In the end, it’s all about how much you can afford, and what pleases your right foot and doesn’t give you much problem and frequent workshop visits…

Instead of having so much time to talk about the bad things about other manufacturers car/made, etc., why not start your own Car manufacturing company and come out with a car that has all the things everybody likes without all the downsides? (I’m sure nobody will accuse a FREE car given by Rich Dads/Moms…, be it a new city or new proton…) :D

Somebody pay $700 for a decent dinner, a lot others earn $700 a month!

Stop accusing car manufacturers, until unless you or your upcoming business empire can produce one. Even those car manufacturers don’t usually bash each other cause they know it’s easier to say than do…

Don’t buy it if you don’t like it or can’t afford it… that’s all…

At age 50? All I need is a stable car that doesn’t give me problems and bring me from point A to point B, having sufficient room for passengers and cargos, and with brakes that works! :D

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 12:07 pm

topgunthang said,
    February 5, 2009 @ 11:49 pm

i dont like kia. but if they can price the 2.0litre kia forte/cerato at 80k. then i think would be a nice blow to honda and toyota and almost will kil proton. if im not wrong the output is same as the civic sport if not more.

at that price the cerato kills any proton assuming

i’m not sure where you’re coming from, but i cannot imagine a RM80k kia killing off any proton. you mean a person thinking of buying a sub RM30k saga will change his mind and buy this RM80k kia?

what about a potential persona buyer at RM50k, will he suddenly turn 180degs, and foot out another RM30k extra to buy the Rm80k kia?

also, why would it take a 2.0litre korean car at RM80k to kill off proton, when japanese cars at RM80k have not killed off proton?
    if what you said is true, proton will not be selling any cars at all today, 0 sales, and everyone will already be driving a vios and city.

dont forget also, just because its a 2.0litre at 1.5litre jap car price level, doesnt mean that person wants a 2.0 litre, let alone a korean car. its not as simple as that. on paper it might make sense, but in the minds of actual buyers, the power of the japanese brands will still win overall, especially in our market.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 12:19 pm

Forte has a 124PS 1.6L engine. They won’t intro the 2.0L when big brother Hyundai’s Elantra 2.0L is already in-country. 2.0L will probably come in on the KOUP.

• xstan (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 1:35 pm

hey anyone saw identical rear of the new Ford which paultan just updated. Soooo identical to City 3g.

Hhhmm…. I think I decided to get Altis 1.6 over the expensive pug. Nevertheless…Nasim also admited the after sales parts or sort will be very very expensive for the Pug. Well u might get it cheap now…money loosing latter.

BTW, I own Persona & City & drive co’s Waja. I would agree stable ride on highway for the Protons but not good handling in city…the steering its darn heavy. parking at ease for the City car. Anyway, hardly use highway, thus City my choice since best FC for its segment. Conclude..City is friendly to urban drive , while protons good for highway run.

• xstan (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 1:44 pm

To add…

I drove colleague’s Latio 1.6L A frm Ipoh to KL & return trip. With boss & other colleaque..would say, I was glad I didnt get the car instead. My back passenger complaint shitless…as 1 vomitted. the rest hated it it was blooooody Bumpy. Too firm for comfort. BTW, my leg actually ache just for 3 hours drive…its like the seat is short or something. It may be comofrt at start. This is totally unlike City. Add…its dash rattles. Anyway, its good handling for me as Driver.

It was one of my option back then between CT & Latio after dropping off disspointed then launch Vios 3G. Its blooooody & harsh engine. hated the interior design & the body is out of proportion , just ike mamoth Dugong. But then it suit ladies. Fuss free.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 1:56 pm

not sure why so many people are so worried with the interior quality……i have a city 07 (idsi )model….interior still good….but ofcourse 2 years wont tell you anything…no worries though….also the (electronic steering) which some of you thought of as being poor at giving feedback as opposed to the hydraulic system is a safety feature, in case got engine prob or somthing..but even that is unlikely for a honda. loved the little smart touches within this car..some of you are also comparing this to the 308.dont know too much about 308s but id like to know the difference in cargo capacity can anyone tell?

• kamisama-alex (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 1:58 pm

Honda City is tuned for relax city driving. It is not meant for drag race and highway speeding. From my own point of view, Honda goes for space, bold design and economical driving while Toyota goes for comfort and conventional design/ideas.

It seems to me, most of the youngsters will go for Proton (Fast and Low Price) and Honda (Nice and slightly pricey) while those in their 30’s will go for Toyota. While the cash rich will go for Audi, BMW, VW and Mercedes.

If I have extra money to spend, I will go for Audi A4 or Mercedes C class. Hehehe … although they might not be the best in the class, they have class!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 2:23 pm

xstan – “Nevertheless…Nasim also admited the after sales parts or sort will be very very expensive for the Pug. Well u might get it cheap now…money loosing latter.”

Where did you get this? Very very expensive? Which parts, in comparison with what? Please enlighten as we sure wouldn’t wanna be loosing latter.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 2:32 pm

xstan;
    hi..haha a friendly opposition of opinion..city rear not identical to ford lar..they both got the “convex/ducktail ” look but are fundamentally quite different..haha small matter..

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 2:33 pm

oops correction……. “concave/ducktail”

• xstan (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 2:36 pm

Where did you get this? Very very expensive? Which parts, in comparison with what? Please enlighten as we sure wouldn’t wanna be loosing latter.
    ———————————————————–

Read it last Sunday’s NST CBT or was it Star Motoring.
    I remember he comented ..not to worry as its servicing period is different from other car & its longer lasting, despite much expensive parts & components. Something like that…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Expensive parts and components in the context of using them in production and manufacturing (as opposed to cheap parts)? Who is ‘He’? He didn’t say ‘very very’ expensive parts pricing right?

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 3:25 pm

hidrogentank,

your old city is much better than the new one. my friends have the old city (the guppy shape one) and they agree that the previous generation model is much better.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 3:57 pm

i used to have 2 cities in my family. i had a 2003 model(sold off coz CVT box was dying) and my mum has a 2007 model.

although some stuff on the older model is good(love those ultra seats), probably better economy also(had the i-dsi), but overall, there are more improvements in the new car that makes me have to say, the new model is definitely the better car overall.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 4:09 pm

lowprofile;
    LOL!!

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 4:33 pm

i agree too having sat in my friends car just yesterday. much more spacious due to higher roof and larger windows (which give airy feeling) hahahaha, looks like the old city will still have good resale!!

• CFA28 (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 5:55 pm

As someone who owns a French Car and know some ppl who own other brands of Continental cars, my humble advise is for the average Joe to buy a Japanese car over French or other Continental brands (save for the German brands and perhaps Volvo).

Japanese are famous for making fuel efficient and reliable cars. The Americans are famous for making Big Muscle Cars and the Italians are famous for making performance / fast cars and the French, famous for making “safe cars”. Based on a limited budget, there is only so much the car manufacturers can do and the above statement is generally true. Whist this means that the City may not be not as safe as a 307, it also means that the 307 is not as reliable (and fuel efficient) as the City.

As it is, finding a good and honest mechanic for Japanese cars is already hard enough for some. Finding a good and honest mechanic for a French car is really a challenge. Sure, for the first 3-years under warranty, you can always take it back to the authorised service centre, which by the way, also has its fair share of complains. But what about after the warranty period? Take it to most mechanics and they will say “Soli Taukay, ini kereta tak tahu buat”. Also, most mechanics will not stock up on French spare parts, so you will have to BYO, unless the mechanic specialises in French cars and keeps stock. Not so convenient for the lazy owners.

You might say that you can find a trusted mechanic (like me) but what if your car breaks down in some god forsaken place. When this happens, your best friend will be AAM. True, French cars give you a more luxurious feel and the parts last longer, but a car is only good car when you have ease of service at a reasonable price.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not putting down French cars, just giving you my personal opinion.
    If you love and know how to take care and appreciate cars, you can consider the 307 but if its reliability, fuel efficiency and peace of mind, get the City. The same goes for the comparison between the Peugeot 407 vs Camrys and Accords and why the Japanese sell much better than the 407 despite the specs and pricing of the 407.

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 11:01 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop

sorry man. i was thinking in terms of the australian prices. the kia costs about 1k aud more than the persona which is not alot for quite a lot more car. even if you consider both to be built badly, my pick will still go to the kia. its no wonder why so many proton dealers switching brands. the kia/hyundai duo will dominate the market segment where proton is while taking a good slice of the corolla/civic/lancer market.

in malaysia i beleive it will be kia forte/cerato against vios/city. im hoping since they can price it sub20k aud in aust then maybe 85-100k RM in malaysia. from my point of view the peugeot does buck the trend coming in at 32k aud but only 114k rm in msia. whereas civic sport is 29k aud but 120k rm. though its CKD so still need to wait for reviews.

tax advantage of proton is its lifeline. there is no doubt about that. either that or all the other brands are charging too much. and therefore we need more competition from other brands to bring the price down. lancer ckd was good. peugeot ckd even better.

• Carz (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 12:06 am

KIA/ Hyundai no BUY.. low resale value.. poor quality.. expensive spare parts.. etc..

• williamcarz (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:07 am

I think this design is very nice, have M3 design for rear , Europe civic front, and bigger car space then the previous city design, why most ppl have to pick on small mistake such as the aircond control button , or the sit cant fold like previous..did anyone found out the new city rear sit can be push backward about 15 cm, this is a very good benefit for rear passenger that feel tired with fixed seat and mp3 player , 120hp @ 6600rpm and the best is i-vtec engine, adjustable steering, umbrella holder is very good, cos I always dun know where to hide it or put in the trunk will be difficult to take while raining. The extra 5k expensive then previous is to buy the design,the comfort, the look that every envy about, the look that cos more then the price. I will sure buy this car and it have to be black with extra ordinary feel….haha cheers city.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:08 am

city ? better take civic or accord…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:11 am

agree , korean cars oso terrible to drive , absolutly noting stands out…and thrs always that part wer it can break down any min , n always ready for heavy repair bills….help me god not buy korean cars til i pass away peacefully!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:17 am

On what basis? My company car is an Optima. I’ve been driving it since 2005 with no breakdowns or issues. It’s as tough as nails and has endured 3 morons hitting it from behind with negligible damage. Its more stable at high speeds compared to an Accord. I’ve also compared parts for fleet purchase of the new Optima vs Accord and Camry. Guess which is the cheapest? The Optima’s fuel filter is even cheaper than that of a Ford Laser TX3 not to mention Accord and Camry! Build quality is also much better.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:29 am

based on kia specra and citra…

• Ey_3AT (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 3:03 am

ermm.. i’m wondering.. when the new vios will come 2 Malaysia..?? & can the new vios beat this new Honda City..??

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 7:47 am

I’d compare to current Kia models please. My friend has an EK and he just had to replace the front suspension bushings. It cost a bomb! My brother is using an EF Civic and it seems to be going into the workship every 2-3 months for a repair bill of 600 or more. Every two years get ready for 1500-2000 for suspension bushings. Honda parts are NOT cheap. Have you checked out a Toyota Hilux turbocharger? RM8000 dude. I think a lot of the stuff people post and gossip about are due to perceptions and no one has done an apple-to-apple comparison. Autocar UK and India used to have very good parts pricing comparisons. I’ve never seen any publication in Malaysia do it, so we always depend on hearsay and gossip.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 9:18 am

The first thing you do before deciding which car to buy is a useful tool called a mirror. Then its the wallet. Next is your potential to be still in employment for the duration of your loan tenure.

Mirror
    If you are like 80% of KL-PJlites, and 100% of Singaporeans. You will buy a Toyota coz you are a non car person and you’d like to wear branded wear and make sure everyone know’s you are wearing one. Plus your shirt, trousers, socks and polka dot boxers would be prominently displaying the letter T in strategic areas.

Wallet
    If you would like to participate in making bankers (the same people who brought us this mess) the highest paid employees in the world while make tons of money for themselves and leave you gasping for air before payday, you would buy a Toyota.

Job Security
    If you are a government servant working for the right boss, who’d still be in power tomorrow, you will dump your locally produced Perdana and buy a Toyota. :) Sorry Nizar, couldn’t help it, I just HAD to do this.

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 7:55 pm

This City is too sluggish for my liking..

• Carz (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 10:20 pm

*ermm.. i’m wondering.. when the new vios will come 2 Malaysia..?? & can the new vios beat this new Honda City..??*

what d u mean new vios?

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 12:24 pm

im struggling to think how t-shirts etc branded toyota are counted as branded clothes by these kl ites and singaporean. i think its more associated with the bmw/audi crowd.

i think bankers dont make much money off thiscurrent economic crises. its the rich who will make the most though they’e suffered the biggest losses(apart from middle class), they are also lined up to profit the most once everything gets back on track. and bankers will still be bankers paid salary by the bank unless they help the rich hide money etc.

i wish we had more cars in msia to discuss about. its always honda toyota proton

• king (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 3:12 am

topgunthang said,
    February 8, 2009 @ 12:24 pm

im struggling to think how t-shirts etc branded toyota are counted as branded clothes by these kl ites and singaporean. i think its more associated with the bmw/audi crowd.

i think bankers dont make much money off thiscurrent economic crises. its the rich who will make the most though they’e suffered the biggest losses(apart from middle class), they are also lined up to profit the most once everything gets back on track. and bankers will still be bankers paid salary by the bank unless they help the rich hide money etc.

i wish we had more cars in msia to discuss about. its always honda toyota proton

_____

got one more you forget…perodua

• king (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 3:17 am

korean cars have come a long way and improved tremendously in the recent years…the japanese better watch out if they still continue sleeping and produce facelift after facelift…(you know who you are)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 9:09 am

When you compare parts prices it has to be done carefully. There are DISTRIBUTOR BRANCHES, DEALERS & STOCKISTS, STOCKISTS who get their stock from I-don’t-know-where, GENERIC PARTS and FAKE PARTS. So there are at least 4 different levels of parts prices, not including POTONG KERETA. So, you have to compare within the correct segment otherwise there’ll be a disparity due to which segment you got the parts pricing from, and doesn’t reflect real life situations.

I believe the new City is more like a major re-skin of the previous platform, according to some people. Sadly previously Honda owners could imagine they had a bit of F1 engineering at their fingertips and VTEC was an industry leader. These days CVVT/Valvetronic engines from competitors can smoke VTEC in terms of power/torque and fuel consumption so that ‘magic’ doesn’t really exist anymore. Furthermore there’s no road-going SiR spec these days.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 9:57 am

maibatsu_thunder said,
    February 9, 2009 @ 9:09 am

I believe the new City is more like a major re-skin of the previous platform, according to some people.
    —————————

a reskin? thats one of the most ridiculous things i’ve heard. whoever those people are, they are completely wrong. just because they think its a reskin doesnt make them right.

vtec is also a broadterm.. if you want to mention vtec, you will need to mention the engine in the TypeR as well. or maybe you should mention what CVVT/Valvetronic engines can smoke a “VTEC”, because a 2.5 litre CVVT engine can definitely smoke a 1.5litre VTEC engine, but thats not a fair comparison of course.

• riched (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 12:38 pm

maibatsu_thunder said,
    February 9, 2009 @ 9:09 am

These days CVVT/Valvetronic engines from competitors can smoke VTEC in terms of power/torque and fuel consumption so that ‘magic’ doesn’t really exist anymore.

Hello guys out there, get a superlicense and be any racing car driver… smoking others and being smoked doesn’t matter anymore and what matters is to stay alive after each race…

Besides, I’m sure everybody has ‘someone’ at home waiting for you for a dinner. Precious your life and refrain from [over using your right foot at the right most pedal]. :)

• dzat46 (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 1:11 pm

Wisdom said,
    February 7, 2009 @ 7:55 pm

This City is too sluggish for my liking..

—————————————————————

Honda, u need to bring back the idsi engine….ths i-vtec is power is too top heavy & not soo gud for everyday drive(boy racer will luv to rev ths engine but not everybdy would want to rev 5k-6k rpm everyday will kill yr fc)..we need more torque at low rpm…or better, bring those superb diesel cdti…for sure will cure ths current sluggish engine…

• jebat (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 2:48 pm

Hi e’body,

Newbie here..keep my eyes on this City since 2007 and plan to buy it since then, but when comes the 3rd Gen, need to do back the homework. And finally got some weakness of it from the forummers here:

1) Sluggishness & Loudness of Engine
    2) Plasticky of interior
    3) Absent of Auto Lock (which risk the fuel lid to be open by motorist)
    4) Floating issue (is it?) coz of tyre profile (or the allignment?)
    5) A bit expensive from 2nd Gen.

But still intend to buy it this Feb. But need all of expert advise here to convince me that the additional RM30k is worth to me. FYI, now i’m driving Wira (2003). i’m not really heavy footed but in KL, my speed is 90-100kmh (when possibe) and H/W speed is 140-160kmh. My worries is whether this City can beat my Wira in terms of all above issues? My wira start to be floated above 160kmh, which my tyre profile is now 195/50/R15, Yoko-Parada, Work S/Rims. FC around 12.5km/l (KL) and 13.5-15km/l (h/w)

Alarms system upgraded to Wheel’s alarm which comes with ultrasonic sensor that same as this City had. FYI, this alarms system can lock the door without activate the u/sonic sensor! Meaning that when u step the foot brake, the auto lock system lock all the door but the u/sonic sensor still off so that u can drive and have any movement in the car witout trigering the alarm. i wonder if we can install aftermarket foot brake device system in this new City without disturb its stock alarm system? This will settle the no 3 issue above. Any body expert to clarify?

And from my experience using the same u/sonic sensor technology, you’ll need to keep your car from any movement when the alarm system is in activated mode, even the fly or ant can triggered it! So be prepared to spray the Ridsect when u Balik Kampung. But the beauty of it, u’ll not need the shock sensor detector. U just need to hang ur office pass or anything at the center mirror (we called it back mirror eh?..),then when s’one intend to jack ur car, the alarm will triggered bcoz of the pass will swingging as the result of the jacking action.

Again, need a’body advise b4 i book the City in this 1-2 weeks time.

• SCion (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Interior of HC looked plasticky??It’s same as TV wat…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 10:18 pm

The Type R K20 is an i-VTEC. I’m talking about the 1.5L VTEC in the City context. A dual CVVT 2.0L GEMA will outperform an i-VTEC K20 these days, sadly. If you’re a Honda fan don’t worry about SiR and VTEC as it’s in my blood. Please be clear that I’m saying is not racing madly on the road or any moronic thing like that. It means smokin as in the context of outperforming, in daily driving. You use a plow horse for plowing a field, and a race horse for racing a race. Can’t use one horse for the job of the other.

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 10:32 pm

jebat :

1) the engine “feels” sluggish but by all means it isnt sluggish. it drives fast but the feeling of driving fast isn’t there thats all. Once you on the radio, you wont hear the “loud” engine (it’s not loud anyway).

2) honestly which japanese make doesn’t seem plasticky? OH NO! OMG! TOYOTA INTERIOR IS SOOOOO LUXURIOUS.

3) absence of auto lock should be able to be rectified by visiting your trusted accessory shop.

4) i’ve said this before. the city was meant to be driven in the city with some degree of compromise in highway driving, thus the name of CITY. i personally drive a waja and doing 170 still feels rock solid. crusing on the highway at 120-140 is comfortable enough in the city. the floaty feeling comes because the back of the car feels heavy like a hatch back would behave.

5) 30k is much more exp than a persona. if you dont mind the branding, go for something cheaper. proton cars no matter how ppl bash, its still a good handling car.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:05 am

love this car, better than proton

• internity (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 3:26 am

Paul was right, i just done the test drive of the new city, and small roads, driving around 50km/h,. the car seem to be perfect,.
    but once going to highway,.
    gosh,. seem like the engine is trying hard to push the car forward,.
    like paul said,. a campro like engine sounds,.
    i dont know u guys, but a $90k car give u that kind of sound?
    I would say not worth it,
    and cant believe how it reach 6,000 sales mark in a month? All the test drive just done in car yard? haha

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:18 am

internity,

i was just as ‘surprise’ when Honda M’sia (HM) announced the figure.

but not because of the rather high number of booking, but how “confident these epople are with their future prospects” at this very bleak economy conditions and didn’t they know the City is ridicilously overprice for a CKD (no import tax) with most parts made-in-thai (less taxes = cheaper) and there are many better alternatives out there currently?

the high price is all for sake of HM maintaining & increase profit (due to Yen is raising and raising now)*** and the need to defending and maintain the ‘artificially-enhanced’ honda resale value.

FYI, below is the snapshot of approximately how many RM is need to have 100 yen over 7 years. the higher the RM figure the worse it is for us, the consumer, as it should make Japanese products more expensive. Actual bank TT rates or physical notes rates is slightly higher as the figures is interpreted from BNM website).

Note how drastic the exchange rates worsen starting September 2008 and as such, still affect Feb 2009 exchange rates. It might get worse.. So far the yen has increased 33% over the ringgit in the last 12 months (this all started 5 months back, to be exact).

with such horrible rates, Japanese company like Honda had to raise price as much as possible (minimum to the percentage of RM/JPY rates increment) to at least retain previous profit percentage, assuming sale/revenue is stagnant . If not, that’s mean small profit per car sold. HM might be in the black no matters what in 2009, but the goals here is that they need to make huge profit to support the flagging Honda worldwide sale. They need to contribute positively to the parent company. and the sure way to do this, is to increase price, moreover when the exchange rate factors are ‘unkind’ to them.

Feb 2002 ~ RM 2.8
    Feb 2003 ~ RM 3.2
    Feb 2004 ~ RM 3.6
    Feb 2005 ~ RM 3.6
    Feb 2006 ~ RM 3.2
    Feb 2007 ~ RM 2.9
    Feb 2008 ~ RM 3.0
    Dec 2008 ~ RM 3.9
    Feb 2009 ~ RM 4.0

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:23 am

Its 6000 bookings right? Not registered, on-the-road sales.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:26 am

Intermilan – but City is CKD Thailand. It’s not even sold in Japan. Does HMSB pay for the City in JPY, THB or USD?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 12:31 pm

internity said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 3:26 am

Paul was right, i just done the test drive of the new city, and small roads, driving around 50km/h,. the car seem to be perfect,.

_________________________________-

could also be due to insufficient run-in of the engine. i usually find most engines only start to “open-up” after min 2000km on the clock, and best after 5000km.

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 1:47 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 12:31 pm

internity said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 3:26 am

_________________________________-

could also be due to insufficient run-in of the engine. i usually find most engines only start to “open-up” after min 2000km on the clock, and best after 5000km.
    ——————————-
    And usually as the engine parts loosen up….. so is the suspension parts, bushing, damping material etc

And the car start to feel old already……

• Carz (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 9:44 pm

me planning to buy a car.. either VIOS .. CITY.. PERSONA…
    which one to BUY? need ur guys advise..

based on my observation:

VIOS: TOYOTA is reliable.. so no fears of breakdown.. but technology is out dated.. same engine as previous VIOS.. interior is a bit boring.. RM2.5K discount

HONDA: highest spec.. like the paddle shift.. but I heard they are a bit
    Manja.. not reliable as TOYOTA… high maintainence cost? gulp..

PERSONA: the only thing i can think is SAVE money.. so can keep a bit for the rainy days..

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:22 am

the city is priced just 1000aud less than a civic in aust. thats about rm2500. either australians are overcharged for a cheap SEA jazz or malaysians are overcharged for a civic.

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:30 am

topgunthang said,
    February 8, 2009 @ 12:24 pm

_____

got one more you forget…perodua

——————————-
    i group it with proton. i ignore both

• James007 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 9:22 pm

I find Paul Tan’s review of the new Honda City’s ride as “comfortable” is simply ridiculous and biased. I have test-drived the car on two occassions at different dealer outlets and found the ride to be terribly uncomfortable. I, my wife and son felt a little dizzy and shake-up after some 5 mins drive along Penang’s Jelutong Expressway and FTZ coastal road. Both stretch of roads are considered to be quite smooth compared to the Georgetown city area where the ride was even bumpier. All of us could feel our body and head shaking from left to right, the flesh on our hands and legs were visibly vibrating with the car’s vibration. I had in fact been waiting to order this car but the test drives really changed everything. I drive a Toyota VIOS. Try it out for comfort’s sake !

• Paul Tan on Feb 12, 2009 at 1:48 am

You are free to say whatever you want but for the record I never said the City was comfort-biased, I said it has a good balance between comfort and handling. Anyway I hope you enjoy your Vios. Ultimately it’s not realistic to buy a car based on test drive reviews alone which is why at the end of my story I suggested readers to go try it personally and see if the car’s characteristics suit you. Have a nice day.

• xstan (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 9:39 am

Just tat when I took my new car back then (G2)..the tyre pressure was 280psi…it was bloody bumpy. Howver it was immediatdely rectified.

Then my fellow fren who took his new City i-VTEC b4 CNY…also found that his high pressure tyre also 280psi result to his uncomfortable drive. Now he can tell u how proud & sooooo comfortable his car is.

Trust me some test drive car has extremely high tyre pressure…don believe , check ur pressure upon taking ur new car.

Anyway..City rides is little firm.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:49 pm

Carz said,

February 10, 2009 @ 9:44 pm

based on my observation:

VIOS: TOYOTA is reliable.. so no fears of breakdown.. but technology is out dated.. same engine as previous VIOS.. interior is a bit boring.. RM2.5K discount

PERSONA: the only thing i can think is SAVE money.. so can keep a bit for the rainy days..—————-
    —————————————————
    save the money and buy a second hand bmw 5 series

• I don;t think so Honda will want to close their shop by produce the LJ car?

• JakeGee on Feb 13, 2009 at 1:40 pm

Went for the test drive. Interior is pretty cramped, both front and rear.. the roof side seem to have a nasty habit of hitting our heads. Plasticy interior makes one drool over the soft touch pug308.. the seats seem to be pretty thick for such a cramped car.

The engine is defenitely i-vtec.. ie intelligent version. However from the short intake, small air filter and a snout INSIDE the engine compartment, we suspect the torque will suffer badly, especially in hot weather..which is proven on a test drive.

The test drive was ok, ride comfort is acceptable, but the engine seems to have no tourque at all. Paddle shifting gets abit used to.. but seems to generate more annoyance than actual pleasure. You’ll really need to get it hot, noisy & bothered and revving at 5k to get any meaningful kick out of it.. Playing the paddle shifter on such a ‘motorbike engine’ feels like I’m wearing an Armani suit over a cheap morning glory t-shirt. The vios has loads more torque, but then, so do many other cars..

Boot space is good though.. bigger than Accord.. prob 2 golf bags.. hence the joke “this car is for short, pufty golfers..”

My 6 feet tall brother was dissed.. cos it hits high marks in certain areas (like looks) but fails..miserably in others like interior space. Even the saga blm have a more enjoyable ride.. mind you..confort is very related to interior space.

Salesman wasn’t that enthusiastic, other than putting on a smug attitude, seem to be holding back certain details.. (Honda’s sales team behave like the Masters of the Universe). His manager was a little insulting actually, reminding us.. loudly from a previous session on the Accord testdrive (we bought a 2009 pug407 instead).

Japanese yen has risen 30%, it is inevitable that Honda have to sacrifice certain things even if they maintain the expensive selling price. A motortrader nearby indicates not too favourable 2nd hand City price compared to vios.. perhaps it has to do with the CVT transmission.

Suggest you try out pug308, and the Kia offerings before making up your mind.. at RM86k, we’re not too desperate nowadays due to to many choices..and malaysians finally equating price more closely to specs & feel rather than ‘good resale value’

Paul, your review seems to be a bit, err… too positive in my opinion. Perhaps a compromised impartiality this time?

Paul Tan says: That’s very insulting. I reported everything I experienced without influence. If I was paid I wouldn’t mentioned the dissatisfactory engine. Your bad experience was mostly due to bad salesperson attitude?

As for your complaints about a cramped interior, I did not feel it was cramped and even included a photo of what the rear headroom is like! Mind you the person in the photo is 181cm tall!

I believe Honda is really fucking up with their showroom test drive cars this time, I strongly suspect all the tyre pressures at the showrooms are seriously off, am very puzzled why I’ve been accused of lying about the ride comfort multiple times when everyone at the journo test drive had no complaints about it.

• xstan on Feb 13, 2009 at 2:06 pm

Strange…& very suspecting on all this comments about Unspaciouness. All media reviws be it overeas praise for its wide & improved space of the City , especially its much spacious with better comfortable ride then Vios. Me 5’11” (close to 6′) has no problem wirth headroom both front & rear…but certainly big problem if I seat at the rear of Vios. I bloooody hit my head at Vios…why no comment on this.
    It is certainly much wider space then the G2 City as I tested it side by side wih the onwner of G3 City…& he is obviously taller then me much more with no complaint at all.
    Comfort is top notch ..although did complaint when 1st took the vehicle as the tyre pressure was ridiculously high.
    As a matter of fact..driving on Vios is harsh & course with engine noise intrude into the interior…much more even having not reving it. Even its air-cond can be heard some breathing sound. Vios got good leg room but headroom SUCKS BIG IME.
    BTW…does he know the rear seats of City is reclineble to give extra RELAXATION. ONLY REAL OWNERS OF CITY G3 WILL ABLE TO CONFIRM HOW COMFORTABLE CITY IS…not some Vios driver.

Anyway….they are to thier opinion & it is likely as they are fan of Toyota or in promote of certain car.

• JakeGee on Feb 13, 2009 at 2:16 pm

HI xstan

We have tried pushing down the rear seat (its a square plastic lever behind your head) to maximum, but still our heads hit the deck over bumps. Perhaps the ‘plush’ uphostery may have taken up all the interior space. Mind you, we are 182cm and 179cm high.

One really have to review the car in real world conditions.. away from the ‘prepped’ cars, glitz, drinks and press goody bags.

Regs

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 3:29 pm

jakegee : I’m 6′ 3″ and i have no such problem in the back seat nor the front seats. Perhaps your driver goes over speed humps at 100kmh.

the only issue i have is the damn fuel tank taking up the space underneath the driver seats.

• klchia7 (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:07 pm

Paul Tan says: That’s very insulting. I reported everything I experienced without influence. If I was paid I wouldn’t mentioned the dissatisfactory engine. Your bad experience was mostly due to bad salesperson attitude?

As for your complaints about a cramped interior, I did not feel it was cramped and even included a photo of what the rear headroom is like! Mind you the person in the photo is 181cm tall!

I believe Honda is really fucking up with their showroom test drive cars this time, I strongly suspect all the tyre pressures at the showrooms are seriously off, am very puzzled why I’ve been accused of lying about the ride comfort multiple times when everyone at the journo test drive had no complaints about it.

—————————————————————

Hi Paul, there are many ppl who like to accused and criticize the new Honda City, which puzzled me a lot too, maybe this will satisfy them in a kind of weird way ?

• klchia7 (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:21 pm

This is a n good article comparing the new Vios and the New i-vtec City.

http://bangkokpost.net/281108_Motoring/28Nov2008_motor62.php

• xstan on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:36 pm

Exactly….as tall as 6’3″ also no problem. I’m only shorter by 4″..but translate to close 1.8 m , I guess.
    Nevertheless, Ular Saw the design of fuel tank below the driver seat is a good clever thing as it allows spaces at the rear seats compartment . thus its a clever thing as it allows u to hide ur shows, umbrella & best of all…ladies with shopping bags shove in & offer freeway movement on legs.
    Previous G2 model , this clever design allows Ultra Seat position.

I tested both G2 & G3 City..the driver side on G3 is certainly WIDE. I cant rest my arm well as in G3 due to its wideness. I gotta lean far to a side..& the door curve out alowing good arm rest.
    To conclude..its the most spacious car of its class. too bad I didnt drive my sis car over for comparison but nonetheless..My City G2 is already sligth more spacious then Vios, what more compare to G3 unit.

DEFINATELY ITS NOT CRAMPED..unless u compare to Civic / Altis segment.

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 5:15 pm

xstan : hmmm, i’m more in favor of the G2 ultra seats. anyway, got to say this. i’m more used to driving cars with bigger fuel tanks. the G3 city has a fuel tank of around 42 L.

anyway, i dont think its a wise comparison but the waja is a more spacious car that the vios/city.

• xstan on Feb 13, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Sorry to say I have to disagree with teh statment that Waja interior are much spacious then G3 City & Vios.

Take note..both the car do not has the huge hump at the rear of the Waja. City has close to flat floor design. The huge hump trully hinder the movement of tigh or leg of the centre person.

Leg room of the Waja is not as good as 3G City/Vios…I know coz I’m driving Co’s Waja.

• jebat (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Hi all,

Thanx Ularsawa for ur feedback/answer. Honeslty i’m not toyota/honda fanatic. i’ve use proton for almost 6 years and and very satisfied with it. Normal la, it still hav some unsatifaction but i can say 80% satisfy 20% not. And now it seems proton have done many development in engine tech as well as the comfortness area. Agree wit u, handling in Waja, yup it’s superb. i’m also clock 170kmh.

But switching to City is rather to gain experience in Honda brand. Vios seems not attactive in design. IMO, both is good and have their unique features, but Vios failed at the design. Thats what drag me more to City. For previous Vios, yup d design can be acceptable. 2nd Gen city’s design really weird,but it still keep my attention in its FC point (IDSI).

Finally,this evening i’ve just book the City E Spec. Blue color, will be johor plate. i know u all love the black, but i think that blue is unique only for this City. if not mistaken, only Jazz got blue color but its sort of pale blue. Black can be found at all Honda car (except type r civic?). The next 5-6 years might switch to toyota to get other new experience. But please dont make the dugong style anymore. Otherwise will switch to Mitsubishi (Lancer GT?).

Anyone who already own this New City, i would like to share ur experience and any problem found in it before i get this car (probably in May?). This way of probelm sharing will quicken my learning process to adapt with its character.

Cheers

• so, in terms of design the new city wins hands down… but, in terms of driving & performance.. which one is better? which one gives the extra ” driving xperience”?

• Nope, they love PMM

• chubs2 on Feb 14, 2009 at 12:03 am

Hi jebat & everyone,

What’s the interest rate at the momment when u guys booking the cars?Recently (2days ago), my SA told its down to 2.67% (which is from PB). Anyone care to share their rate? Due to world economic downturn,will the interest rate be decreasing again until it reaches let say 2.3% by this midyear?,Any opinion guys?

Honda Fan.CivicEF2

• ccc2025 on Feb 14, 2009 at 3:56 am

New city driver here… Blue E-Spec, reach 2700+km today. so far so good. moderate steering feel, good in urban drive/parking, less stable in highway>130km/h (seldom do this). More power in S mode/Paddle shift for pick up/cutting. Nice roaring sound when pedal press, silence when cruising. NVH OK. Max. FC 17.5 km/l, current 16 km/l for 80%h/w. Firm suspension, a bit bumpy, less comfort , less sharp cornering than Vios but less noisy engine than Vios. Less A/C power than Proton car. Like: 1.) EXT/INT design even plasticy, nice curve everywhere. 2.) Responsive engine/steering, great manual drive in S/paddle shift 3.) Good FC for A/T, can I expect more for 1.5L engine? 4.) More room for leg/head/boot, especially incline rear seat, more relax for long distance travel. 5.) Useful remote audio control. 6.) less CO emission. Dislike: 1.) No auto lock… void warranty if add-in somewhere else. 2.) Less stable steering in h/w. 3.) no remote opener/smaller boot entry… need to be careful to load things

• Kevin on Feb 16, 2009 at 8:23 pm

The City is very fine for an entry level car. As long as the plastic does not break or fall-out.

Honda engines are quite good maybe it's the auto trans that is holding back the power delivery or torque converter trying to provide smoother changes.

The floaty feeling at high speed(definitly above approved limits) could be due to shock absorber set-up. Entry level car uses entry level absorbers, makes sense.

Have been driving a City since 1997 and after a decade, stopped feeling short changed as it has been quite reliable overall.

The new buyers are pretty lucky to have such a fine ride at below RM 90k.

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 10:01 pm

xstan : on the waja v city issue, its a chicken and egg story. its a personal feeling. its like when i climb into a civic i feel that its really really cramp in there (cluttered feeling?)

jebat : you will learn as you go. I just dont like where you have to put the gear into P before letting you take the bloody key out.

• CFA28 on Feb 16, 2009 at 11:28 pm

xstan said,

February 13, 2009 @ 6:35 pm

Sorry to say I have to disagree with teh statment that Waja interior are much spacious then G3 City & Vios.

Take note..both the car do not has the huge hump at the rear of the Waja. City has close to flat floor design. The huge hump trully hinder the movement of tigh or leg of the centre person.

Leg room of the Waja is not as good as 3G City/Vios…I know coz I’m driving Co’s Waja.

= = =

Xstan, there was a guy in the Autoworld forum that even said that the Waja was more spacious than the Civic. He was quite firm on that view and claimed that even Civic salesmen agreed. Different prespective from different ppl perhaps.

• xstan on Feb 17, 2009 at 12:46 am

Wuahahaha….biggest joke. Tat guy must be very proud owner of Waja comparing space of Civic. Tat's his perspective.

Mine stay as City is still spacious in consideration of close flat floor & ample leg & head room. G2 City totally has this ample undercarriage & practical space for bags/shoes/umbrella..in fact allows free leg movement all the way. It has much more space if its folded with its clever ultra seats arrangement.

I can easily compare the City with Waja , as it was co's pool car, or Persona (wifey) & G3 Vios (my sis). When u come to spaciouness..City G2 is the largest of its class taking into consideration of its clever Ultra Seats folding, if none owner actually understand how it works.

• ularsawa (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 12:51 am

xstan : its the perception of space. for say the civic is a larger car, but the point of there being so many gadgets and stuff (thick seats bla bla) makes it "feel" smaller.

i own a waja. loupoh a G3 city. sitting 6 in the car with 4 at the back, it is slighty comfier in the waja.

not looking for a fight here. but its the perception of size in the waja v city.

• also the size of your four in the car must also consider.

buy the car who suite you, not you suite the car….ahhahahah

• CFA28 on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:19 am

guys, I was always under the impression that:

Civic is bigger (more spacious) than Waja

City is bigger than Vios

Waja is bigger than City

However boot space, the City could be bigger than Waja but in terms of interior space, the Waja is wider and has a longer wheelbase. Just comparing based on specs.

• jebat (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:13 am

chubs2 said,

February 14, 2009 @ 12:03 am

Hi jebat & everyone,

What’s the interest rate at the momment when u guys booking the cars?Recently (2days ago), my SA told its down to 2.67% (which is from PB). Anyone care to share their rate? Due to world economic downturn,will the interest rate be decreasing again until it reaches let say 2.3% by this midyear?,Any opinion guys?

Honda Fan.CivicEF2

Ans: It was 2.7% at that time. But i think its gonna decrease more in future..just like u already got i.e. 2.67%. As u'll know, my SA said that when d car comes in May she'll try to get the lowest % (if that time is much lower from now).

klchia7 said,

February 13, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

Hi Paul, there are many ppl who like to accused and criticize the new Honda City, which puzzled me a lot too, maybe this will satisfy them in a kind of weird way ?

ans: Normal la..when one's is good, ppl try to denied it. Dengki maa.. its like Ahmoi who have a good figure,pretty, and ppl will love her,try to be her BF but then all the girls will jelous and saying "huh, i'm more prettier than her".

p/s: go on with the Waja , Civic, City & Vios 'quarrel'. For me it's good so that the readers can analyze thoroughly, not just simply buy certain car without knowing the pros & cons of it. And it send the message to the Honda, Toyota & Proton that ur car is 'famous' but u need to fix the complaints arise/mention here.

Cheers

• hi there..

waja feels bigger than civic? common laaaa.. look outside u already know that civic is bigger… no need to be rocket saintist.. urgghhhh… waja has

so many flaws.. ie supposed to be power window.. my mechanic told me.. neverrrrrrr buy a waja.. unless wun do donate money to him…. when is the LANCER or replacement of Waja coming out? hmmmmmm.. that might be worth waiting for.. Paul, any ideas?

• ularsawa on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:00 am

carz : ask your mechanic go fly kite. 1st you dont go to a mechanic to change power window. you head on to an accessory shop.

2nd. you dont replace the faulty power window with another unit. you replace it with a mechanical scissors arm power window that costs the same as the original part. it will last you a life time.

these are just minor problems one will face in a car. if you think your toyota/honda/nissan/whatever brand power window will not fail, think again.

• xstan on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Ular Sawa is right…power window failure does happen to my colleague G2 Vios. Honest..!! Unbelievble right.

Just discontinue the argument on space …its one perception.

BTW..most media has already realased the test drive review on new City G3 incld NST CBT on Sunday. Probably also at its site.

• qbee125 on Feb 18, 2009 at 1:02 am

the bank (mb) jst call me i got 2.82% for my ct i think its to high …. if ur guys know which bank can give me lower intrest rate…. please advice me..

i am in shah alam

• dizzy on Feb 18, 2009 at 3:15 am

Early Jan mb promise me 2.72% but during approval time it changed to 2.82%. I had encounter same thing with mb when I bough by first car back 2004. Now i reject the offer and go for other with only 2.70%. Try ask for other bank.

• zookri on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:49 am

ambank 2.75%

• farmie on Feb 19, 2009 at 12:18 am

mb subang jaya branch: 2.7-2.71%

got it from SA at branch s.alam (worldwide biz centre)

• jackytiong (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:51 am

wait it go down 2.3%

• I am staying in UK now, after comparing the car's price in UK & Malaysia. Now I was realised that, malaysia car is very very expensive…we always paid extra RM20K for every new car. Even those, if you are buying local car like Proton, the price in UK is more cheaper in Malaysia after conversion. For example..MyVi in UK only RM 30K (Full Spec) but Malaysia sell RM 48K….

We are malaysian…product made in malaysia should be cheaper if buying locallly…Are you agree with this or not?????

So,the best things is decided to buy 2nd hand used car, instead of new car…no point to buying new car…pay extra money for nothing…..

• city fan on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:34 am

City nowadays like a hot chick on the road, everytime the car passed by, sure people will look at it,…… Thats the way for all new city…… for vios, sorry 2 say….. it's the city ErA,,,,……

• zookri on Feb 25, 2009 at 8:31 pm

normal for all new car… people look at it… same with Saga blm, new vios n now NHC… after this Proton MPV turn..

• xstan on Feb 25, 2009 at 9:56 pm

Ya ..but exceptional to ity as its good looking car. Famed for its Autobots look alike. Stlye that wont go outdated for a very long time just like Civic.

But then Vios got no real look..just like Dugong ..round fat & probably shapeless. So its forgetable.

• KCL8888 on Feb 25, 2009 at 11:24 pm

i got 2.53 % of interest for my new city….CIMB bank

• kusyon on Feb 26, 2009 at 12:45 am

i got 2.5 % of interest (maybank) for my new metal polish E model HC.. i dont care about the interior.. all cars have their own good and bad reviews.. btw, thanks to Paul for your good and fair review.. not like others..

• kusyon on Feb 26, 2009 at 8:30 pm

where is other comments? dissappear haa?

• CONFIUS on Feb 27, 2009 at 12:55 am

IM CONFUSING..WHICH COLOR SHOULD I CHOOSE..BLUE OR WHAT COLOR….

• kereta gagap on Feb 27, 2009 at 2:14 am

[quote comment="207549"]love this car, better than proton[/quote]

this guy always fantasy. lol

• kereta gagap on Feb 27, 2009 at 2:22 am

[quote comment="208441"]Carz said,

February 10, 2009 @ 9:44 pm

based on my observation:

PERSONA: the only thing i can think is SAVE money.. so can keep a bit for the rainy days..—————-

—————————————————

save the money and buy a second hand bmw 5 series[/quote]

fantasy. always.. LOL

• brutal_driverz on Feb 27, 2009 at 6:43 pm

plastik dashboard city baru ni tak berkualiti.the old city dashboard is more better.i think saga BLM dashboard is more better too.

• chubs2 on Feb 28, 2009 at 1:52 am

R u sure 'brutal_driverz'..? saga BLM dashboard much better?? seriously…'Eeeeee!!!' is da word for it.

• PMMeCiTY on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:15 am

plastik dashboard city baru ni tak berkualiti.the old city dashboard is more better.i think saga BLM dashboard is more better too.

u must be a desperado PROTON sales agent..KESIAN!!!

• Saga has a better rear headroom.

• xstan on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Go get te latest issue of Autocar Asean. Its test drive comparison with Vios vs City vs Swift Sedan. Guess which car got better positive/favourable report?

• zookri on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:39 pm

just read d latest issue of Autocar Asean… they pick New City but the margin so close but b4 tat on Autocar Asean Nov or Dec issue they tried New City from Singapore… they mention the City is good but not gud enuf n last week NST Car Bikes n Trucks do d same comparison between New City n New Vios… they r equal but Vios win for economical n quick n City win on looks but the prob with d power… Hypertune latest edition also mention bout the power of new City… they didnt like it.. Honda need to do sumthin bout this coz new City is a good car

• xstan on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:33 pm

NST CBT though lean towards on City with so many + points then Vios..but playing safe evenetually concluded nothing.

But can point to u that, I'm pretty confident City FC is much much more economical then Vios. Even the 2nd gen City is far more economical then Vios. As NST comments, Vios is a no brainer buy..just no frills car.

If Hypertune not favour for the power of City..they will certainly expect nothing from Vios. Probably Hypertune expectation is high w/o discounting its merely small family sedan car..not for speeding.

Anyway..try checking all Thai site..u be shock or in favour of City over Vios.

BTW, for ur info..for the 1st time Honda City beat Vios to top the sales..Vios fail to even sell its usual projected capacity of 3,500p/mth. Vios cant even breakeven & record only 1,600 units.

BTW..ven Honda Accord also finally beat Toyota Camry by almost 2 fold. Civic been forever leading its segment.

• xstan on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:33 pm

NST CBT though lean towards on City with so many + points then Vios..but playing safe evenetually concluded nothing.

But can point to u that, I'm pretty confident City FC is much much more economical then Vios. Even the 2nd gen City is far more economical then Vios. As NST comments, Vios is a no brainer buy..just no frills car.

If Hypertune not favour for the power of City..they will certainly expect nothing from Vios. Probably Hypertune expectation is high w/o discounting its merely small family sedan car..not for speeding.

Anyway..try checking all Thai site..u be shock to c all in favour of City over Vios.

BTW, for ur info..for the 1st time Honda City beat Vios to top the sales..Vios fail to even sell its usual projected capacity of 3,500p/mth. Vios cant even breakeven & record only 1,600 units.

BTW..ven Honda Accord also finally beat Toyota Camry by almost 2 fold. Civic been forever leading its segment.

• brutal_driverz on Mar 04, 2009 at 6:58 am

[quote comment="215875"]R u sure 'brutal_driverz'..? saga BLM dashboard much better?? seriously…'Eeeeee!!!' is da word for it.[/quote]

Setiap orang ada taste yang tersendiri.Pandangan aku tak semestinya sealiran dengan pandangan kau.Kau kena faham tu.

• brutal_driverz on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:04 am

[quote comment="216235"]plastik dashboard city baru ni tak berkualiti.the old city dashboard is more better.i think saga BLM dashboard is more better too.

u must be a desperado PROTON sales agent..KESIAN!!![/quote]

Aku bandingkan dashboard city baru ni dengan dashboard city lama dan saga BLM,bukannya aku bandingkan dengan saga BLM saja.Lagi pun ,itu cuma pandangan aku,taste setiap orang tak sama la.Jangan la terlalu cepat labelkan orang lain yang tak sealiran dengan kau dengan gelaran itu ini.buka sikit fikiran kau.

• lalala on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Any recommendation or experience on tinted film for new honda city polished metal colour..? Need your opinoin guys..

Thanks.

• androndraco on Mar 06, 2009 at 4:56 am

[quote comment="217183"]Any recommendation or experience on tinted film for new honda city polished metal colour..? Need your opinoin guys..

Thanks.[/quote]

I already booked Honda City Grade E, same colour like yours. My opinion, City in polished metal metallic looks great without tinted. And again, it just my opinion.

I still not finalised the colour for my new City. I already booked polished metal colour, but deep lapis blue looks nice to. Hmmm… maybe I need Paul's opinion on selecting colour for my new City. Can you help me Paul?

• androndraco on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:25 am

[quote comment="215597"]IM CONFUSING..WHICH COLOR SHOULD I CHOOSE..BLUE OR WHAT COLOR….[/quote]

We are in the same dilemma. Blue (deep lapis blue) looks vibrant and fresh, clear to see in rainy days. But the interior trim colour did not match the blue body colour. While grey (polished metal metallic) looks serious and fits the young executive but not vibrant. Interior trim colour match the grey body colour. Bold beige fits the lady owner. Alabaster silver doesn't looks nice on City but looks stunning on Accord.

I still in dilemma as both polished metal and deep lapis blue has their own attraction…

• androndraco on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:18 am

After take a deep preview on Paul's photos during the test drive review (thanks Paul, for the photos – it really help), i found that Deep Lapis Blue Metallic is the best colour for the new Honda City. My reasons are:

1) The colour looks fresh all the time, on any weather

2) The colour feels cold, suitable for Malaysian weather

3) The colour reveal the compactness of the car which is a pleasure to look at

4) The colour brings a happy mood to the driver and passenger

5) The colour looks vibrant

6) The colour match the sporty shape of the car

7) The colour made the car looks always new

I will call my dealer to change my mind. Hope he will not mad at me as this is the 6th time I change the colour. I don't mind if the delivery will be delayed, the important is I made a perfect choice as the car will be used for a long time…

• AROLE on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:38 am

[quote comment="215324"]i got 2.5 % of interest (maybank) for my new metal polish E model HC.. i dont care about the interior.. all cars have their own good and bad reviews.. btw, thanks to Paul for your good and fair review.. not like others..[/quote]

anyone noe the latest interest? the OPR went down starting this month rite? the interest should be lower by now.

2.5% – 25 feb 2009

2.x% – ???

• Hamouda on Mar 07, 2009 at 3:43 am

actually i did not recive that care but i submet requirement to show room , within one week i'll recive city , so ,i'll till you my feeling later

• androndraco on Mar 07, 2009 at 8:57 pm

I've been thinking the suitable colour for the City owner by their age and gender:

Deep Lapis Blue Metallic: age 20+ men/women

Polished Metal Metallic: age 30+ men

Bold Beige Metallic: age 30+ women/40 + men

Alabaster Silver Metallic: 40+ men/women

Crystal Black Pearl: not preferred… this color looks stunning but hot at noon

Just my opinion.

I'll take polished metal metallic.

Not deep lapis blue metallic as i mentioned earlier.

• lalalaa.. on Mar 08, 2009 at 12:47 am

Can't wait to get my car next week. Polished metal metallic. Model (E). My final interest rate is 2.53% from MBB (Ok i guess,coz my actual target was to get 2.30% but that was my last nego). Gonna add V-Cool or ECOTINT or ArmorGuard for my tinted. & Modulo bodykit. From my observation, already asked chocomotorsport at Sunway area, can get around rm1700 for it. Any u guys know a better price mybe at other car accessory shop?any kepong or batu cvs area?

• metrodude350 on Mar 08, 2009 at 1:29 am

If you a person whom has to change their car after several years of drive, RESALE value must consider first. Honda had a high resale value, this would help a lot when you're going to trade your old car with a new one. All the KIA FORTE, PUG308, Proton mentioned by you guys above were absolutely low in resale value, some even lost a lots (experienced by my fren)….LOL

• matara balkaz on Mar 10, 2009 at 7:14 am

bro, i already booking with 2k deposit for Polished metal metallic. E Model. The Seller told me the latest intrest 2.49% ( dp -20k). After visit Honda 3 times , i deside to buy this car…. huhuhu… peace bro.. max i get it is 3 months….

• romone86 on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:26 am

I am from Singapore. I bought the new Honda City 2009 standard auto model at S$52K minus S$17K as I am driving it as an off peak car. Some of the decisions to purcahse the car are based on sources from Paul Tan's site and other like:

http://www.hondacarindia.com/city/expertReviews.a…

http://www.hondacarindia.com/city/CityAwards.aspx

So far, I ahve driven the car for about 2,000km and the following are observed:

1. Fuel consumption travelling at half city and half highway time with air-con on – average 14.9 to 15.4 kmpl

2. Noise level up to 80km/ph – quiet. After 80km/ph can hear noise from compartment. Could be from tyres (15' ) and engine.

3. Road stability and handling – stable and good till 165km/h slight vibration (I tested it in Malaysia road)

4. After travelling 2,000km, my car alignment slightly out even though I did not knock my typres against any curb or stones that I can think of.

5. Pick up – lose to my former Toyota Corolla 1.6 maybe because it is an auto but after 3rd gear very smooth engine and powerful acceleration.

Overall, I am happy with the car as my wife and two children are happy to ride in it comfortably too. To that, I think is most important.

• Leortz_boy85 on Mar 11, 2009 at 12:55 am

I'm looking for my st car, particularly Honda and Toyota..

But then when i looked at Honda, its quite impressive car..

Kia Forte also in my list..

Don't tell me to buy Proton car, but Perodua yes it still can be considered.

So, from now onwards I will think deeply to buy my first car..Perhaps Honda City or Kia?

• jebat (Member) on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:51 am

Hi all,

need ur advise. I'm waiting my NHC (E Spec) which might probably sent to Honda Muar in May (but today my SA told me that she'll try to get it in April. Hmm..s'one cancel his order, maybe?)

i'm plan to change my tyre once receive the NHC, from 185/55/R16 to 195/55/R16 (hard to get) or 205/50/R16. The question is, how's the warranty? Is it void if i change the tyres not to factory spec? Any Honda-man/SA can answer? Chips, a little helps (with a concrete/strong evidence) plz?

Actually the reason why i'm plan to change it, is bcoz from my reading from several forum, it shows that NHC not really stable in high speed (abis la, lepas ni aku kene hentam). It might caused from the overpressure of the tyre, the allignment (need to allign during 1st service),the car design itself (might be small percentage of contributor) and also might be from the tyre profile itself which too narrow for the 16inch tyre. Overpressure & allignment problem can be rectify, car design is small issue (may not an issue actually). So the left is tyre profile. Thus to get more stable profile, change it to wider profile.

One more thing to ask. For tinted film, any recommendation to me? What's the price for the whole window, i.e front, side & back? Is it worth to tint with so-called safety/armour tinted which prevent from window breakage?

Need ur advise on the price & brand (normal tint & safety tint film)

cheers

• ularsawa on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:15 am

hi jebat,

there is no need to change your tyre size. after reducing the tyre pressure on the tires to the correct pressure, there is no more floaty feeling. been driving the car around for 2 months now and there is nothing wrong with it.

tinting on the other hand is a personal choice. i personally dont see the necessity of spending rm1.5k for v-kool w/ armour. no matter how good your tint is, if you were to put the car out in the sun for hours, the interior will be equally as hot w/ or w/o tinting.

you might as well get friends that have already gotten tinting done b4 to give you their annual 50% vouchers.

• donhatejazz on Mar 12, 2009 at 11:54 pm

stupid moderator…why cant i speak my thoughts??what u want to see and hear all the nice things??

stupid damn moderator..!!

• CFA28 on Mar 13, 2009 at 7:18 am

my fren ask Honda before when he bought the Civic, abt chanhing tyre size. The SA adviced him not to as the warranty for following "connecting parts" will be void

i) Suspension – both the springs and shocks

2) Brakes – pads and disc, ABS, EBD, EBD

3) plus some other mountings, all connected to the tyres

Best you ask the SA to reconfirm – but Warranty is a sensitive matter. Company will only provide warranty if its factory fitted. Changing tyres is okay, but tyere size is a different matter.

• jebat (Member) on Mar 13, 2009 at 9:01 pm

Hai Ularsawa & CFA28,

Thanx for the advice. CFA28, ur comment makes sense as i do think like that. Tat's why i'm asking. Paul, any comment on this? Can u helps to verify wit not only honda, but all other Car manufacturer, what's their policy? This will help d younger people to understand the warranty's term as it's trend for them to change e'thing once the buy d (new) car. In order to look sporty with big wheels, thin tyre, big exhaust, lower ground clearance, etc. they forgot that they lose their warranty.

Cheers..

• considering a car; lady, 25 years old, earns 2.5k only but no commitment coz not married yet, ;). advice me.

p.s: i don't drive fast at all, my home to office only 10minutes. ;)

which is the best for me?

1)suzuki swift

2)toyota vios

3)honda city

my car trade in value is 15k, so add another 5k already 20k. it helps me a a lot reducing my monthly pay. do advice me on my salary compatibility (enough for these cars price to pay monthly?), the interest rate for the cars, fuel consumption ;) thanks a lot…

• CFA28 on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:15 pm

If you earn about RM2.5K, minus your EPF (assuming at 11%), SOSCO and tax, you will take home closer to RM2,200. I assume that you are staying with your parents and don’t pay rental and dinner is also covered.

I will only do the analysis for the City / Vios as its quite closely priced. Looking at the lower City “E” specs which retails for about RM90K (Vios S is also priced quite closely). You say that your current ride is worth RM15K (are you sure) and you can add in another RM5K – total RM20K.

Based on a loan of RM70K at say a conservative 2.6% (you might get lower) at say 7 years (don’t take more than 7-year loan – you’ll regret later), your monthly instalment will be about RM985 per month, say RM1,000. You might need to spend about say RM200 a month on petrol and for your insurance and maintenance, you should allocate about minimum RM200 per month, so in total, your car will cost you about RM1,400 per month. I have not included parking, as you also drive currently, its no different to you.

Take home pay RM2,200

Less: Expenses

Car Instalment (RM1000)

Petrol (RM200)

Maintenance, Insurance (RM200)

Breakfast and Lunch (RM300)

Hand Phone (RM100)

Entertainment, movies

Clothes, (RM300)

Net Savings RM100

As you can see, it’s very tight for you, with only RM100 every month end. One minor unexpected incident and you will be in negative territory but no worries right, there is always the credit card to the rescue.

In conclusion, the City / Vios although very comfortable on the butt, its very painful on your purse. I have no idea how much the Swift cost, but it’s a small car – thus if its space that you need, it may not fulfil your requirements.

Advice – stick with your current ride or get a cheaper ride like the Persona / Waja for new car or consider getting a second hand Toyota / Honda. As for MyVi / Viva, same issue as Swift, small car – depends on your requirements.

• Caruser on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:12 pm

you forgot to read properly… she’s a lady…so her man is footing all the bills :)

• Kamalys on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:59 am

[quote comment="209434"]New city driver here… Blue E-Spec, reach 2700+km today. so far so good. moderate steering feel, good in urban drive/parking, less stable in highway>130km/h (seldom do this). More power in S mode/Paddle shift for pick up/cutting. Nice roaring sound when pedal press, silence when cruising. NVH OK. Max. FC 17.5 km/l, current 16 km/l for 80%h/w. Firm suspension, a bit bumpy, less comfort , less sharp cornering than Vios but less noisy engine than Vios. Less A/C power than Proton car. Like: 1.) EXT/INT design even plasticy, nice curve everywhere. 2.) Responsive engine/steering, great manual drive in S/paddle shift 3.) Good FC for A/T, can I expect more for 1.5L engine? 4.) More room for leg/head/boot, especially incline rear seat, more relax for long distance travel. 5.) Useful remote audio control. 6.) less CO emission. Dislike: 1.) No auto lock… void warranty if add-in somewhere else. 2.) Less stable steering in h/w. 3.) no remote opener/smaller boot entry… need to be careful to load things[/quote]

One stupid question: Have u try to use usb port with normal USB memory thumbdrive? How it works actually?

TQ

• carman on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:36 am

i see some comments that say Proton r good.. i think they r

damn rite and spot ON. so, it bout time for the govt to reduce the

tax rate for non-national cars.. make it an equal playing field..

any seconder?

• Dreamer on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:30 am

dream….

• xstan on Mar 18, 2009 at 10:39 pm

G’day Kamlys

Tot I got most comments that they (media & auto reviewer) all agreed that City got the best cornering effort with less body roll then Vios.

BTW, did u know like Civic, auto lock missing is due to ur movement sensor (near the top maplight) which it detect any inner movement & outer forceful entry. Thus with auto lock is pretty similar to locking by remote & it will result triggering the alarm since u r in the car driving.

• jebat (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:04 am

Xstan,

Sorry, although i'll get my City next months (which show my confident to it), but i'm not agree with u regarding the movement sensor (ultrasonic sensor). Kamlys, if u read my comment on 9 Feb 09, u'll find that there's aftermarket alarm system (which comes with ultrasonic sensor features) that can lock the car while driving without activated the ultrasonic sensor.

It actually 2 different system, ie ultrasonic system which trigger the alarm when detect any movement and the other is autolock system which control ur central lock system. Its just like u pull the lock button, to lock it manually by ur thumb, but now u ask the 'system' to lock it for u once u..let's say footed on ur brake pedal. Supposedly the ultrasonic sensor will not activated once u pulled the lock button manually, right? (If the ultrasonic sensor will still activate when lock manually, then it'll be the 'pening' car and Honda had create a useless system!!). So its goes the same way, supposedly.

So, supposedly we can install aftermarket (if Honda gives permission and not void the warranty) autolock system just to make the central lock system locks all doors once we stepped the brake pedal, without activating the ultrasonic sensor. Bear in mind, if i'm not mistaken (correct me if i'm wrong, x.stan) the fuel lid/door will not lock if u r not locking ur door once the engine start, right? So, just imagine what people outside the car can do with our 'fuel nozzle line' let's say during traffic light stops, if one day we forgot to thumbed the lock button to locks the doors!! For me, autolock system is critical in this New city since the fuel lid can be open just with one touch.

Any Honda-man, can u answer my worries?

Cheers..

• CFA28 on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:33 pm

Guys, having an auto clock is good but in the absence of one, won't all the doors automatically lock when you manually lock the drivers door? Its not that difficult and some of my ex-colleague old BMW (523)also did not have the auto lock function. He has to manually lock it by pressing his elbow on the drivers lock.

Its no rocket science – why the big fuss, unless you're telling me that even by pressing the drivers lock, all the doors don't lock aslo, they u have a big problem.

• i am from india – here we hv 3 version = 1 automatic and 2 manual…

In manual the top version has audio, seat adjuster, silver lining in steering wheel. body color door handle fog lamp, back seet inclination and ….

can u tell me more abt the USB cord … can we fix any mp3 player…. how will it charge… in india the usb cord is behind the flip open area….

appreciate ur response – i did not find such a detail review -thanks…. i am planning to buy it in 5 months

• did who know d best deal buying new city in KL?about d lowest interest n from which bank..and free gift..thinking about buying city spec e

• Kamalys on Mar 23, 2009 at 9:52 pm

[quote comment="223361"]did who know d best deal buying new city in KL?about d lowest interest n from which bank..and free gift..thinking about buying city spec e[/quote]

I'm buying from Kah Motor Bangsar. Rebate RM500. Free tinted. If you want Vkool Elite, add RM1800.

Rates. 2.5% from Public Bank for 9 years tenure.

From what i heard. Delivery time for E Spec between 2-3 months. I'm getting my E spec this Friday.

• Dreamer on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:27 am

2.48 lah PBB

• Go for Kah Motor Sg.Besi, Jln Chan Sow Lin, Rebate Rm1k, add rm500 to get full body skirt(of cos not ori modula la). I booked thru them b4. But hv 2cancelled my booking cos transffered to Labuan, re-booked again in Labuan, luckily more cheaper :D. Tried to get the body skirt from Labuan branch, like wat Kah offered, but couldn't get anywer else:(

• alfarabi on Apr 05, 2009 at 2:27 am

test drove the E spec just now. immediately felt the chemistry between me and the car which I did not get when I drove Mazda3 hatchback and Peugeot 308 vti earlier today. I am closer to finalize my car hunt after driving the honda!!!

• [quote comment="226929"]test drove the E spec just now. immediately felt the chemistry between me and the car which I did not get when I drove Mazda3 hatchback and Peugeot 308 vti earlier today. I am closer to finalize my car hunt after driving the honda!!![/quote]

wow! congrats!! :D

• My new City just had a tyre puncture.Unfortunately, it can be repair.

Worst part , it seems that most Honda service centre is not keeping stock for the tyre. I had check around with a few Goodyear shops, and it seems they need to pre-order the tyre.This is really not good.

Hopefully, all service centre could start stocking up some tyres….it not it is really a disaster going round without spare tyre.

• [quote comment="226938"]My new City just had a tyre puncture.Unfortunately, it can be repair.

Worst part , it seems that most Honda service centre is not keeping stock for the tyre. I had check around with a few Goodyear shops, and it seems they need to pre-order the tyre.This is really not good.

Hopefully, all service centre could start stocking up some tyres….it not it is really a disaster going round without spare tyre.[/quote]

Hi CPY,

Wat about the fuel consump'?

Tx

• [quote comment="226941"][quote comment="226938"]My new City just had a tyre puncture.Unfortunately, it can be repair.

Hopefully, all service centre could start stocking up some tyres….it not it is really a disaster going round without spare tyre.[/quote]

Hi CPY,

Tx[/quote]

so far the mileage meter is showing 15.3/L

• [quote comment="226941"][quote comment="226938"]My new City just had a tyre puncture.Unfortunately, it can be repair.

Hi CPY,

Tx[/quote]

the mileage meter is showing 15.3/l

• Hi CPY,

Tx[/quote]

so far the mileage meter is showing 15.3/L[/quote]

15.3 still consider ok. Anyway, sory to hear bout ur tyre..:(

• CPY,

15.3 sud consider gud:D

anyway, i hope u manage to get replacement asap for ur tyre..

• [quote comment="226947"]CPY,

15.3 sud consider gud:D

anyway, i hope u manage to get replacement asap for ur tyre..[/quote]

hopefully could get it done by Monday

• its unacceptable when Hsc told that they do not keep the stock 4 tat tyre.

sud call and scold them :))!

Cheers!

• [quote comment="226952"]its unacceptable when Hsc told that they do not keep the stock 4 tat tyre.

Cheers![/quote]

it will be a waste of breath to scold them….haha….anyhow, will write an official feedback to Honda customer service for this issue.

• [quote comment="226968"][quote comment="226952"]its unacceptable when Hsc told that they do not keep the stock 4 tat tyre.

Cheers![/quote]

it will be a waste of breath to scold them….haha….anyhow, will write an official feedback to Honda customer service for this issue.[/quote]

u do that, n info me the rpogress news k. if bad reply from them, then i will cancel my booking hahhaha

tx!

• Dreamer on Apr 13, 2009 at 7:31 am

How much can the interest rate can go down? 2%? when by this august?

• um… i said earlier front look like tank then a car. side look ok . back urgly

• chubs2 on Apr 13, 2009 at 8:50 am

Don't think it will go any lower than 2%. Moreover its new model type car. Other older model might able to reach a lower interest rate.

Anywho..I'm already enjoying my PMM-NHC..!!..

• Dennis on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:07 pm

I just received my car (S spec) last Saturday. Everything is great especially the audio system. I really enjoy playing music using USB port (since POLICE is catching pirated CD). The seat is very comfortable. Driving experience is great although the suspension is abit hard. I try to bend the side mirror but is it too tight, so i do not dare to bend it by force. The interest I got is 2.36%

• matara balkaz on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:31 pm

2.36%? what bank?

• Dennis on Apr 16, 2009 at 10:04 pm

Matara, i got it from Maybank

• SpiDerMeow on Apr 18, 2009 at 8:40 am

"It’s just too bad Honda isn’t offering the car in white here, in fact there are no white Hondas on sale except for the Type R, but I was told white is being added to the CKD paint process soon."

wow, i'd really hope they will add White in soon, i am hesitating to order now and wait for it, hopefully not for too long.

• EricG on Apr 18, 2009 at 11:45 pm

is there a such aftermarket tray for the umbrella ?

• [quote comment="206157"]I have to agree with u e-nabilll…..from my personel experience (off work), one day i was in the highway heading north, in my frens bmw 325i (2007 model). I was doing about 170 – 180km/h. then suddenly, i saw this gold persona was trailling me from behind….it came as close as a-car-distance behind me….i was quite suprised to see that, and that person continued following me for quite some distance. The best part was, the driver…it was a lady!!!!!…..she looked like a middle aged lady, wearing tudung and it shocked the hell out of me looking at her courage and braveness trailling a BMW at that speed and she was all alone in the car. I can assure, if PERSONA is nt stable and handles well, she wouldn't even dare to drive at that speed moreover tralling a BMW….so there u have it…

cheers![/quote]

PERSONA can easily go to 180 – 190 no worry ..

• Dreamer on Apr 19, 2009 at 4:22 am

You belive lady driver? ……how you know it is still stable , the lady driver not even know what is causing dangerous to others driver!!

• EricG on Apr 20, 2009 at 8:01 am

test drove. smooth, quiet and dignified.

• when i received my new ct pmm e` my side mirror cannot fold properly, due to switch problem. hv to wait next 1k service for replacement. didnt believe me? just mail me..

• The designation of city exterior is good. But after having a few test drive, I'll cover that the interior is quite compact to me (I'm over 165cm tall) weither at the driver seat or at the rear seat. No other comment about else..

• saye dah bli satu,best…pemaannduannye sangat selesa…

• cikguafezi on Apr 27, 2009 at 9:37 am

afie > di mana beli? ada diskaun?? interest brp? tgh pikir ni nak terus beli @ tak..

• Obviously, manual will give a better fuel consumption if compare with auto transmission. How about the paddle shift? Will it give the same fuel consumption with the manual one? Can anyone assist me on this matter?

• well i will get my city by next week at int 2.25% only lucky me.

but suddenly int rise up to 3.5% after a week exora come out.

i don't care who/what ever complain about CT. but i have done enough with proton and perodua-life span too short. belum abis byr dah sakit mcm2.

• e_jump on Apr 29, 2009 at 7:19 pm

will b getting mine by tomorrow – 30/04/2009…10 days short of the 4 months waiting period promised by my agent..got 2.35% frm MBB..now it has gone up to 3.5%..crazy man..an increase of 1+%..that would definitely cost quite a lot of difference in monthly repayment amount..anyway..cant wait to xplore my CT..cheers..

• matara balkaz on Apr 30, 2009 at 5:43 am

bro ueki , what bank? DP?. i get 2.37%/ PB/ loan 70k. yap last week i receive call from honda to book awal coz % will go up to 3.6% nanti. ..hheheh.. i already book last month ( early march) maybe next month i get my lovely CT. hehehe same like my wife name, CT tooo… now i have 2 CT.. hehehe…

• The Ring on Apr 30, 2009 at 8:27 am

Have been driving the CT Auto for 4 months now. This are some of my observations:

1. The alignment is out running to the left. When I send my car for servicing and told the mechanic about it, he say nothing can be done. He changed the tyres position for me instead.

2. The consumption mantained at 14.6km/litre with new oil change and aircon on in half city and half highway driving. It was down to 13.5km/litre before the oil change near to the first 1000km.

3. Quite noisy when going at 80km/hr so I have it sound proof by Silent. They had done a good job when my CT noise level now reduced tremendously.

4. At the traffic light with a Toyota Vios and Latio, my CT went behind them when all of us rammed our cars to determine the torque speed. Mine is an auto so I don't know whether theirs are manual which might have a higher torque.

5. The only consolation I have about this car is that I got a lot of young pretty chicks admiring it. Hope they do admisre the driver in it too!

• e_jump on May 04, 2009 at 10:10 pm

[quote comment="234888"]Have been driving the CT Auto for 4 months now. This are some of my observations:

3. Quite noisy when going at 80km/hr so I have it sound proof by Silent. They had done a good job when my CT noise level now reduced tremendously.

[/quote]

how did the sound proof works?installing an insulation under the engine hood?..where did u get it done?..how much?..

• The Ring on May 05, 2009 at 10:19 pm

[quote comment="235812"][quote comment="234888"]Have been driving the CT Auto for 4 months now. This are some of my observations:

[/quote]

how did the sound proof works?installing an insulation under the engine hood?..where did u get it done?..how much?..[/quote]

Oh, I have it done in Singapore. I did the whole package that cost me about $1400. Try to cut down some areas for sound proofing and reduce the price.

For more details: http://www.silent.com.sg/index.shtml

• planning to booking NEw Honda City by next week..anyone know where i can get best deal for this baby and +freebies?since d interest hikes a lot…i just hope can get more rebate and many freebies..pity me wen i want to book d ineterest is skyrocket

• well i just got mine and ride it for a week. so far mine is satifaction.

aligment ok. noise level compare to proton much better. pick up ok. fuel cosum much save . absober smooth. and not tired while drive long distance almost 300km. everthing just nice. i love it……..

• stand-to on May 06, 2009 at 9:59 pm

Yup..try go for a long distances..i've travel in plus hway and grik-jeli road..IMHO, city handles better in grik-jeli road..especially during taking a sharp corner on a downhill road..a good car for a not-so-experienced-driver like me..hehehe

• george2000 on May 07, 2009 at 10:25 am

just got my new city 09 1.3S manual 2 months ago. all of you guys are lousy and overrated… i got no problem with my unit…. it is a city or an urban car designed for the city that's why its called "City" so why are you guys complaining about power, aerodynamics, horses etc????? hello?? can you use that with traffic?? with pedestrians?? if you want a fast ride you might be living somewhere remote or far from the city or you are a wanna be racer…then you should sell your cow's or goats to buy something with power and speed…like Ford GT500 or something like that… for me, the car is perfect, looks??? everyday when i drive, almost every body is turning their heads to get a second look at my car which i think is far more the concern in an urban district rather than the geeky blasphemy of the cars performance ….in terms of performance, it will definitely not shame you because for me my unit was responsive enough with the right mixing of pedals and shift due to my professional driving i suppose just the power i need in everyday city driving… come on people the price tag is not bad at all… anybody complaining about the price should buy something like i10 or something in that class…

• farmie on May 07, 2009 at 2:09 pm

[quote comment=”236035″]planning to booking NEw Honda City by next week..anyone know where i can get best deal for this baby and +freebies?since d interest hikes a lot…i just hope can get more rebate and many freebies..pity me wen i want to book d ineterest is skyrocket[/quote]

Bro,
    i bought from shah alam branch (Worldwide Business Centre) and got :
    a) int rate 2.36% from maybank Islamic subang branch
    b) tinting rm1400 (armor protection, 4mm)
    c) free door visor
    d) free pedal lock (LockTech)
    e) free illuminated side step
    f) free trunk tray
    i highly recommend you to inquire at this branch and seek for Hj Fahrughazi…he’s a very reliable and helpful SA…
    gudluck..

• i just don't bealived. i was drive from k.terengganu to kuala krai kelantan on early morning so i just open window for fresh air, a/c off. i set trip meter to zero until to KKK my trip meter was 156 and fuel usage meter 18.5km/l.

it mean less 10 sen per km much saver than kancil. after i back to KT i still have half of tank fuel. i was not regret to buy CT.

• e_jump on May 07, 2009 at 7:55 pm

i've been driving mine for a week now..most of the times to & from my office which is about 20km for a return trip..havent got a chance to drive it on long distance..cant wait to do so..currently the average fuel consumption is about 13 km/l..the most is 14..maybe bcos its new & the engine's still not 'warmed' enough..handling wise-perfect for me..handles hairpin corners comfortably..audio system suits me well..always have my pendrive slotted in the USB port..cheers..

• Terimalah hakikat "test" masing-masing berlaianan ,belilah kereta yang rasa anda sukalah.Tapi yang mengecewakan ialah orang yang hanya mampu beli kereta national masi perlu membayar interes yang tinggi dari kereta luar negara… beli barang buatan tempatan dengan interes lebih tinggi???????

• Hello guys,

This new honda city is belt driven or using timing chain?

• hollyf. on May 11, 2009 at 11:12 pm

[quote comment=”237333″]Hello guys,

This new honda city is belt driven or using timing chain?[/quote]
    I think all the new cars would be using timing chain instead of timing belt. Correct me if I’m wrong.

• hollyf. on May 12, 2009 at 7:12 am

[quote comment="237333"]Hello guys,

I think all the new cars would be using timing chain instead of timing belt. Correct me if I'm wrong.

• The current waiting period (in Kota Kinabalu) is about 5 months! I'm sure those who really want Honda, but in urgent to get a car, unable to wait for that long.

• Dennis on May 12, 2009 at 10:57 pm

RON95 petrol will be sold in SEP 1. Can new HCT use this type of petrol?

• dizzy on May 14, 2009 at 2:16 am

[quote comment="236417"]i just don't bealived. i was drive from k.terengganu to kuala krai kelantan on early morning so i just open window for fresh air, a/c off. i set trip meter to zero until to KKK my trip meter was 156 and fuel usage meter 18.5km/l.

it mean less 10 sen per km much saver than kancil. after i back to KT i still have half of tank fuel. i was not regret to buy CT.[/quote]

According to my fren, the meter might be calculate base on 14" rim, so by right it cost u more than that. I not sure, mayb its true.

I did manually calculate few times, i got around 14.4km/l but meter shows 15.8/l.

• Sally on May 15, 2009 at 5:33 am

honda city is good…..A++

• zoule NCo on May 15, 2009 at 6:15 am

[quote comment="237333"]Hello guys,

New City use timing Chain.. no need to worry belt snap. Starting from city 2003, all city equip with timing chain.. No more timing belt..

• Dreamer on May 15, 2009 at 6:45 am

means the meter tipu lor….

• The Ring on May 16, 2009 at 9:20 am

My new City 1.5 gives me 14.8km/litre with aircon on travelling in half city and half highway. Without aircon, it goes to 16.8km/litre. With new oil change, it goes better to 15.4km/litre with aircon and 17.9km/litre with no aircon.

• The Ring on May 16, 2009 at 9:26 am

My new City 1.5 gives me 14.8km/litre with aircon on travelling in half city and half highway. Without aircon, it goes to 16.8km/litre. With new oil change, it goes better to 15.4km/litre with aircon and 17.9km/litre with no aircon.

I normally drive at the speed of 70km/hr and 100km/hr. I used the 95 unleaded petrol as I am residing in Singapore. I am considering of using a sports distribution wire to enhance the torque but I am not sure whether it will void my warranty.

• Gecko on May 20, 2009 at 8:38 am

Planning to get a New CT here in K.K. Interest rate is 3.25%, which i think its too high. Maybe because i have my eye on the Vios Spec S (2.38%). I tested the CT, and i did step on the pedal as hard as i can with 3 passengers along (my fren, the salesgal, and I), the engine sound is abit off for what i expected in i-vtec engine and I can feel the car started too shake a little when it is over 130km, abit floating too, maybe because of the tire pressure i think.I tested its paddle shift, sudden break, sharp cornering, and the best part was taking the car 0-100km with 3 passenger inside the car, didnt manage to count the time :P , and yes the engine roar, Roar ROARrrr is abit weird for what it has under the bonnet. Performance wise, i think its really suit my need in city driving with JOY n comfort, it has the right futuristic look too.This car is really tempting. Just wanna ask all the CT owner here, whether their CT has a minor/major problem in it. I'm planning on my bet here, CT specE or VIOS specS…

• my brother wasn't really happy with his vios, less comfort less wide less economical fuel less boot less handling but suite to racing guy i guest. and the new vios look preety ugly really it is like a big fish smiling. so far my new CT not cause me any trouble at all, but yesterday my bos complaining about dashboard when we went to lunch. i just hate to agreed but it is true, but for me it is just a small matter cause i will go to accesories specialist to make it good when i have budjet of couse.

• should all import car have high interest. no more 2% all above 3%. may be i wrong but that is what i understand. to be compertative with proton and perodua.

• Gecko on May 20, 2009 at 7:57 pm

Can i know what's wrong with the CT's dashboard? Hard to see u mean?

• i hate to say but somebody said it look totally plain hard plastic and does'nt have rubber or soft surface finishing. it won't stand longger with hot wheather like our country. actually for me that it only minor problem that i just can ignore about it but you just can't stand your ear when you hear about it. like i said before i will put finishing surface later.

• but you wouldn,t regret when everybody say this is a great car.

• Gecko on May 20, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Ic, but it won't be a big problem, coz tinted glass can prevent direct sunlight, and reduce heat. Ueki, wats ur CT color? I tested the latio 1.6(A) also, but i can find tat the interior design is abit boring. The test drive, yap..its more on the stability due to its weight and also lack of power and response, not in my list. New CT can easily beat up latio in terms of appearance, power and also comfort…

• my CT color bolde beige almost dark gold but not really gold and i suite with gold tinted- nice.everbody said this is the right color to show appearance shape and exterior design of CT, not even silver,black, dark blue (sorry to say). another advantage is you won't see dust and soil stain on your car and it really work on me.cause you cannot avoid unexpected wheather on our country.

• Howey on May 21, 2009 at 4:12 am

[quote comment="239955"]should all import car have high interest. no more 2% all above 3%. may be i wrong but that is what i understand. to be compertative with proton and perodua.[/quote]

Aiya..YOU Sound like HONGDAH salesman loo…hahaha!

• [quote comment="240056"][quote comment="239955"]should all import car have high interest. no more 2% all above 3%. may be i wrong but that is what i understand. to be compertative with proton and perodua.[/quote]

Aiya..YOU Sound like HONGDAH salesman loo…hahaha![/quote]

aiseyloo you pulak sound cam CAR ******* nyesal maa kekekeh

• EricG on May 22, 2009 at 9:27 am

[quote comment="238776"]My new City 1.5 gives me 14.8km/litre with aircon on travelling in half city and half highway. Without aircon, it goes to 16.8km/litre. With new oil change, it goes better to 15.4km/litre with aircon and 17.9km/litre with no aircon.

I normally drive at the speed of 70km/hr and 100km/hr. I used the 95 unleaded petrol as I am residing in Singapore. I am considering of using a sports distribution wire to enhance the torque but I am not sure whether it will void my warranty.[/quote]

helo, may i ask is it normal getting 11.7km/l when the odometer just clocked in 120km?

• e_jump on May 25, 2009 at 5:28 pm

just came back from malacca last nite..my 1st long distance travel with my almost-1 month-old CT..maintained speed around 100-110 km/h (most of the time 105 km/h)..slowly the avg fuel consumption meter climbed up..it finally touches 19.9 km/l just before i exited the highway at bangi..was really shocked..but then we all know that travelling at 100 km/h and 110 km/h does bring a big difference in fuel consumption..cheers..

• EricG on May 26, 2009 at 9:25 am

[quote comment="241118"]just came back from malacca last nite..my 1st long distance travel with my almost-1 month-old CT..maintained speed around 100-110 km/h (most of the time 105 km/h)..slowly the avg fuel consumption meter climbed up..it finally touches 19.9 km/l just before i exited the highway at bangi..was really shocked..but then we all know that travelling at 100 km/h and 110 km/h does bring a big difference in fuel consumption..cheers..[/quote]

wow, incredible. what does ur avg show when ur CT is still below 1000 km? coz mine is still low around 12.5km/l

• e_jump on May 26, 2009 at 4:15 pm

yeah..i was shocked too..before the mileage clocked more than 1000km, it was going like 12.5 – 14.6 km/l..the most i could get was 14.6 on LDP going to IKEA..hopefully after oil change will get better..cheers..

• leong on May 28, 2009 at 8:33 pm

mind to ask how much is the City E class? wad is the interest rate now? i'm from malaysia

• e_jump on May 28, 2009 at 10:52 pm

[quote comment="241746"]mind to ask how much is the City E class? wad is the interest rate now? i'm from malaysia[/quote]

the price of grade E city is now RM20 short of 90K a.k.a. RM 89,980 OTR..interest rate is around 3.5-3.6 %…

• leong on May 29, 2009 at 2:56 am

[quote comment="241764"][quote comment="241746"]mind to ask how much is the City E class? wad is the interest rate now? i'm from malaysia[/quote]

the price of grade E city is now RM20 short of 90K a.k.a. RM 89,980 OTR..interest rate is around 3.5-3.6 %…[/quote]

wth…last time i checked the rate is jus 2.xx% ..now is alredi 3.5%..how to buy =.= Salute to Malaysia Government.. -__-

• JackAss on Jun 01, 2009 at 12:47 pm

Ok guys..this seems to be a favourite car for everyone..but i wanna do a survey and research here..pls comment me..regarding toyota and honda..most of the majority prefer which?and why?is toyota or honda better?

i gonna get my 1st car soon,and wanna make a wisely decision here..bcoz gonna drive this car for long time..so hope everyone here could help me..act i prefer honda jazz,city and civic..for toyota,i prefer vios,wish and caldina..pls do giv me some suggestions..

thanks..

• i plan to get a city soon, any advice from those have already driving it. im still undecided. Is it worth buying it or is it better to go for a vios. i welcome suggestion. What about CRV and what is the prise in the market

• EricG on Jun 07, 2009 at 9:33 am

haha, my mums previous car was kenari and she decided to change to city recently. it felt 10 times better. of coz la kan. very big difference

• The Ring on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:26 am

My brother-in-law is driving a Honda Civic 2008 and he told me his car average fuel consumption is only 7-8 km/l. It is supposed to be i-Vtec 1.6 engine also like the Honda City but obviously there is a vast difference of oil consumption between the two. He asked the mechanic at the Kah Motor but they said they have no idea. The salesgirl told him that the Honda Civic can goes to 12.5km/l but it isn't so. Upon further investigatin with him , it was found that the high consumption might be based on the following:

1. He always used the car with his family of 5 members (heavier load means more petrol)

2. Aircon is always on the full blast setting (affect fuel consumption)

3. He used the highest grade and most expensive fuel (not necesssary as i-Vtec can use Octane 92 fuel)

4. He slammped on the petrol peddal at every traffic light (the car is not an F1 car)

That explained why his car consumption is so high.

My Honda City 2009 is going at about 13.5km/l to 14.5km/l at city driving with aircon on.

• me very very happy with my new city. drove from taiping to seremban at 100-105kmh and meter was showing 21.9km/l. my millage on meter is at 3100km now.

• matara balkaz on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:14 am

i never test drive this car when i bokked it on early Feb 2009. 2 day ago i receive my car. after drive, this car are superb, fuel save, nice paddle shift..audiao averything best woo… fuel save also.. now searching forum city to joint.. huhuhhu.. my dream come true… arios bro…

• wtheheck on Jun 14, 2009 at 10:15 pm

hahaha.. monster like SOHC baby!

• Aaron89 on Jun 16, 2009 at 6:20 am

yippee…. im getting my new car in 1-2 months time :)

• Aaron89 on Jun 16, 2009 at 6:23 am

anyone can tell me if honda civic 2.0's HID can be fitted in the city ? maybe i wont get another summon @@? since its an approved HID @@ plz help me decide shud i or shudnt i change and whether it fits or not ? tq all :)

• Leong on Jun 16, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Aeron…u bought E class at RM89980?? how about interest rate and which bank?

• Aaron89 on Jun 17, 2009 at 12:28 am

ya i bought the grade E . . i dunno bout the rate … .coz its my dad who paid @@" so im sorry ><" but if not mistaken my dad used maybank …. i bought the grade E rite, cost roughly 93-94k+…. the bodykit i got it for 2k+ only

• Banyak kaya , make ppl jeaoulus…….

• Steven on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Paul, I heard from many that the New Honda City will feels unstable and the steering have bits loss control. How come the problem will happen in Honda City? What causes this happen?

• Steven on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Honda City feels unstable when reached the speed 140km/h.

• Caruser on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:00 pm

nonsense… i’ve been driving this car every morning to work using highway cruising up to speeds like 150km/h… it will only feel “floating” ard 170km/h. I was an iswara user and drove my dad vios before and trust me they feel “floaty” ard 140. BTW, my honda city is revving 3000 at 140km/h speed.

• The Ring on Jun 20, 2009 at 10:59 am

So far so good for me. I never drive beyond 100 km/hr as I resided in Singapore. It's zippy in city driving and consumption quite stable. It's a good buy especially now oil prices are going up.

• why don't u change tyre from 185w or 175w to 205w for more wider tyre more grip and more stable but might affect fuel consumption i guest. Using eletric power steering more lightin than regular hidraulik power steering of coz u cannot treat like same of both steering…haha pls don't comment coz i don't like it.

• why don't you change your tyre from 175w or 185w to 205w for more wider tyre more grip more handling more stable and no more shacking at high speed. Using electrical power steering is more lighten than regular hidraulic power steering, of coz you cannot treat both steering with same handling…. haha pls don't add your comment on mine coz i don't like your joke.

• matara balkaz on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:21 pm

geng, i already test drive form KL to JB… speedup to 160 n 165Km/hr… no vibration on my steering n handling. speeding superb. i think we base our lucky lah. if that car ok so ok lah. if not maybe got problem need to fixed. my fren also tell me this car is good, already spray aka poison my fren to buy this car also.. hehehe… buat team lol… team CT… arios omigos

• I just placed my booking fees at Honda PJ Jln 222 as they gave me the highest cash rebate -RM1k. Just want to sharewith all of u guys the reason why I choosing this car.

First of all it suite my lifestyle where I live & work around the city most of the time -Putrajaya to be precised. Found that this i-vtec really suit the city driving with fuel efficiency champion. As my max speed normally around 120km/h.

No.2 At my age of 28 years old married with 1child status, It think this is the best car for my family and for me while building up my career as an project engineer with intermediate income. So I plan to drive this car for 5-7 years from now before I can afford to change to more exclusive &high performance car. And I truly believed that within 5-7yrs this car will contribute higher resell value to me.

No.3 I booked for full spec model as it give me more value added items (14items) to create fun driving experience and soother my feeling from physical point of view.

And Lastly I feel so relax cruising at hway with low rpm and ample of boot space for me to have a 'balik kampung' journey during holidays plus I can prevent my sleepy sensation while balik kampung to Kota Baru Kelantan Cruising using paddle shift to overtake many slow driver and lorries and giving me endless enjoyment feel while driving.

Honda city really suit urban lifestyle people like me I guess. U decide what really suit u urself.

• Caruser on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Yep. really agree with u on this. But not only for urban ppl but for ppl who live like outside the city like myself. Driving long distance is so enjoyable and im happy that i can enjoy my podcasts and songs from my ipod now with DECENT bassy speakers

• tamjali on Jun 25, 2009 at 10:34 pm

hello,

mine city E spec. just about a month old. Defenetly no problem, its a loaded. First week after first service, went to cameron highland, 120-170km/h, feel got more plenty of power to roar, but not now, 15km/l. This car is really a monster! With 4 adult, and 3 kids.Paddle shift is really work, just shift up/down and press the paddle hard, it wont let u down, good in cornering even in hight speed, a bit 'goyang' when u reach 160km/h at the curve. Own wira before, from now on, no more proton in my mind.

cheer.

• What is the rate now? Any other free gift? 1-2 take car?

• ghani on Jun 26, 2009 at 6:08 pm

Are u sure 15-20km /l ?

Test to JB 3 times last month with speed 100 – 120 KM/h (Night driving) . FC is only avg. 12.3KM / l. What wrong with my city? Meter already 7,000 KM

• xstan on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Me old Gen 2 City easily touch 18km/l while driving up highway with stable run on 110km.h, total run hardly reach 10K km. Town drive hit 12km/l.

• e_jump on Jun 27, 2009 at 12:37 am

hey rezz..where r u working at?..where r u staying in Putrajaya?..i got mine 2 months ago, and u're right..NHC does suits urban driving environment..cant wait for my 1st oil change..mileage build-up has been slow due to lack of long-haul journey and distance between office & home is just about 10km only..hehe..

cheers..

• tamjali on Jun 27, 2009 at 12:59 am

yes very sure, town driving with 2 adult n 3kid onboard, 13-14km/l. love the sound system.next will try to hit190km/h after 2nd service. yes this car mean for relax city driving, but it really can go very fast, most owner may feel this car a bit 'berat' sebab sayang maaa keleta baru. for me, drive it as optimum as possible.(u also can down shift with pedal shifter without engaging into 'S' mode, because 'S' mode no v-tech- sad) it really got plenty of power actually, 120-170km/h quite easy that how i drive ths car every day (lekas, grand saga, cheras kajang). my old wira also can achieve that, but with firmly hold and squeeze the steering wheel and strong vibration arouse all around. but this new city, very hard to enjoy the speedy feeling, too comfort, it suddenly reach 160-170km/h without notice. just owned it, you will know how it feel. err.. mine is polish metal- grade E. RM 673/month. but dont use this car too long, 4rd-5ft year, JUAL.

• Bro tamjali,

I'm also planning on getting the E-spec with downpayment of RM 10K. Most of the SA around KL quote me an interest % of 3.4% for 7 years n 3.5% – 9 years. Dunno which bank they use.

Appreciate if u could share with us which bank u apply n enjoy RM 673/month. How much is ur downpayment n interest % rate?

Look forward to ur reply.

• just to share with you guys, for new CT as you know dashbord and door are look very plasticity and electrostatic to attract dust. yesterday i hardly polish them with dashboard polisher ( uv protector ) and the result was awesome and better than new. try it and you will satisfy. but do not polish your steering since that polisher is kind slippery.

and do not use regular tissue in your car coz it will contribute dust and stuck to all over your interior. just use baby wet tissue. or your workhard polishing will became nothing.

but i wonder either new CT 'kusyen sarung' can take out for wash or not. coz i found zip behind of driver sit. the black colour was easyly look stain. for now i just vacum it with my powerful vacum 2000kw.

• hi e_jump,

I stay at precinct 18 and work with CCM.. bt seem I was in project division, I daily go to sites currently around bukit tinggi klang, glenmarie and bbbangi.. are u also from putrajaya? precinct? work? cant wait to have mine NHC this coming august..

p/s: did anyone know estimate price to tender car reg no ' *** 909 ' at JPJ ?? or anyone can help ??

• tamjali on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:21 pm

bro zack,

i booked t car on january 2009, maybank islamic, intr. rate 2.35%. Down payment rm 34,8++K. Montly rm 673 – 9 years. at first I book bold beige (to look elegant and rare), then change my mind to polish metal-look better, look firm, shinier at all condition, and lasting colour also. If u book now at 10K, with the latest interest rate,

waaalauwe…! 1k++/month !. Please find another 25K.( i sold my superbike for this purpose, again, but manage to buy yamaha 125z, he he he! cannot live without motorbike in KL) Yes this car t FC very good. But the part damn expensive (new car n new tech) my rabbit get into the engine compartment, climb up n (there is some 1ft wide black pvc platform between the engine and airconditioning blower), bite the expose airconditioning wire cable,- went to hsc, my god!, the 5" cable and some small bracket cost rm274! then i took t car home n fix it my self. yes t dashboard and door look good but made out of plastic, same with other brand interior now days, yes u need to apply some uv protection n anti static liquid. Buy vacum with 2000w just for this car. mine with 4 digit reg no – rm 230, '909' rm 1k++?

• e_jump on Jul 03, 2009 at 12:24 am

rezz,

i stayed at Desa Pinggiran Putra, working at complex D.. u rent at presinct 18?..waa..so many places to monitor project..really can turn people's head with ur coming NHC..hehe..frankly speaking bro..u'll never regret owning the NHC..

cheers

• tamjali on Jul 03, 2009 at 5:17 pm

to protect your car paint, if PPS too expensive or no time to do yet, please use only silicon or teflon base polish. do not use any wax base polish. it will spoil your car. but keep find the way to do the PPS, its brilliant!

• Yo tamjali, what do you mean by PPS anyway? your suggest to use silicon and teflon base polisher, i will try that soon.

• NJ_Motors on Jul 06, 2009 at 5:10 am

I've just got my city for 3 weeks,…. i've noticed that the windscreen has some wave,… the screen is not clear,… like when you tint it with cheap tint,…. but i haven't tint it yet,.. so i went and show it to honda,… as usual something i don't expect from HONDA, i thought they will really look into this,… but they keep saying this is normal,… bla,.. bla,… the usual talk…. and they said they will report it,… and we will wait…. my brother had the same thing with his car a perodua viva,.. they changed it,… even my friend bought a Naza spectra had the same problem,… they changed it immediately… this is my first time buying honda,… i'm a little bit upset,.. not with the car,… with the service

• tamjali on Jul 06, 2009 at 7:19 pm

NJ_Motor,

any defect on windscreen mostly cannot be repaired (it a vital part of t car,your safety depend on it). It must be replace. wind screen made out of harden and tempered film sandwiched by two tempered glass. must be the inner film defected. i wonder how u do not noticed this problem before u accept t car at the first place. just make 'loud' complaint to t honda hQ.

• anyone here know any place to fit bodykit modulo or any with best quality, price &workmanship? How much you guys installed it?

• Bro tamjali n guys,

Thank u for sharing your experienced…really appreciate it. Make me wanna be NHC member a.s.a.p

just wanna share with u guys, i just got this quotation from bank muamalat, they offer int. rate of 2.9% for 7 years. not bad for a small bank. i'm still waiting from BSN whether they can offer me better.

Again, thanks guys!

• CityLover on Jul 10, 2009 at 6:09 am

Zack,

Thanks for sharing , you will be happy with your new city, do update us which bank !

• chenkiew on Jul 12, 2009 at 5:09 pm

hi how long it takes to book the NHC?

first time buying honda car here…any advice b4 and after purchase?

• Honda city 2009 revi on Jul 13, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Anyone know that honda city works fine on cng or not ?

• tamjali on Jul 14, 2009 at 8:37 pm

bro chenkiew,

my experience buying first honda car, 4 month q- up. Please find the most lowest interest (please no hurry), find friendly SA, u will get tinted, pedal lock, umbrella, t-shirt, full tank (cheras one not friendly). upon received your car, please check all plastic interior, and the steering wheel- silvery part may not fit properly. buy anti dust and uv protection for the interior. all extra pre drill hole on the chasis at the engine bay must be cover with round sticker. alignment may be the issue, but can be fix by them.car treatment and protection PPS- www.shinenshield.com. after second service, the engine will stay silent at 145km/h. FC 15-17km/l. no regret buying grade E.

• chenkiew on Jul 15, 2009 at 3:51 am

thanks bro tamjali. :)

think nearest i can only survey around pj and kepong area…

• tamjali on Jul 15, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Some people said that placing the fuel tank beneath the front seat (center of the car) is awkward weight distribution.FYI, scientist found that humming bird got small tank contain liquid under the skin at the back, between both wing attachment (at the center of the bird). this liquid act as a balancer as the bird fly, hovering and manoeuvring while collecting honey, may this why honda use this concept to put the fuel tank at the center of the car, to help stabilise the car indeed. abt the "goyang " feeling, it may contribute by the hard suspension, odd wheel size,- look thin in frontal silhouette. 15" rim and low profile tyre maybe more suit for 1.5 autos in term of handling and speed. q: the gear changing from R to D feel quite loud to be heard from outside, normal for auto transmission car? love the reclinable rear seat, my 3 kids sleep peacefully all the way from kl to johor, twice this month. in wira berfore, they keep wake up and complained.

• john persie lee on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:24 pm

buy civic. stability no complaint

• john persie lee on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:27 pm

not practical, you put rm34k downpayment and go for 9 years loan

• i prefer new mitshubishi lancer rather than new civic almost at the same price, if i can afford that in another 3 -4 years . hihihi

• still 3.4%?

• john persie lee on Aug 03, 2009 at 11:30 pm

nono

• matara balkaz on Aug 04, 2009 at 1:28 am

who can give the best interest now.. my fren want to buy this CT….hehehhe..

• Marblelee on Aug 04, 2009 at 6:49 pm

Bank muamalat offering 2.8% untill september

(t&c.)

• Marblelee on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:03 pm

some ppl are misunderstod,they think city/vios is design for speed/race/modified for race. if want to do so, better look for persona/civic/waja.

City/vios is a family car. if we see city/vios rear suspension also not use with lower arm system.

and not fair use honda city body size to compare to persona or waja. physically persona/waja is big built size, sure is more stable than city.

those hope for stable and powerful with as honda city value.

go for 2nd accord. or BMW 3series

• MC chan on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:20 pm

some city/vios owner are misunderstand to city/vios concept.

these car is family car, not design for racing or modification for race.

if want hope for more stable up to 160km/h pls go civic/persona/waja or 2nd cefiro/BMW/accord.

dont think HONDA city is everything as HONDA civic/ or Honda F1

• NadzMy7 on Aug 12, 2009 at 10:17 pm

anyone can suugest me any contact number for car loan from bank muamalat?i plan to buy NHC and live in salak tinggi selangor..hope anybody can help..

• MC chan on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:09 pm

contact number cannot be suggest..

• tamjali on Aug 21, 2009 at 6:04 pm

agreed. NHC is not design for speed all the way, even this car can go fast. yesterday afternoon i saw black NHC sandwiched at MRR2 ampang, near to honda showroom ampang-sad. whose one? how abt using strut bar and rear anti roll bar, will it void t warranty?

• ur stupidest on Aug 22, 2009 at 7:47 pm

i just don,t agreed NHC to be compare with pesona, waja and even vios. NHC a way much better in any aspect than these cars.

• melz said on Sep 05, 2009 at 8:30 pm

perfomance = toyota better

looks = NHC better

price = persona better

• rolls on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:12 pm

I just booking and luckily my loan approved, as my 1st new car compared my last satria converted 1.6, i'm very excited waitng next month to collect the city….

• NHC rider on Oct 07, 2009 at 8:19 pm

congrat bro roll, u'ill excited more when u find NHC save a lot of fuel than ur previous car. my previous car also Satria GTI

• danial on Oct 11, 2009 at 7:17 pm

used to ride my friends nhc..ermm IMHO the suspension n comfort i think pesona better..

• RyDeR on Oct 16, 2009 at 9:57 pm

I want to sell my Myvi SXi..

then wanna buy this car..

Toyota Vios S spec OR Honda City E spec??

and what is the interest rate now??

plz everybody help me..

• BuddingR on Oct 25, 2009 at 4:10 am

thinking of selling off my MyVie, should i get Honda City or swift suzuki??i travel +-100km daily.please advise

• uNdercover on Oct 31, 2009 at 6:37 am

honda city e spec!!!

• Lion King on Nov 21, 2009 at 12:48 am

D@mn dissappointed with greedy Honda Malaysia.

WTF , 85k for an 'empty' car !?? Besides 2 air bags , I dont find anywhere in the car worth 85k. I'm referring to the lower spec model. D@rn .. With 79k Vios E spec , I can get more value for my money ..

Anyone know when Honda will upgrade the accessories ? I read Indian market got new upgraded variants.

• Caruser on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:04 pm

if u r small sized built man than i think vios is for u… if ur ard 5″ 10 or 6 footer better get city. The performance of both engines is different cos i’ve driven both. stop looking at the cars in showrooms and start to test drive

• esther on Dec 10, 2009 at 7:17 pm

The 3S that Honda is promoting and advertising in Malaysia is really a joke. The Customer Service Manager in Petaling Jaya, Malaysia has not return my calls for nearly two months despite the fact that her staff couldn't resolve my complaints on a major defect on my brand new Honda City. She just sweeps the problem under the carpet and washed her hands off the case. Surprised that Honda have such employee in management level, hiding in the 4 walls of her office. I wonder what KPI that Honda has set for their Customer Service Department. Now, their staff is pushing me to accept an unacceptable solution and yet their Manager doesn't want to return your calls to resolve the matter. Very, very disappointed with Honda and regretted buying a Honda car with so many other defects besides the paintwork. And I have heard from other owners about defects of their car especially side mirrors.

• the car overall is gud.better than vios.vios banyak orang beli kerana murah,tetapi ct value for money.little probelms even mercedes,bmw bentley and all the cars have.

• kirko on Mar 11, 2010 at 9:00 pm

I just buy a City 1.5E Spec in dark blue color… My comments :-

a) very comfortable car to drive..

b) very handsome looks (and made my neighbour who own

Iswara so jealous) hehe

c) smooth auto-shift transmission (unlike proton)

unfortunately, it got no rear Wiper, (the vapour condenser is not work)

everytime there's thick mist on the rear windshield and I'm hardly see cars behind..

others is ok, i just think it is a pretty decent family car to drive properly in city.. (not for racing i.e. go 160 km/h.. if u want that, wait for Honda Circuit in 2015..) ;p

• malin on Apr 21, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Just asking for opinion.
    We want to have leather seats, black and red color, is it ok and what should be the design?. Is it dull red at the middle of the seats. Can someone give advice/opinion on this.

• Now already 2 month drive My New Honda City 1.5E and I Completely Satisfied. I drive many car b4. for me this car is Value for money, Good fuel consumption, Comfortable Good handling, Great power for 1.5 sohc and Nice looking. But Ford Mustang Gt has great handling, Much more power and really nice looking and much more better than Honda city. i wish i have Ford Mustang Gt and i will put window sticker on it “MY OTHER CAR IS HONDA CITY” …… : )

• devan on Aug 03, 2013 at 7:58 pm

My car is Honda city. I forgot to switch off the key
    and the battery’s already flat. I recharge the battery and I cannot start the engine and firstly there is no red light when I on the key but when I press the horn, it is working.
    Please adv me the fault. If I need to change the fuse, please adv me where is fuse box located.

Appreciate your immediate reply.

Thanks/Regds
    Devan
    h/p nO: 012-3276576

• Hi all sifus. Recently I am planning to get a used 3rd gen City type E with peddle shift, year made 2011. Please confirm if VSA is not available for this version? Also the airbag accident involved 2nd gen City last year really freak us out and shaken my confident towards Honda City now. Should I go ahead with the purchase?