Proton clarifies choice of Proton Exora name

Proton Exora

Proton has issued a response to the public outcry of alleged unfairness in the results of the Proton MPV naming competition. The dissatisfaction is mostly related to the chosen name “Proton Exora”, which its MD Datuk Syed Zainal said was based on the Ixora flower name at the launch event. According to Syed Zainal, “Exora is a flower that blooms in a bunch, so that evokes the spirit of the MPV, which is togetherness. It demonstrates the MPV as a family vehicle and that is why we decided to pick the name.”

In Proton’s statement, it thanked members of the public for highlighting the issues and concerns related to the choice of name and understands the points being made. It clarified that the name “Proton Exora” was picked through a vigorous selection process and was chosen because it was not a name for any animal and vegetation although it had similar pronunciation as the flower, Ixora. In fact, there were 139 contest entries submitting the name Proton Ixora, and 39 entries for Proton Exora. The Ixora name was eliminated from the final selection because it was the direct spelling of the name of a flower.

The 39 people who had submitted the winning name had also chosen the name for various other reasons. The winning entry by Miss Norsholihan Bt Abdul Eanich was chosen because of the tagline “Keriangan Keluarga” or family joy. Proton felt the name and tagline represented the company’s effort to offer a vehicle which could offer family togetherness.

The controversial rule in the naming competition stated that an entry “tidak diambil daripada” the name of flora or fauna, but it appears that Proton and contestants had different interpretations of this rule. A lot of contestants who are dissatisfied right now assumed it meant any name related to flora and fauna were disallowed, however Proton’s interpretation was only a direct name of a flora or fauna is disallowed.

What’s done is done and nothing can be changed, but reflecting on the situation, what Proton should have done at the very beginning is clarify what exactly “tidak diambil daripada” meant by giving examples, because in my honest opinion it is obvious to me that Exora is “taken from/diambil daripada” the word Ixora and contestants have every right to be dissatisfied because perhaps if they had known variations or puns on flora/fauna are allowed, they could have let their creativity loose even more and may have come up with an even better name and tagline than Proton Exora.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:01 am

i'm just amazed by the huge amount of interest in proton's new mpv… both positive and negative responses.. really amazing.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:03 am

also wanted to add that, i seriously believe no other car company in the world gets attention like this from people in their home country.. even just the name of the product seems to be causing a small riot.

definitely unique to malaysia. i think thats pretty coool.

• dothan on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:03 am

As a Malaysian, I will not doubt there will be a line in the competition T&C written "The judge’s decision in relation to all aspects of the competition is final". Cheers… :)

• terminatorkun on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:07 am

Because of the dissatisfaction…proton should change the name to PROTON ERIKA….hohoho…I get free car….just my 2 sense

joke only…

• ameen (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:11 am

hehe.. Malaysian.. hopefully this new mpv wont disappointing them..

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:13 am

Will this post be the record breaker. Nope. Not yet.

Imagine the post count when the Exora officially launch.

• Mr_Zack on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:27 am

muahahahaha…. i want free car too ..

• MadMAx187 on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:31 am

Aiya! We know what kinda names proton will choose.

Want to be a global player but give this kinda name! Yes! Malaysia Boleh!

• hvannees on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:35 am

Exora is a flower that blooms in a bunch, so that evokes the spirit of the MPV, which is togetherness. DSZ have a point there. Besides that, they are the judges and we are only contestant. I actually feel the name suits although little girlish. bust doesn't matter because it is for family joy.

• hafiz on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:43 am

i want to ask sumting, why proton takes flower name for their new mpv…??in competition held last yeat clearly said that name that are taken from animals and plants are not allowed….how do they explain that..??

• heavencloud on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:54 am

lol.. i thought only people at paultan dissatisfied with the result. It turned out everyone in the rest of the country until managed to get to syed zainal's ears.

• andre on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:58 am

similar pronunciation as the flower [Ixora]

so it's not plants

• Aiman on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:06 am

Saya kasi nama Proton Mega…. Ibarat rumah keduaku… Paham-paham la. Tak menarik ke tu?

• pulge on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:08 am

hafiz,

I believe your question is already answered in the article above. The name Exora is not a flower's name, ixora is. The name is inspired or based on the flower's name. What Proton meant in the T&C is a direct or exact word that clearly referring to fauna or flora. The phrase "taken from" and "based on" is actually different in meaning, although it somehow related.

Just my opinion.

• Bosz_1551 on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:08 am

hafiz, no offense brother. but u r so last year.. people hv debated tht issue in the previous post u know. And even in this "statement" the proton personel did answer u.. i read, do u?

peace!

• fauzib on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:13 am

i still believe proton should take names like proton saujana or proton angkasa. they are more 'malaysian' just like previous names – saga, wira, waja, perdana, persona…

• smack...bong on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:16 am

iyaa…sudalaa… whatever the name is,one thing for sure,dissapointment will be the echo of it,…u wait la…

• I expect another 400 posts! haha

• stroller on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:27 am

i feel dissappointed coz not winning the naming contest but still cool coz to win the prize it hv to b 1:250k really lucky person of all… support p1…

• bmpower on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:28 am

hafiz!

read the article above carefully!

haiya…

• smack...bong on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:28 am

they cheated….and then they created a storyline just to cover up their lie,MD DSZ why dont u just say sorry to all participant,and donate all the sms money to charity…be a gentleman

• ligat on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:28 am

. According to Syed Zainal, “Exora is a flower that blooms in a bunch,….

emmm…refer tu flora ler tu…..

takkan nak tegakkan benang yg. basah kut….hohoho

• nabill on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:40 am

actually , at this moment , even bad publicity is good publicity for the NEW MPV !

• Stiggy on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:41 am

enough with the name!

i want the car!

• oi ligat

baca sampai abis laaa bengong

“Exora is a flower that blooms in a bunch, so that evokes the spirit of the MPV, which is togetherness. It demonstrates the MPV as a family vehicle and that is why we decided to pick the name.”

jgn ambik satu sentence jer

• stroller on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:44 am

the bloom getting exploded….

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:08 am

this is an awful name

• ligat (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:16 am

emmph..hax…

apesal sesenang jer ko kater aku be….g!

nak tulis tu biar baradap sikit….bahasa jiwa bangsa ok..

lagipun aku komen berdasarkan statement dari proton md semalam…

dlm surat khabar pun terang2 tunjuk gambar bunga exora tu…

so hari ni proton nak clarify pun dah terlanjur kata oleh md semalam….

aku cuma respon to proton bukan nyer nak kutuk comentor lain…

so lepas ni jaga bahasa ok..

wassalam….

let by gone be by gone…..yg. tersurat tu aku terima..cuma in future biarlah sesuatu itu clear dan difahami oleh semua…

• ah the long retarded name is back to bash proton

• KS_Phang on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:41 am

IMO, name doesnt even matter. if the car is good it will create its own name. after all, no MPV name sounds nice. Peace. hope to see review soon for exora and neo cps

• MisterBenjo on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:42 am

Pandai pusing2…Kudos to Proton!

• bukan lawa sangat pon….

• Calvin Ngan on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:51 am

…“Exora is a flower that blooms in a bunch, so that evokes the spirit of the MPV, which is togetherness."..

Yeah, with their safety record, everyone will die together. They should rename it as Proton Di-Exora-kan. It is time proton improves their safety feature, more R&D in safety please! Even our Barisan Nasional MPs drives mercedez and foreign cars, same goes for their children and the founder Mahathir Mohammad. What? Not safe for the CEO of Proton too? wah, rakyat regardless of race must drive all these lousy no safety feature milo tin car? No standard ah?

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:52 am

Will the bloom explode out of control, AGAIN? Hopefully not. What's been done cannot be undone anymore. Should we 4get abt the name n carry on? Make PEACE lah bros.

• S-Vee-four on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:52 am

So is PERODUA gonna have a contest also?

• wakenabeb on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:53 am

Actually all this was a set up.. WAKENABEB!!! woo… woo..
    _n/

Cheers

• Sexythang on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:57 am

they should use a name that exemplify what the company and its products represent.

proton sucks

it does have a nice 'ring' to it.

• Jaxxon on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:09 am

The tagline is so lame. Keriangan keluarga…

• you a-hole on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:11 am

“Exora is a flower that blooms in a bunch…"

————————————

“Exora is a flower that blooms in a bunch, so that evokes the spirit of the MPV, which is togetherness. It demonstrates the MPV as a family vehicle and that is why we decided to pick the name.”

if i ambik satu sentence jer, still, theres a flower element to it!!!!

when they say u cant use flora or fauna, most ppl would think that it'd be better off not messing with any of flora or fauna, even if it's just a tiny bit. i didnt send any name. i just think its not fair for all those who did…

• Wisdom on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:12 am

Calvin Ngan said,

February 18, 2009 @ 10:51 pm

…“Exora is a flower that blooms in a bunch, so that evokes the spirit of the MPV, which is togetherness.”..

Yeah, with their safety record, everyone will die together. They should rename it as Proton Di-Exora-kan. It is time proton improves their safety feature, more R&D in safety please! Even our Barisan Nasional MPs drives mercedez and foreign cars, same goes for their children and the founder Mahathir Mohammad. What? Not safe for the CEO of Proton too? wah, rakyat regardless of race must drive all these lousy no safety feature milo tin car? No standard ah?

————————-here comes the bashing

However, since you're a frog (see the avatar?)… we forgive you. Please don't jump to towards the car when we pass by.

If at least 2 airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, crumple zone with front impact bar, HTSS and Lotus tune suspension is lousy, no safety feature, than only a tank will be safe enough for your whole family.

Take note that the reigning milo tank car title now goes to Viva.

• oi ligat

bunga ixora bukan exora

exora tu based on ixora

to calvin ngan..

sames goes to pembangkang.. all of them also drive expensive german cars

why only complain about BN?

all politicians are same

• arie othman on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:17 am

Bad thing start with this MPV, even for it's name.

after this????????

• tansri on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:17 am

just want to add the number of comments..haha..maybe 2morrow will 300++

hehe..

i think the paul is right..

Proton managed to get their best reason by saying that at last..but i don't think there is an honest logic with their reason..so obvious.. they made mistake and cannot admit it..but we must agree its still a good choice.

• viknesh on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:17 am

From my design point of view, the word Exora is nice but the term which is derived from is superficial. Togatherness? So other models dont evoke it? i managed to fit 7 plp in a proton wira before. So whats the big deal about this concept. Proton should seriously think about the way they come out with their product. Just put a shame to other competitors who are much younger than it.. ehmmm..

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:17 am

This is a typical Malaysian spirit. Depending on how you look at it, this incident really defines the culture of Malaysia; rules are ambiguous and can be wrongly interpreted thus able to be manipulated according to one's advantage. It would be nice if Proton actually release all the 39 contestants with the same name with their tagline and then actually let the public vote? Besides they can make some money with the SMS voting i guess.

• tansri on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:19 am

KS_Phang said,

February 18, 2009 @ 10:41 pm

IMO, name doesnt even matter. if the car is good it will create its own name. after all, no MPV name sounds nice. Peace. hope to see review soon for exora and neo cps

it became a problem when it run the naming contest la macha..

• what2 in the butt on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:22 am

it's a problem because lotsa people who didn't win x puas hati hahahhaha

• what2 in the butt on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:52 am

From my design point of view, the word Exora is nice but the term which is derived from is superficial. Togatherness? So other models dont evoke it? i managed to fit 7 plp in a proton wira before.

that's a very stupid move of u

7 people in a sedan?

wtf? r u crazy.. if accident, all will surely die

• what2 in the butt on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:56 am

"if i ambik satu sentence jer, still, theres a flower element to it!!!!

when they say u cant use flora or fauna, most ppl would think that it’d be better off not messing with any of flora or fauna, even if it’s just a tiny bit. i didnt send any name. i just think its not fair for all those who dida…"

that's their own for not understand throughly the rules…

hell… I dun even read rules and I still send some names

• slimershine on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:40 am

exora – i like~ hehe..

next time, proton will 'bertaubat' never to put a contest name a car.

• Jan Saleh on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:42 am

Nabill..

I agree with u..

Even bad publicity is good publicity for the New MPV..

Ini trick maa..

• Paul Tan on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:42 am

This headline by The Malaysian Insider truly hits it on the head:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/mala…

"Sounds like a flower, has qualities of a flower, but not a flower"

Correct correct correct.

• tansri on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:53 am

they made mistake and cannot admit it..

hope no error in the design of the MPV..

• adui..

I guess proton never gonna make naming contest after this..

huhu.. no more free car

• Salamander on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:06 am

I think si-fu is MD Datuk Syed Zainal. Since yesterday got ruckus here therefor he go make press conference. LOL

• ligat on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:25 am

ixora= nama bunga -eliminates because it was the direct spelling of the name of a flower.

exora (tak direct spelling sipi-sipi jer)= so diperkenankan jadi proton exora

emmmm….boleh ker camtu….

yelah senang jer tukarkan ‘i’ ke ‘e’ (ixora/exora)…

bunga tahi ayam= nama bunga

tahi ayam= najis

ayam?= goreng pun sodap…hohooho

• Proton should not put in "derive from flora or fauna" in the T&C in the first place..lol..remember dat proton.never repeat the same mistake AGAIN!!

• achai on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:54 am

i think they also shocked, because they forgot about the rules.. haha..

shame on proton to make a very stupid mistake.. now there there is some kind of hate feeling of the contestant with proton..

kui2…kah2..

but this is the best way to do, what else they can do..the winner has been announced, maybe they themselves regret they forgot..sifu? any comment?

• agree wit ligat! point well taken…

haha

btw, if other contestants are not satisfied

take it to the court laa

it's the trend now~

hahahahaha

• osh_kosh on Feb 19, 2009 at 2:15 pm

SM said,
    February 19, 2009 @ 9:16 am

Just now googled ‘exora’ for other meanings.. Found out there are species of beetles named Exora..

–> thanks bro… a quick check on the net showed that u r absolutely right…

“Other insect pests that are reported to periodically attack C. juncea are the leaf-feeding caterpillars Argina cribraria and A. syringa. Additional stem- or shootborer species include Laspeyresia tricenta, Cymotricha tetraschema and Selinas monotropa. Beetles of the genus Exora could cause serious defoliation. Black beetles are a serious pest in Zimbabwe. C. juncea is attacked by many fungi, nematodes, bacteria and viruses. ” (http://www.worldagroforestrycentre.org/sea/Products/AFDbases/af/asp/SpeciesInfo.asp?SpID=618)…

so it’s not a flower but a species of animal instead.. wait a minute, is that mean 39 people also disqualified? hahaha Protan did well by making themself look like a joker… LOL… hahahhah.. can’t wait for another statement

• oldwira on Feb 19, 2009 at 2:21 pm

To those who lost the naming contest of the proton MPV, and dissatisfied like me, my suggesting solution is, buy the mpv, remove the name’s emblem (Exora), replace with the name you’ve chosen. Hopefully that’ll make you better.

• kimi_ on Feb 19, 2009 at 3:34 pm

Hi Paul,

it seems that you also participate in the naming of mpv….hehe.

• Enginerd_2008 on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:07 pm

MisterBenjo said,

February 18, 2009 @ 10:42 pm

Pandai pusing2…Kudos to Proton!

—————————————————————–

Ya lor :) The next P2 model might refer to the loser of proton MPV naming contest i think, because there are a lot of creative name here, but was disqualified because of Proton's term and condition. This competition create a big controversy and also a big Boom. but it is a good start for this Exora, let see what will happen during the launching even soon.

For the booking day in this Saturday, i expect 2000++ will book this new EXORA :) Just my senses.

• ligat on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:16 pm

“sila senyap,peperiksaan sedang dijalankan. Dilarang meniru”

Question:

‘Pronounce like flower; look like flower; smell like flower; inspired from flower; BUT it’s not a flower.’

Sila jawab soalan diatas………..

Selepas 15 minit berlalu Abu angkat tangan… cikgu Bakar(bukan nama sebenar)

Datang menghampiri..”kenapa Abu” tanya beliau.

Abu complain dia nampak Ah Mad meniru jawapan Ali.

Cikgu Bakar Tanya Ah Mad betul ker beliau meniru jawapan Ali.

Ah Mad menjawap “ saya tak tiru ma..! saya Cuma ambil inspirasi jer dari jawapan Ali”

‘jawapan Ali untuk soalan diatas bunga Ixora…tapi saya Exora bukan nama bunga tapi nama kereta ..…tak direct tiru ma….sipi-sipi …ambil inspirasi ma…!!!!!

• Aizad96 on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:30 pm

name exora tu macam pernah dengarlah …dekat ngan name kate lotus kan .Emm kan lebih sesuai letak name Uniti sesuai dengan rakyat malaysia yang berbilang kaum.PROTON UNITI

• Pronunciation Teache on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Guys,

I just to know.. Exora got any meaning or not in chinese or indian?

example : Wira means Hero, warrior @ pahlawan in malay.

Exora @ Ejola @ Ejoda something similar to that = got any meaning or not? = mandarin @hokkien @what ever.. I jut want to know.. I got a lot chinese and indian friend, i dont want them to perli2 this name(Exora) if i bought this MPV because of its meaning :)

Paul Tan says: The word exora exists, it means pray/plead/beg/similiar meanings. There is this phrase "Et pro nobis Christum exora" which basically means pray/plead to Christ to forgive our sins.

• rexis on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:49 pm

For 70k+, sorry, but i gonna get the Grand Livina.

Not taken from animal and flowers? Why is that limitation in the first place seriously.

So… if I suggested "Monkey" and I explained that it is something related to Monday and house key, should they disqualify me?

Seriously, I dun care if it is Exora or Exotic. Btw, its not that catchy.

• azrai on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Nasi dah jadi bubur. Terlajak perahu boleh diundur, terlajak kata buruk padahnya. It's their CEO who really says it is taken from the 'bunga siantan' name. Anyway, it is a nice name but not the tage line. Keriangan keluarga? I beg the father or the head of the family not so 'riang' to pay for the monthly installment of their new MPV for 9 years in this state of economy environment. :-)

• Ian CHEONG on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:05 pm

Now that everyone accepts EXORA as the name, does this AUTOMATICALLY qualify the alphabet "X" into the Malay Vocabulary?

Dewan Bahasa doing anything about this?

Where's the BAHASA BAKU thingy which was much publicised yonks back? Hangat Hangat Tahi Ayam?

So now, we can save some characters by spelling SEXY as SEXI? (rather than SEKSI?)

I would have thought it would be names EKSORA, if conforming to the language guidelines.

And not to forget, 450 million in development costs? My gawd! For copy & paste from Mitsubishi's old plans? Something's wrong here!

RM 450,000,000 for each of the annual 450,000 NEW car owners is like getting a RM 1k discount for each person!

Would this open a new can of worms here?

• anti_tipu on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:10 pm

KALAU DA TIPU TU TIPU JUGAK.. AKU TAK PUAS HATI SEBAB AKU TAK MENANG.. HAHAHA..

• dream on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:14 pm

I think other than the name is derived from a flower, maybe Proton wanted to relate it to Lotus somehow, and EXORA has a conbination of EXige and evORA, the two Lotus cars. Still Proton should have clarified the rules CLEARLY( not to be a sore loser…)

• Just now googled 'exora' for other meanings.. Found out there are species of beetles named Exora..

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:37 pm

two words….. "SORE LOSER"……

Get it?

It's your own fault for not understanding the rules or misinterpreting it….. Dun blame proton….

That's y sometimes ppl said 'dun take things literally…. try to understand it.. se the reason or the meaning behind it… '

haiiiyyyya..

• Shaekey on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:40 pm

I guess it becomes bigger problem because Exora was mentioned in the speech and how it relates to a flower. I bet the person who wrote the speech didn't even know the contest T&C. …and I didn't even now there's a flower named Ixora (bunga kantan some more) before.

• Shaekey on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:42 pm

oppss… sorry… bunga Siantan or bunga Kantan. Whatever! *shrug*

• nonengko on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:49 pm

if I am p2, i will have the same naming competition but I outline and give samples that clarifies what can and what not………

nak kena kan dia……..

• autojohndoe on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:52 pm

call proton for information detail bfore u submit any name after this…

menyesal dahulu pendapatan… menyesal kemudian tidak berguna…

bahasa jiwa bangsa…

• henryee on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:00 pm

wahahaha, blooms in a bunch? SHxT lah, then why not use Protong Virus (Vee Rus), because, those virus also 'blooms' in a bunch! What a naive minded.

How about Protong HIV? Also a kind of spreading virus!!! WaKaKaKa~~~

Anyway Protong Exora? It sounds like it'll gonna Exit (Exora) the car market in Malaisia. Hahaha, silly name!!!

• henryee on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:12 pm

One more name propose by me is Protong "ASSHORA"=asshole RA, because it 'fits' many asses inside it and people sit inside it maybe are 'Asxhole'? How funny is it, No direct name but just change a front word, then can become a name for a car!!!

• whiteeye on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:12 pm

This is wat typical Malaysian Company will do, as u can c may be the winner had close related to Proton friends, i don't know but in Malaysia u hope that they don't break the rules, they always done it, even our deputy najis also kill someone can be our Prime Minister than u hope a small company won't do that? and this car won't be a hot seller in Malaysia as the price is totally wow means expensive for this scrap car i rather buy a honda city.

• Prismo on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:36 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

February 18, 2009 @ 10:08 pm

this is an awful name

—————————————————————-

how about ur nick name?? –> Sex is wonderful, bla bla bla…… ah…awful….

henryee said,

February 19, 2009 @ 10:00 am

wahahaha, blooms in a bunch? SHxT lah, then why not use Protong Virus (Vee Rus), because, those virus also ‘blooms’ in a bunch! What a naive minded.

How about Protong HIV? Also a kind of spreading virus!!! WaKaKaKa~~~

Anyway Protong Exora? It sounds like it’ll gonna Exit (Exora) the car market in Malaisia. Hahaha, silly name!!!

—————————————————————-

Proton basher aka instant clown/joker is back… beware of his stupid comments…. he was a peroduais or a pro-perodua… (dia ni singgah kat blog ni sebab nak tgk samada nama MPV yg dia submit ari tu kena ataupun tidak)

whiteeye,

tak tanya pun ko nak beli keta apa… if u r gonna buy a honda city, just go on… that ur choice. If u really fed up live in malaysia, then go to the other country… this mpv is for us, for malaysian and may not for someone like u or the other bashers… just go ma… easy to do ma… dont ever read any articles about proton ma… semakin baca semakin sakit hati tgk org lain pertahankan proton maa…. susah sgt ker??

• bmpower on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:43 pm

"keputusan adalah muktamad, sebarang surat menyurat dan bantahan tidak akan dilayan".

So what?

• farghmee on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:45 pm

haih..so many language experts here.

So ist das Leben ;)

• adrian on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:51 pm

39 entries only for the name of "Exora"……….that means 39 contestants had considered that "exora" is not a flower name. am i right?

• CG-Dy on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:59 pm

All I can say is PROTON did not think through (& through) when they decided on this "Naming Campaign" – Allowing discrepancies (& dissatisfaction) to take place at a NATIONAL LEVEL. Before the launch of this new MPV (notice I dont even like to all its name), the negative publicity is already piling up peaks. Good or bad, effective or ineffective, only PROTON will know deeply.

• hafiz on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:05 pm

maybe we should stop talking about the name…let proton decide..

the most important thing is the power of the engine. 1600cc…reliability of that kind of engine for an MPV with 7 seater and also the body weight itself. im talking about the power to weight ratio…im feeling that we drive a 660 kancil or 1300 persona/neo or 1000 myvi….

let have a peace discussing here..:D

• alldisc on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:20 pm

proton exora – togetherness

proton – full of bullshit

i plan to win the car and then told all reporteres that i am selling this it because i had no trust in proton. LOL

• adrian,

its not a flower name but its similar meaning to' pray ' or 'beg' rite Paul?

Whorever buy this car should 'pray/beg' that u wont die crashing it.

Guys dont u all understand this is all a marketing stratergi for d mpv, r we sure she's d real winner or p1 just just loan d car for her. Who knows she has to give it back or sell it later on, 39 exora entries but chose her tagline 'keriangan keluarga'? P1 can do & say watever they want its up to u guys accept or not, just get over it & move on

• Bunga on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:26 pm

AISEY…CAMTU SYARATNYA…AWAT X KHABAQ AWAL2?….

BOLE TIRU DARI FLORA & FAUNA…AMIK IXORA TARUK EXORA,

PROTON PN SAME CAM PEMBELI, BELI KETE PROTON, MODIFIED TIRU HONDA, MITSHUBISHI..

• mr.funtasticko on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:29 pm

i think proton should make the statement like this, EXORA is a short form of " EXTRAORDINARY "…every single word in EXORA is there…so u can pronounce it (ex-xora), not (i-xora)…abis cerita…DSZ nak kelentong pun x pandai…still mau belit2 lg…so the tagline can be like this, " The Extraordinary MPV…" bleh ke mcam tu…hehehe…

• Alvin Wan on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:32 pm

The naming is just a joke. Just named it Proton Grandis.

Proton Grandis SE! (malaysian special edition)

Why so proud about naming this MPV? It is just only a rebatch of Mitsubishi Grandis. It is NOT develop by us but merely to buy an old Japanese model to rebatch.

I wonder it is Malaysian without general knowledge or Malaysian government assume people are without general knowledge…

• ligat on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:46 pm

di manakah letaknya kekuatan pada Proton Exora?

pada emgine Campro CPS nyakah, atau pada tag line "keriangan keluarga" nya kah, atau pada nama Exora nya??????

emmm……jawapannya..terletak pada huruf 'E'…

coz kalau huruf 'E' ditukar pada huruf 'I' kan jadi Ixora (NAMA BUNGA)

bunga tak melambangkan kekuatan.. huruf 'E' jugak yg power…..hehee… .

• Persona Jiwa on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:58 pm

the best thing is…..this is the best 'understand the T&C contest' in Malaysia!! jadikan pengajaran agar next time kita jangan ikut syarat pertandingan sebab yang tak ikut syarat yang akan menang…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:59 pm

a lot of ppl frustrated then..no worries…jz try again nxt time…

• Persona Jiwa on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:09 pm

DSZ will be the top CEO in Malaysia 2009…for the most liar CEO!!

congratulation!

• ashfaque on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:26 pm

proton estana sounds better

• hazxkh on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:32 pm

Exora is a FLOWER that blooms in a bunch

DIA SENDIRI CAKAP + MENGAKU …

tp ahhh.

ape-2 lah aku bukan =nya masuk pun peraduan tu…

• Tahniah Proton. Memang dulu lagi (tahun 2004) dalam blog ini saya cadangkan Proton buat MPV macam Opel/Vauhall Zafira/Nabira (eh! Macam nama orang Malaysia pula). Nama tu ok, boleh jual kat Negara Barat.

• not_ah_beng on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:15 pm

wayyyy to go Proton!!

Only Proton can seize on such a good PR opportunity like launching a new MPV to provide a BAD PUBLICITY for the company.

Until the CEO need to come out and make a BS statement to clarify because ppl got upset. Congratulations look like new mgmt, same old s**t.

If Proton really serious to clear up feelings about this they should give some token compensation to all those who also choose "Ixora". No need a new MPV lah, maybe give them RM2000 voucher to buy Proton.

After all, not like anyone wants to buy any Protong these days!! LOL.

• redskins on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Whatever names it would be, no matter how everyone would love to debate it over and over again, would the "power window problem" resolved ?

• lan5029 on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:27 pm

If I knew like that one.. I would have submitted Proton Kobau, with the tagline bigger is better.. gerenti menang!!

• kerelbort on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:30 pm

come.. set one website.. everybody put in their slogan for the competition.. see who can tops 'Keriangan Keluarga/Family Joy'.. simple, straightforward, selling tag line…

bitter people still complaining.. go join other's competition lah!

btw.. SMS charges if not mistaken was said to be donated to some charity body of some sort..rite?

malaysian and SMS…

• Prismo on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:41 pm

139 contestants submitting the name Proton Ixora, eventhough the competition rules said no flora and fauna name… and proton choose Exora… who's the one was breaking the rules? proton or the certain contestants?

so, still wanna argue about this huh?

as usual, ah-beng with useless comments… please be mature.. :)

redskins, if Proton Exora power windows still fail.. let's curse AV Venture.. because they supply the power windows compartments….

• catdeco on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:49 pm

The name fitted to the new mpv.

no worries.

• not_ah_beng on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:50 pm

@Prismo:

139 contestants submitting the name Proton Ixora, eventhough the competition rules said no flora and fauna name… and proton choose Exora… who’s the one was breaking the rules? proton or the certain contestants?

Of course its Proton lah……………use your head.

They ownself said "no flora and fauna", then awarded winner to a plant name! even DSZ said it was a flower.

But the real loser is Proton.

Purpose of running such a contest is to generate publicity and good PR for their new vehicle. In the end, turned out they made a lot of Ppl unhappy.

LOL such a good logic.

• Prismo on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:09 pm

@not-ah-beng

then use ur head and ur ciput brain and try to read properly… how many times u still wanna argue that "Exora" was a flower name? If proton decided and choose the "Ixora" name then, peoples can curse proton la… because it's a flower name…

Paul Tan says: The word "exora" exists, it means pray/plead/beg/similiar meanings. There is this phrase “Et pro nobis Christum exora” which basically means pray/plead to Christ to forgive our sins.

ppl unhappy bcoz they didnt win the free mpv and same as u maybe… "DAH JADI ADAT PERTANDINGAN, ADA YG KALAH DAN ADA YG MENANG"…. kepada yg kalah jgn marah, cuba lagi dan kepada yg menang, tahniah….

• osh_kosh on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:26 pm

139=ixora

39=Exora

so, the most favourite Plate number should be Exora 39 :) anyone like the number? Good Fengshui or not ?

• Prismo on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:31 pm

osh_kosh said,

February 19, 2009 @ 2:26 pm

139=ixora

39=Exora

so, the most favourite Plate number should be Exora 39 anyone like the number? Good Fengshui or not ?

—————————————————————

the "EXORA 39" plate number just for the competiton winner mpv's plate number… lol…

• arie othman on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:32 pm

win or lose does not matter, but please be fair according to competition rules that proton stated.

Our first MPV has a name that……….

( selagi wujud proton exora ni, saya akan ingat namanya dipilih tidak berdasarkan peraturan yang ditetapkan. Tidak seperti nama Proton SAGA )

• Its Just A name dammit.

What with all the fuss?

• Bunga on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:49 pm

proton bunge pn bungelah

• osh_kosh on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:58 pm

it's fun… LOL

• pesot on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:08 pm

funny comment:

among of all the comments here, i'd go for lan5029 comment… short, honest and delivers the point…

fact comment:

i'd go for what SM had wrote.. its a name of a species of a bettle… so, its clear exora should be disqualified…

what ever the name is, they have choose it and u cant say anything about it… sebab itu depa punya kereta dan nama, ikutla sapa depa nak bagi… although by being unfair…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:21 pm

" Why so proud about naming this MPV? It is just only a rebatch of Mitsubishi Grandis. It is NOT develop by us but merely to buy an old Japanese model to rebatch."

———————

You are clearly a blind + deaf + stupid basher…….. Have you ever read or follow this MPV development? or u just look at this MPV yesterday, somehow u see a grandis as decided that this MPV is a rebadge of grandis??? Lol… i feel pity for u….

I believe most ppl here (including the bashers) knew that this mpv platform is a new platform developed by proton on its own….. none what-so-ever have to do with grandis……. proton did not rebadge grandis… instead mitsubishi will rebadge this MPV (Exora) as mitsubishi…. aiyyaaa…

==================

"After all, not like anyone wants to buy any Protong these days!! LOL."

Do you want to review ur statement back not_ah_beng? U r surely one blind basher n perodua worker… =p

no one wants to buy a proton??? Hmmm i wonder why somehow numbers of new saga n persona on the road is increasing nowadays….

oh i forgot… u can only see japanese and perodua cars…n u drive ur car (if u own 1) blindfolded…

• autojohndoe on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:30 pm

last time one person said… persona means 'no one'…

it turns to be good sales for proton…

again… some ppl curse proton about its vehicle name…

hopefully it will turned as persona sales… hoho

• LogicallyMaid on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:33 pm

WHAT WILL HAPPEN IF…. SUDDENLY ALL MALAYSIAN BOYCOTT THIS MPV?

A VERY BIG BIG LOST TO PROTON TO COVER RM 450 MILLION

• autojohndoe on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:34 pm

not_ah_beng thought proton on the road is made by honda… hahaha…

• hackers on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:58 pm

I'm really disappointed with the named of Exora as to newly Proton MPV. It doesn't have a 'man' touch on its name. Furthermore it look like it is belong to a women or similar since its romantic name. Why they not putting more tougher icon to the name. Since i dislike its name i prefer buying Avanza 1.5A. Not only its cool name but the quality is proven.

• Tempatan on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:39 am

Kata nama nak bercirikan nama tempatan Malaysia. Ni namakan Exora, ala-ala sebutan orang putih. Hampeh betul. Balik-balik saudara-mara dia je menang.

• Tempatan on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:42 am

Nama langsung tak menunjukkan keluasan dan keselesaan MPV Proton. Nama lebih pada feminin, seolah-olah orang perempuan yang layak pakai MPV ni. Apalah Proton. Sah panel pengadil ramai perempuan. Tukarlah ke nama lain yang lebih universal dan bercirikan nama tempatan Malaysia.

• xpatut on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:45 am

Sebahagian peminat proton (drp. beribu-ribu peminat) sudah kecewa dgn proton termasuk aku..

Ada yg dah lompat kt team yg sebelah…

Hmm, satu kerugian kpd proton..

• Tempatan on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:45 am

Cuba bandingkan nama MPV yang lain macam Naza Ria, Hyundai Starex, Honda Stream, Toyota Wish. AADA NAMA BUNGA KE? AWW …TAK KUASA YOU…APA LAH PUNYA ROTON NI!!! MINDA TAK BERKEMBANG LANGSUNG!!!!!

• Prismo on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:52 am

pesot said,

February 19, 2009 @ 3:08 pm

fact comment:

i’d go for what SM had wrote.. its a name of a species of a bettle… so, its clear exora should be disqualified…

—————————————————————

Hard to find a name that not related with the others thing. Unless u can read and speak all world languages… for example, "CAT". In malay it's was a "paint (cat rumah/kereta etc…) in english "cat" represent an animal.. and maybe it's has anothers meaning in italian, spanish or what so ever…sometimes 1 word can represent a lot of meaning in other languages…

just like kei9 said… "it's just a name..What with all the fuss?" i'm agreed.. :)

• muryadi (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:55 am

Susah jugak kes ni, rasanya terdapat 250 ribu penyertaan tapi pemenangnya sorang je.

Kemudian timbul pulak "Exora" tu dikatakan menyalahi syarat2 pertandingan.

Dahlah, cukuplah layan kesedihan tu….

Kita tunggu macammana rupa MPV ni pulak….

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 1:35 am

Tempatan said,

February 19, 2009 @ 4:39 pm

Kata nama nak bercirikan nama tempatan Malaysia. Ni namakan Exora, ala-ala sebutan orang putih. Hampeh betul. Balik-balik saudara-mara dia je menang.

.——————–

Saudara mara sapa? i wonder…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 2:22 am

haha…

very funny… just because its name, one rather buying another make before even look at it… haha…

see it before u make decision… this mpv is spacious compared to livina u know… i ve seen it and physically feel… in and out… its is spacious… 10 cup holders…. lcd player for hi line…. 2 glove boxes…

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:14 am

Cuba renung2 kan nama2 kereta buatan negara lain… who's really think all foreign car manufacturers is giving a good name for their car?

-Geely Merrie Beautiful Scener yhttp://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/geely/

-Honda Ballade

-Honda Beat<– nak beat sapa ni?

-Honda Passport<–passport nak masuk negara mana kali ni?

-Honda Log ohttp://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/honda/

-Toyota Bandeirante??

-Toyota WiLL VS

source–&gt ;http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/toyota/

-Peugeot Partner

source–&gt ;http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/peugeot/

-Austin Healey Sprit ehttp://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/austin_healey/

i know all this name is not related with any flora and fauna or an animal name… but just for example… but we never expected a really worst car name was named as Geely Merrie Beautiful Scenery.. syukur nama mpv kita bukan Proton Merrie Beautiful Scenery ataupun Proton Passport….

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 5:56 am

[quote comment="211927"]Cuba renung2 kan nama2 kereta buatan negara lain… who's really think all foreign car manufacturers is giving a good name for their car?

-Geely Merrie Beautiful Scener yhttp://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/geely/

-Honda Ballade

-Honda Beat<– nak beat sapa ni?

-Honda Passport<–passport nak masuk negara mana kali ni?

-Honda Log ohttp://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/honda/

-Toyota Bandeirante??

-Toyota WiLL VS

source–&gt ;http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/toyota/

-Peugeot Partner

source–&gt ;http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/peugeot/

-Austin Healey Sprit ehttp://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/austin_healey/

i know all this name is not related with any flora and fauna or an animal name… but just for example… but we never expected a really worst car name was named as Geely Merrie Beautiful Scenery.. syukur nama mpv kita bukan Proton Merrie Beautiful Scenery ataupun Proton Passport….[/quote]

aku setuju dgn kau aenz!

org kalau dah benci,

dia akan benci sampai ke lubang cacing…

lantaklah,biarlah diorang go on dgn

kereta2 yg diorg puja2kan sgt tu….

• awak (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 11:07 pm

72k to 76k,

the price,,

dont surprise if it cheaper, same as tentative

• awak (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 11:08 pm

72k to 76k,

the price,,

dont surprise if it cheaper or same as tentative

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 6:49 am

Exora interior unveiled… leather seaters is look great in grey, may look comfortable too… check this out guys…

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/exora/

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 6:54 am

sagaKNIGHT… biarla diaorg… kalo diaorg xnak pandang Exora ni kira melepaslah… tapi aku jamin, si basher2 semua nilah yg akan berasak-asak utk tg k Exora bila dah launching nanti… eh, dah tgk link yg aku bagi kat atas tu ke??

• minnesotan (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 10:34 am

brader sekalian.. jgnla emosion sangat. bagi yang suka bashing tu, cuba korang meh duduk kat negara lain..meh duduk US… amati design keter dioarang.. ada jugak keter yang langsung tak lawa.. muncung cam ikan keli pun ada.. ada yang nama pelik pelik… ada yang lawa.. nama pun sedap didengar.. apa apapun.. masing masing ada citarasa, dan yang paling penting depend pada financial.. nak bentuk hebat hebat, kalu ada duit, beli la. yang bajet dia kecik, beli la yang berpada pada. pendapat aku la, rupa exora based pada leakage pics sebelum ni memang kotemporari, seiring ngan design semasa. aku rasa rakyat malaysia ni beruntung sebab semua lapisan masyarakat boleh pilih level kereta masing masing. tak payah nak jelous sebab keter lain patern lebih cantik(tgkla harganya sekali).. so, bab ttg nama keter tu, takyahla nak diperbesarkan. cukuplah. kita tunggu dan lihat bagaimana rupa bentuk, powerplan, enjin ngan kemasan dalaman dia. aku sure korang belum lihat lagi rupa finalnya. tapi komen macam nak rak. aku pun ternanti nantikan kemunculan exora ni. ada hajat nak membeli tapi tgk dulu finalnya. the day is coming. so we wait n see…. have a nice weekend guys!

• Ash Menon on Feb 27, 2009 at 1:18 am

I think if we look at the naming traditions, we'll find that it doesn't necessarily mean anything. Proton Juara and Proton Tiara were regal sounding names, yet the cars failed miserably. Conversely, Proton Saga (honestly, you named it after a squishy red seed?) and Proton Iswara (really, A BUTTERFLY!? good grief.) are legendary.

Even elsewhere. Kancil became a massive hit, Kembara was one of their lowest sellers.

At least, if nothing else, the Exora looks superb. The control panel design, like most Protons, still falls short of spectacular, but I guess since you don't spend your entire journey looking at it, it's ok.

• serena on Feb 27, 2009 at 7:03 am

saya x suka tul la ngan nama exora tu! camne pun aku nak beli juge, tapi emblem exora tu aku nak tukar ngan nama pilihan aku LUXANA

• Junaidi Amir on Mar 03, 2009 at 11:08 pm

Salam sejahtera semua.

Keputusan Proton Muktamad iaitu Proton Ixora. Tapi kita tengoklah nanti adakah Ixora akan menjadi Keriangan Keluarga di era kemelesatan ekonomi ini ? Tungguuuuuuuuuuuuu……………………….

• when will this proton exora be launched??

some people said tht it'll b launched on sunday and some of them said April..

i'm confused…