Toyota HC-CV (Hybrid Camry Concept Vehicle) by Toyota Australia for the Melbourne 2009 show

Toyota Camry HC-CV Concept

This is the car Toyota Australia will be exhibiting at the 2009 Melbourne International Motor Show, probably in commemoration of the announcement last year that Australia will be building the Toyota Camry Hybrid, in addition to Thailand.

“The hybrid Camry – which will share some key design features with the HC-CV – will play a key role in bringing the future to the Australian automotive manufacturing sector. It is a future that uses less fuel while delivering better performance,” says Toyota Australia head Max Yasuda. The first Camry Hybrid to roll out of Australian production lines will be in 12 months time from the HC-CV’s unveiling.

Toyota Camry HC-CV Concept

Other than the pointless large chrome blings, other design cues are actually more purposeful. The lack of much air intakes on the front end helps with the car’s aerodynamics and fuel efficiency. The weird pattern of the small lower intake grille on the bumper is quite interesting as well, it has a very tribal pattern rather than the regular mesh pattern we’re used to. The tribal pattern continues inside with a totally random streak of blue on the front seats that is supposed to look like the Hybrid Synergy Drive logo, and some random embossing here and there that’s supposed to look like tree bark though you have to look at the hi-res photo to actually see it.

Under the hood is an inline-4 engine paired with an electric motor and there’s no reason why this won’t most likely be the 2.4 litre Atkinson cycle inline-4 that the American Camry Hybrid (and recently the Lexus HS 250h) has. Mated to a CVT, it’s got a combined total output of 187 horsepower thanks to the 40hp electric motor, with the combustion engine alone putting out 147 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 187Nm of torque at 4,400rpm.

Look after the jump for a full photo gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=126]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 8:40 am

blue toyota badge looks kinda nice actually.. albeit having a completely different meaning compared to honda's red… haha..

• gajen (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 9:58 am

it looks simply awesome…how nice if they have this bodykit here…

• mct (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 10:37 am

the interior looks awful

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:43 pm

This car means that ownership of reducing CO2 emissions is on people who buy Camrys and Lexuses. Thanks guys, that's a load off my moral conscience.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:57 pm

i like

– the blue badge

– the led lamps (both front and back)

i dun like…

– everything else…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Déjà vu

I wonder it looks like the North American Camry instead of the Aurion.

Maybe it shares a lot more under the skin as the North American Camry Hybrid

• Paul Tan on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:21 pm

This is the Camry they sell in Australia. Our Camry is called the Aurion there. To date I don't think there's an Aurion/AsianCamry Hybrid yet, so all the Camry Hybrids are this Japanese/American version.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:07 pm

haha..this camry u can c alot in autralia..they use it as a rent..u can rent this car for 36dollar perday..thats quite cheap tho..plus…if u want this brand new…u can get it min price 28k only..dats really cheap..

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 12:35 am

clinically white!! look like vanilla ice cream hmmm yummy……….

• Aaron Ch'ng You (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 1:41 am

pearl white!! look like vanilla ice cream hmmm yummy……….

• nonengko on Feb 25, 2009 at 3:14 am

Awesome rims!!

• hazxkh on Feb 25, 2009 at 4:50 am

camry hybrid like altis hybrid daa

• seat-belt on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:13 am

its look ugly…

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 7:15 am

Nice but quite bare front end. Works for me, minus that bling rims.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 26, 2009 at 4:22 am

looks ugly, and too much bling

• rx350 on May 15, 2009 at 8:14 pm

no fresh feeling………..bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Kuzumi on May 24, 2011 at 11:37 pm

better buy toyota crown V12…more oil for more performance…