MITI to rethink Approved Permit system

There was a report in Bernama today quoting Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir that the AP systems may be rethinked or abolished altogether.

It appears that this statement was prompted by a request by the Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association to open up the AP system to everyone, with maybe a 30% quota for Bumiputras and the rest to anyone by an open auction system.

Details are a little sketchy on whether this 30% quote for Bumis would have to be paid for or not, as in the current system APs are given free.

Don’t hope too much for car importing to be available to anyone at no cost however, as Datuk Mukhriz says abolition was not the only option on the table, and it is likely not to be the path taken as currently consumers are already paying for APs, and simply replacing it with an auction system would give the government extra revenue.

When an auction system was suggested back in 2007, MITI’s response was “auctioning can jeopardize the business of Bumiputra entrepreneurs in the automotive sector as it will be difficult to plan ahead and make long term investments.”

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Littlefire on Apr 27, 2009 at 3:32 am

Yup, for sure they will not abolish the AP… Is their source of Money! Why they want to throw it away! Is like the NEP Tongkat they are holding for so long… If you take away the Tongkat, they gonna cry like a baby…

I can bet, if BN still hold the G, the AP system will stay.. Just like the AP queen Rafidah still in the UMNO chambers… I have no hope for them…

Somemore last year mention to abolish AP by 2010.. Yeah, your head!

• Analyzer on Apr 27, 2009 at 3:38 am

Is that really a surprise? Probably see car taxed higher this time around to protect the national car. I don't see the point in that, Proton I'm glad to say, has improved much better since the Satria Neo and the subsequent models.

I'd say, abolish the AP, but in the same breath, do not impose more tax on imported cars.

• paparadzi on Apr 27, 2009 at 3:43 am

Do it, then I'll believe it.

• this is just a piece of old story being re-discussed …. v r SICKED of d G

• Everytime policy changes, the new power group will benefit , the old power group lose

• RB NETT on Apr 27, 2009 at 4:54 am

GO GO GO!!!!!!!!!! APPROVE IT!!!!!!!!

• AbangTerra on Apr 27, 2009 at 5:06 am

For more loopholes?…or into some other person's pocket much easier now?…

Or…getting in Porsche is going to be much easier for those kawan-kawan of our adik?…

Ada rakyat concern tak?…hahahaahah….

• droll on Apr 27, 2009 at 5:11 am

winds of change? i doubt it…….

• MR-S Boey on Apr 27, 2009 at 5:17 am

1st!!

• protecting again…

• The day they have equal rights for all citizens of Malaysia will be the day the AP system is abololished. Not in the near future I am afraid. I'm leaving for greener/fairer pastures! Ciao

• if this the way there think i dont see how bumi business can don well by long run .

Is like (untong sekarong rugi seguni) for ling run. Then how there gone bill up them self whit a proper way of business to learn sin some is just take for granted and some just miss used there Power like a Cowboy town back late 20 .

coz business every 1 know ,every 1 can do if u think u can but not by this way to restrict there malaysian , MALAYSIAN by this word if there know not to a spoon feeding, there thinking and the way there do r to obvious till like to racial . there have to many way to help not not a spoon feeding n more licking on there way till there dont even know how to used. when there open tender o to publick every 1 do well business parymore tex then back again to gov n waht gov can do more again gone miss used there ability ? who know… Or just like there think stupic Ppl more back there will work for then forever ! or more resorces that there think never finish 1 day soon!. the way there r not to bill up malaysia, malaysian but only to take granted by ninority of ther power there have whit there gov systerm .

• sn00py on Apr 27, 2009 at 6:35 am

rethink… same old school

• FrozenHeart on Apr 27, 2009 at 6:54 am

MAYBE rethinked? again? Well…lets see

zzzzZZZzz

• what i reckon is this will be a gimmick only, think again, Mokhzani is the AP for Porsche Malaysia. it should be the same deck of card again .

• sam620 on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:02 am

so if the AP system remove, the AP car price will increase or drop?

• ok, good that they are talking about it. but will anything be done?

everyone is good at talking. not doing.

they talk the talk, but will they walk the walk?

i seriously hope the AP system gets either abolished or dumbed down in the sense that no one is given free. too damn unfair to have people aka AP kings live off the people. you know who i am talking about.

of course an overnight abolishment will send those parallel importers to kingdom come, and cause 2nd hand dealers losses.

therefore the plan should be over a period of maybe 5 years when it will be phased out gradually. but who knows?

• willpower on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:26 am

No.1 is here :)

Well, its a good move towards achieving new Malaysia & promotes 1Malaysia

Hails our new PM.

• NATO

• Ferdinand Piëch on Apr 27, 2009 at 9:52 am

ever wonder why does the miti logo looks like naza logo?

• mystvearn on Apr 27, 2009 at 10:14 am

nothing will be done. I tell you. Even when rafidah was under fire, still nothing was done. Unless BN is going to loose its majority, we will see AP's there forever

• its impossible

haha

this isnt happening any sooner

• heman on Apr 27, 2009 at 2:29 pm

just rethink..no action..

• hensemguy on Apr 27, 2009 at 3:02 pm

I have no hope towards malaysian's car tax system. Moving forward, I'm thinking of migrating to other states in middle east. My brother migrated to Jeddah and told me life is more interesting there, as Car and Fuel is very cheap!!! Mazda CX9 only 100k Riyal (1 riyal equivalent to 90 cents Malaysia), and petrol is only 40 cents per litre.

• Tiadaid on Apr 27, 2009 at 3:45 pm

[quote comment="234066"]The day they have equal rights for all citizens of Malaysia will be the day the AP system is abololished. Not in the near future I am afraid. I'm leaving for greener/fairer pastures! Ciao[/quote]

The grass is always greener on the other side…but is it really?

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 27, 2009 at 3:53 pm

"When an auction system was suggested back in 2007, MITI’s response was “auctioning can jeopardize the business of Bumiputra entrepreneurs in the automotive sector as it will be difficult to plan ahead and make long term investments.” "

Giving free money never was a good basis for "entrepreneurs".

Of cause they wont do it. The only thing they would jeopardize is thier voting base.

The classic case of the few benefiting, but the rest suffer. The Malaysian government have a knack of robbing from the poor to pay the rich.

• DanGerMouse on Apr 27, 2009 at 5:25 pm

talk talk talk…. only talk… statistic statistic… full of "thinking" only… myself is in the car line and am very updated of their movement… all their thinking and planning is just full of (@*#(*(($#@*$*…better just T.C.S.C

• lchan on Apr 27, 2009 at 5:26 pm

review…revisit…relook…full of s**t. I have never seen a government that revisits an issue so many times, so frequently with nothing to show for.

• the root cause is high tax. if our tax is low on both local & import, the AP is no value at all, we all know those AP holders r making high profit from the tax portion.

• Skippy on Apr 27, 2009 at 6:22 pm

lol… when they did nothing you bashed… When the people in charge changed you said you hope they be better than the previous ones… when they actually trying to be better and do sumthing… you still bashing and looking down on them… lol… i wonder when will malaysian mentality will change…

the fact is… nuthing the G did, is doing or will do is ever good to you… as long as it benefit other ppl but not you… but then when the policy is benifiting you… you will still complain and bash.. that it's not enough and other ppl get more than you… lol… wierd.. yet this is human…

• LemonT on Apr 27, 2009 at 6:36 pm

They jz know how to talk n "think" …think from 07 until now also "think"….talk so loud!!! action? NO!!!!

• LemonT on Apr 27, 2009 at 6:43 pm

At 07, they said: we will "CANCEL" the AP system at 2010

Dec 08, the canceling system "delay" until 2020

now, they said want to "rethink" abt it wow….

later wat? jz take 50% of AP system? cancel AP but increase the loan of the import car n road tax??

• Realeyes (Member) on Apr 27, 2009 at 6:48 pm

[quote comment="234037"]Yup, for sure they will not abolish the AP… Is their source of Money! Why they want to throw it away! Is like the NEP Tongkat they are holding for so long… If you take away the Tongkat, they gonna cry like a baby…

I can bet, if BN still hold the G, the AP system will stay.. Just like the AP queen Rafidah still in the UMNO chambers… I have no hope for them…

Somemore last year mention to abolish AP by 2010.. Yeah, your head![/quote]

Its ironic when you realized that the Non-Bumi benefit the most from the NEP through alibabaism..so who really need the crutch?

• gangully on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Correct me if i am wrong, but authorised dealers do not need APs to bring in cars anymore. is that correct Paul?

if that is the case, a certain "adik" of the Deputy Minister does not need AP?

renung renung dan fikir fikir

• longjaafar on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm

The excuse that bumi entreprenuers will be jeopardised is as old as the hills. How long do we have to subsidise these few bloodsuckers before thet can get on their feet? It would not be so bad if they actually sell cars, but the whol world knows that they sell the AP's instead. The only people who do not know that these sale of AP's is happening are the MITI, ie right from the minister to the officials. Somehow when it comes to abuse of AP's they seem to be blind, deaf and mute at the same time.

Actually the abuse is not limited to selling of AP's. These people also underdeclare the value of new vehicles and the govt loses billions. Someone tried to bring this up a few years ago, but he was told to shut up.

I am a bumiputra, and I get fleeced by these special bumiputras, so we are all the same. I remember many years ago when the CRV was first launched, I bought one, brand new. It was through a non bumi dealer in Bangsar. When I asked for the copy of the AP document, I was shocked to see that the car was valued at RM14000.00 and it was sold to me for RM 121,000.00! In the document, there was the name of the bumi AP holder, and he had done nothing at all in the importation and sale of the vehicle to me and yet he got away with free money. On top of it the duty paid by the importer was based on RM14000.00. Now don't tell me that the govt did not know about all this.

• Geoff on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:20 pm

I have no hope towards malaysian’s car tax system. Moving forward, I’m thinking of migrating to other states in middle east. My brother migrated to Jeddah and told me life is more interesting there, as Car and Fuel is very cheap!!! Mazda CX9 only 100k Riyal (1 riyal equivalent to 90 cents Malaysia), and petrol is only 40 cents per litre.

[quote comment="234131"]I have no hope towards malaysian's car tax system. Moving forward, I'm thinking of migrating to other states in middle east. My brother migrated to Jeddah and told me life is more interesting there, as Car and Fuel is very cheap!!! Mazda CX9 only 100k Riyal (1 riyal equivalent to 90 cents Malaysia), and petrol is only 40 cents per litre.[/quote]

Talk about the grass being greener…what about the complete loss of rights, women cant drive, no bars, no clubs, no entertainment, essentially no choice.

We can all complain as much as we want about Malaysia, but pretty much all of the alternatives in Asia are a lot, lot worse. Who would rather live in Thailand (instability), Philippines (chaos), Indonesia (what next), India (need I say anything), Pakistan (death), Bangladesh (drowning), Singapore (even more expensive than here), and finally, the rest of Indochina (really????).

So, yes, Malaysia has its problems, but keep it in perspective to the rest of the region.

• shahrul on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:31 pm

bro, is there any problem using honda u.s.a model onto malaysia road and our weather condition? i'm planning buying my uncle's honda which he bought from u.s.a. Just wanna check wif u if there will be any problems using that car in malaysia, in term of the car performances.

• mywish on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:33 pm

A piece of tax will go inside the AP holders pocket.

PM really help peaple to gain wealth.

• shoruken on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:38 pm

Every new G will say spent money in public transport, but I think after 2-3 election also $$ dont know go where. Same to the AP. It's the source of $$ they earn for a small group of people, but does not benefit the rakyat in terms of industries grow. Only competitive will promote quality enhancement. That is the same reason why MEC cannot survive but Pensonic/Khid makes it through. If we practice the same AP towards the electronics products, we wont enjoy cheap technology now.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 27, 2009 at 7:56 pm

[quote comment="234169"]lol… when they did nothing you bashed… When the people in charge changed you said you hope they be better than the previous ones… when they actually trying to be better and do sumthing… you still bashing and looking down on them… lol… i wonder when will malaysian mentality will change…

[/quote]

Maybe I am missing something here. Did anything change? Irrespective of who changed, there is still a difference between TALK and getting results. Shuffling people around is just playing musical chairs. Last one out gets the boot. But same music to listen to.

So yeah, bashing continues, since nothing really has changed. Get it?

• When an auction system was suggested back in 2007, MITI’s response was “auctioning can jeopardize the business of Bumiputra entrepreneurs in the automotive sector as it will be difficult to plan ahead and make long term investments.”

This statement makes me hate the BN more than ever!!!

The BN gov always give unnecessary protection to the BUMIPUTRA at the cost of the rakyat's money. Give this protection so that they can be lazy and unproductive and over-reliant.. This kind of attitude spawned MAT REMPITs.

As long as I live in this country, the coalition forces will stay in my state.

Sighhhhhhh!!!!!

• [quote comment="234073"]what i reckon is this will be a gimmick only, think again, Mokhzani is the AP for Porsche Malaysia. it should be the same deck of card again .[/quote]

Mohzani is authorized by Porsche to sell their cars in Malaysia. So he should get the AP for Porsche. Similar to Honda Malaysia got AP for honda cars. The only thing is that Mohzani's company is not called "Porsche Malaysia".

Anyway, Mohzani is a small fish..

I would recon it your hurt Naza more since they are the biggest "grey importers".. And the other AP kings clan.

RT.

• bmpower on Apr 27, 2009 at 9:21 pm

10 years = 10 times rethink

but doing nothing. so what?

• enough is enough la..everyone know that almost all AP holders are just selling them and not doing any work, some are given so many that the have become super rich,the real motif behind the AP's has been abused so badly that only a few benefited and has failed miserably. Proton has the chick to say that the exora is competitively priced, with layers of protection plus rm400 million grant from the govt they say 75k is affordable.Dam frustrated already lor..

• [quote comment="234138"][quote comment="234066"]The day they have equal rights for all citizens of Malaysia will be the day the AP system is abololished. Not in the near future I am afraid. I'm leaving for greener/fairer pastures! Ciao[/quote]

The grass is always greener on the other side…but is it really?[/quote]

In reality, yes it is! How can people put up with a system which only favours a single race. The govenment wants to promote eqaulity for all, but this is a load of manure. Malaysia will never be able to succeed to it's fullest potential until the corruption, lies, racism, cronyism, and greed leace the corridors of power. We are talking about cars here. Something which we love. But for the majority of us it is only a dream because the G is more interested in money. Money for them and money for their pals. It's one thing to be proud and support your local car manufacturer, but to force people to buy low quality garbage because it's all they can afford is criminal. I could go on for hours and make several comparisons to other countries, but we all know this already. And besides, I have bags to pack!

• For all you know… People who wish to auction have to buy a "auctioning right" before you can enter the auction. If not, all the tycoon can have their people sitting there all the time to grab maximum permits. End of the day, the tycoon may just get more AP than they were issued before.

• Roti naan on Apr 27, 2009 at 10:32 pm

***yawn***

• Hugo Lim on Apr 27, 2009 at 10:32 pm

finally? or maybe just not yet!

• kemosabe on Apr 27, 2009 at 11:27 pm

As long as the Gov is involved in businesses, the people will never see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Proton has actually become a burden to the nation rather than developing it, even though it has created thousands of jobs – To save a tree by cutting down the entire forest.

• Bodow on Apr 28, 2009 at 12:40 am

Haiya … kalau buang AP pun nanti ada tax lain pulak … last2 sama saja ..kalau rakyat malaysia nak save duit jangan beli kereta mahal2.. beli Proton Perodua Naza cukuplah ..lepas tu bawak perlahan2 takut mampus kalau accident teruk2 … duit2 tu simpan utk education anak2 ..okey! Kalau nak jugak tunggu kereta murah nanti PRU13 kita AFUNDI keluar itu BN kasik masuk muzium okey!

• Sawyer on Apr 28, 2009 at 12:41 am

Hey LITTLEFIRE u promised not to talk about politics anymore but i guess ppl like YOU can break promises huh??? YEAH Your head to yourself

• BigFire on Apr 28, 2009 at 12:45 am

I notice LittleFire is anti government, even tho he doesnt admit it.Please do not promote your politics in this blog, its an automotive blog and not a political blog.

• ricaza (Member) on Apr 28, 2009 at 12:49 am

ermm…well Skippy…

do u really think that they will do it?? he even said "rethinked"…funny..

he is not saying that they have a really good plan to change AP system.. just "rethinked"…………………………………….

it's just the people doesn't believe with them anymore.. until now.. what do hey have done to us..do u get the benefit as being a malaysian..is not that i am no being thankful to be a malaysian..but we malaysian deserved far better than now.. lots of thing still not rite to ordinary people like us..

when it going to change?…ermmm………………..

• azrai on Apr 28, 2009 at 12:59 am

Think…think…think…

• cyberkayu on Apr 28, 2009 at 1:23 am

Don’t hope too much for car importing to be available to anyone at no cost however, as Datuk Mukhriz says abolition was not the only option on the table, and it is likely not to be the path taken as currently consumers are already paying for APs,simply replacing it with an auction system would give the government extra revenue.

Read more: "MITI to rethink Approved Permit system" – http://paultan.org/archives/2009/04/26/miti-to-re…

extra revenue

• _xXx_ on Apr 28, 2009 at 1:47 am

wonder why there's thing called approved permit. What permit is unapproved? If unapproved why call it permit???

• estimosis on Apr 28, 2009 at 3:30 am

It's all scripted. The end results much less the same. We pay high taxes for cars. Like before, the NAP reduce the import duty but inccrease the excise duty. I cannot remember the actual figure, but for sedan imported cars it was back as before, around 110%. For worse, the taxes for SUV and MPV increased. Paul, you surely remember this. It was sometime around 2006, if I wasn't mistaken.

• xtremesportx on Apr 28, 2009 at 3:55 am

thinking of this topic just pissed me off so much!! screw the G!!

• Why are there so many complaints about talking politics on Paul's blog. I'm sure we can all agree that Malaysia is one of the best countries in the region to live. But honestly, there is nothing to be proud of when it comes to the amount the rakyat must pay to enjoy the pleasures of the automobile. If we can't challenge the policy of the G that effect us on a daily basis then what freedom do we have. Oh wait, I forgot that we have no freedom of speech here. Just ask RPK, wherever he is. Freedom is bliss!

• nadzri m yusof on Apr 28, 2009 at 4:33 am

I feel the current system still the best, i dont know why you people control 99% of car market still make noise. Common la we also need to survive. Even i never benefit anything from the AP's i still belive this will help bumis.,,,,dont forget billionair robert kuok hold AP for sugar and wheat why keep quiet?

So dont ask too much even homeland cant give ist?

• Littlefire on Apr 28, 2009 at 4:58 am

[quote comment="234260"]Hey LITTLEFIRE u promised not to talk about politics anymore but i guess ppl like YOU can break promises huh??? YEAH Your head to yourself[/quote]

[quote comment="234262"]I notice LittleFire is anti government, even tho he doesnt admit it.Please do not promote your politics in this blog, its an automotive blog and not a political blog.[/quote]

This tread already involved politics. What is MITI? MITI is G and G is politics.

I didnt mention i support opposition. I just want them to walk the talk! How many times they mention want to abolish the AP? When in the end.. U know laa..

• Tiadaid on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:52 am

[quote comment="234131"]I have no hope towards malaysian's car tax system. Moving forward, I'm thinking of migrating to other states in middle east. My brother migrated to Jeddah and told me life is more interesting there, as Car and Fuel is very cheap!!! Mazda CX9 only 100k Riyal (1 riyal equivalent to 90 cents Malaysia), and petrol is only 40 cents per litre.[/quote]

Yeah, go to Arab countries and be treated like 3rd class citizens. Oh man, oh man. Don't you know Arabs place Malaysians above only Indonesians, Bangladeshis and Filipinos? That came from an Arab, I didn't make it up!

• Tiadaid on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:59 am

[quote comment="234218"][quote comment="234138"][quote comment="234066"]The day they have equal rights for all citizens of Malaysia will be the day the AP system is abololished. Not in the near future I am afraid. I'm leaving for greener/fairer pastures! Ciao[/quote]

The grass is always greener on the other side…but is it really?[/quote]

In reality, yes it is! How can people put up with a system which only favours a single race. The govenment wants to promote eqaulity for all, but this is a load of manure. Malaysia will never be able to succeed to it's fullest potential until the corruption, lies, racism, cronyism, and greed leace the corridors of power. We are talking about cars here. Something which we love. But for the majority of us it is only a dream because the G is more interested in money. Money for them and money for their pals. It's one thing to be proud and support your local car manufacturer, but to force people to buy low quality garbage because it's all they can afford is criminal. I could go on for hours and make several comparisons to other countries, but we all know this already. And besides, I have bags to pack![/quote]

Yeah, as if the OTHER race don't discriminate against the protected race la. The problem is, Malaysians are to ethnocentric. We always think our race is the best and the rest are crap. That ethnocentrism leads to racism and discrimination. The truth is, WE need to change ourself, don't blame our problems on the government alone!

• Perotiga on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:16 am

how to apply a AP?

• sakura on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:48 am

yes…think again…

• scottloeb on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:44 pm

[quote comment="234297"]It's all scripted. The end results much less the same. We pay high taxes for cars. Like before, the NAP reduce the import duty but inccrease the excise duty. I cannot remember the actual figure, but for sedan imported cars it was back as before, around 110%. For worse, the taxes for SUV and MPV increased. Paul, you surely remember this. It was sometime around 2006, if I wasn't mistaken.[/quote]

oi, Toyota Camry price fell from 149K to 135K upon implementation of NAP somewhere in Q2 2006. What amazed the industry is, they have stagnant sales due to the fact that 2nd hand value drop like hell and people holding their purchases and 'forcing the co to increase the price back again' even if the tax is already being lowered. Co like Toyota & Honda due to their 'huge' investment here (in press shop and joint assembly export operation) received grants in IAF (Industrial Adjustment Funds) that sometime being used to dampens the effect of slow sales by giving sales incentives and discounts. Talk to the industry insider and use your head and god given brain, not heart and talk crap.

• sixspeed on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:43 pm

You're joking right Tiadaid? This government deliberately engineers racial polarization and stokes racial tensions, as a way to maintain its grip on power. They prefer it this way, makes it easier for them to enrich themselves and their cronies at the expense of everyone else, including poor and middle class malays. The AP policy is just another example of what's wrong with policies that focus on race only and ignore economic status. how exactly is wildly enriching a few corrupt AP kings benefiting most poor and middle class malays? Simply put, it's not. longjaafar's post illustrates it quite well.

• lchan on Apr 28, 2009 at 11:15 pm

[quote comment="234379"]how to apply a AP?[/quote]

must first apply to be member of BN….hahahaha….do to MITI lah….can fill in 1000 forms also will get rejected.

• Perotiga on Apr 29, 2009 at 9:09 pm

[quote comment="234537"][quote comment="234379"]how to apply a AP?[/quote]

must first apply to be member of BN….hahahaha….do to MITI lah….can fill in 1000 forms also will get rejected.[/quote]

fist join BM, second appy AP, third by BMW, final dream come true.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 29, 2009 at 9:31 pm

[quote comment="234337"]

Yeah, as if the OTHER race don't discriminate against the protected race la. The problem is, Malaysians are to ethnocentric. We always think our race is the best and the rest are crap. That ethnocentrism leads to racism and discrimination. The truth is, WE need to change ourself, don't blame our problems on the government alone![/quote]

You have got to be kidding me. Which century are you living in or have you been truely washed as well?

I'm with sixspeed and longjaafar.

This is beyond race politics. This is the enrichment of the few over the good of the public.

Who pays? all of us. Not only those that buy imported cars, but even those that buy local cars. The high APs will artificially inflate prices, in which will encourage to provide less value (less stuff, higher price) in thier products.

How much do you think it cost Proton/Perodua/Naza to put a car together? lol. They are making LOADS since thier GPs are so well padded by the lack of competition.

If the government hands me a few million worth of APs a year, i'll do very well in my business indeed……

• Tiadaid on Apr 30, 2009 at 2:01 am

[quote comment="234481"]You're joking right Tiadaid? This government deliberately engineers racial polarization and stokes racial tensions, as a way to maintain its grip on power. They prefer it this way, makes it easier for them to enrich themselves and their cronies at the expense of everyone else, including poor and middle class malays. The AP policy is just another example of what's wrong with policies that focus on race only and ignore economic status. how exactly is wildly enriching a few corrupt AP kings benefiting most poor and middle class malays? Simply put, it's not. longjaafar's post illustrates it quite well.[/quote]

Oh bullcrap. I'm talking about the private sector. Discrimination occurs there also! Why is that? Why do that happen? Don't say Malays can't perform, because that is a stereotype. The truth is, ALL MALAYSIANS MUST CHANGE THEMSELVES AND GET RID OF ALL THE STEREOTYPES AND ETNOCENTRIC FEELING. Only then can Malaysia truly move forwards, as I've said before. It's the root of all the problems in Malaysia. Etnocentrism and stereotypes.

• aliBaPa on Apr 30, 2009 at 2:42 am

1st!!!

rethink rethink rethink.

forever rethink.

never take action?

• You think you can lie to me .. ?

• Skippy on Apr 30, 2009 at 3:48 pm

[quote comment="234537"][quote comment="234379"]how to apply a AP?[/quote]

must first apply to be member of BN….hahahaha….do to MITI lah….can fill in 1000 forms also will get rejected.[/quote]

Apply AP? dun think about that first la…

first think about how to convince those international car makers that you a worthy of being appointed as their dealer/distributors…

then you can start thinking about applying for AP..

• Reasonably Insane on Apr 30, 2009 at 4:58 pm

[quote comment="234772"][quote comment="234337"]

Yeah, as if the OTHER race don't discriminate against the protected race la. The problem is, Malaysians are to ethnocentric. We always think our race is the best and the rest are crap. That ethnocentrism leads to racism and discrimination. The truth is, WE need to change ourself, don't blame our problems on the government alone![/quote]

You have got to be kidding me. Which century are you living in or have you been truely washed as well?

I'm with sixspeed and longjaafar.

This is beyond race politics. This is the enrichment of the few over the good of the public.

Who pays? all of us. Not only those that buy imported cars, but even those that buy local cars. The high APs will artificially inflate prices, in which will encourage to provide less value (less stuff, higher price) in thier products.

How much do you think it cost Proton/Perodua/Naza to put a car together? lol. They are making LOADS since thier GPs are so well padded by the lack of competition.

If the government hands me a few million worth of APs a year, i'll do very well in my business indeed……[/quote]

ummmm do you think it is really cheap to put up together a car?? for perodua n naza maybe cheap… cuz only rebadging… but for PROTON… it is not that cheap…

And also do really think it is as easy as "GIVE ME AP, AND I'LL DO VERY WELL IN BUSINESS" ??? like skippy said do the hard part first… CONVINCE the car makers that you are worthy of being appointed as their distributors..( without tarnishing their image and reputation)

gosh you ppl…

• selekohboi on Apr 30, 2009 at 8:40 pm

For cgrist sake, it's THINK…… why cnt we see something really get done here? if this is the sord of G mentality, things aint going anywhere. I hv2 agree that truely lost hope on Msia car industries. I tot the matkert would be open on 2005, yet til today still i'm driving my 13yrs old wiralancer. For proton quality with their experience (not to mentionm the undertable involved) = I can eccept. But it's the G policy to over protecting it, thats cz us to you much more $ for other brand, which I cnt take it!!! I once a US forum: Average Malaysian can only afford buy 3 new car in their whole time, given the current existing scenarioo.

• sixspeed on May 01, 2009 at 11:31 pm

[quote comment="234829"]

Oh bullcrap. I'm talking about the private sector. Discrimination occurs there also! Why is that? Why do that happen? Don't say Malays can't perform, because that is a stereotype. The truth is, ALL MALAYSIANS MUST CHANGE THEMSELVES AND GET RID OF ALL THE STEREOTYPES AND ETNOCENTRIC FEELING. Only then can Malaysia truly move forwards, as I've said before. It's the root of all the problems in Malaysia. Etnocentrism and stereotypes.[/quote]

Ummm you do realize that your wonderful government actively promotes the ethnocentrism and stereotypes you are complaining about? Biro Tata Negara's whole reason for existence is exactly that! Every other thing out of ministers' mouths has to do with race, special rights, social contract, place of the malays and non-malays, you really think all this is paving the way for eliminating ethnocentrism and stereotypes?

You're correct in saying we need to eliminate stereotype and discrimination but totally deluded in saying it's not the goverment's responsibility. You reap what you sow, and this government has been sowing these seeds for a long time now.

Private or public sector has nothing to do with it when people are taught from childhood that they belong to a certain group (or maybe "lain-lain") and either have or dont have certain rights and privileges based ONLY on that. Racial polarization in this country among ordinary people has gotten worse in this country since independence and it's not hard for a reasonable person to figure out why. You are seriously naive or brainwashed to be calling for people to spontaneously change when the whole state apparatus has been bent on deliberately making them the way they are for almost their entire lives.

And for the last time, this particular issue isn't even about race. Poor and middle class malays suffer just as much as non-malays, just so a select few connected malays (or mamaks) can get filthy rich under the AP system. It's the same with many other govt policies, and it's not right.