New photos of the new E89 BMW Z4

BMW Z4

BMW have released a new set of photos of the new E89 BMW Z4 Roadster, this time of a very good looking blue-coloured specimen. Looking at it really reminds me of the blue BMW Z4 M Coupe that I used to always see in the BMW Malaysia parking lot in Cyberjaya, a car which I once drove all the way up to Kedah to see race against an airplane on an airstrip, unfortunately that didn’t happen!

Three models of the E89 Z4 will be available in the UK market. First up is the BMW Z4 sDrive23i which comes with a 2.5 litre magnesium alloy engine with Double VANOS dual variable valve timing and Valvetronic variable valve lift, producing 204 horsepower and 250Nm of torque. Even this baseline model goes to 100km/h in just 6.6 seconds, while having a combined mpg rating of 33.2 and emissions of 199g/km.

The middle child for now is the BMW Z4 sDrive30i, which somehow has managed to keep the same combined mpg and emissions ratings as the sDrive23i model. This one puts out 258 horses and 310Nm of torque from as low as 2,600rpm, and it goes up to 100km/h in 5.8 seconds.

BMW Z4

The peak performer is the BMW Z4 sDrive35i, fitted with the N54 twin turbocharged inline-6 engine (which has now been sort of phased out by the slightly better performing single turbo N55 in the 535i GT) producing 306 horsepower and 400Nm of torque, getting the Roadster up to 100km/h in 5.2 seconds. Combined mpg is 30.1 while emissions are rated at 219g/km. This model can be fitted with an optional twin clutch DCT transmission with 7 gears at a premium of just over 1,800 pounds.

The new Z4 is thus the first BMW roadster offered with a retractable hard top which opens and closes in 20 seconds, an optional twin clutch transmission, a turbocharger, Drive Dynamic Control and an Adaptive M Sport Suspension. DDC allows the driver to choose between Normal, Sport and Sport+ modes via a button on the centre console, which varies throttle, steering, DSC, and transmission behaviour.

BMW Z4

The Adaptive M Sport Suspension which is optional lowers the E89’s ride height by 10mm and feature four infinitely adjustable twin-sleeve gas dampers with combined compression and rebound stroke adjustment. This is done by controlling the flow of oil within the shocks. Three accelerometers feed the Adaptive M system so that it can control each damper independently to suit the driving and road conditions.

BMW claims the response time is so quick that a signal from the front wheel crossing a hole in the road reaches the center control unit and the rear damper is readjusted for the hole even before the rear wheels reach the same surface! This is probably thanks to the FlexRay communications bus. The new Z4’s chassis is also 25% stiffer than before.

BMW Z4

And of course, this is probably BMW’s first roadster without a proper handbrake. You won’t be able to see Clive Owen do crazy 180 degree turns and similiar stunts (easily at least) with the Z4 in a new series of The Hire clips. BMW says the handbrake was removed because of packaging reasons, as the new button parking brake saves space on the center console, and in BMW’s opinion it will not affect the way the new Z4’s customers drives the car, probably because with the new grown-up Z4 they are also expecting more grown-up buyers.

The new BMW Z4 is priced from £28,645 (RM161k) for the BMW Z4 sDrive23i, £32,660 (RM183k) for the BMW Z4 sDrive30i and finally £37,060 (RM208k, so sorry for torturing you guys with the prices) for the BMW Z4 sDrive35i.

The new Z4 will probably be here sometime in end-June 2009. I can see an sDrive23i and sDrive35i line-up making the most sense.

Look after the jump for the rest of the photos.

Adrian van Hooydonk talks about the new E89 BMW Z4
2010 BMW Z4 Roadster launched: details and photos
New footage of the 2010 BMW Z4 released
E89 BMW Z4 prototype development video

GALLERY: New BMW Z4 Photos

[zenphotopress number=99 album=306]

GALLERY: BMW Z4 Launch Photos

[zenphotopress number=99 album=32]

BMW Z4

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Looks stunning but awkward since its heavily restyled, but i believe it looks really stunning if it designed from scratch

• Paul Tan on May 27, 2009 at 10:16 am

hope you guys are enjoying the pix, they are as big as 3000px wide!

• tHe^CuLpRit on May 27, 2009 at 10:42 am

stunning pics. you're right nmh, in some angels it does looks awkward but overall its simply drop dead gorgeous, and more so in flesh i suspect.

too bad the cheapest we'll get it for will be rm360k+

• kaskusaja on May 27, 2009 at 11:17 am

pertamax!

good looking car

• this is one good looking car from bmw..lot better than 5 series GT..

• simone on May 27, 2009 at 4:05 pm

Saw one en route to BMW Cyberjaya on trailer. Not really dramatic looking as compared to the model it replaces.

• Wak Rempit on May 27, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Can't help but to noticed 3series genetic in that design… the curved and slanted headlight.

But great job overall!!

• the coupe simply look stunning

• Zaff1984 on May 27, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Wow…nice BMW. common Benz, show us ur new SLK… it's your turn now.

• xshiro on May 27, 2009 at 7:42 pm

damn handsome car

• Get a Audit TT better…more chun…

• turboKev on May 27, 2009 at 8:09 pm

160k x 2 = 320k based line model for us here…..so now i can only choose to get 308GT..if not we could hav get this pretty Z4..

• layman on May 27, 2009 at 8:26 pm

Damn…. Have to go for a Camry instead of this Z4.

• what a perfect car!!

• kington on May 27, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Looks good. Makes the TT and SLK look tame.

• fuyiopo on May 27, 2009 at 9:39 pm

If you talk heavily restyle, the 5 series takes the price.

-kington

LMAO!!!

• bmpower on May 27, 2009 at 11:25 pm

this car make me horny.

hahaha

• sometime the grill looks so american car, mercury

• Zaff1984 on May 28, 2009 at 3:03 am

[quote comment="241543"]this car make me horny.

hahaha[/quote]

true…true…

• Thomstho (Member) on May 28, 2009 at 3:36 am

I serious felt tortured because of the bloody price! It's so cheap! Terlalu murah! We can only buy the new Golf GTI for the highest spec price for the Z4 in Malaysia. haihs…

• Gajen on May 28, 2009 at 4:05 am

this so beautiful….whereas the 5 series is just the opposite…

• fuyiopo on May 28, 2009 at 4:53 am

Paul, is the price u mentioned above include the taxes?

• paul, u shouldn't state the price, u just spoil my dream

haha

cheers!

• any manual version available?

• shan0025 on May 28, 2009 at 5:43 am

so awesome looking..i'm gonna shut my computer down now..gonna hit te books..study hard..get a good job..n go buy this car..wish me luck..

• mitlanevo on May 28, 2009 at 6:15 am

definitely the best looking Z to date :-)

• TreeHouse on May 28, 2009 at 4:52 pm

The car is………LONG..

• 4G63T DSM on May 28, 2009 at 4:52 pm

Best looking Z by far. Looks more like a mini 6 cabrio than a Z4 replacement.

The thing that caught my eye was just how large this thing is. Having driven the (rather bad excuse for a BMW) Z3 1.9 on several occations, this looks exceptionally large..that is, unless the driver in the picture was really small.

Same goes to the SLK to a lesser extent, but I suppose all the "small" roadsters are growing up.

• joseph on May 30, 2009 at 2:42 am

[quote comment="241581"]any manual version available?[/quote]

i think de pictures above showed tat there's a manual version..

• raybrig85 on May 31, 2009 at 6:34 am

i never like z model..but this one is the best looking so far..even when u see it in flesh..nice

• master of designer on Jun 03, 2009 at 9:56 am

design of the car are very great.. the frontview,the body shape, the offset, the interior…

BUT

bmw once again failed to deliver a complete design of z4 after it back view is bad..

1=backlight design either outside nor inside

2=backdesign also bad with kind of flat shape

3=ekxos design are olden style.. change it

overall 6/10

• AdamRadin on Jun 03, 2009 at 8:29 pm

The look is better then the previous Z4.

And the price is not as expensive as I expected.

I think I'm going to canceled my M6 and book one of this.

• damn..this car look lika a shark

• Barisan National Cro on Sep 26, 2009 at 8:37 am

the malaysian price including cronies triple profit:-

BMW Z4 sDrive23i – RM411,800.00

BMW Z4 sDrive35i – RM558,800.00

Enjoy!

• Barisan National Cro on Sep 26, 2009 at 8:38 am

Enjoy dreaming only :(