Adrian van Hooydonk on the new E89 BMW Z4 Roadster at the 2009 Geneva Motor Show

E89 BMW Z4 Roadster

The new E89 BMW Z4 Roadster made its European debut at the 2009 Geneva Motor Show. BMW is solidly hammering it into our heads that the new Z4 is a piece of automotive art, and that it definitely is. All those lovely curves are a modern interpretation of the old BMW 507 and alot of Bangle cues have been toned down. The new Z4 also now gets a convertible hard top, replacing the first gen Z4’s cloth top. New BMW Group design director Adrian van Hooydonk talks to BMW Web TV at the Geneva show on the new Z4’s design. It’s quite interesting to hear stuff said from a designer’s perspective actually – apparently designers take delight in clamshell-style bonnets as they can then play around more with the design lines on the bonnet without having to deal with the bonnet shutlines. Look after the jump to catch the video as well as some previously published videos and a hi-res photo gallery.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 07, 2009 at 8:33 pm

sigh….. any hard top for the sweet M6 Cabriolet?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 07, 2009 at 9:48 pm

looks better than the current model…

• MyviKiller on Mar 08, 2009 at 1:10 am

Looks like a mini 6 series, not bad. I'm lovin' it!

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 08, 2009 at 2:03 am

[quote comment="218288"]Looks like a mini 6 series, not bad. I'm lovin' it![/quote]

I agree wif u ..

i think this is better looking than the 6 series ..

• Adly (Member) on Mar 08, 2009 at 3:33 am

more curve and line…like it!!

both light and grill look more sportier…

Thumbs up… :D

• MyviKiller on Mar 08, 2009 at 4:23 am

[quote comment="218296"][quote comment="218288"]Looks like a mini 6 series, not bad. I'm lovin' it![/quote]

I agree wif u ..

i think this is better looking than the 6 series ..[/quote]

Might be, some cars looked better in pictures but not in the real life, we'll wait and see.

• ehasz on Mar 08, 2009 at 5:17 am

my frend z4 have cloth top an her cat likes to scratch on it……he..he..

• finally the Z looks better than the SLK and boxster.

• shun2u on Mar 08, 2009 at 7:20 am

Nice car! I like it!

• CocoBear on Mar 08, 2009 at 8:44 am

True driving pleasure. The good balance between power and style.

To choose either Z4 or 370Z, I will take Z4 for the handsome looks.

• Hmm..I dun really like the exterior design.But the cockpit really scores high.Two thumbs up!When will the new 5 series be revealed…

• this car really looks good with the top down.

RIDIN WIT MY TOP DOWN, woo. lol.

• normal_user on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:00 am

[quote comment="218365"]this car really looks good with the top down.

RIDIN WIT MY TOP DOWN, woo. lol.[/quote]

If you are not a female, im not interested. LoL.

BTW, this car is simply the most awesome looking roadster BMW has ever made. It doesn't look awkward anymore with the rooftop raised, unlike the previous Z4 & Z3.

• Way better than audi TT!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:46 am

this car really has presence in real life.

• Radin on Mar 09, 2009 at 10:51 am

This car is awesome. It looks much better than the previous Z4. Can't wait to have one!