Goodyear and NASA develop lunar Spring Tyre

Goodyear Spring Tyre

A new Spring Tyre developed by NASA and Goodyear was installed on NASA’s Lunar Electric Rover test vehicle and put through its paces at the Johnson Space Center’s “Rock Yard” in Houston. The new Spring Tyre is meant to carry much heavier vehicles over much greater distances than the wire mesh tire previously used on the Apollo Lunar Roving Vehicle (LRV).

What exactly is a Spring Tyre? No, it’s not a seasonal tyre like winter tyres. It’s actually a tyre that uses 800 load bearing springs. The spring design contours to the surface on which it’s driven to provide traction. The energy used to deform the tyre is returned when the springs rebound. This design does not generate heat like a normal tyre. Lead innovator Jim Benzing from Goodyear said the tyre design is extremely durable and energy efficient.

Traditional rubber tyres have little utility on the moon, thus the use of wire mesh tires and soon, the Spring Tyre. Rubber properties vary significantly between the extreme cold and hot temperatures experienced in the shaded and directly sunlit areas of the moon. Unfiltered solar radiation (the moon has no atmosphere) also degrades rubber, and rubber tyres also run the risk of deflation as it needs to be filled with air. With the Spring Tyre, there is no single point of failure. A hard impact that may cause the rubber tyre to puncture and deflate will only affect one spring out of the 800 load-bearing springs on a Spring Tyre.

What this extended carrying distance and capacity means is that broader exploration of the moon will be enabled and hopefully it will eventually lead to the development and maintenance of a lunar outpost.

Perhaps one day all of this research will end up improving the way we design our vehicle’s contact patches. Michelin has also toyed with the idea of a new type of wheel called the Tweel and it recently announced a new lunar wheel based on the tweel.

Look after the jump for a NASA video on the new Spring Tyre.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wAzYz on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:38 am

Superb Hi-Tech material….Gud Job…

• tyres is seriously one of the most static tech nowadays… every tyre manufacturer improves the tyre compound or thread pattern… but the design never goes away from using air and rubber since car is sold i think… maybe one day we wont need rubber tyres with air or to lay tarmax road anymore…

• armandd on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:33 pm

i think this tyre has 2-3 times the weight of a normal tyre. that's a lot of unsprung weight. unless they use some kind of lightweight material for the springs, it could only be used by offroad vehicles..

• MycarMylife on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Great Dunkin Donuts, can we have some demo tyres for my worksites? My tyres' costs are killing me.

• @ntiPerOdua on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:04 pm

High Tech nya!!!!!

• Maverick on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:24 pm

I doubt you can drift in these wheels… :D

• mitlanevo on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:47 pm

must be much more expensive than F1 tyres….

• R0NaLD0 on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Does these spring tyre get rusty easily? u know lah our country always rain and flood.. also high humidity..who know…

• rexis on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Above:

At the moment we still not have rain problem in lunar or Mars.

• alpha0201 on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:06 pm

You guys know that these hi-tech tyres used OUTSIDE EARTH?

• newbie on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:10 pm

Ronaldo lives on the moon u knoe…

• babyboy on Aug 06, 2009 at 12:43 am

good news for "mat gian"…

• mokkf82 on Aug 06, 2009 at 1:25 am

Cool, then we will have endless tyre shelf life. Then no one will bother to get their tyre repair again.

• waklu on Aug 06, 2009 at 1:32 am

The fine grain of lunar soil will get into the spring and the vehicle will dragged into a quagmire. Anyway, lunar rover get flashy wheels!

• mozaks (Member) on Aug 06, 2009 at 1:32 am

it will collect dirts and makes our road and highway cleaner… and of course mat rempit will loves this kind of tyre…

• armandd said,

August 5, 2009 @ 8:33 am

i think this tyre has 2-3 times the weight of a normal tyre. that’s a lot of unsprung weight. unless they use some kind of lightweight material for the springs, it could only be used by offroad vehicles..

dude, moon's gravity is only about 17% of earth's gravity. that's why the tyres need to be heavier.