Perodua gets new MD from UMW Toyota

Aminar Rashid SallehPerodua’s Datuk Syed Hafiz will not be renewing his contract at the end of the year. Replacing him as the top man at Perodua will be another UMW man – Tuan Haji Aminar Rashid Salleh, who currently heads the Strategic Marketing Group at UMW Toyota.

49 year old Aminar is a familiar face for me as he is usually the one who gives product presentations at Toyota car launches. He has been in the UMW group since 1992. He holds a degree in Civil Engineering. I don’t have any kind of ‘insider’ details but I don’t expect anything much to change with the way Perodua is run.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pennstater on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:24 am

wow civil engineering..thats my field. we are relevant to the automotive industry

• unknown on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:40 am

haha.macam turun pangkat je.haha

• peYno on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:41 am

no matter who u are… local ppl just a puppet only…

no wonder Datuk Syed Hafiz oso can't tahan…

prrrtfhhh

• Tiadaid on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:51 am

Datuk Syed Hafiz moving somewhere else?

• peYno on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:52 am

don't worry, you put kayu as MD oso.. p2 can run.

Coz, company direction is from Japanese..and it's led by Japanese

They just want Local ppl (malaysiann) to be a puppet for the sake of "2nd Local National car maker"

hehehe

• peYno on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:54 am

Tiadaid said,

November 4, 2009 @ 9:51 pm

Datuk Syed Hafiz moving somewhere else?

==========

maybe.. can't tahan lor.. asik kena ikut jepun je.. can't make own decision..better leave la

prrrtfhhh

• bmpower on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:03 am

right… new puppet in chair.

• peYno on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:04 am

pennstater said,

November 4, 2009 @ 9:24 pm

wow civil engineering..thats my field. we are relevant to the automotive industry

============

Or maybe we could say in p2.. any field oso relevant.. no need automotive education background, coz you have to do nothing.. just follow what japanese say

prrrfthhh

• peYno on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:07 am

let see, how long this new MD can tahan…

• peYno on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:10 am

or maybe ex MD datuk syed hafiz looking for more challenging job.

Be in p2, just follow jepun instruction, everything is provided, not challenging at all lorr..

ppl who love challenge spirit .. mesti mau leave punya

• jopop on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:43 am

does he eligible for it ?

• pennstater on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:15 am

no-pay to p2.. right peyno? haha

• sempoi on Nov 05, 2009 at 8:29 am

kalau ada cerita pasal Perodua,

Peyno akan naik gila.

Semua salah semua tak betul rebadge le jepun le

Macamlah Perodua r-g-l mak dia !!

12 komen 6 oleh Peyno.? sendiri tanyasendiri jawab ke?

• scottloeb on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:50 pm

Tn Hj nih ok lah. Tgk current boss dia, Kuah Kock Heng itu betul2 boneka. Yg betul2 kerja is Hibi-san, the real Chairman. David Chen dulu got more say when compared to the him.

Wah, Harry naik pangkat lah hehe.

• peYno on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:03 pm

sempoi

truth is hurt rite…

prrrfthhh

• old timers on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:47 pm

pennstater said,

November 4, 2009 @ 9:24 pm

———————————-

Woow.. RELEVANT?

BUT THE STRUCTURE/CHASSIS OF PERODUA MODELS ALWAYS CAUSE DEATH!!

TIN MILO = LOW QUALITY LIGHTWEIGHT STEEL

AT LEAST PUT SOME RC CONCRETE AND STAINLESS STELL TO REINFORCE THE CHASSIS..

Haha.. anyway, congratz to him..

• Kongsi Kong on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:53 pm

CIVIL ENGINEER??

He is under management level rite?

Project management also under civil engineering scope of work loh..

So, just make sure KONGSI KONG done their work ok loh..

Even CEO maybank also civil engineer loh..because under civil engineering scope, FINANCIAL/ BQ is a must also loh…

So..ok loh.. no need to argue loh..

• azrai on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Dear Mr.MD, when will the Perodua's not-so MPV launching date? It is said in November, but today already first week of November. Still not getting the price?

• rookie on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:28 pm

watever..

just stop making crap n sell it like it was sumtin else..

• entah2 syed hafiz masuk proton

• Resign during good reputation.. good decision..

• Welcome…welcome…may bring prosperity, improvement, and more profit to the staff, to the company and to the country.

• scottloeb on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:18 pm

Bila masa Wahid Maybank Civil Engineer? Itu kan Charted Accountant, dulu UEM, pastuh TM then baru pergi Maybank, taking over from Amirsham.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/public/p…

• Qualification is just a paper to make u entitle for a job.Its not about what you are qualified to.Its about your effort in order to get your qualification and your brain.So ,in this case,his brain is proved.

Qualification only for fresh graduates.As a sample case,How could a degree holder in chemical engineering is now a successful regional manager in BMW groups.

• Ah Tan Workshop on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:57 pm

He resigned or he got fired?

• kujik on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:08 pm

dua cabang bisness lor..buat rumah flat ala jepun

keta jepun..rumah jepun…fuh mantop

• 1 Malaysia on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:51 pm

paul is right. PERODUA still control by jap. appointment of Aminar is just to show "localization" since PERODUA granted as national car status.

• scottloeb on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:52 pm

When historian leads Proton, you guys said its a disaster (and I agree with it). Now Proton is leads by an engineer. And DSZ have good understanding of production (which is the key of successful car maker Toyota) , and he is catching up very fast on the business side of it.

Syed Hafiz declined a contract extension. He said he has enough and will stick to his plan of retiring at 50.

• Prolife on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Ya, I do agree that Perodua is very Tin Milo thing.

I drove my wife's Viva on Highway and kene "Bang" from behind by Gen2.

Me and my car just "buang" from middle lane to the left lane then to longkang, then terbalik to a small hill then terbalik to the long kang again.

I agree Viva is kind of a city drive car but didn't aspect to be too frigile. Very disappointed!!

By the way, the Mangkuk that "bang" me was too tire!! Don't drive when tire, kill your self but not others please!!!

• old timers on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:12 pm

executive director dlm UMW / perodua sume kayu, jadi sebab tu ker Potong ambik 'kayu' jadi MD… cakap pakai otak sikit lah

• MADBOY on Nov 05, 2009 at 8:03 pm

Best job in the world. No need to do R&D (other than designing new bumper), no need to do marketing plan (just tell people that u are related with toyota and your products have toyota's quality). Life is good for him.

• Mysticmind on Nov 05, 2009 at 11:18 pm

I wonder.. why they(P2) still entitled 'Kereta nasional' ?

Most of the profit (let say over 70%) was going to japan already.

Sigh…

• sawi tak nak on Nov 05, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Sometimes leaving a company voluntarily( even though an extension granted)

reflects good leadership/management qualities and is the only way forward in order for a company to progress.

Even the MD's term in Merc & BMW is for a 3-5 year span only.

Putting deadwood as directors etc is basically putting a watch dog

which growls & barks if the co's decides on a different path.

Business modules changes over time and best wishes to the present

MD as electric/hybrid/diesel seems to be the futher in engine developement.

• Slayer on Nov 06, 2009 at 12:39 am

MADBOY said,

Best job in the world. No need to do R&D (other than designing new bumper), no need to do marketing plan (just tell people that u are related with toyota and your products have toyota’s quality). Life is good for him.

——————————————————–

i'm agreed. That easy life of P2

• Huggies Dry on Nov 06, 2009 at 1:57 am

old timers – buy other tins and do ur own car

peYno -puppet get applaud during shows also..no harm

MADBOY – please equip your self with automotive environment before saying (just tell people that u are related with toyota and your products have toyota’s quality) there a lots of car makers sharing the platform etc

• peYno on Nov 06, 2009 at 4:00 am

old timers said,

November 5, 2009 @ 11:12 am

executive director dlm UMW / perodua sume kayu, jadi sebab tu ker Potong ambik ‘kayu’ jadi MD… cakap pakai otak sikit lah

======

bila keluar p2 dah tak jadi puppet dan kayu la.. dulu DSZ pon jadi puppet gak kat p2

ahhaha

• peYno on Nov 06, 2009 at 4:03 am

Mysticmind said,

November 5, 2009 @ 3:18 pm

I wonder.. why they(P2) still entitled ‘Kereta nasional’ ?

Most of the profit (let say over 70%) was going to japan already.

Sigh…

====

this is involve political issues.. gov doesn't want to tell rakyat that actually they already sold p2 to foreigner,

• Littlefire on Nov 06, 2009 at 4:45 am

Ask urself who control P2 ===> UMW & Daihatsu

UMW => Whos company? UMW + Toyota? Check again the share holder

Check the history in it, i will bet even Tun M name will bounce in it.. With late Eric C involved..

Yeah, the Proton supporter is back after all went quiet about the NAP that help Proton again..

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 06, 2009 at 8:14 am

Prolife said,

November 5, 2009 @ 11:11 am

Ya, I do agree that Perodua is very Tin Milo thing.

I drove my wife’s Viva on Highway and kene “Bang” from behind by Gen2.

Me and my car just “buang” from middle lane to the left lane then to longkang, then terbalik to a small hill then terbalik to the long kang again.

I agree Viva is kind of a city drive car but didn’t aspect to be too frigile. Very disappointed!!

———-

You know its a city car so what exactly were you expecting? You're still alive right? So I assume its not such a milo tin.

I'm not a fan of peroduas but…….

• dunno one man can change to become close to toyota standard (",)

• redfueler on Nov 06, 2009 at 11:04 am

gov should buy all stake on p2 on jpan hand..

then jv with tata from india..then sell tata nano…

named it kereta rakyat..

sell it under 10k..

what a great dream…???

;))

• Guys out there who relentlessly blame P2,

The second Malaysia car manufacturer/assembler really did a good job until they’re too arrogant and slapping HIGHER price for a Viva (no wonder Viva resale value is too bad for a P2 unlike Kelisa, Myvi).

BUT, too blame P2 because P1 can’t beat them is too much when Myvi in less than 5 years already produce close to 400k cars.

The MD Syed Hafidz is the very right man for the job and P2 will missed the guy. Having said that, P2 need to position themselves as small yet safe cars, like savvy. I’ll little offend with Savvy ugly design though good handling small car.

• gopal on Nov 07, 2009 at 5:50 am

they just not doing bumper only..but they tag team to developed new daihatsu car..eg MYvi 0r passo project is joint venture from Daihatsu and Perodua…the design of toyota passo design by perodua designer but taken by japanese to be sold in japan first…then the ugly version is for malaysia market…(normal la coz P2 own by japs) i know this coz got info frm inside,,,huhuhuhhu

• Leonardo on Nov 07, 2009 at 5:56 am

P2 used to have a big chunk and a big lead over P1 but lately P1 have closed the gap to less than a 1000 cars. Maybe Hafiz realised this too and better to quit when his reputation is still intact.

• Perhaps new MD can Peroduanized Toyota iQ to be Perodua Pintar.

• peYno on Nov 08, 2009 at 2:36 am

who is the person behind local/malaysian management in p2??

the answer is japanese

who is person behind Najib our PM??

the answer is Datin Rosmah

Big boss

japanese= rosmah

the puppet

malaysian in p2 = Najib

prrrfthhh

• MADBOY on Nov 10, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Huggies Dry said,

November 5, 2009 @ 5:57 pm

MADBOY – please equip your self with automotive environment before saying (just tell people that u are related with toyota and your products have toyota’s quality) there a lots of car makers sharing the platform etc

——————

But they are not just sharing platform is't it. They do use such statement to increase the sales la bro.

• Hi peYno,

"who is person behind Najib our PM??
    the answer is Datin Rosmah"

Who is behind Anwar? Oooo Azizah… :)

Dang!

• KIA FORTE open for b on Nov 12, 2009 at 11:39 am

:) Kami adalah syarikat NAZA KIA dari cawangan KLANG & cawangan KEPONG yang buka 365 hari 9am-9pm setiap hari.

Senang untuk anda melawat KIA pada bila-bila masa selepas waktu kerja mahupun pada hari Ahad & public holiday! Kami adalah SPECIAL OUTLET!

Informasi:………….. :)

NAZA FORTE ini akan launch pada 24 November 2009. :) TENGOK & PERCAYA!

1.6cc AUTOMATIC SHIFTRONIC GEAR!(teknologi 2 dalam 1…boleh pakai auto ataupun manual digital)

SUPER Fuel Efficient…tested 1litre/11km iaitu 0.16sen untuk 1 km.

Harga OTR rm75,xxx.

Open for booking now! We are the only SPECIAL OUTLET in Malaysia which…

OPEN 365 days 9am-9pm daily!

Pls come & visit us at:

No.48 & 50, Lorong Batu Nilam 4B,

Bandar Bukit Tinggi,

41200 Klang.

Hotline:03-3323 9948 (3 lines)

No.69 & 71, Jalan Rimbunan Raya 1,

Laman Rimbunan, Kepong,

52100 Kuala Lumpur

Hotline: 03-6252 9868 (2 lines)

ANY ENQUIRY pls call us. Happy to serve u. tq

or view at YOUTUBE :) searching "KIA CERATO FORTE" :)