Airline war on the F1 grid – AirAsia passengers might get Richard Branson as stewardess!

richard-branson

Yes you read right! Sir Richard Branson of Virgin fame could be serving AirAsia passengers in a stewardess uniform – but only if Lotus F1 beats Virgin Racing in the battle of the newcomers. Lotus F1 chief Tony Fernandes will have to do the same on a Virgin Atlantic flight if the Malaysian backed team loses in the duel!

“He has an airline, we have an airline and if we beat him he can come and work on our airline as a Virgin stewardess. We will make sure that the stewardess outfit is perfect. I suspect that he might ask us to reciprocate. I’ll have to check how fetching his stewardess outfits are but I’d be game to do it while totally confident of winning,” said the Briton.

AirAsia boss Fernandes replied: “Bring it on, the sexier the better. Our passengers will be delighted to be served by a Knight of the Realm. But, knowing Richard, the real challenge will be to prevent him from asking our guests ‘coffee, tea or me?’ That would be scary,” he said.

These two “warring” friends subscribe to the power of publicity, so this challenge comes as no surprise. As much as I want Lotus F1 to do well, Tony Fernandes in a tight skirt would be quite a sight! What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Spica on Dec 18, 2009 at 5:22 am

lol, i wont take that flight even the ticket is free

• kimi_ sux on Dec 18, 2009 at 5:27 am

lol.. GO malaysia.. Bring him here!

• haha..so funny

• look scary

• just me on Dec 18, 2009 at 5:42 am

I want 'awan DANIA' back… =)

• Wow, that flight will be quite interesting, and ….. horrible…

• hadi1975 on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:11 am

my eyes…. ooohhhh my eyes……. :-o..

• raybrig on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:16 am

yuckksss!!!…geli aku!!

• mitlanevo on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:28 am

OMG, i just vomit on my keyboard…

• lightning mcqueen on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:29 am

yuks!

• haha, this should be interesting.

we need to have more of these friendly competition. spur each other to do better. unlike some other areas of our (you know what)

• huiyoo on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:34 am

Richard Branson: Coffee, tea or me?

Me: Can i have the parachute now?

• lotus f1 supporter on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:46 am

haha…..xbleh blah

• aiyoo…

seriously the passanger will laugh or fainted…

haha

• Rudeboi on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:11 am

I hope Lotus is ahead of Virgin in F1. Actually, Sir Richard pose the challenge because he wanted to save Fernandes's life. Tony said in the press that he wanted to retire and kill himself is Lotus did worse than Virgin. Being a witty English gentleman, Sir Branson saved Tony of embarrassment by saying something less serious

• kronikelz (Member) on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:23 am

I just love seeing this, these 2 ppl are geniuses. all done for free publicity, imagine when it actually happens, the spiral effect would be huge. there would be free news coverage for both airlines on top of that it would surely become the topic in most coffee shops and bars, not to forget pictures of the act would be spread all over the world through email and mms which would definately trigger the curiosity of potential customers.both airlines would benefit tremendously. all without spending a single penny.

talking about free advertisements..

• nudin on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:41 am

TF indeed hv to proud with air asia but need so humble in F1 just manage well their team to drive for success without so much talking. No matter what win or loose need to put their respect..

• oh yeah i would grope branson and slap his buttocks as he walk the isle

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:50 am

is he virgin enough.danny,is this theophilus photoshop masterpiece.i bet.virgin f1 team.never heard about it before.

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:51 am

its all depends on the drivers.not the sponsors.

• Sean Lim on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:58 am

Uncle Tony, I am your supporter!!!

• bmpower on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:58 am

I laughed when i read it this evening. :D

Branson is an ex-boss of tony too.

whoever win, whatever it is, It's damn great superb publicity they got! All over the world! and… priceless!

• raixa on Dec 18, 2009 at 8:00 am

Even now I almost fainted I don't have any idea when passenger see him in the flight for an hour!

• trav_da_man on Dec 18, 2009 at 8:14 am

well who cares who winning, as long there entertainment off the pitlane & track for us to see!!!! Its good for F1!!!!!!

• squawk on Dec 18, 2009 at 8:18 am

This 'war' is a good marketing spin for the teams and F1. I think many will be following the progress of these 2 teams rather than the top runners.

Anyone wanna join the mile-high club with Tony or Dick? :-)

• Jarum on Dec 18, 2009 at 8:38 am

Tony is going to lose this bet!

• Qayyum on Dec 18, 2009 at 8:53 am

..err.. gud luck LOTUS F1

• it's a publicity act.

lol

interesting tho.

• mystvearn on Dec 18, 2009 at 1:50 pm

I wanna go onboard the airplane then. Don't care whoever looses. Just tell me in advance which ticket to buy:P

Reminds me of a guy who so adamant some car would be released that day or have his balls cut:P

• albagmane on Dec 18, 2009 at 3:47 pm

LOL.. richard branson ftw!!!

• adijb on Dec 18, 2009 at 4:15 pm

hahahahahahahaha!!!

• run budget on Dec 18, 2009 at 4:31 pm

so funny…we are already knows how Branson is. He is "gila-gila" person. Besides that, its a genius strategy to established their empire.

• rexis on Dec 18, 2009 at 4:47 pm

OMG…

is the ticket open for booking now?

I mean the flight ticket…

omg omg omg omg.

(PS: How about Tony in Virgin suit?)

• Tiadaid on Dec 18, 2009 at 4:54 pm

I'd gladly go on board a flight with Richard Branson as a stew. When else can you get served by a Knight? It's like a Tan Sri working in a kedai mamak…

• bobby on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:09 pm

This is what I called " healthy " competition . Its good actually. Leaders set example. By this, they will make sure they will work their asses off so their asses wont get whopped in a stewardess dress.

• WhiteFox on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:19 pm

Oh My god~~~~

The nightmare~~~ is coming to the flight.

Hope The passenger won't vomit on the plane haha

• initial R on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Hahahaha…… joke of the year…. sure will record i World Record of century…. Sah2 aku gelak sampai pengsan kalau salah sorang ada kat atas flight….. good publicity but still joke of century……. :)

• MyCarMyLife on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Great marketing from these 2 ,

• Mazda 3 MPS + PERODU on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:31 pm

very disgusting

• RH PumpkinKing on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:39 pm

AirAsia boss Fernandes replied: “Bring it on, the sexier the better. Our passengers will be delighted to be served by a Knight of the Realm. But, knowing Richard, the real challenge will be to prevent him from asking our guests ‘coffee, tea or me?’ That would be scary,” he said

—-

I loved this statements .. hahaha..

• nahhh….i always wanted to touch a virgin muahaha

• Dubravko on Dec 18, 2009 at 8:40 pm

I think both party will prosper no matter who wins the battle…Marvellous brain!!

• Motorist on Dec 18, 2009 at 9:02 pm

The Master & his young padawan.

Hats off to these 2 guys.

• Should tony be losing, he will be wearing IM A VIRGIN tshirt. hahaha.. go tony!

• Must be in Air Asia X to Stansted (London).

• nabill on Dec 18, 2009 at 10:36 pm

now all sounds friendly and funny , wait til the season starts and one or both of them get spanked , thn thy will look like idiots in no time….bt its nice to see f1 so 'open' this season , usually f1 has a very stiff face….no intention to see either of their legs anyway , bt i do want lotus f1 to do beter….!

i like tony's open aproach , im jus worried that he sounds too optimistic …u got to undderstand that he has no experience or knowledge in F1 at all….unless his position is jus a symbolic thing…

• What a great marketing idea ! Sure front page story ! Go Tony !

• tokmoh on Dec 19, 2009 at 5:07 am

ONOZ MINDRAEP!!!! IT'S A TARP!!!! Must…… resist…… fapping……

Anyway, glad to see this kinda lunacy is still around in F1 since Flavio got banned :)

• Please grow up, Branson and Tony….Mcm budak-budak jer…..

• osh_kosh on Dec 19, 2009 at 7:57 am

@zain,

i second that… :) both r childish

• paxter on Dec 19, 2009 at 11:20 am

funny how u two call them kids when u know… you (and me) are here and they are ………………………….. There. Anyway its a great marketing tool between two best friends. That poster of branson is on every motoring website, magazine article, news paper and blogs… imagine how much clicks airasia has gotten over the past 48 hrs….

+ its free ad space if you think of it…

• Slayer on Dec 19, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Auww…tak kuasa mak

• osh_kosh on Dec 19, 2009 at 11:19 pm

@paxter,

what's your point? the act r childish… don't u think? it doesn't matter who they r…

• personaria on Dec 20, 2009 at 1:02 am

go lotus

• superautomatica on Dec 20, 2009 at 1:15 am

Think about the pricing of the tickets on those flights! anything but budget I think!

Start up take note, and get ready your "inflight" business pitches!

• chiewwl on Dec 21, 2009 at 8:21 pm

If I encounter Richard Branson, wearing tight skirt as AirAsia stewardess, I will butt fcuk 'her' for good…

• lifesun on Feb 03, 2010 at 4:38 pm

wow..there LIVE show on TV ? lol

• pomen_gtr on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:14 am

where is richarddddddddddddddd…..

don’t run…. :lol: