Naza in talks with GM to handle Chevrolet

Naza in talks with GM to handle ChevroletIt was quite an open secret that Naza was looking to take over custody of the Chevrolet brand in Malaysia, even before the official break up announcement by DRB-HICOM and GM. So a Starbiz report saying that Naza and GM are in talks for the exclusive distribution of Chevy comes as no surprise.

Although the report, which quotes an unnamed “industry source” said that GM is in talks with several parties, it didn’t mention any local company besides Naza. According to the source, Naza and GM will make an announcement by the second week of January.

In the meantime, GM is counting on dealer Cergazam Sdn Bhd to manage the franchise until a new partner comes on board.

Naza taking on Chevrolet in its stable will be quite interesting as it already handles one of Chevy’s big rivals in Kia, and we can imagine that one of the big topics on the discussion table with GM will be how Naza will manage this situation.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wolfsburg on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:09 pm

I think Naza will price the Chevrolet above Kia… Like Cruze above Forte, Spark above Picanto…

• kojik on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:11 pm

1st!!

• RedLine on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:15 pm

Naza to handle Chevy? Does this mean we are going to hava Naza Captiva soon? Ugh, does not sound good. Why can't Naza keep the original brand name….e.g. Kia Sorento instead of Naza Sorento. Putting the Naza name really lowers the brand value of the car.

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:20 pm

It would be interesting to see how Naza would position both brands.

Ultimately you have 2 Korean "made" model ranges eyeing for the same market segment and about hte same price point, Chevy being slightly higher due to being CBU, but knowing NAZA, nothing really stopping them to bumper CKD'ing them here either.

• control on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:25 pm

kia and chevy in one roof?

forte vs cruze, sorento vs captiva…how naza manage this??

• sparrow on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Oh.. i'm right… Naza really want to make themselves a mini GM in Malaysia.

• Alan Wong on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:44 pm

All the eggs in 1 basket???

• bmpower on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:47 pm

where naza had so much money?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:49 pm

corvette and camaro for us? anyway don buy gm cars. boycott gm until they sell off saab to spyker.

• nabill on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:54 pm

naza is itaking on too many brands , obviously sacrificing their customer service for increased sales , is it a case of biting more than they can chew???

i dont tink its a good idea being too big too soon….

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 02, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Erm.. Arzai and Mamud.

I believe both of you got your holiday when Christmas comes right? And you wear little red hats celebrating? And wishing people Merry Christmas?

I supposed you're happy with that. So shut up.

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 02, 2010 at 11:12 pm

ya ya let BN own cronies handle the distribution of cars with them and the government pocketing our money.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 03, 2010 at 1:14 am

Naza Camaro, Naza Corvette. Don't think so

• onYep on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:43 am

Ptuii … enough is enough NAZA. When do you want to learn to make a real car? Shame on you, just cut and paste logo…. ptuiii

• theanswer on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:53 am

Naza to handle Chevy? Does this mean we are going to hava Naza Captiva soon? Ugh, does not sound good. Why can’t Naza keep the original brand name….e.g. Kia Sorento instead of Naza Sorento. Putting the Naza name really lowers the brand value of the car.

great news! no more cross logo. *actually chevy captiva can use holden logo..got holden captiva also. hehehe

• theanswer on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:56 am

Naza Camaro, Naza Corvette. Don’t think so

yep..u'r right. even when DRB distribute they didnt bring camaro or corvette. even most of chevy car here came from korean for asian/australian/europe market..not from US.

• 20v_ke35 on Jan 03, 2010 at 4:26 am

noooo…… then cruze will be more expensive than forte…noooo…

• alldisc on Jan 03, 2010 at 5:21 am

RedLine said,

January 2, 2010 @ 12:15 pm

Naza to handle Chevy? Does this mean we are going to hava Naza Captiva soon? Ugh, does not sound good. Why can’t Naza keep the original brand name….e.g. Kia Sorento instead of Naza Sorento. Putting the Naza name really lowers the brand value of the car.

—————————————————————

one of the main reasons for the badge engineering (Kia to Naza) is mainly so that the car will be entitled to national car status.

in 2001 – Kia Carnival was sold at approx 160K

but in 2002 – the Naza Ria was on sale for about 105K, beating the tax and excise duties.

enough said, thats how they conduct their business. dont like the way they are? simply dont buy.

the Kia makes are actually really struggling in malaysia now, no matter how good the Rondo and Forte maybe.

• gogogo!!! on Jan 03, 2010 at 5:38 am

bring camaro,corvette

• Mufasa on Jan 03, 2010 at 5:49 am

our dream is to see naza centralize service center….

• kingv6 on Jan 03, 2010 at 8:15 am

Yes… bring in more brand.. good move Naza..

This will pressure the Japanese brands to be more price competitive…

• Rhys Millen on Jan 03, 2010 at 8:59 am

Buy one Captiva get sorrento for free…….

• sammyB on Jan 03, 2010 at 9:45 am

Naza doesn't rebrand Ferraris, Maseratis, Bentleys and Brabus do they? So what makes you think they will do so to Chevies? Since they are bigger, they would be able to bring in more GM models and not only Chevies but others…use some logic as Kia is assembled here as a 3rd local car and Peugeots are ckd'ed…both are cheaper than many Jap makes that some of you die for, even if its under equipped or under powered.

Try to think properly instead of flaming distributors who give the public more choices than the T,H&N which used to have less than 4 models in our market when they had more than 20 models in Japan and the rest of the world.

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 03, 2010 at 7:16 pm

why dont they just buy saab altogether from the money they made

• JacKal on Jan 04, 2010 at 8:47 am

Naza's mismanagement of the current model's in it's stables does not bode well for GM. They may be able to sell the cars by selling at a cheaper price by putting a "Naza" badge on it and claiming to be a national car of sorts. But we'l' all be complaining late about the built quality of the CKD units and the poor or nonexistent after-sales service. But won't be surprised if they get the brand into it's stables with all the backing form the unseen hands…

• naza…when r u going to make your own cars? why cut copy and paste from Hyundai, GM etc? Cannot think and build yourself….crap Naza…

• Naza, let me be your CEO and plan your strategy instead having constant crappy deal… and without crutches you collapse

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 04, 2010 at 8:34 pm

how corrupted

• Nester Ishmael Rudve on Jan 05, 2010 at 4:28 am

bmpower said,

January 2, 2010 @ 12:47 pm

where naza had so much money?

————————————

TTDI?

Shah Alam?

Naza is one of the biggest developer that developed those place. In fact, they have many other companies such as, logistics company, marine, and etc. surf the naza.com.my….

u wud knw

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:45 am

and also good connections with rafidah

• tokmoh on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:03 pm

But their restaurant sucks lor… the bubba gump. Ate there once, then don't want eat there anymore. For abt the same amt of money, I'd rather go Friday's, Chili's, Sushi Zanmai better.

Hm… kinda weird that there's not much workshop bawah pokok to take care of Korean cars? I mean, I'm aware there's Alfa, Fiat etc continental specialist workshops which I believe hv no connection to the official distributor at all, but known through word-of-mouth.

I think if there's more workshops doing that, the Kia brand will fly.