CONFIRMED: DRB-HICOM and Chevrolet part ways

CONFIRMED: DRB-HICOM and Chevrolet part waysAfter long standing rumours, DRB-HICOM has finally announced its break up with the Chevrolet marque in Malaysia. The statement said that DRB and General Motors Asia Pacific have mutually agreed to discontinue their existing joint venture agreement to import and distribute Chevrolet vehicles from Jan 1, 2010.

This will see the winding down of joint venture company HICOM-Chevrolet Sdn Bhd, which was founded in August 2007. GM and DRB-HICOM hold 51 per cent and 49 per cent stake in the JV, respectively. DRB-HICOM, through its subsidiary DRB-HICOM Auto Solutions, was reponsible for the importation of the vehicles into Malaysia while GM was in charge of the management and operations of the business.

The identity of GM’s new partner is almost an open secret by now, and we expect a formal announcement by the parties involved soon. This constant changing of hands doesn’t bode well for the Chevrolet marque in Malaysia; customer confidence will take a battering and current owners won’t be too happy with this news at all.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BRAZBUZ on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:12 pm

finally… so unlucky to the all chevy owner…

• azrai on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:14 pm

It's because GM wants DRB-HICOM to invest on CKDed Chevrolet. But the volume does not make it fesible for DRB-HICOM. Moreover NAZA is said to come behind the shadow. maybe a CKDed Chevrolet from GM. Moreover, the muslims in Malaysia didn't like the Chevrolet cross emblem on chevrolet. GM should be more sensitive on this.

• Indifferent on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:29 pm

WTF…..

• Mufasa on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:31 pm

yes, it a bit sensitive,,,,but very weird that in saudi…,chev still have some portion to the market..maybe coz of arabian too impress of US brand…

• jul2305 on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:34 pm

and that cross is making such a big fuss in Msia?????? what about cross roads?? telephone poles?? look out the window and theres plenty of cross shapes… grow up people…plssssssssssssssss

• wrongturn on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:34 pm

yeah..it is not a cross as some may claim it but it is a bowtie…btw it is still look like a cross…! Alfa Romeo got red cross on its emblem…and nobody says anything about it…

• no eye see on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:36 pm

hehehe… never thought of the cross emblem affects the popularity. Get Naza to change to NAZA logo if naza is the shadow. Good luck Chevy.

• Mr Leedy on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:46 pm

DRB-HICOM might be interested in investing of Chevrolet CKD if more models are introduced by Chevy into our market

(so few we have here on our road, even though the quality and performance is outstanding)

• BeemerFreak on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:52 pm

Good news for Naza Kia. A least the Forte's real competitor, the Cruze would not be launched so soon. Tested it in Singapore, it was a darn good car the Cruze, refinemenet on par with Forte with a more upmarket feel.

• chew ban (Member) on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:53 pm

CHEVY IS UGLY CAR. NO OFFENSE BUT IT IS. I RATHER DRIVE PERSONA OR NEO INSTEAD OF CHEVY. I WOULD RATHER DRIVE KEMBARATALKING ABOUT KEMBARA WHAT HAPPENED TO NAUTICA. I CAN SEE FERRARI BUT NOT NAUTICA ON ROAD, HELL IVE EVEN SEEN CARRERA GT BUT NAUTICA UHG UHG.

• sparrow on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:11 pm

will Naza be the new company that holds chevy brand?

wow.. if so.. naza became mini GM.

• raoul on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Just like the old proton logo being sensitive to non-muslims?

Grow up, its just a logo.

• mamud on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:20 pm

100% agree with azrai. The cross emblem is very sensitive to muslim.

• nabill on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:21 pm

ya , screw GM

• Azrai…. Well i think your right in a way coz Proton decided to drop the cresent for a star and then a tiger. Non-muslims dont buy car with a cresent also. So what should u recond then?

• hotshot on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:34 pm

heard pavillion crest will collaborate with GM.with their own brand..

lets just see how it goes then.

• wochomi on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:36 pm

ya man….. stay away you americanos…. this is Asia, and funny short men from Japan make gooder engines. Also time to ditch the american-way.

• al-rajhi bank logo also look like a dick, didn;t see anyone dissing it , calling it inappropriate?

• chuakz on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:37 pm

they should be more open about it not GM more sensitive….

• Tassadar on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:39 pm

What is wrong with the Chevy bowtie (it is not even a cross you idiot) emblem? If Proton can put a crescent moon on its emblem, what's wrong with a bowtie. Hence, based on your narrow fanatical views, the crescent moon must be sensitive to Christians or non-muslims too. Please get a life!

• Babak on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:43 pm

The cross emblem logo from Chevy is symbol of Chevy bowtie. It should be well understand by other, that is nothing related to religion at all. If want to compare Nissan will be another victim, because it sound like driving Batu Nisan…

Zaman dah berubah, fikiran juga harus berdemikian…

I had own one Chevy at home…I will be headache get the spare, support and etc.

• so thats why chevrolet not selling well in Msia, the emblem !

• nisya on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm

really? did Malaysia's muslim don't like chevvy bcoz of the emblem? i think d emblem is a bow tie and not across as stated by azrai.

• RedLine on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Azrai, I agree. Even though in Chevrolet's website it states that the "cross" is actually a "bowtie", but the fact remains that the symbol still look like a cross. This makes many malays/muslims in this country not keen on buying Chevy's cars. If only GM is will to tweak or change the logo a bit for the local market. Why not? No harm what…The small change will probably make a noticible difference in sales volume. Maybe the new JV setup can look into this (although I doubt it).

• Fabregas on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Agreed…my close friend took it off right after he received the car. An Aveo.

GM/Naza should be more aware. Maybe just chevrolet name without the cross (options for buyers) and only for malaysian market.

However..maybe…

• how to globalize like this? scratch …scratch… scratch…

• Black Dog on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:34 pm

Bodoh! Why they have to put religion on everything?

From Banking, Politics, Food, Dressing, etc etc etc….practically the whole life….and now a little emblem! So stupid!

• Nahar on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:35 pm

I drive a Chevy Aveo and hoping to buy the Cruze very soon. Its so hilarious reading about the the Chevy's emblem issue. Yah, I think the readers who feel the "bow-tie" emblem/logo is sensitive to the Muslims should leave in another planet! …kelakar betul!!!!! Chevy has been around in Saudi, Kuwait, UAE, Egypt etc…so maybe these guys should try to leave their kampung once and see the bigger picture…

• rainman on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:39 pm

C'mon guys it's just an emblem, of a bowtie too at that. A muslim friend of mine that bought a chevy optra didn't replace the emblem because he understands that it is just a LOGO, of a BOWTIE.

• wribf on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:45 pm

Have you ever seen the UK "Portsmouth Football Club" logo….

Look almost similar to our old PROTON emblem{with the crescent and the star)

Yeah, we did change our logo to something else but in term of sales in uk, there aint no indication that by having new logo changes people perception…

There'll always be reasons to this and that….but if the product is really great! People can simply paint them over if they dislike it…

• Remember the Alfa 164.. malaysian distributors decided to change it to 168… all in the name of 'Feng Shui'.. but still it didnt sell well…

Well all i can say that those who really bother about these kind of matters should just buy other makes. Everybody has rights to their choice.

• terrenceq on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:50 pm

If you don't like it the logo, then don't buy their cars. Might as well boycott Japanese products too, since it was only about 65yrs ago that they invaded and proceeded to rape the country with reckless abandon. But I guess splitting hairs about abstract shapes that vaguely resemble other shapes is infinitely more important to the majority of the country.

• Tiadaid on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Tassadar said,

December 30, 2009 @ 1:39 pm

What is wrong with the Chevy bowtie (it is not even a cross you idiot) emblem? If Proton can put a crescent moon on its emblem, what’s wrong with a bowtie. Hence, based on your narrow fanatical views, the crescent moon must be sensitive to Christians or non-muslims too. Please get a life!

—————–

You think some makcik from Kota Bharu knows the difference between the Chevy bowtie and a cross, particularly since the Chevy logo looks nothing like a bowtie? I mean, just look at the Red Cross, they changed their logos in Muslim countries to become the Red Crescent. You have to be sensitive to the sensitivities of the people in a country when doing business, or else be prepared to take a hit.

• Hazri on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:53 pm

no la…i don't think that many muslims do not want to buy chevy due to its emblem…i've many friends bought Aveo & Optra…only narrow minded always thinking by that way!

• koozold on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:08 pm

azrai just make heboh at this comment. actually nth wrong with the emblem. friends of mine who is muslim owned this car and he happy with it. no complaint about the emblem. typical !!!

• scottloeb on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:11 pm

Ini apa cerita cross kat chevy? come on lah, org tak beli pasal 2nd hand value jatuh cam sial. Org cuma beli Captiva je, yg lain hampeh. Rupa buruk (tak outstanding tera mana pun), maintenance mahal, spare part susah, value tadak. Cuba tgk battery nak tukar pon susah, size pelik2. Vios pakai bateri kancil je, NS40. Camna orang nak beli, ngan time hujung taun jual lelong? Busuk2 proton sparepart senang dapat (kalaupun rosak selalu). Yg nih? Kalau kereta outstanding gila cam VW tak pa lah jugak, skang nak claim cerita cross. buat malu org Islam je. Pak Arab dari kereta polis sampai ambulan, taxi (Caprice) bersepah. Tadak sapa pi potong pon. Mata kampung betui hampa nih.

• To my Muslim friends, don't take it the wrong way, is the only reason that u do not want to buy the car is because of the so-called "cross symbol", does this mean that if you are in Europe / USA and you meet with an accident, you do not want to seek treatment fom the "Red Cross".

Anyway, its your money and your choice.

• ya Paultan, why the F is there a cross in your name?? Be more sensitive K!

• azrai on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Guys, ask your fellow Malay muslims friend (if you don't have any how come you can be 1 Malaysian?) :-) It is the feedback from my fellow friend who says it that way. I can accept it as a bowtie but sometimes they should be more sensitive on this thing because not all people are open mind. See McDonald discard their beef burger at India? Even the "Chevy' in Malaysia are Daewoos actually. GM just rebadged their Korean subsidiary product to become Chevy in Malaysia.

• viknacorp on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:36 pm

wat shallow thinking Malaysians….enough of your perceived racism toward minorities in the country, u now want to bring religion into a simple thing like buying a car.. grow up azrai and all the ppl who are talking about the cross…

the reason the Chevy brand is going out is because 1 most ppl still have the perception that the car is made in Korea and thus is of low quality ( need i remind you of the horrendous Daewoo Build Quality). The 2nd reason being us Malaysians who worship Toyota's,Nissan's and Honda's… and there's the cheaper Proton alternative as well…

Stop bringing religion into everything… what next..?

• trav_da_man on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Rumors says that Naza is approaching GM for the Chevrolet brand. However kinda pity this brand, revived and left for dead for 3 times now.

• theanswer on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:42 pm

al-rajhi bank logo also look like a dick, didn;t see anyone dissing it , calling it inappropriate?

hei..what's ur problem then? are u chevy salesman? if not..shut up la. if u'r not muslim..why u care? u go and buy ur own chevy la. sebok jer.

• It is only in Malaysia, all thanks to the conditioning by the government, that we have people making an issue out of a silly logo. It is the same with halal certification and many other silly issues that are non-issues in other Muslim countries.

In the Middle East, restaurants serve pork but they label it clearly. The residents there have no issue with it.

I don't blame the Malaysians but only the government. We have everything to lose if we continue down this sorry path.

• theanswer on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:44 pm

u cant expect to change ppl's mind straight away. since most of u guys here not a chevy sales exec..why u care abt muslims who thinks that it's a cross. i'm a muslim, but i dont really look at it as a cross..but i do respect others opinion that it looks like a cross…so i wont buy chevy car also.

• Owh come on people!! its just a logo!! Take it as that. No need to go beyond that… Yes, we muslims are not allowed to wear or have the cross symbol, if and only if, its clear (absolutely clear) that its a christian cross, for their religious purposes… if not, its not an issue…. If all crosses tak boleh, you'd not be doing additions in math (+)!!

• Emblem is not the cause of low sales for Chevy in Malaysia, it is the marketing strategy and tactic. Religious sensitivity issue can be overcome by appropriate marketing communication and marketing positioning.

• kezsz on Dec 31, 2009 at 12:21 am

my god…wht a pure nonsence..chevy bowtie doesnt look like a cross at all..i just dont understand how narrow minded some freaks are…no wonder we are still moving backwards…

• demio121 on Dec 31, 2009 at 12:27 am

the comment so far really reflect the state of our society. 2 millenium of evolution and we end up here…!!!

about Chevy in MY, when is the GM gonna learn to run a business? all this changing don't create confidence among the consumer. There is no denying that Chevy reputation is pretty battered here with the neglect and constant change. Even if the best product in the world will find it hard to roll off the showroom with all this negatives.

• Clone on Dec 31, 2009 at 12:34 am

What a nonsense and ridiculous comments from Malay Muslim here…I'm as a Muslim feel ashamed on how fellow Muslims acted like idiot here. Grow up people. It's no wonder why we Sabahan here in Sabah (and I believe Sarawakian too) can integrate with our fellow Christians and others way more better compare to western Malaysian… Shame on you all. Peace to the world.

• arch808 on Dec 31, 2009 at 12:44 am

I used to want to buy Optra previously. but decided not to after heard news that chev's logo is similar to one of the major religion's logo.

upon further investigation, I found out that it's true that chev's logo is strikingly similar. Not at this particular era but the religion's logo was used during byzantine era, through time the religion's logo has evolved into the current logo.

do google it yrself.

• Fuego66 on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:03 am

Problem with Cross/Bowtie, sensitive to Muslim?? Easy, ask NAZA to CKD Chevys, and woila . . .NAZA Cruze…… Solve problem!

• Damon Lee on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:10 am

hm… i one the 'lucky' person that used to work with Chevrolet. Just something to share. When chevy brand introduced to malaysia back in 2003, it sold almost 12000+ cars within 1.5 years… there is almot 60-65% of the owner is Muslim… so does the logo really matters? i dunno…

• almostthere on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:12 am

Owh come on, not being racist but over a cross? Do you even know it's actually a bow tie? And do you know why the Chverolet Brother's chose a bow tie? Get a life and stop nit-picking on paranoid fantasy's

• malaysia on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:23 am

Alamak….stuff like this also wanna be so sensitive? Macam mana nak maju malaysia nie????

To be extremist doesn't mean a person is more pious….sigh…

• what in the blue hell that the "cross" or bowtie got to do with Hicom & Chevy parting ??

if muslim is the problem ? y several million non muslim in malaysia not buying Chevy ?

blame the people, not the car, not religion, not you and me.. blame people that still think chevy is a expensive car to maintain & expensive to drive.

• afhstingray on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:39 am

i really pity the people whose mentality is so primitive as to take offence at the logo lol.

• cordoba1 on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:43 am

Symbols are important for Moslem consumers and I do agree it plays a part in their overall decision making, however, it is not the only factor. Due to highly inflated car prices in Malaysia, second hand prices do play an important part. I know someone who swears never to buy a Citroen again due to poor resale value, expensive spare parts, and problematic electronics. And mind you the car is 5 years old and with barely 100K km mileage!!

• BrakeFader on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:43 am

Does anyone remember the fuss of a cross pattern on Moo biscuits? That causes a big issue as it was perceived Muslims consuming the cross.

• drputera on Dec 31, 2009 at 2:05 am

i totally agree with azrai. i bought a captiva 2 years back. when i drove home , my mother was so angry with me and she refused to get into th ecar.

so, i removed the emblem.

moral of the strory, Malays especially the elder Malays are dead sensitives in regards to tis ; looks very small to us but to them it is indeed a very big issue.

• amirzaim on Dec 31, 2009 at 2:05 am

Hampeh betul komen korang!!! Artikel tu habaq pasal tu, tapi korang ni pi komen yg lain pulak!!! Korang mungkin tau bahawa jenama chevy dah tak laku dan sebab tulah GM bankrap!! Yang laku cuma kereta sport camaro dgn corvette je lah.

• pwoton on Dec 31, 2009 at 2:13 am

rather have a pwoton than a chevvy..still hates pwoton though

• Najibest on Dec 31, 2009 at 2:39 am

if chevy is to sell the cruze for RM40k and announce spareparts as cheap and abundant as proton, do u think people would shy away from it? muslims included. i don't think so. hate the logo? remove it then. just like how people who drive proton wira like to replace the logo with mitsubishi. what's so hard about that?

just like some comments earlier, go to middle eastern countries and u'll see chevy is 1 of their main car brands. does the logo hinder people there from buying it? not really. if we say that the Chevy logo resembles the cross, why not stay away from writing the letter "t" as well…it too looks like a cross…

anyway back to chevy and drb hicom. it's sad to see them part ways. they came on the scene with huge expectation and managed to see quite a number of cars back then (during the Hicomobil time). but everything went downhill after wards. i don't know, perhaps DRB Hicom just doesn't see Chevy's as an important enough business (or profitable for that matter) to keep. they do have tons of other brands in their line up not to mention manufacturing business.

anyway i hope whoever gets the chevy business next would keep it for a longer period. naza might sound bad in many people's ear but they've been doing Kia since like forever despite the bad impression people associate korean cars with and now kia's gaining momentum here. but then again, it's all speculation now n hopefully we can see something concrete in the next few months. i really like the captiva and many other GM vehicles (especially the Pontiac's that was never sold here and would never be since GM's closing that division down). Perhaps they can bring in some of the Holden's with small engines and rebadge them as Chevy's and see how they sell here….

• mirror-mirror on Dec 31, 2009 at 2:52 am

The DRB Hicom is indirectly linked to other large companies, like MMC; Tradewinds; Bank Muamalat; Senai Airport; Port of Tanjung Pelepas; IJM; Zelan and a few others, through a common shareholder. There are signs that the owner is a little stretched financially and management-wise to manage such a diverse portfolio of business. Better leave it to others who are more focused in the auto business.

• jeremy0 on Dec 31, 2009 at 3:03 am

Whats the big fuss about the logo or DRB Hicom anyways?…Ask any enlightened chevy owners and they will tell u that many moons ago we already ditch DRB-Hicom & Cergazam for outside service centers. We don't give a damn on how they run this brand in Malaysia bcoz all this buggers care about is profit.

Most chevy owners are happy with their rebranded Daewoo/Suzuki/Holden whatever it is called in the other parts of the world. If u bought it at the clearance sales then the car has already depreciated significantly and is considered value for money. Only in Malaysia that people have mentality that Toyota and Honda is the best brand. I do own both this makes and the built quality is lower than the optra itself. Also prior to this, I have owned the rubbish Gen.2 which i dispose after 8 mths since the car has so many problems that can happen.

The GM cars are without its own problems. The holden T18SED engine itself is an old tech from the GM parts bin. For todays standards, it is a fuel guzzler when compared to other engines in its class. There is also the costs of spares which is much higher than jap makes. However, most of members do purchase parts and service them at outside mechanics since it is a lot cheaper when purchase in bulk from Siamland. GM parts are abundant since a lot are manufactured in our neighbouring country

My conclusion is that if u haven't own a chevy b4, don't dis it yet…..sure there are lemons but it is also the same for other makes

• cl lim on Dec 31, 2009 at 3:06 am

Haha…. what clowns… Chevrolet Caprice (AKA Holden Commodore) ….. is selling pretty well in Middle East i.e. Dubai and Saudi Arabia….n they didnt have to replace the bowtie with another logo…so what the big deal man…

• drputera said,

December 30, 2009 @ 6:05 pm

'i totally agree with azrai. i bought a captiva 2 years back. when i drove home , my mother was so angry with me and she refused to get into th ecar.

moral of the strory, Malays especially the elder Malays are dead sensitives in regards to tis ; looks very small to us but to them it is indeed a very big issue.'

Very interesting. Although I'm muslim too, I never apprehend emblems like this in a religious correlation. For me, it's just a brand logo…

• RedLine on Dec 31, 2009 at 3:32 am

Hahaha…I can't help but laugh reading some of the comments here. If Person A does not want to buy a particular brand of car because of whatever reason (they dont like the name, or the colour, or the emblem, or the country of origin, the resale value, etc), let them be la. It's a personal choice. They are not effecting you at all. Yet I see many people here get so worked up, yelling people to "get a life", calling people "narrow minded" this and that la. For what?? I think these people need to respect other people's views, even if they dont agree with them. Especially when these views does not effect them at all. Actually, "narrow-minded" are also people who cannot accept other people's views. So who's the narrow minded now?

A business entity cannot force their customer to follow their views. If the company want to succeed, they are the one who should adapt to the market sentiment. In malaysia, I think the emblem itself may not be such a big issue if the car is fantastic. But when you have a car that is generally ugly, expensive spare parts, poor resale value, and ON TOP OF THAT, has this emblem issue, then I'm not surprise the sales for Chevy is low in Malaysia.

Anyway, people, relax. Don't get so worked up over this. If a person likes blue instead of green (for whatever reason), then leave them be.

• omG, look at the creatures that You ve created! they are so creative that now the discussion is about the emblem! haha.

so back to the topic.

who the other party, naza? if naza plan to do ckd then good lor, more choice for people. then can get cheap chev. at the of the day, naza become the trully national 'car maker' since they make cars more 'affordable' to malaysian..haha.

• tolan on Dec 31, 2009 at 4:11 am

Every one is sensitive when it comes to their sensitivity.. So please respect and dont question something that is beyond your religious and racial limits.

• raoul said,

December 30, 2009 @ 1:12 pm

Just like the old proton logo being sensitive to non-muslims?

Grow up, its just a logo.

Muslims understands the sensitivity of non-muslims in this country. Thats why proton changed their logo. Its just some non-muslims who just blatantly ignorant enough to the muslims. Just like in this chevy logo issue.

• monimoku on Dec 31, 2009 at 4:53 am

i think the problems are mostly from DRB, just think about Honda, Suzuki and now Chevrolet, so who is next?

• Freedom Of Speach on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:11 am

Please read this, chinese going backward equal gender please. Why not build road,house,market,hall,etc for woman.

China shopping centre builds 'car park for women'
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/8432887.s…

Why everybody keep silent??

• Shafiq on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:13 am

Heh. Customer and their perception will always win no matter what others gonna say about them. Respect them and they will respect your product.

• yesoh on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:25 am

eh, a cross is anytime better than a dead Tiger skull.. bad fengshui man!

• Tiadaid on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:29 am

drputera said,

December 30, 2009 @ 6:05 pm

i totally agree with azrai. i bought a captiva 2 years back. when i drove home , my mother was so angry with me and she refused to get into th ecar.

moral of the strory, Malays especially the elder Malays are dead sensitives in regards to tis ; looks very small to us but to them it is indeed a very big issue.

—————————————

For a devout Muslim, issues like this they really care about. Stop belittling them for their faith. It may or may not be a factor, but it's just an assumption. Why shoot the messenger?

• tsk tsk tsk… :-x

• tokmoh on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:39 am

I wanna drink Starbucks also already some ppl accuse me of supporting zionists to kill Palestinian "brothers"

I was like "…………"

Sigh… people in this world… sabar je la…

• shawal on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:55 am

outta topic ppl

hahahaha….

Im a muslim n nooooOOO, the logo doesnt offend me at all..

besides…the cars we're getting here arent chevrolets at all..theyre just basicly a rebadged DAEWOO's and OPEL omega.., all under GM's brand..

I think its a brilliant move from DRB-HICOM cuz , in automotive owrld GM is big criminal right now…so does any american right now..

• apa la merepek kamu semua yob? cross tak cross tu bukan masalahnya….kalau captiva tu harga rm50k orang dah tak kira cross dah mesti semua beli.

• hope this change will result in better customer & after sales service for all chevy owner :-)

• DiscoStick on Dec 31, 2009 at 8:09 am

when i saw "60 Comments" and i thought peeps are so keen to discuss about the GM-HICOM issue. god knows that the discussion ended revolving around religion perspectives. what a shame. if u r so allergic to the logo, i suggest u just don inhale the air exhaled by ur opposite religion's Msians. this is one world, we live on this land, and we share the same country. why segregate and why being so conservative. Peace!