New Nissan Sylphy Luxury Navi Package trim level adds in-dash GPS navigation system

Nissan Sylphy

The Nissan Sylphy is now available as a new variant called the “Luxury Navi Package” variant which includes an in-dash touchscreen GPS navigation and entertainment system. The system is the TCAT Multimedia Navigator System which boasts some interesting specs.

From doing a little research it appears that the system runs on the SpeedNavi SQ software, which was created by M&Soft, a Hyundai-related company. The touchscreen player uses a 7 inch truecolour touch screen with 800×480 resolution – that’s some pretty impressive resolution so text and graphics should appear quite crisp.

The GPS navigation’s mapping system includes 3D junction view and 2.5D building view for a better idea of exactly which junction you have to take. Maps have 15 zoom levels and are for both Malaysia and Singapore, while language options include English, BM, Cantonese, Mandarin, Thai, Japanese and Korean.

Other features include a reverse camera system with night vision compensation (which auto-engages during reverse), and an audio and video player which streams audio to the car’s 6-speaker audio system through an FM transmitter. Video and audio can be loaded through either an SD card or a USB data drive.

The Luxury Navi Package trim level is only a RM1,500 premium (RM120,380.00) over the Luxury package which I feel is quite good value. If you purchase the TCAT Multimedia Navigator system along with the reverse camera and etc on its own the RRP is RM3,500.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=767]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wajarlah on Jan 15, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Yess!

• I think this is a way forward.. other manufacturer should follow suits especially proton which lack of flair, details and features in it car.

• mystvearn on Jan 15, 2010 at 2:38 pm

Wait 3 years, all cars sold in malaysia will have sat nav as premium option

• shawal on Jan 15, 2010 at 2:54 pm

When i look at european cars's interior…i think to myself… why malaysia now so far left behind… than… when i see the drab interior of a slyphy…. ngeh… not so bad…. , The satnav really improves the boring cabin….. but the menu looks like some cheap mp4 stuff…

• Bruce Ban on Jan 15, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Haha I always know that one day they gonna fit GPS into that empty compartment one day!

• zaidy on Jan 15, 2010 at 4:12 pm

This is good news. But I wonder how would we be able to update the GPS map. Do we do at during service? Also, when is Nissan going to give us the audio steering controls, thats a turn-off for me.

• theanswer on Jan 15, 2010 at 4:29 pm

good addition for a comfortable and affordable sedan.

• alihms on Jan 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm

To the unitiated, the GPS unit spec may sound impressive. For those who are "in the know", this is just a typical spec. You can get a standalone GPS unit which boast similar capability for less than RM1000. If you go for China copycat units, the prices are even lower.

But the most critical thing on GPS is the map itself. No details have been stated where the map come from. From my experience, no commercially available maps can rival the details and accuracy of freely available community based maps we have right here in Malaysia.

The only good this that is is a HU system – fixed to the dashboard. No messy wires to be seen.

• Lightning McQueen on Jan 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm

This one oledey available in Murano…

• turtlebusiness on Jan 15, 2010 at 4:42 pm

not only P, even H should follow in term of it's own navigation system…and not like the one they are currently offering, by just slapping a garmin 4.2 inch into it..a good direction for N…

• almostthere on Jan 15, 2010 at 4:45 pm

yer laaa…macam semua orang yang akan beli proton mampu sangat nak add on for a navi system

• wah very nice ah! Nissan's is getting better in this region!

• adrianclw on Jan 15, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Great one from Nissan.

• Honda Malaysia & UMW Toyota….. what is your response…

You also need to up spec your car considering the price you charge for the car..

"Don't be complacent and ride on the badge value…. like the other makes".

• kodok on Jan 15, 2010 at 5:24 pm

gud mid size sedan..but its a turn off when u paid 120k but hasnt even got radio control button at the steering!

• azrai on Jan 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

It is tan Chong's subsidisry who make this GPS. No wonder they make it a pckage into Nissan's.

• eadgez on Jan 15, 2010 at 5:57 pm

the dashboard are so not luxury.

• lame_comment_reader, on Jan 15, 2010 at 6:06 pm

yeah right.

each and every car for each and every segment need this kind of thing.

the power window will fail and the engine will be hard to start without this kind of thing.

and to add salt to the wound, scarcely any shop is selling this kind of thing as an after-markets though. even if there are, i would not have enough money to buy it without help from loan sharks.

poor us the poor guys.

• acerman on Jan 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm

zul said,

January 15, 2010 @ 6:25 am

I think this is a way forward.. other manufacturer should follow suits especially proton which lack of flair, details and features in it car.

I agree with you. Proton should intergrate the GPS system in-dash and not just stick it to the windshield.

• Syply lack steerinf controls. Other cars like honda and toyota have it. So if they can add it.. im sure it will sell well.. Tan Chong i hope u r hearing this.

Cheers

• jolly_idiot on Jan 15, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Drop on standard la. A so high tech thingy need to stream using FM Transmitter? Y can't they just provide a AUX in to the player? I bet the sound will better crisp than streaming thru FM. Still not perfect.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:05 pm

omg…this is so like 1999….and we are only having it now?

• Wah nice built in HU. But i feel the slyphy interior too old man, outdated… Proton have to improve their interior to compete, too plasticky their parts..

• Redwings on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Bolehland like the 3rd world country…. now on bring in this integrated GPS..

This stuffs were in develop countries for long long ago…

Disappointted with Mazda3, remove the GPS and replace with lousy info display.

Thumbs up to nissan..

• nikolo98 on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:35 pm

zul said,

January 15, 2010 @ 6:25 am

I think this is a way forward.. other manufacturer should follow suits especially proton which lack of flair, details and features in it car.

—————–

Agreed. It'd be nice to have a proton with all the nice creature comfort equipment….. right now, they're quite bare……..

• Azwan on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:42 pm

Can it be fixed to grand livina?

• klaka seram on Jan 15, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Congratulation to TCM.

Proton & Perodua should offer the in-dash navi system to their customer. The technology is readily available and relatively cheap. This kind of adds on give for umpphh for their products

• Yeah,good job!

• 1.5k is really a steal but in other countries, the navi comes stock standard. this is something our industry needs to improve, increase specs and equipment trim level….but cost wise……in our industry……nuff said.

this should up the luxury factor in the sylphy. but still more people buy altis.

• Kaizen on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:43 pm

This is what we are waiting for!!

Thumbs up!!

• ANTI TOYOTA-HONDA-AN on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:27 am

u wait long long to see it appear in toyata or honda la~~

• ANTI TOYOTA-HONDA-AN on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:30 am

btw, sylphy is an ugly car, can TAN Chong bring in something more interesting??

• hazxkh on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:35 am

no nid la

mlaysia kecik

mane leh sesat

• moveJJE on Jan 16, 2010 at 4:01 am

actualy, latio and livina are designed for in-dash GPS navi systems…

• Edward on Jan 16, 2010 at 4:32 am

Nice move TCM :)

being a oring dashboard design is like the blood and tradition in most of the nissan models.

just my 2 cents, if wanna make sylphy more luxury than the other japanese counterpart.. then make it really luxury…in-dash GPS system does it job but i think they can do the extra mile by steering-mount audio control, auto-cruise, electric power seat etc… and price it competitively with the madza 3 and honda civic… (not like accord, 1 power seat increase the price by 8k)

Gambateh….

• do anything,add anything to this car with a daft name,its an old mans car,meant for cotton heads, a big yawwwwn for a century dash to 100.trust me.u wouldnt want to be caught driving one.u be lost,not in accord or camry category,nissan should have a proper replacement for their cefiro,and this lame duck nissan just didnt make the grade.drive this to a disco in bb area,the girls will ask u, where is yr mama????? hahahhaha driving mama punya kereta.

• Jimmy on Jan 16, 2010 at 7:17 am

Plus TELESCOPIC steering ya Nissan, please.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:10 am

finally tan chong does something good. next, bring in GT-R

• mmm, personally viewed it and felt it…

laggy, anyway its RM2.5k extra from the normal luxury spec… correct me if i'm wrong…

n oh ya is this available for comfort spec??

kekeke thxxx…

• Drive Safely on Jan 16, 2010 at 12:50 pm

Next road safety campaign will be " DO NOT MEDDLE WITH GPS SET WHILE DRIVING"

• Alfred Dunhill on Jan 16, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Ya. driving with one hand on steering wheel and the other hand playing the GPS touch screen.

Which driving school taught you to do that?

• nazri on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:58 pm

wah fm transmitter gps? with reverse camera? sound familiar… what add in rm1500 for 7 inch display.. hehe

• helmi on Jan 16, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Despite its fantastic handling, performance and the engine pick-up and the latest its came with gps and reverse camera, the interior is very old fashion, the meter cluster is like the 80's car, no limunious light, no audio control button on the steering wheel. The exterior design is like mid age people.

• helmi on Jan 16, 2010 at 7:47 pm

..and one more thing, no information display, which is suppose to be standard for RM120k price tag car.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:29 pm

lol next got the aunties watching drama series while driving

• rickyll on Jan 17, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Any new gadget brought in by the car assembler should be lauded. Sylphy is a nice gooding car except the boring interior. But I think, TCM should double checked the quality of their fitted parts. Yesterday, I was following a brand new Sylphy down the parking area of a shopping mall, as there was a queue, we moved slowly and applied brake constantly, the third brake light of the Sylphy didn't work, one would not have expected such a thing to happen to a top brand like Nissan. So TCM should take note. By the way, I was driving my old faithful Nissan at that time.

• This GPS is gooood for the driver because using a phone gps is difficult to find the signal

• The dashboard of the nissan sylphy is deteriotating and having plenty of bubbles. Almost all this type of car, in Mauritius (Imported from Japan)

• cybersolo on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:42 am

I wonder when the grand livina will be integrated with TCAT Multimedia Navigator?

• Thomas G on Mar 21, 2010 at 5:52 am

Is the multimedia navigator to pay for it at RM3.5K? Anyone using it and having problem with the multimedia navigator system such as slow response, hang, etc?

• i’m still considering Civic 1.8SL, Altis 1.8G and Sylphy 2.0 luxury
    dunno which one to get.

fuel consumption, definately sylphy better than civic, dunno abt altis

civic 1.8SL- sporty look, nice. have all d safety features-VSA,TRC,ABS,BA,EBD. was told ivtec engine is better. it’s said ivtec=dual vvti engine
    but a bit noisy on the road.

Altis 1.8G- CBU!!!! business look, simple and nice dashboard. have all d safety features too-VSA,TRC,ABS,BA,EBD. oni have single vvti engine. no leather seats

sylphy2.0 luxury- classy, high status look, but very apek look at the same time.
    very smooth and quiet driving. but once any problem w d absorbers or cvt gearbox, it’s going to cost a bomb. no VSA & TRC

anyone can add more comments reg these 3 cars? thanks

• Manny Kam. on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:46 am

Oh ya, to my pt. of view,, sylphy2.0 is outrank from the 1.8 category, as for civic and altis….
      preference to altis in terms fuel efficiency, long term maintenance and even on resale value. As for civic, it had de die hard fans though… why not add in the latio 1.8, it has the features which T n H does not have.

• TCAT USER on Jan 20, 2011 at 8:47 am

The GPS can’t search road in Malaysia ! Every road i search it says it can’t search it ! WHY ???

• Sylphy on Jul 04, 2012 at 5:01 pm

I wonder when the grand livina will be integrated with TCAT Multimedia Navigator?