Tommy Kaira’s “Silver Wolf” Nissan GT-R

This is the Silver Wolf, Japanese tuner Tommy Kaira’s take on the Nissan GT-R. Fans of racing game series Gran Turismo should be familiar with this Kyoto based tuner, who interestingly started out by modifying Mercedes cars! The company has since focussed on Japanese models, and its latest project is the mighty GT-R. Honestly, which tuning house can resist tinkering with the greatest performance car to come out from Japan in recent times?

Tommy Kaira shows a lot of sense by not attempting to improve on the GT-R’s twin-turbo V6 engine, instead focussing on upgrading the brakes, suspension and exhaust system. There’s also a wide body styling pack made from carbon fibre. The Silver Wolf looks decent and not too over the top, but why not call it “Black Wolf”? We’re also not sure how much “improvement” can be made on a car as good as the Nissan GT-R, and if the differences can be felt by the average car enthusiast. What do you think?

More pictures after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=776]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• this is nice!

• the front really looks like a wolf!

• eva31s on Jan 19, 2010 at 2:33 am

First !!!

this car is nice….

• saying Tak Nak to the rims… to many spokes…

• redfueler on Jan 19, 2010 at 2:35 am

WOW!

• *too

• Neo.S on Jan 19, 2010 at 2:35 am

1st !!!!!

• initial R on Jan 19, 2010 at 2:56 am

If it from Tommy Kiara, sure i will put money for this GT-R. They always think about safety first before styling & performance.

• this car not suit on Malaysia's road…looks at the bumper…too low

• taboogen on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:08 am

why we dont have such great tuner of our own… its look like oem kit… huhuhu

• shawal on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:12 am

Interior looks awesome , maybe the person in charge to get the donor car couldn't get a silver colour at the time…

Anyway ,in silver with the black/carbon trim add-on n niggles….it will look very awesome…

More importantly…lap time round the ring…

• iskett on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:17 am

Front a bit funny for me.

N the interior is half done job. Should have used custom red stripped front seats too..

But still, its a GTR!

• theanswer on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:20 am

i didnt know that gtr is actually 2+2 coupe. and the rear seat looks comfortable too!

• seat-belt on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:27 am

front bumper looks like audi…btw, where is the GT-R emblem???

• Kington on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:40 am

Looks odd though…. i'd take the standard GT-R.. without the Keyless entry.

• eposuer on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:47 am

boring sport rims!

• Alpha on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:18 am

howllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• "We’re also not sure how much “improvement” can be made on a car as good as the Nissan GT-R"

->

"We’re also not sure how much ricing can be done on a car as riced as the Nissan GT-R"

Sounds like shit, drives like an Altima off the track. NIPPON ICHI!!!1

• somesay on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:32 am

front look a bit like RX8 don't you think

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:37 am

if i were ask to choose between this monster and a buggati veyron

i will give two thumbs up for this godzilla

this is what i call a 'true GODZILLA'.

• Gajen on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:51 am

the standard gtr looks better…this one is too ah beng….

• Tomy Kaira's modding are always the best!

• I'm crying just right now….

• Neutral on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:23 am

wondering will they conduct safety test after make-up this car into gorgeous stylo …and do these component will stay rigid without noise and break after few years same as OEM components.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:23 am

fantastic modification. with taste.

• toycar on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:32 am

what a lousy tuning work with lousy body kits… might as well leave it untouched, spoil the muscular image of this car

• the bodykit is not my taste, but the interior is awesome!

• brandon on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:28 am

no matter what, Nissan GT-R never dissappoint me at all:)

• Bruce Ban on Jan 19, 2010 at 2:31 pm

damn this car is lovely, they should name it black godzilla… maybe they name it black wolf because it is agile due to modification on brakes, suspension and also aerodynamic parts? to me the most important modification to this gt-r is weight reduction… this car is even more heavy than a lamborghini murchilago…

• mak aii, hitam kat luar, merah kat dalam…

• Chris on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:56 pm

Been waiting for some proper pix from Speedhunter on this Tommy Kaira GT-R Beast.

Only one thing for me to say – "Jizz, in my pants"

• Chris on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:01 pm

For most people not in the know, Tommy Kaira is a reputable tuning house and has produced famous versions of most of the Skyline GT-R series.

These editions are rare and sought after even till today.

Most people would also remember the uber-rare car that they have produced that goes by the name of Tommy Kaira ZZ-II, which had the full drivetrain and engine from GT-R all placed in a midship chassis and coupe style body.

• winteringtourer on Jan 20, 2010 at 11:08 am

design a bit shabby looking, but im doubtless the quality is top notch. japanese performance FTW……..

• Why not call it "silver godzilla" ??

• i dont care, i want this gtr :-)