Updated Volvo V50 2.0 Powershift launched

Volvo V50

Following the introduction of the S40 2.0 Powershift last year, Volvo launched the V50 wagon with the same drivetrain this morning. The V50 2.0 Powershift is powered by a 145 bhp/185 Nm 2.0-litre engine (which is essentially the Duratec engine found in the Ford Focus) mated to a six-speed dual-clutch transmission called Powershift, also from Ford. Like the S40, this variant replaces the 2.4-litre five-pot V50 – fuel consumption is reduced by up to 11% with this new drivetrain, says Volvo.

Compared to the V50 2.4i, this new variant has a few new features, such as Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Dynamic Stability Traction Control (DSTC), bi-xenon headlights, keyless entry and a new Brilliant Blue colour. BLIS is a Volvo innovation which alerts the driver of vehicles “hiding” in his/her blind spot. A warning light inside of the side mirrors illuminate in such a case, so you know when not to change lanes.

The locally assembled V50 2.0 Powershift is priced at RM185,950 (OTR without insurance), which is RM16,000 more than the equivalent S40. The blue car you see here comes with optional extras such as roof rack, a subtle bodykit and blue dials from Volvo’s R-design catalogue – the latter looks good and works well in breaking up the monotony of an all-black cabin.

For more info on the 2.0 Powershift drivetrain, check out our previous post here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• WeeeWieee on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:18 pm

izzit this car can be called as Kereta Juga MPV????

• DOTDOT on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:25 pm

wow….i like …

but the price i dont like…

• sorry but i gotta say it…FIRST!!!

Volvo 4 Life baby…

• theanswer on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:29 pm

paul,

1 question..is the duratec engine(our ford focus and volvo s40/v50) got vvt?

• sirimusa on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Locally assembled? By whom and where?

Shouldn't the price be adjusted for a locally assembled car? 185k seems pretty steep…

• paul,

1 question..is the duratec engine(our ford focus and volvo s40/v50) got vvt?

————————————————–

depending on mkt. d one in malaysia is lame – w/out VVT

i m one of d "unlucky" owner of FF

• a de-tuned engine size !!!!

wht a wrong move here….145bhp is not good for this body

although Gomen will intro fuel subsidy on 2.0 liter & below….if 2.0 liter, subsidy will not applicable.

shd hv another option on 2.5 turbo which found in Ford Focus ST

• Jarum on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:45 pm

I was soooo close to buying the V50 2.4 three years ago but was put off with the maintenance cost of Volvo cars! Ended up with a different continental car.

• top_gunkits (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm

brand is nice car no nice

• littlefire on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:52 pm

The only car which i admire volvo for safety is the new S80…

Other than that, the XC90 also quite a good SUV also.. The problem is that the aftersales support…

• kimi_ on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:53 pm

the wagon is not popular among malaysia because it mostly used by the

funeral company!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:54 pm

sirimusa, Volvo has been assembling cars in Malaysia since the 1960s. The Swedish Motor Assemblies plant is in Shah Alam

• amouse on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:56 pm

185k is actually reasonable for a volvo.. but the parts are CRAZY!

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:08 pm

should use T5 engine in V50 and even S40 loh.

• uncle car.

• 185k for this grandpa car??? Anyway if u want to live longer, then buy it!

• theanswer on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:46 pm

a.18,

oh okayh2..been wondering abt that stuff..hehehe. nway, the duratec that given to mazda 3 got vvt. so what's so special abt the duratec since the engine got no vvt?

• sirimusa on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:13 am

I don't want to start a rant here or go off topic, but I've been trying to read as much as possible about auto-taxation in Malaysia and I still don't know how it works.

Since this Volvo is assembles in Malaysia, may someone please point out the pricing categories? (taxation percentage on such a car).

I'm lost here.

I have one more question:

I am a foreigner and will be based in Labuan for my job. Since my work permit will mention Labuan as my base an place of residence, will I be able to purchase a car there and leave it in KL? I know such things are not allowed, but since I will be considered employed under Labuan… I thought there would be exemptions..

Thanks all!

• andrew chong on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:25 am

I always wonder why Vovlvo malaysia dont assemble ans sell Vovlo S60 ?

i only see S40 and S80.

Can anyone comment ? thank you

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:47 am

andrew chong, the S60s you see on the road are locally assembled. It has just been replaced by a new model, which will go on sale in Europe later this year. Here's the link!

http://paultan.org/2009/11/10/first-official-imag…

• a.18,

oh okayh2..been wondering abt that stuff..hehehe. nway, the duratec that given to mazda 3 got vvt. so what’s so special abt the duratec since the engine got no vvt?

——————————————-

duratec is d new engine develop for FF especially d ST or RS model.

d engine is able to produce higher torque at low rpm….but if wth VVT, fuel consumption will b great.

• still in love with the V 850 T5R……

• Thomas on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:37 am

Worth it.. Cheap Cheap.

• xatomic on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:37 am

better to get mondeo for this price

• klaka seram on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:43 am

Volvo parts & maintenanace costs will kill U

• blackbox on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:56 am

From the excellent T5 to 2.4 to 2.0 the V50 are from bad to worse. 145 bhp/185 Nm is extremely under power for this car. Nice car mated with wrong engine.

• staff on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:30 am

are the button at the dashbord can be use to make phone cals?

Hoho..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:38 am

why no more T5 T.T

• shawal on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:19 am

For a european marque , thats really2 good value… dual clutch transmission!

and its a volvo, it'll go on and on for life…, better get v50 over s40, more practical and can keep for a very2 long time

• Slayer on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:23 am

Wow..Only can buy the roof rack! :-)

• V70T5 on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:26 am

still prefer the T5! heheee

• andrew chong on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:00 am

is local volvo sales office selling S60 ? i look at the star newsppaper every sunday and it only published selling price for S40 and S80 only.

• toycar on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:24 am

hmmm… now they have a better looking tail lamp…another cheaper but quite safe car to consider, if cannot afford a4 avant.

• whatever on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:38 am

HAHA interior look almost the same as focus…geez…..price tag?

• sutheshkumar on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:12 am

andrew chong said,

January 28, 2010 @ 8:00 pm

is local volvo sales office selling S60 ? i look at the star newsppaper every sunday and it only published selling price for S40 and S80 only.

-nope, they are not selling it anymore. in fact with the introduction of this 2.0 version of V50, they even pull out the T5 version.

check it on volvo's main website.

• Putra on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:49 am

RM185k for a Chinese car?

• V50 T5 Heico Sportiv on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:16 am

Went to the event today, was impressed with the colour and the interior. A slight improvement in terms of aesthetic value. However, I'd still stick with my V50 T5. At 220bhp and 320Nm, it can never go wrong! A bit disappointed with the downgrading of the engine capacity though. True, the auto parts price WILL "kill" you, but with all the safety features and the performance that it packs, Volvo is actually quite a great brand.

Just my two cents.

• shawal on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:36 am

@whatever said,

January 28, 2010 @ 8:38 pm

HAHA interior look almost the same as focus…geez…..price tag?

—————————————————————

Mmm…noo.., interior doesnt look like a focus…

• keluangman on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:35 am

This car couple with 2.0 engine = seriously underpowered car. Back to the old days huh Volvo?

For RM185k there's plenty of other better cars to consider, but of course if safety is your No.1 priority and resale value is last, this is definitely the brand for you.

• No more T5 ?

• scirocco lover on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:57 pm

i think for a euro marque car.. 169K for the S40 and 185K for the V50 is not to bad.. seeing that it is suppose to be a rival to the Alfa 159 (i think so), BMW 3 series and Merc C Class. I think the price is true blue value for money

• apexg2 on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:12 pm

erm, looks like Saga's big brother…haha

• MADBOY on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Putra said,

January 28, 2010 @ 11:49 pm

RM185k for a Chinese car?

———————————-

??????????????????????

• almostthere on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:01 pm

He's referring to the impending sale of Volvo AB from Ford Motor Company to Geely china

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:03 pm

replace 2.4 engine just to get BLIS,bi-xenon etc and dualclutch. for me it still expensive because it price remain the same as 2.4 before…

• 2.0 petrol is very underpower….volvo, u need to plonk in yr 2.0 tdi for this car for sufficient power & torque

• fomervolvoowner on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:40 pm

hehehe, wait till Volvo Malaysia start slashing prices when they want to clear off any current model to make way for new replacement models. You cannot sell your Volvo then cos your Volvo has 0 value then

• I-HATE-PROTON-SOHAI on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:42 am

where is the Turbo version??

the most gorgeous volvo is XC60 !!

• _xXx_ on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:11 pm

here comes another King of depreciation

• budlee on Jan 31, 2010 at 10:14 pm

i think everyone here forgets that its a 2.0 with a dual clutch transmission..

just like volkwagon DSG gear, the PDK in porche, the dual clutch in mistubishi and other dual clutch system out there

yes, the CC and power is down, but there is notauto gear with a torque converter to rob the power and slow the car down..

any manual user would tell you that a traditional autogearbox car is slow witted to change gears..

• budlee on Jan 31, 2010 at 10:15 pm

dont forget lower road tax..

servicing are expensive since you only service it once a year..

• VOLVOlady on Feb 21, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Andrew Chong–Yes the VOLVO Sales FEDERAL AUTO CARS SDN BHD has had offered Volvo S60. However, they would like the buyer to have long term use of the previous S60 currently on the road..the new and latest VOLVO S60 already out in Europe International motorshow recently this year.You may view at http://volvocars.com.my for latest S60 model..However,it may arrive later in Msian market due to kastam processing and so on..you may call their dealership Federal Auto Glenmarie or KL for further enquries..the sales rep are friendly and easy to get appointment for services compared to other showrooms.

Putra–I wld like to correct your statement..yes Volvo China and Chinese investors..it does not make any differents for the production line in Msia..quality contorl still by VOLVO SWEEDEN..

one question for you..JAGUAR still at its prestige although the Indian company TATA has took over, rite? do you know…

VOLVO.FOR LIFE