Malaysian Volvo S40 updated with 2.0 liter engine and Powershift twin clutch transmission!

Volvo S40 2.0 Powershift Malaysia

Volvo has updated the specifications for the Volvo S40 here in Malaysia. The 2.4 litre engine has been replaced by a 2.0 litre unit which is essentially the Duratec unit found in the Ford Focus and the Mazda 3 here in Malaysia. It makes 145 PS at 6,000rpm and 185Nm of torque at 4,500rpm.

But what’s most interesting is the fact that the engine is now mated to a Ford Powershift transmission, which is basically a 6-speed twin clutch transmission. This makes it the first locally assembled (CKD) twin clutch car in the country. Powershift is a development of Getrag Ford Transmissions GmbH, a 50:50 Ford and Getrag JV.

Like VW’s DSG, there are two versions of the Powershift transmission out there – one with wet clutches and another with dry clutches. The unit installed in the S40 is the wet clutch version. Generally dry clutch versions like Volkswagen’s 7-speed DSG (the 6-speed used a wet clutch) are more efficient and lighter because an oil bath is not necessary, Ford/Volvo says wet versions have reduced wear and tear and thus last longer. Ford will use its dry clutch version on smaller cars like the Fiesta.

Ford Powershift

A twin-clutch transmission basically means the gearbox works like a manual transmission but it has two clutches, one for the odd gears and one for the even gears. While the odd clutch is in 3rd gear and is currently the active gear selected, the even clutch pre-selects 4th gear, so that when the time comes to shift, the switchover is much faster and smoother – an almost continuous flow of power.

0 to 100km/h with manual transmission takes about 9.5 seconds in a 2.0 litre Volvo S40 which is really quite far from blazing. The Powershift model is rated at 9.8 seconds, just fractions of a second slower than a true blue manual. As for fuel consumption, the car is rated for 11.3 litre per 100km in the city, 6.4 litres per 100km on the highway, and 8.1 litres per 100km on combined usage.

Other than the engine change, this new S40 specification also adds dual xenon headlamps and the Blind-Spot Info System that notifies the driver (with a blinking light) of objects in the car’s blindspot zone, which personally I feel is a little too sensitive.

The new Volvo S40 2.0 Powershift retails for RM169,950.00 OTR without insurance, which just happens to be the exact same figure as the 2.4 litre model. But what you’re paying for the Powershift is actually just slightly more than the 2.4 by a couple of hundreds of ringgit. This is because the OTR without insurance price includes road tax, and the 2.0 model naturally has cheaper road tax at RM379.50 as opposed to the 2.4 litre model’s RM815.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• flopsy on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:27 am

good for road tax BUT still feel no power

• Ariff on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:33 am

Volvo always made great car with smooth engine and top of the class safety.But depriciation of 2nd hand value made it hard for Volvo to "live" in Malaysia.I finds Volvo very nice.Especially XC60.Why is the depriciation value of Volvo is so terrible??Anybody care to tell me??

• SCion on Apr 19, 2024 at 4:56 pm

1. Being unreliable
      2. Expensive spare parts
      3. Having problems after you send to 3 or 4 mechanics also cannot pinpoint what is wrong…

• Compared to the German, I feel that their brand presence is not that strong

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:43 am

i want T5 not 2.0

• FAReast on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:46 am

Volvo safety features is the best but their design is not outstanding as others

• FAReast on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:50 am

Ariff said,

October 15, 2009 @ 9:33 pm

Volvo always made great car with smooth engine and top of the class safety.But depriciation of 2nd hand value made it hard for Volvo to “live” in Malaysia.I finds Volvo very nice.Especially XC60.Why is the depriciation value of Volvo is so terrible??Anybody care to tell me??

—————————————————————

not in demand i guess…

• despite all, i feel this is better buy that camry. too common.

depreciation is only an issue if you intend to sell withnin the next 5 years or so.

and depreciation because its a "cold" brand, compared to japs.

• car fever on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:14 am

Still prefer volvo 2.4

I think this move is nothing more than a cost cutting strategy

• lowprofile on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:52 am

good to price it lower with lower cc. the mental issue was the psychological mountain that the 2.4 was.

• Going Backwards on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:53 am

Hahaha…Volvo going backwards….wonder who would buy this crap.

• Littlefire on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:58 am

I think they should keep the 2.4L engine… As at the price list, i can get honda accord, camry 2.4L…

If the 2.0L engine is a low pressure turbo engine, i might snatch it with the DSG gearbox…

• volvo cut cost but make more money from 2.4 to 2.0 dont even reduce the price, is too much even for a very safe car but dull interior

• i think so Volvo 2nd hand price will go up. Cos lately their cars r darn freaking good looking. Dono about de driving experience, but de looks sure kills.

• CocoBear on Oct 16, 2009 at 7:28 am

Volvo is for gentlemen who enjoy simplistic design. Even the cheapest S40 will overkill a Camry in the terms of safety and technology.

Volvo for live :)

• that would be Volvo for life

• ilmondo on Oct 16, 2009 at 8:59 am

good move but i think many of us will miss the 5 cylinders. nice car!

• volvoasskisser on Oct 16, 2009 at 9:26 am

volvo is as good as words.

nothing more.

it costs a local car to fix the gearbox.

• Power VS Tech & safety.

Who would win i wonder.

Lol i cracked a joke.

Not-in-demand selling point for the fail.

• i want another car.. on Oct 16, 2009 at 3:43 pm

they're phasing out the s40 last time i heard. this is probably stock clearance?

• mitlanevo on Oct 16, 2009 at 3:56 pm

alamak!!! why downgrade engine but upgrade transmission?

but anyway, S40 is really a GOOD car :-)

• MADBOY on Oct 16, 2009 at 4:24 pm

S40 is not a big car. So the complain is "why 2.4 engine for such a small car?'. This 2.0 engine is more acceptable, but I was expecting the price to go down. The tranmission just kill what ever saving from downsizing the engine. Do the people who buy Volvo really looking for twin clutch gear box? Why not a 6 speed auto? Perhao Volvo want to place their car a premium over the Japanese model like Civic, Lancer etc.

• mr_3m on Oct 16, 2009 at 4:34 pm

when i saw Paul's headline on the 2.0 liter S40 launched, 2 things were in my mind immediately:

i) either the price is lowered by couple of thousand to boost sales and make Volvo S40 more affordable and entry level; or

ii) the 2.0 liter is a low pressure turbo (LPT) version (historically Volvo and turbo engine is almost synonymous… look at their T5 legacy)

only then i got to realise, it is more about business and profit decisions rather than offering something different with quality to the people as the price remain the same (or slightly higher) and the engine is the same one in the Ford Focus which is far far cheaper at RM112k and also with better handling & ride on top of that…

• twentyseven on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:20 pm

Had a S40 2.4L. Had so much problems, both mechanical and electrical, with the car. Luckily was still under warrant. Sold off after 3 years, could not take the stress and fear of the car breaking down without notice. Depreciated 60 % of the original retail price!!!!!

• scirocco on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:26 pm

in this challenging economic climate, volvo chooses to do such a consumer unfriendly decision. wonder what their strategy is? to be able to sell so few cars that they can propose exiting the the malaysian market???

as it is, they are not exactly best sellers, and this would only make their cars even rarer in the future.

• twentyseven on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Look at their track record, Volvo never has the customer in mind. They started selling the S40 at RM190 +, then it went down to RM180+ (due to the changes in tax), and then it went down to RM169 +. Existing owners will literally see their car depreciate right before their eyes. And judging from their track record, this is the final push to clear their S40s, before the big SALE for the car begins.

• GermanCarLover on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:35 pm

volvo s40 is for those who afford to buy camry/accord/mazda 6 but want for continental rides. and its quite reasonable compared to alfa/skoda/french cars. -from my point of view

• MADBOY on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:06 pm

I dont think S40 compete with Accord/Camry. It is in different class. The previous S40 share the platform with Waja and the current version share the same platform with Madza 6 & Ford Focus. So, it is basicly compete with Mazda 6, Focus, Civic & Altis.

So, does the high price justifiable? Yes, it offer a lot more goodies than the competitor, but will the target market buy it?

• Kanghui on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:31 pm

My friend used to hava an S60, driven for a few years, no complaint, really powerful, good NVH, very comfortable, maintenance cost was not as high as he expected (compared to Bimmer & Merc). He was pretty happy with that car. But he was killed by this car's 2nd hand value! All car dealers he approached, none gave him a price on par with Bimmer & Merc.

I noticed the Volvo Showroom + Service Center at PJ Jalan 222 had been shutdown (looks like it). Does Volvo have financial problem?

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:56 pm

why not T5 with powershift twin clutch????? this should be more performance…

or why not D5 with powershift twin clutch??? this should be more economic to drive

• old man on Oct 16, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Sometimes i wonder what is in the sales mgrs or decision maker's mind. S40 2.0L with that price to put in the market. I wonder if they can sell 1 unit to normal person (not corporate spending).

That price you are competing against Camry2.4, Accord 2.4. The 2 Japanese car makers selling 2.0L will be very happy that this launch since it definitely making the customer has less choice in 2.0L sector. Even a 407 2.0L has a better competitive price.

It should be priced against the Civic/Altis @ RM100K-120K, then it would be success without a doubt.

• MADBOY said,

October 16, 2009 @ 10:06 am

I dont think S40 compete with Accord/Camry. It is in different class. The previous S40 share the platform with Waja and the current version share the same platform with Madza 6 & Ford Focus. So, it is basicly compete with Mazda 6, Focus, Civic & Altis.

So, does the high price justifiable? Yes, it offer a lot more goodies than the competitor, but will the target market buy it?

——————————————–

S40 share same platform with Mazda 3. Duratec engine is build by Mazda

• alamak on Oct 16, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Why is volvo powershift twin clutch 0-100km/h performance is slower than manual shifting?

Isn't twin clutch is about faster shifting and reduce loss of power? eg: VW equipped with DSG shift faster than manual…

• Someone please sack the product planning guys at Volvo Car Malaysia. Powershift is good but quite pointless when matched to the 2.0 NA engine found in the Focus and the 3.

If it was retailed at RM140k, then it would have made some sense.

• stockholm on Oct 16, 2009 at 7:52 pm

kanghui

Volvo opened their brand new 3S centre @ Glenmarie

& pls don't make baseless statements.

• mr_3m on Oct 16, 2009 at 8:05 pm

If people can snub the batch and sacrifice a little bit in terms of interior quality & some features, get the Ford Focus instead, saves you RM40k-50k…. you'll certainly get better value for money… better ride & handling than the S40 too… just don't expect too much of a premium feel/quality for what you pay for the Ford…

• White Jack on Oct 16, 2009 at 8:14 pm

What ? Engine smaller, but price still the same ?? WTF !!

• mr_3m on Oct 16, 2009 at 8:19 pm

oh, btw….

i'd be the first to get the Ford Focus 2.0S (Hatchback) if & when they offer it with the Powershift dual-clutch gearbox….. especially if Auto Connexion can sell it around RM120-125k range…. that will be better than getting a Golf GTi at RM210k…. i know the Golf is more powerful (200+hp) with better badge kudos, but then again how fast can you go on Malaysian or public roads anyway… the Focus should be as good to drive if not better… some more, just enjoy the fun of driving (not speeding)…

imagine a Focus 2.0S with 6-speed Powershift….. hmmmm *droolling*

any Sime Auto Connexion people here? Are you guys/gals listening?

Get rid of the 4-speed auto on the hatchback ppllllllzzzzzzzzzz…

it's sucking all 145hp from whatever the 2.0 Duratec can produce hence the Focus (especially the 2.0S) is not capable to show or appeal to its sportier target market laaa…. since you guy cannot offer the Focus ST (or RS!!!) (2.4 turbo) since it will be too pricey to sell in M'sia, then give us your second best choice sooner rather than later….

• I wonder does it still handles like a cruise ship

• Kanghui on Oct 16, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Sorry Stockholm, it was just a question and I didn't know that they already opened a 3S center at Glenmarie. Was the new S40 2.0l launched there?

• MADBOY on Oct 16, 2009 at 10:56 pm

davv said,

October 16, 2009 @ 11:13 am

MADBOY said,

October 16, 2009 @ 10:06 am

——————————————–

S40 share same platform with Mazda 3. Duratec engine is build by Mazda

————————-

Thanks. the mind said 3, but the hand typed 6

• Anonymous on Oct 16, 2009 at 11:10 pm

From time to time it shows how volvo transformed from a 'military tank' to elegant driving machine.

Good old cubic volvo design. Owh, with 6 inches rubber bumper!

• BeemerFreak on Oct 16, 2009 at 11:44 pm

We should be happy that they kept the price for the 2.0 S40. when it was launched in singapore 5 months ago, volvo singapore increased its price by sgd 6000. Thats rm 14000 to u and me. Actually i was surprised that they kept the price the same.

Anyway merc and bmw malaysia should learn this tactic and send us a car competing with the s40. In singapore there is a c180 with a 1.6L engine and a 318i with a downgraded 2.0L engine that is priced simmilar to the s40 there.

• MADBOY on Oct 17, 2009 at 12:22 am

alamak said,

October 16, 2009 @ 11:18 am

Why is volvo powershift twin clutch 0-100km/h performance is slower than manual shifting?

Isn’t twin clutch is about faster shifting and reduce loss of power? eg: VW equipped with DSG shift faster than manual…

——————————————–

The gear is more for fual saving than performance in this case.

Anyway, mere mortal like us will never be able to get the manual 0-100 figure. The got the figure by using pro driver.

However, it is easy for us to get the twin cluch 0-100 figure as it is basicly auto. Just press your foot and ..well that it. Most likely you will get or at least near the 0-100 figure stated.

• Squawk on Oct 17, 2009 at 12:43 am

Buy a "Ford" but pay for a "Volvo". LOL!

On the bright side, you'll never have to worry about being carjacked.

• Does this mean the current gen 2.0 liter Petrol Focus could also get a Powershift transmission?

Currently Ford only offers the Powershift transmission on 2.0 liter "diesel" TDCi models.

• lchan on Oct 17, 2009 at 7:06 am

170k is expensive for 2.0L regardless if its 6 speed auto. The cost for the new transmission neglieable compared to that rubbish duratec engine. How can the price of a new transmission be the same as downgrading to a 2.0L engine.

• Squawk on Oct 17, 2009 at 7:10 am

In UK they have 1.6 S40. But diesel.

• hauliancar on Oct 17, 2009 at 8:01 am

actually volvo cars are not bad… but some how i wont give it further thought until they fix the tail lamp design, rear seats head room, anyway i heard the FC is quite good and safety is no question! (most doctors drive volvo)

• Babelon on Oct 17, 2009 at 10:14 am

old showroom in Jalan 222 already moved to Glenmarie…it proves that Volvo is growing strong in Malaysia.

Volvo Malaysia also pay fewer attention to individual customer…but they are targeting those MNCs (serve as company car)…. If you guys don't believe, go to these companies car park and you will find many Volvo cars are parking there!

• lchan on Oct 17, 2009 at 9:45 pm

yea…way to go…11% reduction in fuel consumption with a 6 speed but also a 15% reduction in engine power. Thats not efficient.

• fretsurfer on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:51 am

@ Davv

"S40 share same platform with Mazda 3. Duratec engine is build by Mazda"

The Duratec is built by Ford. Difference is, Mazda has variable Valve intake while the Focus does not – for 2.0.

The S40 and Mazda 3 shares the same Focus platform. They built Focus first and then move the platform to be used by Mazda and Volvo.

I love everything about my Ford Focus except the transmission… sigh…

• tokmoh on Oct 19, 2009 at 2:02 am

Ichan : the heck u talking about not efficient? U just said it's more economical, it's only natural something has to give in, which is power. Last time, Honda City i-dsi has very low power rating, but nobody complains about that, people only keep praising its good f/c.

• tokmoh on Oct 19, 2009 at 2:16 am

hauliancar : Funny that when it comes to bashing proton, safety or the lack of it, is always a favourite point. Then Msians will lament how they're denied the rights for a safe car in order to protect proton, and becuz of that, it's the end of the world… or is it?

It doesn't seem to be the case for me, cuz if Msians really, really prioritise safety over all else, Volvo would've been the best-seller. What's even funnier, Msians can even complain about design. Wow, so msians shouldn't invest in their safety, simply because Volvo made their rear lights look so ugly? hmm……

• theanswer on Oct 19, 2009 at 5:12 am

for that price no dual zone air cond?

• Annoy-namos on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:43 pm

Good one Tokmoh! I totally agree with you. Some of us gives really wierd comments… maybe just for the sake of giving em.

why no T5? only small market wants em.. no point bringin them in.

why 2.0… suits our tax scheme.

design not good? these people must be still living in the 240 n 740s era. or that they are the types who dont like Ikea designs because they look different.

I often see car owners placing reflector stickers on at the corners of their rear lamps to imitate the volvo rear light design. I bet, if a merc comes out with a similar design people will say its cool.

However I agree that the Volvo service here is not so good in particular Fed Auto. Really-really expensive spareparts and repairs… forget the gearbox, a driveshaft can get you a bike. If Volvo wants to succeed, theyd have to bring down there ego and lower the sparepart prices. It is the major factor why people are scared to go Volvo, and for the lhigh depereciation rate…

• HeicoSportiv on Oct 31, 2009 at 9:53 am

who said there is no dual zone aircond in the new s40 2.0? read carefully bro!!!

• HeicoSportiv on Oct 31, 2009 at 10:01 am

1.BLIS (blindspot information system)

2. Keyless entry

3. DSTC (dynamic stability & traction control)

4. Dual xenon light

5. 6 speed trnsmission

we are so lucky that volvo doesnt increase the price with these extra features!!!

• Opahkau on Oct 31, 2009 at 8:41 pm

orang yang bercakap tu takde duit….opah aku pun tak bising beli!!!!

• Shrek_ on Oct 31, 2009 at 8:58 pm

I went to glenmarie showroom…talk to sales person and test drive the s40 powershift 2.0….and after test drive i feel the power is better and suitable for 2.0 engine….to thumps up….i suggest to all of you go to test drive and feel the car before you talk cock…..and the 3S showroom got a nice environment and i have a very good experience with the sales person….

* where u can get standard features at the volvo cars plus these five features at the price RM169,950.00? open your mind, open your eyes…dont talk rubbish…use your brain….

• Grammar on Nov 07, 2009 at 11:06 pm

two thumps up?

• It will be better if those Volvo guys would just market the S40 T5 instead! For the price of 170k with the underpower car- I rather get the S80 T6!!

• HeicoSportiv on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:16 am

where got s80 T6 in malaysia???

• Alvin on Dec 09, 2009 at 2:31 am

I just bought S40 2.0 recently and i am very satisfied with the car. This 2.0 engine is good enough to carry the body. the sound system is superb, the handling, comfort, safety…excellent is the best word to describe this car…

• lanjelang on May 09, 2010 at 7:28 pm

hai alvin…I am planning to buy it soon. Please share with me your experience. thanks.

• mingswanfoo on Apr 10, 2011 at 9:19 am

How was it? Alvin & lanjelang?

Service? Maintenance? Actual Fuel Consumption? So far any major repairs? Gearbox causing any fault (heard it cost a local car)?

Should buy New or Used? Saw a used one 2010 going for RM110K… or should just get a New one with full 3 years warranty?

• S40_2010 on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Bought the s40 powershift Nov 2010…
          Yes smooth engine, gearbox and power is more enough for 2L of 1350kg.
          So far so good no issue with the car..

Just some improvement did was changing the stock rim 6.5×16 into volvo’s 7.5×17 (225/45/17 tires) and the handling is superb..

Also anything happen during trip (100km from stand point), volvo will provide u and each pax of a room RM250each with a max of 2 nite(s)…
          Was awesome then any other brand; except VW is now doing the same (becoz I also have the 2010 VW GTI)…

• ARMAN HAQIEM on Dec 18, 2009 at 5:38 am

Was kinda unhappy with the recent downshift from 2.4 to 2.0 engine. Wonder what was the real thing Volvo company have behind it. Is it due to slight change of Volvo philosophy after GEELY China took over? I am sure volvomaniacs which are mostly speed demons (BUT with safety in mind) are so used to the Turbo in 850, S40 2.0T, T5 and T6 will be very frustrated.

• Ooi Siew Cheng on Feb 19, 2010 at 2:13 am

Dear Sir/Mdm,

My name is Ooi Siew Cheng and i bought a chili-red colored S40, 2.4i (2007 model) , registered for the road 24 March, 2009 from Swedish Marque,

Kuala Lumpur. My salesman was Mr. Chang, service advisor Mr. Amarjit Singh, Service manager, Mr. Chow.

My car registration number is WSK 4175, serviced 1st time, 16 Nov.2009, as

car was approaching 15,000km.

On 9 Feb.,2009, i drove over a speed bump as usual near my home, Taman Mayang, Petaling Jaya (post code 47301) at 20km/h and the front right undercarriage was superficially scratched as found by the technicians at Swedish Marque the folowing afternoon (10 Feb.,2009). The air conditioning

was not cool at all was the reason why i ask my husband to send it for checks

and service.

According to the service advisor, it was found the air-cond. compressor had

'hair-line crack' which supposedly resulted in its malfunction. Even my brand

new S40 having a 3-year warranty, was refused a warranty replacement of the compressor.

Can you please enlighten us, (including my nephew's wife, owner of Volvo

XC 90, 2.5Turbo AWD – Hong Oi Lan, who recommended us Swedish Marque) why and how a speed bump at only 20km/h cause a malfunctioned

air-cond.compressor due a 'hair-line crack' ???

In any case, with Nothing other than superficial scratches on the undercarriage below the compressor causing malfunction warrants a replacement ???

In honesty and integrity, we say, definitely, YES !

Please respond, otherwise , we have no choice but to bring this technicality

of warranty replacement up to your Volvo corporate or if not the Consumers'

Association.

A Very Disappointed Volvo Car Owner,

Ooi Siew Cheng (I.C 611213-02-5088)

• Ooi Siew Cheng on Feb 19, 2010 at 2:22 am

Ooi Siew Cheng's S40, WSK 4175 aircond compressor warrranty replacement

issue. Corrections on dates of incident 9 Feb 2010 Not 2009, 10 Feb.2010,

Not 2009.

• VOLVOlady on Feb 21, 2010 at 9:20 pm

TOKMOH, i really respect you…bijak berkata-kata..unlike some people really dont think before they talk..and please sometimes put their shoes in the other party too (VCM / FA / SM).

Some do not know how to appreciate the product againts the price that was offered…

Please evaluate the circumstances and also do market research on car industry first ya..before we put in writing..

Btw, the VOLVO S40 2.0 6powershift is not bad after all. I've test drove and for the price it's really worth the product..keyless entry and blindspot system which you wont get both features in any other continentals of its price range…

VOLVO.FOR LIFE…

• paganfarmer on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:44 am

Test-drove it at glenmarie. Nice looks, nice handling but severely underpowered i felt. Moved on the the audi showroom nearby and tested the A4 1.8T. I’d have to say the A4 at 1.8L felt much more powerful.

• marco on Oct 04, 2011 at 8:50 pm

This is the best car in it class…value for money & I feel confident and safe in this car…volvo. For life. Go for it…..

• Shairi on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:30 am

I just sold Audi A4 1.8T last month and I went to Volvo Glenmarie to test drive S40 2.0 last week. Comments: –

1. As I’ve been driving 1.8T before, 2.0 NA really no power. (Bad)
    2. Look & style. Really good. (Good)
    3. I pay deposit of RM5000 and just relised that I can only service my car at Federal Auto. I went to Jln Sg Besi few week back as my office is nearby. I just wonder why can’t I service the car there since both are selling Volvo and brand new. (Bad)
    4. Price. I went to few car show rooms before settle down with Volvo. You can name it, Audi, VW, Citroen, Renault, Honda, Toyota etc… After all these places.. I found that VOLVO have good package to offer. No double standard. i drive in with my wife MYVI. All other show room just ignore us accept AUDI as Iam regular there. Worse HONDA, I ask them for brochure, they said finish… WTF… (Good)
    5. Volvo service is every 20,000KM and the offer 3 free service with 01 set Garmin Nuvi and total cost more that RM5000 (Good)
    6. I ask Volvo Salesman about upgrading ICE & bodykits, he said sorry not available here in Malaysia. Only standard or Volvo basic package upgrade. Sorry Mr. Volvo. Please train your staff to sell quality product. Good Car have to come with Good Sales Person (bad)
    7. Price = Resale value. TO ALL MORRON out there… We buy car to drive it and enjoy it not to sell it. If before buying already consider to sell it… Pls take bus or train.. better and no commitment.

Last, my S40 will be delivered to me in 1 week. Hope to enjoy my drive after working so hard to earn a living.

To Volvo Management, please get more club or international aftermarket body kits and ICE for recomendation…

PEACE…. !!!! 1 MALAYSIA

• paganfarmer on Oct 04, 2010 at 6:01 pm

i’d have to say..the more i look at this volvo, the more i think the car looks superb. mm mmm.. i might just want to overlook the underpowered engine and tight legroom, and go for it.. 5 year free service can ah?

• Norman yau on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:09 pm

Has been driving this car for past 10mths and just had Lube service ( 10k mileage)
        Not as powerful as my previous 850 but this s40 consumes much less fuel. Power in line with 2.0L car. Good power with manual shift uphill.
        It is my third volvo actually. Will likely to own another if need arise. Like it for its safety philosophy. Not a car to compare with japanese model in terms of so-called resale value or price. For the price tag, well it is whether we think this car is worth that much or otherwise. If one thinks it is not worth that much ,move on to other model . I guess you need to be able to appreciate volvo in order to buy it.

• Focused on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:38 am

bro Shairi how is the car? im planning to get one too, can fill me in on the details of your purchase? package offered?

• Mr. Din on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:40 pm

It starts from their history of bad fuel consumption, big bulky design and expensive. People still think about these fairy tale craps even Volvo’s latest model like above are more fuel efficient than most of the Japs car e.g Toyota, Honda etc.

Then it contribute to the avoidance of consumer to own this brand due to the history that they heard from ears to ears. It then lead to the less of drivers to own this brand. Parts manufacturer didn’t wanna take any risk to produce OEM parts for this brand ‘coz it just a minority tribe on the Malaysian road. So owners just fully rely on their trusted ‘kedai potong’ or the licensed service center which only sell ORI parts. ORI means sturdy and absolutely expensive, I bet you already knew it. . Only the brand itself can change these situation. For example: superb design, fuel efficient, cheap (just happen), a lot of licensed OEM parts and safety matters. It’s just my humble opinion. Cheers!

• marco on Oct 04, 2011 at 8:57 pm

This is the best car in it class….no. 1 in safety and value for money…..do u think it’s worth it buying a beemer 320 at rm240k for just 11hp difference….think again bro….