Plush new Citroën seats for the Gunners!

At times, it’s good to lighten up a little, take our mind off government policies, impending fuel price hikes and overpriced cars, that’s why we’re sharing this with you. Citroën has been the “official car” for Arsenal Football Club since 2008, and the French car company recently placed new luxury pitch-side seats at the North London club’s Emirates Stadium.

I always wondered why footballers would want to watch their teammates in tight Recaros, but these red Citroën seats with the Arsenal crest actually look really plush – I wouldn’t mind them in my living room (by now you must have guessed which team I support). Designed by Loughborough UK based Auto-kit International, the 40 seats are wrapped with top-quality leather. Gunners boss Arsène Wenger said: “We are delighted with the new Citroën dugout seats, which are a real improvement and very much in keeping with the overall stadium design.”

Seen here are Thomas Vermaelen, Manuel Almunia, Craig Eastmond and Eduardo. Perhaps they should spend less time on PSPs and train harder for this Sunday’s must-win match against Chelsea! A closer look at the new chairs after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrinho on Feb 05, 2010 at 9:50 am

hope after the players sit on new seat, it will inspire the gunners to bring back the trophy to emirates.go gunners!!!

• jacktheleatherface on Feb 05, 2010 at 9:51 am

no way im gonna buy citroen now :P

• drgn86 on Feb 05, 2010 at 9:52 am

they really do look comfy, well, come on you gunners, rise to the occasion!

• Jarum on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:26 am

Cool! Man United has Audi, so why not for Arsenal to get Citroen? You can see how the French generous only to each other. Thanks to Arsene Wenger's connections.

• trinity on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:50 am

I prefer the "audi" seats (by now you must have guessed which team I support)…hehe…oh yeah and pls do win this sunday! =D

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:56 am

now those are some wicked seats =)

• bashbash on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:01 am

another info..

all the seats in the stadium was made in malaysia..

courtesy of khairy jamaluddin..

• shawal on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:45 am

citroen…ceh ceh ceh…. Man U gets Audi recaro's…..

Glory glory Man United~!

• asgard on Feb 05, 2010 at 12:16 pm

man utd gonna win no matter how nice is the seat

• yeah Paul , agreed wuth u , they should train more on foot not fingers.. :)

Go Gunners !!

• paohyean on Feb 05, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Sweet…

Danny here is also a Gooner here just like me…

Hehe…

Sure hope they win against Chelsea this weekend though…

First by the way…

=D

• blabla on Feb 05, 2010 at 3:47 pm

up gooners!! we can beat 'em blues. hahaha. my fav team too. since i was just a little boy. hahaha. though mannone should start ahead of almunia this weekend unless if wenger give almunia the hairdryer treatment before the match, he might do us proud. haha

• the stik on Feb 05, 2010 at 3:57 pm

oooo so u r a gunners? heheehehe..

last week must be hard for u eh? he he he

• Stoner on Feb 05, 2010 at 3:59 pm

I want one in my living room

• theanswer on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:12 pm

muke kusyuk btol eduardo..hehehe.

• Spunky on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Dear PAUL,

In case you do not know, The Emirates and SONY of Europe is giving PSPs owners a very unique feature when you are in the Emirates watching the game. Using the PSP, one could access a special network that allows you to view replay, stats, etc during the match. A very cool idea indeed. SONY plans to bring the feature to other stadiums in due time, but Arsenal will be the first.

• Spunky on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:24 pm

This was just recently announced !

there you go

http://kotaku.com/5462584/sony-turns-psp-into-ins…

• toy-auta on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:42 pm

budak2 mentah can't defeat org tua heheh

• Georgie on Feb 05, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Put down your PSP gunners! No wonder you guys lose against Man. U! haha :)

Glory glory man united!

• Go on you Gunners!!!

Glory Glory Man United! HAHA

• redwings on Feb 05, 2010 at 6:58 pm

How can i purchase this seat? Can we get it at Citroen showroom..? if not maybe can get a furniture shop to replica it. Nice to put in livinghall and your favourite team play..

• Squawk on Feb 05, 2010 at 7:08 pm

I dunno about these Recaros but Citroen's car seats are pretty comfortable.

• hehe, gunners ar going down baby!

i m gonna get killed for this!

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 05, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Oh, you're a Gunner fan too? Cool! Arsenal fan here as well!

• wuttaheck on Feb 05, 2010 at 7:59 pm

trinity said,

February 5, 2010 @ 2:50 am

I prefer the “audi” seats (by now you must have guessed which team I support)…hehe…oh yeah and pls do win this sunday! =D

—–

well i hope for a draw (by now you must have guessed which team I support)

huhu!

• willpower on Feb 05, 2010 at 8:08 pm

last week, Audi won over Citroen 3-1 at Highbury showdown.

Perhaps Chelski can added Fiat or Alfo Romeo (coz Carlo Anchelotti is Italian)

Not forgetting Proton to add bucket seat to Norwich City.

• mitlanevo on Feb 05, 2010 at 9:46 pm

show off………

• Ceh ceh Citroen old school only for Arsenal, Manutd get Audi Recaro stylo… Nvm la Arsenal trophieless again this season, let them have their luxury 'plush' leather seats!

• harok on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:07 am

keep on playing psp. No wonder lose to man utd la….

main lagi main lagi… kena trash by chelsea and liverpool soon.

• Slayer on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:18 am

Wonder what kind of seat Liverpool going to have in order to turn their bad luck this season..huhh..huhhh

• bizkin on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:22 am

they're playing Winning Eleven on PSP =D

• Arcane (Member) on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:35 am

audi or citroen seats, it's still not flame-reatardant. So, we shouldn't implement it in stadiums in Malaysia, for fear of a certain states' err..diehard supporters.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:56 am

what so good about recaro? bride and sparco better

• green on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:10 am

old school? so what la u jz gonna use that seat on bench for watchin football ..jealous ar~

• emine on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:29 am

I'M A GUNNER AND I DRIVE A CITROEN ….. I REALLY WANT THOSE SEAT BOTH IN MY CAR AND LIVINGROOM, IF ITS POSSIBLE…… WELL THE LEAST I CAN WEAR BOTH MY CITROEN CAP AND ARSENAL JERSEY

• seat-belt on Feb 06, 2010 at 4:27 am

bashbash said,

February 5, 2010 @ 3:01 am

another info..

all the seats in the stadium was made in malaysia..

courtesy of khairy jamaluddin..

yes, all the seat in the stadium was designed by malaysians and made in malaysia.

(except the citroen one..)

• gooner s**t

• Gajen on Feb 06, 2010 at 6:37 am

i dislike citreon…i prefer audi…Audi sponsors Man Utd and Bayern Munich!

• Jarum on Feb 07, 2010 at 12:12 am

Slayer said,

Wonder what kind of seat Liverpool going to have in order to turn their bad luck this season..huhh..huhhh

===============================================

Proton? :)

• hope liv will this weekend against ars..heehe

• barca96 on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:04 pm

lol at you gunners, man u fans…

gunners-wanna be barca

man u-schooled by barca in a CL FINAL

huahuahua