Italdesign teases Proton Hybrid Concept – Day 2

Italdesign will put up one different photo of the new Proton Hybrid Concept that they will be jointly exhibiting at the Geneva Motorshow from the 2nd to 14th of March 2010. Today’s teaser image is quite obviously the projector headlamps for the car. What I really want to see is how the back of the concept car looks like – so far none of the teasers or even the initial full image have revealed this. We might just have to wait until Geneva to find out. Read our previous stories on the Proton Hybrid Concept to find out more about it.

New teaser pix for Geneva 2010 Proton Concept
More details on Proton’s Geneva 2010 Concept Car
Photo of new Proton concept appears online!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=851]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DONT INSULT PROTON U on Feb 21, 2010 at 12:13 am

Cant wait it should be PERFECT ^_^

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 21, 2010 at 12:16 am

looks like 7 series light

• BASHERking on Feb 21, 2010 at 12:17 am

nice…..

• PROTON R GETTING BET on Feb 21, 2010 at 12:24 am

Hope this is going to be product line

• infinity on Feb 21, 2010 at 12:48 am

Which part of the car is the 1st photo, named 100222??

• wakeyme on Feb 21, 2010 at 12:49 am

looking forward into production model. even i believe final product ain't be like this concept, its great to see some cue styles make it into production line.

• SSaturn on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:19 am

Don't forget about

"Actual Product May Vary"

lol!!! ROFL

• wAzYz on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:29 am

yup…..cant wait to see the production model….

the issue is, are Proton gonna have a good qualty material?

Are they goin to hire same vendor as per now?

if "CANTIK" only…no QUALITY….no point lorrr….

just a personal opinion…

im Malaysian…yes, we all support Proton…

Gud Luck Proton….perhaps 1 day i will buy a Proton car… :D

• nudin on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:42 am

what is good that they will keep update us day by day

• nudin on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:44 am

hope no quality issue anymore and please choose the vendor correctly

good job proton

• mack_labuan on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:33 am

proton now have good quality product…open your sense,n go 4 a test drive a proton persona,,much better than vios

• BASHERking on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:47 am

WAY TO GO PROTON….

• jazzer on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:20 am

agree with u,mack_labuan..

persona,exora and saga are really much better than vios..

don simply bashing b4 test drive these car..

u'll feel the difference..

btw,well done to proton as manage to record bigger profit than last financial year..

keep up r good work..

• hahah on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:32 am

yeah.. persona much better then vios.. agree with that

• The Who.. on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:01 am

Can't wait to see the production model.. Proton way improving now.. Now I'm really proud of Proton!!

• gen2lama on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:12 am

u’ll feel the difference..

btw,well done to proton as manage to record bigger profit than last financial year..

keep up r good work

—————————————————————

thanks to SYOH for buying not one but two problematic proton sedan…..

• ezralimm on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:28 am

mack_labuan said,

February 20, 2010 @ 6:33 pm

proton now have good quality product…open your sense,n go 4 a test drive a proton persona,,much better than vios

======================

Better quality? Hmmm, we would need a few more years to find out as most current generation (after the previous CEO's generation) protons arent old enough to pass a fair judgment.

This i can say: My bro's satria simply feels more solid than my jazz. Just open and close the door on any late model proton. The plastics are up to par with the japanese makes too. Believe it or not. It's critically underpowered and has an uber sensitive accelerator and a few other problems…but overall it is very solidly built for the price.

• i think the engine managemaent, makes the car stuffy,

simply to have euro 4, campro engine is detuned in such a way

• Alza Owner on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:02 am

I agreed! I didnt bought Proton Exora instead of Perodua Alza after test drive both cars. I m not anti-proton but just wait it to become more mature after Proton begin its "zero defect" policy a year ago (correct me if i m wrong). Not all car manufacturers are perfect. My new Alza (automatic) also has minor problem with wind penetration at driver side door. Other parts still ok so far and nice to drive. I looking forward for Proton "Lancer" and its hibrid. Hope they are well built like other big players.

• ali bin abu ahmad on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:29 am

Wazyz, agree on what you said. Satria Neo is a good example, stylish, modern, sporty (although just the look), but the poor build quality simply isn't the way to keep a bad reputation company survive. Let's hope this model will be a breakthrough, another Gen.2 for Proton.

• djan merapu on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:54 am

look like the lamp is very long.. tajam end??

• djan merapu on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:56 am

PROTON can use Ferrari designer if they want..

LOTUS already hire Ferrari designer.

hopefully after this Malaysia have own HONDA NSX project like what HONDA did after competing in F1.

• jazzer said,

February 20, 2010 @ 7:20 pm

………………………………………………………………………………………

Well done ??

You have no financial background jazzer

Profit of 79.9 mil Q3 with a govt grant for R&D of 44mil.

What is this nonsense – still need govt support ?

Already 25 yrs still need subsidy from govt. – shame on you !

• waimak on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:11 pm

This concept is another step of pushing Proton to the global market and hopefully the initiative will bear fruit. One thing I dont quite get it with Proton -they dont have a singular theme for its product line. Names such as persona, saga, exora are good but its from different origin/ root/ theme I think. Look at "Wish, Move, Rush, Vios" or "Golf, Polo" or "Accord, Civic, City". Perhaps they get it right from now on.. all the best!

• staff on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:43 pm

***OFF TOPIC***

How is the TJCC eh? still have r?

last time Tokmoh organize the TT isnt it?

:)

• androndraco on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:54 pm

I am more interested on Proton's concept car for sedan model.

• peYno on Feb 21, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Raub said,

Well done ??

===

ala bro.. perodua… jaguh kampung 4 tahun berturut2.. still got gov support..

ok wat

prrrrtfhhh

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 6:30 pm

From the owner and criticizer of Proton Persona and Gen2 CPS:

*Persona Manual Stats:

-1 Year old (2009)

Known Issues:

-Knocking sound from IAFM module, unit replaced.

-Car Battery died off after 3 months only, unit replaced.

-Power Window knocking, unit replaced.

-Gear change not smooth, gear box oiled.

-Knocking Suspension (and bush connector), tighten bolts & nuts.

-Squeaking steering, unit replaced.

-Door's Central Locking auto lock dysfunction. Adjusted.

-Gear Knob quality very poor, tends to break, unit replaced & broken again.

-Aircond's buttons quality very poor, easily broken, unit replaced.

-Rubber sealant peel off along the door & window very easily. Adjusted.

-Car Cabin lights, unit fixed.

-Hand brake lever arm too high, adjusted.

-Car's floor mat likes to fold and block the pedals, solution, bought new floor mat.

-You could actually hear external sound loudly, especially "wind rush" when driving at highways or high speed, source of leakage believed to be along the windows.

*Gen.2 CPS Stats:

-1 Year old (2009)

Known issues:

-The engine lose out its performance, prefer to "scream" (higher RPM) rather than "run" (not going fast enough). Most probably this is due to RON 95 fuel, but this is still debatable, still testing with different fuel formula, will use jet fuel if necessary.

-Door's Central Locking auto lock dysfunction. Adjusted.

-Front lamp lights, dust and dirt enters. No solution.

-Rear door (bonet) lever arm very fragile, adjusted.

-Aircond's buttons quality very poor, easily broken, unit replaced.

-Just recently, heard metal knocking just beneath the gas pedal, especially when gear change occur.

-You could actually hear external sound loudly, especially "wind rush" when driving at highways or at high speed, source of leakage believed to be along the windows.

*End stats report.

• wAzYz on Feb 21, 2010 at 6:35 pm

mrk…sound harsh….but yes…its the truth…

We are 1Malaysia…we all the same….what we want is….QUALITY…..

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Add ons…

*Persona Manual Stats:

-Previously, the engine's power stuck at RPM 2000~3000 while dealing with traffic jams.

-Pedal Clutch not efficient, seems to be slight delay when transferring power after each gear change, adjusted, still under observation.

• letstorque on Feb 21, 2010 at 7:01 pm

raub said,

February 21, 2010 @ 2:57 am

jazzer said,

February 20, 2010 @ 7:20 pm

………………………………………………………………………………………

Well done ??

I thought most big car manufacturers also received grant from governments.

Mitsubishi Australia even received grant from South Australia state govt,Holden (owned by GM) and Ford Australia also received grant from Australian govt.

If Australia govt can give grant to foreign companies, can you tell us why can't our govt give grants to our very own company?

I think from financial point of view,Australia govt give grant so that the factory stay in Australia so that they can pay tax. But at the end, they (the manufacturers) will bring that profit to their own country (Japan and US)

But Proton remain in Malaysia, whatever profit made will stay in Malaysia.Most employee are Malaysians.

So, why can't Malaysian govt give grant to Proton.

• Ah Chye on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:12 pm

wAzYz said,

February 20, 2010 @ 5:29 pm

yup…..cant wait to see the production model….

the issue is, are Proton gonna have a good qualty material?

Are they goin to hire same vendor as per now?

if “CANTIK” only…no QUALITY….no point lorrr….

just a personal opinion…

im Malaysian…yes, we all support Proton…

Gud Luck Proton….perhaps 1 day i will buy a Proton car… :D

————————————————————–

nudin said,

February 20, 2010 @ 5:44 pm

hope no quality issue anymore and please choose the vendor correctly

good job proton

—————————————————————

this is perception. and it's a bad perception. what is our perception about honda and toyota. i believe it's a good one but did you notice ur Jazz may on fire or ur Camry my hit a tree?

Nothing comes perfection. Not even you. Not even me.

before things to change…. We all have to change….

Happy Motoring!!!

• waimak on Feb 21, 2010 at 9:05 pm

raub, other companies in malaysia is using the advantage of getting the grants from govnt as well..

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 9:27 pm

letstorque said,

February 21, 2010 @ 11:01 am

"But Proton remain in Malaysia, whatever profit made will stay in Malaysia.Most employee are Malaysians."

This argument is very shallow.

This is the general "explanation" (lies) made to the "rakyat".

But the real question that the "rakyat" would love to know is; who's Malaysian pocket the money went too?

• steven on Feb 21, 2010 at 11:35 pm

should support proton and proton should also generate some new model !

• Anak Malaysia on Feb 21, 2010 at 11:45 pm

The issue not just of the quality but also after sales services. Hopefully proton sales services will more efficient and not just do cincai2 work… :"Kereta proton maaaa bukan mercedes"….

• uzair on Feb 21, 2010 at 11:46 pm

this projector lamb is definitely not from the so called "city car" that the italdesign had been posting on their website previously.. i bet this one is the other of the 2 concept cars that proton and italdesign will launch at Geneva. and i am speculating that this one has to be the anticipating 2012's persona. if the projecting lamb is looking super stylish as this.. i bet that the design of the whole car has to compliment this lamb. CAN I REGISTER FOR EARLY BOOKING!!!!

• wakaka on Feb 22, 2010 at 12:26 am

SY0H said,

February 21, 2010 @ 10:30 am

*Persona Manual Stats:

-1 Year old (2009)

Known Issues:

-Knocking sound from IAFM module, unit replaced.

-Car Battery died off after 3 months only, unit replaced.

-Gear change not smooth, gear box oiled.

-Knocking Suspension (and bush connector), tighten bolts & nuts.

-Squeaking steering, unit replaced.

-Door’s Central Locking auto lock dysfunction. Adjusted.

-Gear Knob quality very poor, tends to break, unit replaced & broken again.

-Aircond’s buttons quality very poor, easily broken, unit replaced.

-Car Cabin lights, unit fixed.

-Car’s floor mat likes to fold and block the pedals, solution, bought new floor mat.

-You could actually hear external sound loudly, especially “wind rush” when driving at highways or high speed, source of leakage believed to be along the windows.

*Gen.2 CPS Stats:

-1 Year old (2009)

Known issues:

-The engine lose out its performance, prefer to “scream” (higher RPM) rather than “run” (not going fast enough). Most probably this is due to RON 95 fuel, but this is still debatable, still testing with different fuel formula, will use jet fuel if necessary.

-Door’s Central Locking auto lock dysfunction. Adjusted.

-Front lamp lights, dust and dirt enters. No solution.

-Rear door (bonet) lever arm very fragile, adjusted.

-Aircond’s buttons quality very poor, easily broken, unit replaced.

-Just recently, heard metal knocking just beneath the gas pedal, especially when gear change occur.

-You could actually hear external sound loudly, especially “wind rush” when driving at highways or at high speed, source of leakage believed to be along the windows.

*End stats report.

————————————————————

but the acc pedal n brake are still working..at least those above mentioned stats doesn't kill people…

btw, pls so kind to reveal the stats source..perhaps the owner's name and his/her phone number..

or u just talk bullshit with those old issues…prrrrtfhhh

• Quattro (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 3:55 am

bila waja baru nak keluar ni????bulan 6 ker??? harap kekalkan nama waja dgn engine 1.8 compro pon camprolah………..mintak juga improve krom waja mcm yg dipakai pada krom kat bonet wira . yang dok pakai dkt waja n persona nampak cheap…….tgk toyota >>>krom vios dia kita tengok pun high kualiti……bkn mcm persona kemek je mcm dok cukup makan………

• gen2lama on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:10 am

wakaka….SYOH is the owner maa….got waja, persona…..

pergh….'tak serik dgn prob kete dulu beb'…..

must be the handling sooooo goooood….so buy one more 'power window problem car'…..

heheheheheh

• letstorque on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:46 am

SY0H said,

February 21, 2010 @ 1:27 pm

letstorque said,

February 21, 2010 @ 11:01 am

“But Proton remain in Malaysia, whatever profit made will stay in Malaysia.Most employee are Malaysians.”

This argument is very shallow.

This is the general “explanation” (lies) made to the “rakyat”.

But the real question that the “rakyat” would love to know is; who’s Malaysian pocket the money went too?

At least they are Malaysians, and they pay tax.

It's doesn't care whose pocket it goes into, as long as

Malaysian. Simple as that.

I think you,on the other hand, only care because its not into your pocket.

For me, it's better to have malaysian as richest man in South East Asia,even though he's not my friend, my relative,or from my own race.

• vbkcheng on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:35 am

wah… power window also cannot solve, we are dreaming about F1…

May be that will help us solve the problem forever…design our car like F1 car….no window is required… :>

• Prismo on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm

vbkcheng said,

February 22, 2010 @ 1:35 am

wah… power window also cannot solve, we are dreaming about F1…

May be that will help us solve the problem forever…design our car like F1 car….no window is required… :>

———————————————-

lol… no wonder why did toyota had pulled out from F1.. their F1 racing machine suffered a stuck gas pedal and malfunction braking system… sebelum ni diaorg syiok dgn F1 sampai ambil remeh ttg kualiti production line diaorg… lol…

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm

the pictures really nice!!!

it is really a concept phase, the expectation will be how the production car varaince from this concept car..

• i wish someday new concept create by our local peope…

• ezralimm on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:24 pm

SY0H said,

February 21, 2010 @ 10:30 am

====================================

Why are you posting this info in a thread on a hybrid concept that isnt even in production?

Anyway, you seem to have lots of gripes. Perhaps other owners of '09 models could comment too. I think you're either exceptionally unlucky, or have a tendency to notice things that other people wouldnt be bothered about.

If I were to list out EVERY SINGLE DAMN THING that has required adjustment in my '07 Jazz, the list would be about as long as yours… But i dont. Seriously, im not going to report the fragile seatbelt side-pillar cover and dash that creaks a bit at ~50-60km/h. I will however report the major stuff like warranty calls for engine noises and part failures (i've made three warranty service calls already). And no, the creaking issue has not been resolved. I've also noticed a few design flaws that im not going to go into because face it hardly anyone would care about them.

Look, all cars have minor problems… Japanese and continentals are no different. You'll get a long list as long as you nitpick. My god you know how to nitpick.

• ezralimm on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Seriously I dont mean to defend proton or anything, but I just have this gut feeling that alot of proton's flaws are blown out of proportion. People who google "Proton" and reach blogs like this should get a fair impression of them.

The reality is simply that proton makes cheap cars. Cheap by any standard even in Langkawi where they have no tax advantage. To expect the same quality in a persona as a civic would mean the the persona would have to be about RM85k in a fair tax environment (just like the civic would be).

You get what you pay for. And while their quality is probably not as good as the established japanese makes, they are alot more decent than what most people perceive. Owners of late models who have also owned japanese/continental cars should be able to confirm this.

My family has owned two protons, they are really decent cars for the price. Minor problems are easily fixed, and at the end of the day, their TCO is genuinely lower especially since mechanics are plentiful who know how to repair them and parts are easy to source.

• paparazi (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:38 pm

fuad, their concept cars already shown in Proton Family's day, could check back.

• magic on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:44 pm

mcm hatchback jerk…

• Humangai on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:59 pm

As toyota n honda have bigger problems than proton. Suey le sape yg beli keta diorang

• Halfclutch on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:00 pm

SY0H >> -Gear Knob quality very poor, tends to break, unit replaced & broken again. Apa kau buat dengan gear lever tu..

As Borat would say, "naughty, naughty.."

• staff on Feb 22, 2010 at 10:01 pm

SY0H,

why you only find the bad things about Proton? Haha… This is a LIE (EXPLANATION) that you you want tell other ppl isnt it?

Since you are so RAJIN… List out the GOOD thing also… And also, dont come out with bad thing on Proton only.. Bring along what HONDA, TOYOTA, MAZDA etc etc has… sure have also…

I bet, everytime you look at others import car, you keep cursing your car, are you?

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:15 am

ezralimm said,

February 22, 2010 @ 10:30 am

My family has owned two protons, they are really decent cars for the price.

Decent it is?

You've got it upside down bro. Twist and turn, but by the end of the day, you still lose out your point. If Proton is so cheap, why need to protect it with NAP, AP and duty taxation (on import cars)? Ok, let's forget tax (as everything is taxable nowadays), but why need to implement NAP and AP?

Don't you think it is simply because, other imported car brands are made terribly expensive so it gives the false impression that Proton is "cheaper".

Gosh, if you ask me, you should retake some part time study in "Financial 101" class.

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:26 am

Halfclutch said,

February 22, 2010 @ 11:00 am

"Notty you lah Halfclutch, I suggest you "mandi wajib" and "samak" your gear knob with clean water for all I care. Gosh, please consider other people who wants to borrow your car; with some sticky "white toppings" on the gear knob. Yucks.

staff said,

February 22, 2010 @ 2:01 pm

Yes, I'm cursing that lazy "staff" that doesn't know how to work properly. Hence, the terrible quality, for the past 25 years.

Prfthhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:58 am

silver is a lousy color

• staff on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:03 am

haha…

Cursing ppl for OWN incompetency……… HAHAHAHAHA… LOSER!

• staff on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:06 am

wow… SY0H want ppl to learn FINANCIAL 101… yet can only afford Proton cars… then curse ppl for own INCOMPETENCY…

You are really a "ROLE" model…

• huahuahua on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:05 am

aiya, my father's nissan frontier also got power window problem maa

my mum's perodua kelisa got car alarm and central locking problem

my sister,s perodua viva got power steering problem

and my brother's honda civic got bunyi2 inside car

but me never blame on car brand or which country do that car came from

anggap jer itu suey, asal jgn eksiden sudah

mana tau bleh beli 4D guna no plat kereta ada suey

hahaha

• Little Bird on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:52 am

Guys, check out http://www.protonconcepts.com/ :)

• ezralimm on Feb 23, 2010 at 3:24 pm

SY0H said,

February 22, 2010 @ 8:15 pm

======================

Look up proton's langkawi prices versus those of the Japanese cars. Proton has no tax advantage there. It also tallies with international prices – protons are more expensive in Thailand than malaysia yet are still competitive, with the savvy being the cheapest in it's class.

In Australia, with the exception of the S16 (new saga) priced at about RM45k OTR w insurance (cut price because Hyundai cut the price of the 09 Getz stock pending the release of the i20), all the other proton cars are more expensive OTR than in malaysia… Yet they are still bargain bottom prices relative to other cars in their class.

Thank god people in other countries arent badge worshippers like malaysians…Proton wouldnt stand a chance if that were the case. People want a car to get around with low TCO. And proton has delivered that.

• Tiadaid on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:10 pm

SY0H said,

February 22, 2010 @ 8:15 pm

ezralimm said,

February 22, 2010 @ 10:30 am

My family has owned two protons, they are really decent cars for the price.

Decent it is?

You’ve got it upside down bro. Twist and turn, but by the end of the day, you still lose out your point. If Proton is so cheap, why need to protect it with NAP, AP and duty taxation (on import cars)? Ok, let’s forget tax (as everything is taxable nowadays), but why need to implement NAP and AP?

—————–

Malaysians are brand conscious, very brand conscious. That's why knockoffs are so popular. That's why. Even if Proton make cars with quality like VW or BMW, they still lose because of that brand factor.

Besides, why keep banging about Proton and NAP? Perodua, Naza, Inokom also profits from it. Why not bang on about them? And thirdly, do you really think other countries have a level playing field? Total bull. Every country with a carmaker have some sort of protection. America? They had limited import quotas for Japanese cars back in the 80s. The Japs had to build factories in America to circumvent the restriction. Why America did that? Balance of payment imbalance…

• Alifz on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:47 pm

I don't know what to say but for whose bashing about tax payer I just want to ask you something. Are you all paying income tax, or just merely RM2 or RM90 for road tax then claiming government wasting people's money and hike fuel price? Hey come on be a good citizen pay income tax then later not just get P1 better but everything better, and not to be dependent on subsidies..

• Halfclutch on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:25 pm

SYOH>>

February 22, 2010 @ 11:00 am

“Notty you lah Halfclutch, I suggest you “mandi wajib” and “samak” your gear knob with clean water for all I care. Gosh, please consider other people who wants to borrow your car; with some sticky “white toppings” on the gear knob. Yucks.

>>Nah..I ain't the one with the broken gear knob problem.. ;)

• Prismo on Feb 24, 2010 at 3:45 am

i never tought SY0H is a naughty boy… broken gear knob, r u changing gear using ur feet SY0H?? hahaha :D

• Peter on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:22 am

Hey guys………I have some inside info secured from my friend……..The new Proton Lancer will be a re badged model of Mitsubishi Lancer………But dont be so happy yet……It will still be the 1.6lCampro CPS engine……with lotus handling……..No Mitsubishi Engine being deployed or anything like that………Wake up guys……….