New teaser pix for Geneva 2010 Proton Concept

Italdesign Giugiaro has posted up on their website a different teaser image for the new Proton Hybrid Concept Car set to debut at Geneva during the press days at the end of this month/early next month. The image shows some kind of lamp – it’s specifically the ‘foglamps’ on the bumper of the concept car.

Just a recap on what the Proton concept car is:

• It is a creative collaboration between Proton and Italdesign Giugiaro.
  • It will have five doors and four seats that are independently adjustable and slideable.
  • It is 3,550 mm in length. That is about a good half meter longer than the Toyota iQ but shorter than the Savvy.
  • The car will use a series hybrid drive. A combustion engine will be mounted at the front and will be used only to recharge lithium ion batteries. The batteries power a motor that turns the wheels.
  • It uses a special chassis with a raised floor that allows installation of the combustion engine at the front and batteries in the rear
  • The car was designed to offer interior spaciousness of a D-segment car with the exterior dimensions of an A-segment car.
  • The hip point is designed to be at just the right natural and ergonomic height – you do not get down into the car like a short sedan or “climb” up into the car like an SUV.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• firdausyusof on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:16 am

Go… go… Proton

• @j!man on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:17 am

aweesommee that is pretty futuristic

• jimbet on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:22 am

damn. looking fwd for this. i hope it's a perfect town car.

• wakeyme on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:28 am

wow! wanting some more pics please!

• looks lovely for lady car.. if sporty version sure guy also want to buy this car..

• wow!

amazing

• iskett on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:44 am

Hmmm.. which way is up???

Susah to imagine..

Have to wait n see.

• BASHERking on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:46 am

LED=energy saving tech

• lambov12 on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:47 am

love the picture …

• Neo.S on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:49 am

1st ! ohhhhh……..this is teasing

• can't wait!

• taboogen on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:55 am

wow love the lines… hope overall design will be improve.. i will definately trade in my gen2

• Tiadaid on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:02 am

All these teasers would mean nothing if they don't make it. MAKE IT PROTON!

• eva31s on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:04 am

1st

• nabill on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:05 am

doesnt it resemble the proton logo??

the anticipation starts…..bt from concept to real product usually take 18 to 24mnths to materialize if im not mistaken….

• Hmmm…

• initial R on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:08 am

LED inside….. huhuhu…

• hm.. i wonder how it looks like

• peYno on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:14 am

It will have five doors and four seats that are independently adjustable and slideable.

========

this is very good idea..

i always think it is good if the height of back seat can be adjusted. of coz slideable as well.

pls make my dream comes true

• Nice!!!

• huiyo! So ''Pro'' ka?

• delio on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:27 am

hey proton. god job!!!!

• pultat on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:30 am

Looking good….let's see the whole thing!

• click on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:35 am

just how long will it takes to go into production?

• Squawk on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:40 am

This car needs solar cells on its roof and hood.

• Tommy on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:42 am

Looks interesting!

• 1st!!!

• hikari on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:58 am

hope it'll b realized… n no need 2 wait tat long…

• raixa on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:08 am

Hopefully that this car are test over and over again for mountain hike under extreme load or just make it fully internal combustion.

• Wormnachia on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:14 am

WoW

1st

• howitzer on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:51 am

hey raxia, electric motors know for its torque…

so no problem for la for mountain hiking..

lol, its far better than combustion engine… and also env friendly which we malaysia really need for our jammed road…

• Nahar ARS on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:56 am

Posted in Italdesign Facebook page:

"every day a new picture of the prototype we'll unveil at the geneva motor show on www.italdesign.it starting tomorrow 8am (CET)!"

• can i be d LAST to this thread sin so many wish to b 1st?

• Uncle Muaz on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:36 am

@wakeyme

I've just sent paul more teaser pics of the concept car…

I hope he got the message…

• Russell on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:44 am

Just make sure the door handles, the power window, airbags and the ABS works ya Proton?

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:26 am

not 1st.. hahahaha.. don't have a chance to be the 1st.. coz to many people is the 1st oredi… hahaha… lol…

• MyBoy on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:32 am

nabill said,

February 19, 2010 @ 7:05 pm

doesnt it resemble the proton logo??

the anticipation starts…..bt from concept to real product usually take 18 to 24mnths to materialize if im not mistaken….

That depends. Some concept are virtually production ready and some don't.

• proton boleh on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:34 am

malaysia boleh!!!!

i'm so skeptical of this. so so skeptical of this.

if they make it into production, i doubt that ppl will stop cursing for one day.

They cannot even make a normal good petrol car, now they wanna go hybrid??

lol. wait for rebatch proton lancer better, that i got hope.

• wow~~~~~~~~~~~~~~go proton! don proton saga again….:(

• its actually cup holders. last time ppl complain gen2 dont have cup holders, so now they comeout with tray cup holders.

• spencerlws (Member) on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:12 am

Good design… will it be still BUATAN MALAYSIA ?? How's the quality??

• Helmet on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:32 am

Nope. Cos it's too tantalising not to say anything. I'm keeping my fingers crossed on this one!

• It will have five doors and four seats that are independently adjustable and slideable.

========

this is very good idea..

i always think it is good if the height of back seat can be adjusted. of coz slideable as well.

pls make my dream comes true

================

The statment never mentioned the height of the back seat can be adjust. FYI Hyundai Matrix also have four seats which are independently adjustable and slideable & it is design by an Italian too :-)

The matrix

• commento on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:39 am

a.18 said,

February 19, 2010 @ 8:58 pm

can i be d LAST to this thread sin so many wish to b 1st?

————————————————

maybe can for last year's thread, but not new thread like this one

• temenggong on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:48 am

Hebatlah PROTON!

• temenggong on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:50 am

tahniah kepada Dato' Syed Zainal Abidin yg dah berjaya MEMIMPIN PROTON ke arah KEJAYAAN! Tahniah kepada PROTON.

• Jarum on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:30 am

End of the day we should thank the Mat Sallehs for making it happen for us!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:37 am

wth/…..just one small ambiguous pic and u proton fanclub is already celebrating….eww

• wakeyme on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:56 am

@Uncle Muaz

yeah waiting patiently for upcoming post. or maybe u could post related link here?

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:13 am

I have high hopes that the power window will work fine 25 years laters. Ameen.

• 1 Malaysia on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:40 am

Still not malaysia design or technology… so sad!

• is it an egg crate on the dash?? for makcik to go market….hehehehehe

• glacius_25150 on Feb 20, 2010 at 10:41 am

nice….judging from the angle, the car should have some sharp lines along the body.. I like…

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Feb 20, 2010 at 10:52 am

Rubbish!

• Vezeroth on Feb 20, 2010 at 11:41 am

yo guys, concept car doesnt mean they're gonna make it! Please dont jump the gun! At most they will use the body shape after tonning it down quite abit, think savvy/myvi look alike… LEDs wont make it into production for a low cost car… dont even think about hybrid!

• peYno on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:44 pm

mat said,

The statment never mentioned the height of the back seat can be adjust. FYI Hyundai Matrix also have four seats which are independently adjustable and slideable & it is design by an Italian too :-)

The matrix

===

bro it is good to have the back seat and passenger seat's height can be adjusted like typical driver seat… slide and recline is common oredi.. i hope p1 can make individual seat height adjuster…

=============

It will have five doors and four seats that are independently adjustable and slideable.

=========

and i wish the four seats refers to back seat which has 60:40 split

• SaGa NGV on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:03 pm

mr paul…wake up..1 more new photo at italdesign website..

• ezralimm on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:06 pm

?? you guys do know proton didnt design this right.

The concept is sound though…especially in a world of rising petrol prices.

These are the guys that designed for Lexus, VW and Ferrari, so yeah..it's gonna look good.

• Alfarabi on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Hopefully it's a todays world class standard car!

• redkde on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:46 pm

don't produce the car with sticky pedal!!!…defective airbag….faulty power steering…defective power window….

• Jumbsuck on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:58 pm

But bank still charge double rate car loan interest rate for national cars compare to non-national cars.

Even our banking sector far from convinced of local car quality so don't blame car buyers for being critical and felt cheated twice (overpriced and get crap quality).

Until this car finance discrimination policy and protectionism continues, Proton will never stop faking itself, self-glorified (syok sendiri), make-believe jagoh kampong and expect us to believe all the craps (which all of you sheeps always lead to believe!).

Italian design eh? Suck that.

• staff on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:33 pm

after no idea to bash the brand… suddenly bring bank interest rate into the story… stick to the topic will ya?

Yeah you suck…

• staff on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Haha.. Power window again…

this is one advise for u Mr SY0H…

Go write a book with title, ME & MY POWER WINDOW,

better if you can produce a film or documentary "MY FAILED POWER WINDOW: A TRUE STORY"…

Are you obsessed or what? when ever you write, must be a word power window come along…

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Hope to hear some news about 2012 Proton Persona as its also design by Italdesign Giugiaro.

• kamil on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:52 pm

This is only a concept car.

Whether it can operate/go into production is a different story.

This Italian co is just doing designs … but what

we are more interested is what kinda powerplant Proton

has decided to go for. If still CPS 1.6 and no 2.0 engine then

boring lah.

• its funny how Proton continues to make rubbish cars and those jaguh kampung continue to support them. if proton wants to be successful they got to start thinking, get qualified ppl to run the company instead of a bunch of politicians that have no passion in car making.

• kingv6 on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:33 pm

what teaser !!!!???

the whole picture of the car already been showed by already…

that's clearly some sort of foglamp at the front bumper.

here's the link http://paultan.org/2010/02/12/more-details-on-pro…

• staff on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:46 pm

@mrk…

Just dont talk about something you dont know cant ya?

Who is the politicians in the proton management line-up? list it out before talking…

• temenggung on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Mazda 3 MPS…lantak kitaorg lah..

• Georgie on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm

mrk said,

February 20, 2010 @ 9:56 am

its funny how Proton continues to make rubbish cars and those jaguh kampung continue to support them. if proton wants to be successful they got to start thinking, get qualified ppl to run the company instead of a bunch of politicians that have no passion in car making.

—————————————————————-

If you got nothing else to do rather then ranting here, why don't you join Proton as the CEO or create your own automobile company? You seem to have very much passion and knows a lot about car making and business. I think that will do u a lot of good in your resume. Then we will judge you like the jaguh kampung we are.

We are really hoping that this IS the first car that will revolutionize Proton as a worldwide car maker. Hope they take into consideration on the BUILD QUALITY of the interior and exterior materials, then this car is a definite keeper.

• initial R on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Today the teaser show front headlight luminate …. seen it used projector HDD light…. looks cool….. so the teaser show the detail of each part from whole body.. :)

• Alfarabi on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Emo douchebags

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:42 pm

wow…..italdesign….anyone remember the morris Ital?

• p1basher on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:57 pm

hmmm… wonder how much it should cost if it made it to production

• klguy on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:36 pm

no matter how hi tech and sophisticated their car is, i will always say NO to P1. Cant forgive them for what they have done to the local auto industry

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:50 pm

SY0H said,

February 20, 2010 @ 1:13 am

I have high hopes that the power window will work fine 25 years laters. Ameen.

SHOH & his power windows failure… prfthhhhh..

that problem has long gone already..

where were u????

since DSZ takeover, all proton's new models are power windows problem-free..

that was history.. u need to move on la SHOH, never look back again..

just like toyolta..

MOVING FORWARD (bcoz they cant make it stop.. the pedal was stuck! damn..)

• Sakit Sakit Sedap on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Look alike a DIAMOND!!

• Oi.. jangan puji proton kuat sangat, "sceptic" sedang makan hati ulam jantung oi. Ha ha ha..

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Jarum said,

February 20, 2010 @ 12:30 am

End of the day we should thank the Mat Sallehs for making it happen for us!

yup..

and thank the brothers shop for making abeng's dream comes true.. yeay..

• Mr Syoh always like that.. don't bother him.. go * yourself.. cheers! :D

• to Mr Mark, yeah.. list all the political you mansion about~ I'm eager to know..

• Mufasa on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:56 pm

ish,,,dont do this lah…all malaysian can die because of heart attack when they see this car..,,,coz malaysian always bash their own car,… bahaya ooo..later they all mati

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 20, 2010 at 10:25 pm

mrk said, February 20, 2010 @ 9:56 am

its funny how Proton continues to make rubbish cars and those jaguh kampung continue to support them. if proton wants to be successful they got to start thinking, get qualified ppl to run the company instead of a bunch of politicians that have no passion in car making.

my oh my…

u really need to gain some knowledge before posting comments la beng..

1st..

proton never make that car yet lah.. it was design by Giugiaro (italdesign)..

so u supposed to say "its funny how Giugiaro continues to design rubbish cars, coz MY DAD 'MR AH BENG SENIOR' is waaaaaay better than him" hahahahahaaaaa…

2nd..

u said "and those jaguh kampung continue to support them"… what jaguh kampung support them?? u mean those tens of thousand proton owners at UK are jaguh kampung?? tens of thousand proton owners at AUSTRALIA are jaguh kampung??? thousands of owners across MIDDLE EAST, THAILAND, INDONESIA & SINGAPORE are jaguh kampong??? prfthhhhh.. the only jaguh kampung we had rite now is PEROBODOA…

3rd..

u said "get qualified ppl to run the company instead of a bunch of politicians that have no passion in car making".. and who u are talking about??? that 'bunch of politicians', so they really run the company rite???.. please share their names with us…. pleaseeeeeeee… prfthhhhh.. (i hate politician, especially the G's politicians)

please la dont make fool of yur self eva…

u will become a disgrace of the bashers society..

• yeah..LED technology everywhere…also pasar malam now start sell LED torch…

• MyDear on Feb 20, 2010 at 11:38 pm

Acctually you can see all the teaser .. just change the pic name..

http://www.italdesign.it/img/100225.jpg

the load 100219-100225.jpg .. :D very good webmaster they have there~! :p

• myter on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:14 am

so no more persona2012??since this italdesign built A segment car…i thought persona were the one that supposedly redesign by the italdesign

• MyBoy on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:42 am

MyDear said,

February 20, 2010 @ 3:38 pm

Acctually you can see all the teaser .. just change the pic name..

http://www.italdesign.it/img/100225.jpg

the load 100219-100225.jpg .. :D very good webmaster they have there~! :p

Perhaps they did it on purpose.

• bmpower on Feb 22, 2010 at 12:48 am

nice side profile! http://www.italdesign.it/img/100224.jpg

• Tengokaje.. on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:44 am

Nice looking car. Keep it up P1. Remember to improve the quality with your current model and the next model and so on. Plus also the SC all around the country.

Salam…

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

February 20, 2010 @ 11:42 am

wow…..italdesign….anyone remember the morris Ital?

——————————

i think the ital even looks better than this crap

• staff on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:08 am

which crap? mazda 3 mps?

yes indeed…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:00 am

i wonder how much proton pay the italians to disgrace themselves

• want more pics!! when the real one come out??