Malaysia’s first passenger car outdoor crash test by MIROS – Perodua Alza vs trailer

Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research, also known as MIROS conducted the country’s first passenger car outdoor crash test at the Malaysian Institute of Aviation Technology (MIAT) in Dengkil yesterday. The crash test is the institute’s second following a crash test that involved a motorcycle and a car conducted earlier in January. According to MIROS this test is a prelude to a full-fledged crash test facility that is being set up in Malacca and is expected to be operational by June this year.

Yesterday’s test focused on three aspects including analyzing the safety levels involving a child seated in a safety seat compared to a child wearing just the rear seat belt as well as analyzing the degree and type of casualties sustained by occupants of a vehicle involved in a rear-end collision with a parked or stationary commercial vehicle. It is NOT a crash test for the Perodua Alza, but it just so happens that they used an Alza.

The main focus was to study the effectiveness and level of damage sustained by an energy absorbing underrun protection system developed specifically for commercial vehicles. An underrun is made to absorb impact caused by a rear-end collision and it is compulsory for commercial vehicles. However many commercial vehicles out there don’t even use one and most use unspecified ones.

The guinea pigs for the test? Crash test dummies, a 6-tonne stationary trailer (including load) and a Perodua Alza. The 1.5 EZI Automatic model was used and it was occupied by five crash test dummies including two Hybrid III dummies fully equipped with various sensors, one non-instrumentation Hybrid III dummy, one P3 dummy with nominal instrumentation and a child dummy which simulates a 3-month old child.

A propulsion system featuring a 2.5L Nissan RB engine with pulleys and hydraulic tensioners, various high-speed cameras with up to 1000 frames per second recording capabilities, high-voltage lighting system, a comprehensive Data Acquisition System (DAQ) designed by MIROS as well as various sensors were also used for the test. The crash target was a stationary trailer fitted with an underrun that partially meets the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) Regulation 58 standards.

The plan was to get Alza to crash into the trailer at 35 km/h although the test was eventually carried out at 30 km/h. The crash test was a successful one while the findings are still being analyzed at the moment. Right after the crash it was evident that both the front airbags on the Alza were deployed and the damage on the MPV was limited to the fore front area of the vehicle leaving the engine’s position and vital parts of the interior including the dashboard and pedals intact.

According to a MIROS engineer, initial findings revealed that all passengers except for the 3-month old child would have survived and would only sustain minor injuries. The child would survive if a safety seat was used. This means that the underrun did its job. Although the impact occurred at 30 km/h which is a speed level most of us use while driving in a shopping mall’s parking lot, it was enough to push the 6-tonne trailer forward by at least 2 feet! Imagine that!

MIROS also revealed its plans to make Malaysia a regional hub for crash testing where auto makers can perform various crash tests for vehicles that are specific to the region. The institute also aims to gain international accreditation to serve this purpose. MIROS believes that secondary findings obtained by its foreign counterparts may not be 100% usable for local and regional markets due to the vast difference in geographical, infrastructural, political, and social environments.

The institute also awards the Malaysian Vehicle Assessment Program (MyVAP) certification to vehicles that conform to MIROS’ safety standards and the Alza became the second vehicle to obtain the MyVAP certification after the Proton Exora. Both the Malaysian-made MPVs now carry 4-star MyVAP ratings. MIROS aims to reduce fatalities on the road and setting up a crash test facility is definitely a good step towards reaching that goal however the institute also calls for the public to understand and accept change to become more safety conscious on the road.

It was also revealed that UNECE R58-compliant underruns are expected to become compulsory in Malaysia by October this year, which will make the highways a safer place for us. Most of our low rider passenger cars and even some lower then usual SUVs protect us best against crashes with other vehicles of similiar height. When faced with a high object such as the rear of a trailer, the end result can be very tragic. The car will often slide under the truck, and the full impact will hit the car’s A-pillar, and not the crumple zone built into the front of the vehicle. Underruns will be able to reduce damage from these crashes and ensure the crumple zone takes the hit and not anything else that wasn’t designed for it.

Watch the crash test video below and look after the jump to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=871]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Spica on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm

LOL, spectator clapping after crash. Look like accident is an event.

• Persatuan Anti Toyot on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Not bad. But Malaysians carries three times more speed than. Exora next!

• amuse on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:46 pm

the lorry moved!! thats cheating.. :P

• Paul Tan on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Do you think that after that kind of impact something won't move?

• bmpower on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:56 pm

30kmh?

• bmpower on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:57 pm

in datsun 120y we also safe at 60kmh!

• Jimmy on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Most of the lorries here carry stuff I believe which turns out to be very heavy… the trailer that they put into the test, dont have much weight i guess? thats why it moved?

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:02 pm

Spica said,

February 26, 2010 @ 1:43 pm

—————————–

hahahahaha….agree. nothing impressive about the car though. this should be a norm a long time ago. the myvi isn't very safe for a start. but still more safe than p1.

• -.-lll on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Not the real as Malaysians will drive 60-80km/h in normal road, not to mention high-way. Stupid test.

• Crash Engineer on May 31, 2013 at 12:22 pm

ure so dumb.the test equipment are designed using international standard. Just for average speed crash test to obtain specific data.plus theres no guarantee of survival if the speed is too fast for any vehicle in any situation.go learn physics before u speak ure mind in public.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:10 pm

The lorry MOVED. Suppose need to hit on standstill wall like other Ncap test. Cheating!! Malaysia Boleh again!

• l3 l i t z on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:13 pm

I believe its system, not systam =] in the [Data Acquisition Systam part] No matter, small issue. But the 'after' pictures of the alza brings new perspective to the words 'mata terbeliak' dont they lol

• Paul Tan on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:14 pm

We are trying to find out the weight now.

• Two_Faces on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:15 pm

That's is a pretty good crash test result. I know my good old Iswara while not survive this kind of test. Can MIROS conduct similar test on Iswara, Wira & etc just as a reference for the consumer!

• i support this move. it is a good start. but much to be desired for the local car industry. for example, why at 30km/h when it can be done at much higher speed. most people doesn't know how uch 30km/h and they just treat it as just a crash. it should be done at 64km/h like other manufacture did.

i did gone into an accident on a perodua kembara with almost the same speed, and the result is that it survived with almost the same damages can be seen visually.

• Two_Faces on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Reading some comments here, I realised that most malaysian drivers don't step on their break when they're going to crash into a stationary object. That's explained the high fatality & not to mentioned, the number of idiot on the road here.

I am sure I will try to break as much as possible eventhough my car is moving on 80kph. The reality to this test is the impact speed at the moment of crash. Not the travelling speed when u are trying to break the landspeed record on the kampung road!!! Ha ha ha!!!

• looks scary..

• engineer on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:31 pm

I don't agree with this test. Most of the accident happened in Malaysia exceeding speed of 60km/h.

• Nodame on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Gyaboo..good exercise..whatever…

They're clapping at the damaged Perodua Alza hahaha

• V70T5 on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:35 pm

at this speed

kancil can do the same

• 30kph? hmmmm not a realistic number.

• Waiora on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:42 pm

should use solid block..rather than (moving) trailer that could absorb the impact..

30km/h is to slow…40-60km/h is better…

anyway, to those who dont know anything about crash test, slower speed can obtain and retain lots of data…very high speed (80-110km/h) crash test, would give nothing as a result.. ;p

• Is good to do this outdoor and people can watch it by themselves, i hope they do this in secure distance since debris from crash could harm people around.

• umno juara tipu raky on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:54 pm

this is not NCAP test laaaa…who cares if its only 30km/h or the lorry moved…they juz want to analyzed the impact after the crash..what gonna be destroyed,who most likely will survive bla bla bla..with the result they can analyze the damage done when the crash were 80 or 90km/h…aiyoooo…why so serious???..wakakaka

• guanerrr on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Try again the crash test at Euro NPCAP . They are more established.

• anak dato' kk on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:58 pm

what is the standard speed for this kind of test, anyone?

• albagmane on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:58 pm

LOL at the crash test… perhaps perodua asks not to do speed exceeding 30km/h…

• Mastermind on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Emmm still questionable….just 30km/h…is relative tooo slow…need more…speed…

even racing bicycle can achieve more 100km/h….

be realistic….

• anak dato' kk on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:02 pm

From Euro NCAP website:

Why have you chosen such a high front impact test speed?

By carrying out frontal impact tests at 64km/h (about 40 mph) we are simulating a car impacting a similar sized car where both cars are travelling the same speed of 55 km/h. This speed has been shown by accident studies to address a high proportion of fatal and severe injury accidents.

• send P1 cars more.. yes, send all the models..

• BenX5 on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:05 pm

I think its all marketing stuff la :P..

if we were to check safety rating we would have consulted NCAP, hehe.. but i think they don rate cars that are not available in europe haha..

:P

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Dear readers, the total weight of the stationary trailer is figured at 6 tonnes.

• Nicheadison on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:09 pm

30km/h only to cause such high impact to the dummies!

Try to imagine that, for speed higher than that + not wearing seatbelt + no air bags! What will happen to your head and the brain inside the skull!!

Always wear seatbelt and drive car with airbag!

• this just a secondary safety~

as a driver, just drive safely…

• freeze on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:24 pm

The hell with this test. I crashed my old Saga at about 30kmh too and I was fine. Only damage to the bumper and the bonnet, head lamps were fine.

Half assed crash test.

• rugaxp on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:24 pm

From my search on NCAP, their crash test on frontal speed is 64km/h.

Is there any reason for this MIROS test to go for just 30km/h?

• littlefire on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Yup, should ask Proton to let the Exora for test locally. While waste the money sending it to another test center in Europe, which we all know nothing about the real report…

• littlefire on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm

I think the speed is faster than 30km/h, if i not mistaken Air-bags only deploy when hit around 60km/h. Please check the manual books for more details, as i read that before in a Nissan Latio manual book be4.

• rugaxp on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Harvinder Sidhu said,

Dear readers, the total weight of the stationary trailer is figured at 6 tonnes.

But from what I can see on NCAP crash, they are using a stationary solid steel barrier to crash with partial deformable stuff in front.

• starcian on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:35 pm

30km/h is fair enough, even during an event of real road accident. At speed of 80km/h, it still have 2 second emergency brake slowing it to 30km/h.

• littlefire on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:38 pm

http://www.aa1car.com/library/airbag01.htm

Check this website for more air-bag info. If hitting a still object at 30km/h it will deploy the airbag, which is the same as hitting another moving object around 60km/h…Hmm… Interesting..

"For most vehicles, this would be the equivalent of hitting a solid barrier at 12 to 15 mph, or hitting another vehicle at a speed of about 25 mph. In reality, the air bag may deploy at higher or lower speeds."

• slumber on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Good test to educate the public! Let them know that even at such low speed the passenger could have hurt themselves if seat belts were not fasten.

One thing to point out is that the so called 'container' on top of the trailer was not properly attached…. see how it 'glides' to the front, luckily not fallen to the side or else the test technicians could have been injured!

• klaka seram on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:43 pm

we can try after this head-on Lavina vs Alza LOL

• KommeAusDeutsch on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:43 pm

''MIROS believes that secondary findings obtained by its foreign counterparts may not be 100% usable for local and regional markets due to the vast difference in geographical, infrastructural, political, and social environments.''

Bullshit la. No kopi-o from the car manufacturers?

And who wants your what myvap award? Like anyone know what the hell is mirox? I dare you to award this to the international car manufacturers and see if they put you on their brochure. Noob

• I could see MIROS nowadays one of the more active gov agency seriously working their ass off albit too late. And they better be, we all know this, accidents/fatalities way up there.! I for once support this move, apart from their other various campaigns. but we need to see all this translate into results, fast. Roads are too of dangerous place for us now.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:51 pm

30km/h,try 56km/h.

• Pro_owner on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:56 pm

True.. 30kmh is too slow.. slower that L(earning) driver which is at 40kmh.. But it's just a crash test

• stationary but it is moveable. 30km/h is ttoo slow and noamally it should be performed on a concrete block.

• tokmoh on Feb 27, 2010 at 12:16 am

umno juara tipu rakyat said,

February 26, 2010 @ 2:54 pm

this is not NCAP test laaaa…who cares if its only 30km/h or the lorry moved…they juz want to analyzed the impact after the crash..what gonna be destroyed,who most likely will survive bla bla bla..with the result they can analyze the damage done when the crash were 80 or 90km/h…aiyoooo…why so serious???..wakakaka

>> ALZA. CRASH. TEST. IZ. SERIUZ. BIZNEZ.

Where is the proper crash test? Since you have T DNA, is it true that SAFETY is first, as said by Toyoda-tako? What's wrong, Perodua? Cat got your mouth?

• 40kmh is ideal for crash test and its half of the frontal off set,

if 30kmh anf full front impact many car would be ok since the area of the impact is larger

• This is not the standard test. The lorry moved after the crash and not same as those standard test when the car hit on a rigid beams. (Please go back to study SPM Fizik if u wan to know how big is the differences).

The speed test speed is also lower than the standard test (i remember is some where 40-50km/h, please correct me if I am wrong).

• Chrome on Feb 27, 2010 at 12:39 am

Guys, if you look at the objective of the test, its not to test the crashworthiness of the Alza. Lots of results can be obtained from a low speed crash test and in fact i am impressed with the Alza perfomance. Again, its a good start for the Auto industry in Malaysia though we are still 20 years behind other nations like Germany:)

• Harrycnut on Feb 27, 2010 at 12:43 am

I agree that the test done at 30km/h is not that realistic. A test double that (60km/h) would be more realistic…

But even at 30km/h, its scary to see the dummy's head move violently in the slo-mo shot. imagine what an impact at 60km/h would do…

• kimi_ on Feb 27, 2010 at 12:44 am

Spica said,

February 26, 2010 @ 1:43 pm

—————————–————————————–

MADLY agree !!! perhaps next time we should clap hand when we saw

accident on the road side instead of helping them….

• Calwin (Member) on Feb 27, 2010 at 12:46 am

I still agree with those who said that the crash should have been done above 60kmh. The standard EuroNCAP testing procedure requires a 40mph (64km/h) frontal crash test speed. I know most of this is for Study and all… but why give the MPV 4 STARS for a 30kmh crash? Is this the kinda standards were setting? If so how are we going to make Malaysia a regional hub for crash testing with these standards? MyVAP would be regarded unreliable by international automakers.

Anyhow, this looks like a good beginning.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 27, 2010 at 12:47 am

Wow.with only one crash,alza achieve 4 star rating.although this car 'achieve' 4 star,but alza can't be catogerized as an mpv

• littleboy on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:11 am

congrat. to P2 tats mean Alza safe…..can absorb 30kph's crash in reality…..good tumb's up….

• mitlanevo on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:15 am

lame………………

• 30km/hr?? not realistic speed la…..

I think many malaysian drivers are driving faster than 30km/hr, even at neighborhood area. Dont believe, try it out yourself…..

• Arcane (Member) on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:17 am

A crash at just 30 km/h and a child wouldn't have survived?

Talk about what a 'safe' vehicle the Alza is.

• i want safer driver on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:24 am

I notice almost everyone here dont agree with the test speed of 30km/h. Hey! you all prove it.. Malaysian really really love speeding!! I think to the smarter driver, this test shows what 30km/h does to the car, and the trailer. So imagine what happen at 60, 80 or 120km/h. Just use the multiplication table can do

• starto on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:24 am

it will be another boom in alza sales.

• Anonymous on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:26 am

Ye la 30km/h just to entertain the VIP under the arabic tent. If they do 60km/h like NPCAP, debris will fly all over the place,+ Perodua don't want to show this Alza in serious damage, shame to them la.

My guess.

I feel more like expo rather than a crash test…..

Anyway, good start for MIROS.

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:52 am

"MIROS also revealed its plans to make Malaysia a regional hub for crash testing where auto makers can perform various crash tests for vehicles that are specific to the region.

Answer: It must have recognition from global such as ADAC, EuroNCAP, JPNCAP, ANCAP and even from Middle East NCAP and others related organizations.

If not, sorry. I'm not going to trust. Just like this crash test, only 30km/h? Come on, minimum 64km/h 40% offset – frontal collision or 56km/h full front impact. There are many other crash test involved….

Anyway, good luck for getting global recognition…. soon?

• aki_zz on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:57 am

they conducted this test at MIAT, as told by paul. in front of people, maybe to showcase that MIROS is doing this kind of stuff. the real facility is still under construction, as told by paul. but maybe they forgot to put the lorry handbrakes on :P

people please read the article thoroughly before commenting

• Looks like MIROS didnt take all the necessary requirements with audience to close. What happens if a component from the flies and hit a person?

The test should be conducted in a controlled lab.

• theanswer on Feb 27, 2010 at 2:22 am

64kmh should be done inside test lab i guess. not outside with spectators. and for 30kmh i think the airbag and abs wont function. plus miros dont want to use 64kmh speed because the dummy might damage…

"Hybrid III and ES-2 are no ordinary driver and passenger: these are steel-skeletoned, rubber-skinned dummies packed with sensing equipment. To build, they each cost in excess of €100,000." (source:ncap)

• "Although the impact occurred at 30 km/h which is a speed level most of us use while driving in a shopping mall’s parking lot"

Why's everyone complaining that the speed is so low? The test only good for cars travelling in shopping malls mah … not applicable for other crash realities :P

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss on Feb 27, 2010 at 2:44 am

it's a good start, though it should be done at real market standard test…

now i hope the seat belt n baby car seat will be implemented n no more joke tat a 5 seater can carry 7/8 people n the remaining can go ahead with no seat belt…

and as usual, we c P1 n Malaysia basher…

• lebak on Feb 27, 2010 at 2:49 am

Not bad,kuat juga body alza ni ya.Impressed!!!

• casey_c on Feb 27, 2010 at 2:54 am

I can see the front door probably may not able to be open smoothly. Can someone comment on this after studying the video clip thoroughly?

Paul did they use force to open the doors after the crash test??

If so Alza is a 4 Star "Ulta" chassis.

• niuhje on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:00 am

I applaud MIROS for finding ways to minimise casualties fr smashes… but the real problem here is that too many under-qualified drivers are put on the road each year through the endemicly corrupt driving school/exam system. No point building tougher cars or putting more airbags if the cars are gonna get totalled by incompetency or recklessness. It's the system which is failing or has failed, not the car. Ppl crash cars… cars are inanimate! Unless of course it's a Toyota… that's another story.

• syabas pro2 kerana berani melakukan test tersebut..30km mmg memadai..after break xkn 60km lg kut..mesti lh bawah 30km kn..so jd ikut blakang lori hehehe..

• arwah le..hehehe..

• halim T on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:12 am

Anyway it a good start!!!!. hopefully there is no more crap car dump in Malaysia….

Go go go MIROS…well done

• Jackie on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:13 am

hi guys,

I'm at MIAT where the place that they did the test,

actually its a good move for us in Malaysia to have that kind of test on our local car.

the trailer that they put is not exactly a real trailer but it is a wheel with a loader that look like a 6-tonne stationary trailer (including load).

thats why when alza hit at the back of that trailer the yellow block on the trailer is moving forward.

hope after this more car model do this this test with higher speed.

all the best & good luck…

• automotive designer on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:24 am

here the video of Exora. and how the real crash test should look like. :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGDU36NxSYQ

• You guys maybe wondering why crash test speed 30km/h? It's simple. If it's 64km/h there won't be any spare part left to put into other car! LOL

• Noname on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:42 am

'Good good' indeed 'very good' crash test at outdoor to show to the public!

2 purposes they did that: first is to show how safe it is when driving Alza, after crashed, will it hurt the passengers?

second is try to market the vehicle so called MPV also people car.

Well, this is unrealistic crash test as most of the people here know about it. If thats call 4 star ratings at local what about Exora? Alza should also do side and rollover crash test. I bet Alza side crash won't pass. hahaha. Exora body is harder than Alza. Alza dont dare to crash its front at speed of 56km/h. Scare nanti takut ppl then sales immediately drop. If u guys have seen Exora crash test. It is close to realistic and its results are acceptable.

• i have one question, while most other manufacturer need to bang their car 6-7 times so that they can get 3 star or 4 or 5 (front, side, roll, bla bla bla…), this car only need to undergo only one test and achieve 4 star with a slow speed, 30kmh is like you bang the lorry using bicycle… plus, i dont even remember seeing any other crash test that let people to see it at that distant, what happen if the tyre hit the spectators?? other than they already know that the crash test is too slow and it confirm will not do anything bad to spectators/this is just a marketing gimmick… :p

• nudin on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:46 am

ala this just for kesedaran kepada umum..about 30km when accident

and unfortunately ppl still clap..this maybe new for them but gov should educate like this to win on OPS sikap.They dont use p1 because nowdays p1 product hv crash test

• sharviin sasasey on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:57 am

if 60km/H?

• prolover on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:06 am

Look the different between the test unit Alza with the real one…..

yes……the tyre size….

The tire using in the test is more bigger than the real one…

and 30km/j for the test….

eeemmm…. i think its the safer speed for outside crash test….

• Spica on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:09 am

why such a fuss when the car speed only 30km/h and the truck moving? I think its just a demonstration for students and public. You want the glass and steel splatter around and hit spectator?

• turbo on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:20 am

if more than 60knh, how many vehicle passenger can survive?? this is a 6 tonnes trailer.

if they invented a car that is safe to crash at 60kmh, ppl will drive at 200kmh , because they feel safe.

• Dark Magicians on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:26 am

Too bad~

No quality at all.

Will the sales of Alza become better n better, surely NO.

For me, I buy EXORA better than this mpv.

• I want all malaysia car have Crash Test by MIROS. Paul, can i see video for Exora crash test by MIROS? Tq

• vincent on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:47 am

"A propulsion system featuring a 2.5L Nissan RB engine…"

Very interesting….

The RB series from Nissan powers the Skyline series of cars. And now it's powering the pulleys? I wonder if the twin turbo's are there..

• Ayamas on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:58 am

last time some paultan visitor mention to Produa to do crash test by sending to MIROS.. then it come true..haha..

who's next?

Viva?

• Ayamas on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:05 am

then Perodua will use this test as it's Alza Crash Test…

but remember, who drive 30mh/h on highway???? i myself at least constant 110kh/h..autocruise..

• wolfsburg on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:10 am

30kmh 100% frontal crash??? Are they kidding?

• InGeNiEuRs on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:18 am

Downgrade car should use 'downgrade crash test'

to MIROS engineer & researcher.. this is Malaysian Standard for crash test???

the reality is, malaysian accelerate more than 30km/h.. so the result is totally rubbish..

RUBBISH IN = RUBBISH OUT…

so, malaysian will confidently drive this car at high speed, by hope they are safe..but if the accident happened, the statistic will increase..because they carry more passanger than usual..

next time, try to do the test based on real condition, ask JPJ what is the most speed that malaysian like to accelerate… dont waste money.. ask perodua to supply the cars..

• Annihilated on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:21 am

One step further for the road-safety standard in Malaysia. Eventually, they must go on par with other world standards to become a regional crash test center.

Not bad. Good job for bunch of fresh grads that join MIROS abt 2-yrs ago without any experience in any auto industry – most of them.

• Annihilated on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:22 am

or was it 3-yrs ago.. i'm getting old..

• fatsen on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:54 am

…. FOLLOW THE TRAFFIC RULES…. LESS ACCIDENT

• IMHO, if a car that weights less than 1 tonne crashes into something that weights like 6 tones, the 6 tonnes should not be moving at all.

This test is flawed for that reason and for using speeds below normal crash-test which is like 60km/h

• xenith (Member) on Feb 27, 2010 at 6:27 am

Don't people read the article before commenting? With so many people bashing Miros and Perodua, we should instead applaud these moves by Miros and think ''finally''.

• 2 cents on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:02 am

Just my 2 cents

From what I read from the article.. I supposed this test is to simulate the condition on the highway.. then it is also to simulate a collision to the rear of the trailer.. from this you can conclude 2 items.. both cars are moving and in the same direction.. therefore.. if you assume that the Trailer is moving at 80km/h while the car (the Alza in this case) is moving at 110km/h.. since both cars are moving in the same direction.. then the relative speed of the trailer and car would be 30km/h… i think this might be the reason for the test to be conducted at this speed… please correct me if i am wrong.. it's only my assumption after all

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:18 am

30kph is for airbag deploy criteria..Full frontal EuroNCAP should be 64kph..

after this must send viva to miros, with 20kph simply get 5star..hahahaha

• Neutral on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:22 am

good start Miros! some readers not aware on how Miros rank Alza and Exora 4 Star,they thought that by doing this test at 30km/hr will result 4 star. Perhaps Miros will do some explanation to M'sian what is 4 star,how to rank and what is the important of such activity. Congrats P2 on ur cert n braveness to show the test on public.

ps:I think the applause is to celebrate successful of the 1st open crash event la guys

• 30 km/h ?

Euro NCAP is tested at 30 mph, how do a perodua stand that speed, just give up trying to cheat people

• Infinitt on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:56 am

it is good to have this kind of test carried by our local agent. however, what is their next action then? lets say the car failed, will they ask the manufacture to stop? so scary ..dont play2..so next test? exora please..but with high speed

• Hdriver on Feb 27, 2010 at 8:06 am

Why 30km/h? Simple, to prevent the car from badly damage so that they can repair then sell it as new car.

• bmpower on Feb 27, 2010 at 8:10 am

P2 : I give this Alza to you, you make a crash test.

Miros : OK

P2 : but make sure not too much damage ah!

Miros : Err.. but how?

P2 : Erm, just make it as slow as 20kmh.

Miros : Ok, we make 30 lah..

P2 : Ok, make sure only bumper and bonnet broken, not all the car ahhh.. else, you gotta pay us.

Miros : OK!..

P2 cannot sell this car, that's why they try to cheat Malaysian more.

pity P2 fan, you're cheated well again!

Cheap skate propaganda by p2.

• freedome on Feb 27, 2010 at 8:59 am

why 30 km/h, we know that all accident that happen are more than that

do you thing if we drive at 100 km/h and hit the brake on that distance

and the car speed down to 30 km/h nonsense

if the car can survive in that car test but as we know in the real crash

the car should be like aluminum can just right now

if 30 km/h the car just like that…how about 100 km/h may be the drive

is under the trailer

• hitman on Feb 27, 2010 at 9:34 am

many of us seem to underestimate the dangers of driving.

we belittle the speed of 30km/h, yet we fail to realise that even at this "slow" speed, the threat of a fatality or extremely serious injury is HIGH.

Yes the trailer moved. The trailer weighed 2 tonnes and an object weighing 4 tonnes was even placed on top of it.

The fact that it did move should scare the daylights out of drivers considering the speed of impact was only 30km/h.

Looking at the damage sustained at 30km/h, I'm guessing that at a "slow" speed of 60km/h, there probably won't be much of the front passengers left.

• asgard on Feb 27, 2010 at 10:20 am

the cheapest manual alza doent even hv airbags and abs ebd,without them i`m sure not survive this crash even in 30km/h

• PTAllTheBest on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:14 pm

i lolz~ stupid and low grade test crash…

pls conduct at higher speed to justify the result… this 30km/h test is not very appealing

• waimak on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Great. Hope this will shut those mouths..

• littlefire on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:22 pm

A lot of ppl here talk like Pro tester, why not take ur car and slam it 30km/h behind a lorry? See whether ur car survive or not… This is just a beginning test for our local tester and P2 have sponsor a car for test. What the big hoo haa? U want time for P1 to strive, why not for these local tester?

• ezralimm on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:26 pm

"vast difference in geographical, infrastructural, political, and social environments."

A lab is a lab. 1+1 = 2. Science. Numbers. Concrete observations. Those factors cant possibly affect a crash test.

• Mysticmind on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Funny…

now who want to believe this Alza is a safe car?

Lol!.. All p2 supporter rising their hand! lol.

Sooo clumsy are they, so easy to be cheat!

What ever it's..

It's still rubbish car that already downgraded too much from original settle.

• jambol on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:22 pm

dia orang nie sebenarnya main-main ajer,saje nak langgar alza nie kat blakang lori.yang ramai-ramai tue suku sakat dia orang jer……..heheheh just kidding…..LOL

• BudakKampung on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Aku budak kampung pn boleh compare crash test yg Miros buat dengan P1 buat di Idiada Spain….30km hehehe…lawak bodoh jerrr….

#Nak tengok yang Jepun buat crash test tuk alza….P2 x da video ka?? kasi tunjuk laaa….

• mokkf82 on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:35 pm

I agree that frontal impact should be something solid and not movable, if not most of the impact collision will be absorb by that movement. Exora's crash test is what i believe to be more appropriate and more convincing.

Sorry to say, Alza is not to the standard yet, but it's good to show their air bag is working.

• low2215 on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Ai yah .. i think they are testing the underrun mechanism … thats why they use a truck , install that underrun system .. andf let the alza crash on it.. not to test how effective alza crash rating .. but that underrun system….

from there they probably will study the data and may enforce all truck to install that mechanism …

30km is probably due to max legal speed of a truck on HW… .. 80km/h ..

and car…110km/h…

• Eric Foong on Feb 27, 2010 at 6:06 pm

At last malaysia had it's own crash test facility, so that next time those national car manufacturer won't have a chance to make Milo tin car. Should set a standard of crash test for every new model of national car to be archieve before it launch to the market.

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 27, 2010 at 6:29 pm

I would commend them in making the initiative. However this is too little done, a little too late.

They could have been able to replicate an NCAP, IIHS type crash if they wanted to, but choose not to for whatever reason. I'm not going to nitpick on the details of thier crash, but if they are really serious about this, they should doing a standard equvalence test. Or perhaps, Malaysia has some other (lower) standard to follow.

I'm not going to say this is not a representative test, but this test can simulate a normal low speed fender bender where speeds are about 30kmh.

Being a government agency, they should be able to procure all sorts of cars tax free for thier crash purposes.

• JULIAN_LEE on Feb 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm

PERODUA FAIL AS USUAL!

BMW CRASH TEST BETTER

• The Reader on Feb 27, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Hi all, I believe 30KM/H is for the impact speed when the driver tried the best effort to break at high speed. Don't tell me the driver suppose to ram to the lorry at 60KM/H or 100KM/H without breaking ? It can happen but not realistic also, unless all malaysian drivers are kamikaze.

• mirsy on Feb 27, 2010 at 6:40 pm

"30km is probably due to max legal speed of a truck on HW… .. 80km/h ..

and car…110km/h…"

A sensible voice finally…… everyone forget about relative speed.

If anything more that 50 km/h hit a stationery thing, only god or luck (for those who don't believe) can save you.

Cheers Low2215

• aiyoo.. now scare to buy alza. not because of it safety but because afraid that i get the one used in the crash test. p2 need to comeout with assurance and press released that they not gonna sell the alza used in crash test to customer as new car. lol.

• Civic 2.0 club on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:15 pm

why 30km/h?? i think if they use in 80-100km/h

the car will be distroy!!!

misry you are right

• buttercity on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Will Perodua put up this test 4-STAR 'achievement' in their ads?

• bolehboleh on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Congratulations. We have re-invented the wheel again and want to create another "hub" of some sort eg manufacturing hub, testing hub, motorsports hub, supercorridor hub etc…. Its the same old story all over again.. copy, make kepoh its the first in Malaysia and then dream off making hubs…

Why make a crash test hub in malaysia? for the regional use? manufacturers spend billions on their own crash test facility, do WE.. just because we will be the hub of crash testing after doing it the first or second time want to validate their findings? Common lah.. get real…

And to the silly dude in red clapping his hands after the crash.. you are lucky that the catapult engine didnt over rev and have the speed unexpectedly go beyond the 30km/h target speed or the car or payload on the lorry (which was obviously not secured enough) didnt hempap u dead man.. thats why in all european, american and japanese crash test videos.. people dont hang around the crash site so close…. dude, you have violated god knows how many occupational health and safety legislations!!!.. you might as well be the crash test dummy.

• bolehboleh on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:28 pm

And to the gomen agancies…

just enforce world standards on vehicle design and safety in Malaysia… invest in enforcement instead of looking to buy new expensive toys all the time….. some people sure making money and retirement benefits from this for sure….

• Saw some video clips on dis. turbo few years back, testing smart for two crsah test using cable n dummy against range rover at 80 km speed. The result are stunning that such a small car , safety feature are so safe that such speeds the driver should survive. The impact also wrecks the r rover as much as the smart. but for driver n passenger should survive from the xcident (Theorically)

Here ,they P1 nP2 should do the same kind of speed as a guide.30km/h any old can run faster than that.

Just my 2 cents.

• Jimmy Dean on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Good effort. Although I prefer an indoor test facility with multiple angle crash test options, this is a good start.

• Jumbsuck on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:42 pm

This is a good step by MIROS. JPJ, banks, insurance companies can use the results to determine how much road tax, interest loan rates, insurance premium slapped for high risk cars.

Next step is fuel efficiency test and carbon dioxide/CO2 emission test.

All of these factors should be used to form of comprehensive car tax system (total score points) rather than the current 'blanket' form of car duties taxes which is unsolved mystery so far.

Every new cars must be fairly taxed (on top of duty-free selling price) and to promote safer, cleaner, efficient cars in the market national or non-national cars. Quality cars must be rewarded and promoted, not punished.

New Malaysia Car Tax System:

1. Safety rating points

2. Fuel efficiency points (km/litre)

3. CO2 emission points (CO2 gram/km)

The higher points the more new car tax you pay:

Safety ratings tax band: 0 star maximum tax RM20,000 to 5 star free tax

Fuel efficiency tax band (or petrol tax): 0-10km/litre maximum tax RM20,000 to above 50km/litre free tax

CO2 emission tax band: below 100 gram of CO2/km free tax, 100-150 gram/km RM5000, 150-200 gram/km RM10,000, above 200 gram/km RM20,000

RM20,000 exactly the level of each non-national being overpriced compare to national cars so it is just to correct the mismatch in artificial car market like ours.

What say you Proton and Perodua? Saga at RM25K and Viva at RM20K?

• Kevin Lau on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:46 pm

…at 30km/hr the car still can be salvaged back and repaired for reselling again

…at 80km/hr, perodua image can not be salvaged back if the result is bad

even top marathoner runs around 20-22km/hr so what is 30km/hr man!

• wheeler on Feb 27, 2010 at 8:08 pm

if crash was done at 60kmh on a non-moving barrier, perodua would know the result wont be as good as this. and spectator jaw will open-wide and alza sales will drop.

hence… this gimmick 30kmh with a handbrake-down trailer.

fag and loser. perodua and all those that comment above !

• c14man on Feb 27, 2010 at 8:27 pm

moral of the story: getting involved in an accident at only as low as 30km/h may be fatal to your 3 month old child.

so drive carefully folks!!

• elpaciko on Feb 27, 2010 at 8:29 pm

bolehboleh….

i think u the one who is stupid….

didnt ever heard something called "outdoor crash test" ? never watch Discovery channel?

Typical stupid Malaysian mentality….

• willpower on Feb 27, 2010 at 9:54 pm

The windscreen even remained intact & unhurted…amazing

• someone from gov on Feb 27, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Annihilated said,

February 26, 2010 @ 9:21 pm

One step further for the road-safety standard in Malaysia. Eventually, they must go on par with other world standards to become a regional crash test center.

Not bad. Good job for bunch of fresh grads that join MIROS abt 2-yrs ago without any experience in any auto industry – most of them.

wow..u know miros well huh..who r u anyway? dont talk like you are the experts here..be more mindful and appreciate others.

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 27, 2010 at 10:20 pm

kahkahkah..

all P2 gays tried really hard to defend on this stupid 30kmh test..

stupid tin milo alza for stupid P2 Gays…

slow2 xciden lori babi pun muka suda penyek.. apa macam???

babi punya alza..

• S.Roma on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Dear All,

Pos comment – good, at least we got our own standard for crash test. will it be similar to Euro Ncap Crash test?

Neg comment – stupid G, why invent something that will be the rakyats waste of $? U create anyting la, in the end people die also in malaysian car !

PS – will u be consume by the darkness?

• SSaturn on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:07 pm

30 KM/h Crash test? lol oh my god

Euro NCAP Crash Test

"Frontal impact test is based on that developed by European Enhanced Vehicle-safety Committee as basis for legislation, but impact speed has been increased by 8 km/h.

Frontal impact takes place at 64kph (40mph), car strikes deformable barrier that is offset. "
    http://www.euroncap.com/tests/frontimpact.aspx

This is hilarious!!

Malaysia Boleh.. 30km/h vs 64km/h

• sad proton owner on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Jack Hammer, 30kmh is slow? Yeah, it is.. but from someone who has seen a lot of accidents, that is "pretty normal" dmg for 30km/h. Of course from the looks it looks bad, take into consideration this is direct impact to the front, the energy no where else to go. You are just stupid, p2 gays la, lori babi la… Mouth dunno jaga? Shutup please, dont need your comments, your probably just a rempit who knows nothing. Go crash into a wall please.

• Alifz on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:27 pm

The underrun protection MUST be compulsory to all commercial lorries. If not we will see more death under the lorry.

• Tiadaid on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Could this test have anything to do with that horrendous crash involving the BMW crashing into a trailer on the highway a few weeks back?

• Arcane (Member) on Feb 28, 2010 at 12:20 am

sad proton owner said,

February 27, 2010 @ 3:25 pm

Of course from the looks it looks bad, take into consideration this is direct impact to the front, the energy no where else to go.

================

The damage could have been more severe, since the energy was absorbed by the 'trailer'. Something weighing 6-tonne moving forward due to the impact from a 30 km/h crash? See the variables at play here?

There's where the energy went. Who said no where else to go? That is why this test is flawed – the 'trailer' must be totally static.

You go figure.

• once a cheater, always a cheater…

• Tiadaid on Feb 28, 2010 at 12:48 am

Arcane said,

February 27, 2010 @ 4:20 pm

sad proton owner said,

February 27, 2010 @ 3:25 pm

Of course from the looks it looks bad, take into consideration this is direct impact to the front, the energy no where else to go.

================

The damage could have been more severe, since the energy was absorbed by the ‘trailer’. Something weighing 6-tonne moving forward due to the impact from a 30 km/h crash? See the variables at play here?

There’s where the energy went. Who said no where else to go? That is why this test is flawed – the ‘trailer’ must be totally static.

You go figure.

———————————–

142 comments, and no one read the article? The test is to see what would happen if one car hits a parked lorry equipped with an underrun system. This is NOT an Alza crash test! This is a practical test to see whether that system can help reduce damage to the crashed vehicle that's of lower height than the trailer. And the fact that the trailer isn't static when the car crashed into it is moot, since in a real life event of a car crashing into a trailer, the trailer WILL MOVE. Physics dictates that. Just try crashing two toy cars and you'll see the same crash effects.

• Please read the arti on Feb 28, 2010 at 12:56 am

——–

"Yesterday’s test focused on three aspects including analyzing the safety levels involving a child seated in a safety seat compared to a child wearing just the rear seat belt as well as analyzing the degree and type of casualties sustained by occupants of a vehicle involved in a rear-end collision with a parked or stationary commercial vehicle. It is NOT a crash test for the Perodua Alza, but it just so happens that they used an Alza.

The main focus was to study the effectiveness and level of damage sustained by an energy absorbing underrun protection system developed specifically for commercial vehicles. An underrun is made to absorb impact caused by a rear-end collision and it is compulsory for commercial vehicles. However many commercial vehicles out there don’t even use one and most use unspecified ones."

—————-

I'm pity harvinder. Wrote so much, but not many people really read and understood it.

• MBX Boy on Feb 28, 2010 at 2:46 am

1st, 30 km/h . NOT 64km/h (40 mph)

2nd, moving "wall" . NOT stationery wall.

3rd, full frontal crash. NOT offset crash.

CONCLUSION: THIS IS MARKETING SHOW. Most of us are smart enough to realise?

Hope MIROS is free from any "influence". I honestly hope that they are sincere and we'll see that this is the start of many more safety tests to come.

• MBX Boy on Feb 28, 2010 at 2:47 am

Alifz said,

February 27, 2010 @ 3:27 pm

The underrun protection MUST be compulsory to all commercial lorries. If not we will see more death under the lorry.

—————————————

TOTALLY AGREE!!

• asgard on Feb 28, 2010 at 3:30 am

dont buy alza, sure not safe for kids

• kopi-man on Feb 28, 2010 at 3:33 am

In the future, there will be MIROS standard for all local car, since this is the only way they try to convince some consumers who does not know what NCAP test is about.

The next voice, will be, we have our own standard, we dont want to follow others, why? because the drivers life is not as valuable as we perceived here. You die is due to your driving skill, who ask you to crash into a lorry? It is nothing to do with any of the car crashing safty, we have our MIROS standard that 30km/hr wont kill. Who ask you to drive so fast?

• At only 30kmh crash, the 3 years old child was dead because did not used safety seat. So imagine if impact with more than 80kmh crash to your car?

Now my 2 years old kid use baby seat. just hook with seatbelt to attach the seat because our cars did not have ISOFIX. So it will be more difficult if i want to use child booster seat for my kid when he 4 years old or above. where i can attach the child booster seat?

• Kepala Hangguk on Feb 28, 2010 at 3:55 am

Bodoh punya MIROS, wasting tax payers money on a 'half baked test', merely show boating…so that the Pengarah can keep his job and the gahmen don't shut them down. Another 'buang duit' agency.

Either do it at EuroNCAP standard, or don't bother doing it at all.

We, the rakyat, aren't 'crash test dummies'.

• UdinKhalid on Feb 28, 2010 at 5:08 am

Look at the airbag. We could see that the airbags were late to come out. It suppose to come out completely before the human's head go forward cause of the impact.

• Annihilated on Feb 28, 2010 at 5:46 am

someone from gov said,

February 27, 2010 @ 2:04 pm

No one, sufficient to say that I just know some of them and I know when Prof Radin first start building up the MIROS team.

• budlee on Feb 28, 2010 at 5:49 am

hmmm did anyone actually read the whole article?

go figure… only wan to bash wan…

its not a test to see how well Alza performs in crashes..

– its a test to test whether their testing system is working or not (and to show the public and world that they are able to do this)

– to show the importance of child safety seats

-to show the importance of energy absorbing underun

the one that paul highlighted.

"Yesterday’s test focused on three aspects including analyzing the safety levels involving a child seated in a safety seat compared to a child wearing just the rear seat belt as well as analyzing the degree and type of casualties sustained by occupants of a vehicle involved in a rear-end collision with a parked or stationary commercial vehicle. It is NOT a crash test for the Perodua Alza, but it just so happens that they used an Alza.

The main focus was to study the effectiveness and level of damage sustained by an energy absorbing underrun protection system developed specifically for commercial vehicles. An underrun is made to absorb impact caused by a rear-end collision and it is compulsory for commercial vehicles. However many commercial vehicles out there don’t even use one and most use unspecified ones

for me, the last objective is very important. Come now and see how many accidents on the road involving vehicles and parked trailers. Most of this cars went under the trailer. Most of the passenger died because they got decapitated. I do wish that this energy absorbing underun is installed in every lorry, heck I am okay if they install any barrier that prevents the car from going under the lorry,

• Annihilated on Feb 28, 2010 at 6:04 am

someone from gov said,

February 27, 2010 @ 2:04 pm

..also, my apology if I were not sensitive to others esp MIROS employee. I intended to applaud MIROS for their effort in the 1st place..

don't take it hard buddy. ;)

• hitman on Feb 28, 2010 at 7:55 am

the test was not conducted to evaluate the alza in an accident.

it was to evaluate the lorry's rear under run protection system and potential injury to passengers.

all this rambling about euroncap is pointless when the crash test was not intended for the vehicle.

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 28, 2010 at 8:53 am

budlee said,

February 27, 2010 @ 9:49 pm

– its a test to test whether their testing system is working or not (and to show the public and world that they are able to do this)

– to show the importance of child safety seats

-to show the importance of energy absorbing underun

ya, most of us knew it was not a proper crashtest for alza..

so,

yur point:

they just wanna test their equipments & try to educate people about child safety & show some physics theories… rite?

and….

WALLA!!! 4-STAR MyVAP RATINGS!!! just becoz their equipment works! and spectators entertained with their shows…. prfthhhhh…

c'mon laaa..

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 28, 2010 at 9:09 am

in order to obtain IDIADA 4-star ratings

EXORA need to pass 12 various stages of test..

32 EXORA been crashed during the test..

so,

it's funny when ALZA only need a single test (30km/h crash with lorry babi)..

using a single car (is MPV prfthhh) to obtain 4-STAR RATINGS!!!!!

aiyoooo..

• They should actually follow more "international" standards. Crashing the car full head on doesn't really reveal the structural weakness as the impact is well distributed.

Most crash test are done by crashing the car aimed at 1 half of the hood, either left or right. To know the car's true structural rigidity, I think that's why those people at EuroNCAP crash the cars that way.

Seeing the Alza taking the impact quite well but, at 30 km/h? Shouldn't it be 30mph/about 48 km/h?

Whatever it is. I still can't see how this car can survive a "proper" (EuroNCAP) crash test with at least 4 stars.

Someone please send it there. LOL.

Whether this test is aiming to test the vehicle or not, I still think consumers have the right to demand footages of a proper crash test of the cars they are about to buy to know how safe is the car they are about to buy.

Nobody agree?

• rezcreep on Feb 28, 2010 at 10:15 am

no wonder lah its look fine..remember that alza use daihatsu/toyota rnd for reduece impact of the front crash…hehehe..if p2 can produce thier own car 100% i will amazed…more then 15 years but nothing totally from them…

• elite on Feb 28, 2010 at 1:39 pm

not suprised coz our govt agencies are a joke

• anak dato' kk on Feb 28, 2010 at 3:00 pm

wait n see the real situation when this so-called "car n MPV" hit the back of bas express or lori tepi jalan. Can it survive? hmmm…..

• Arcane (Member) on Feb 28, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Ok fine, in Alza's defence somebody insisted that this test was done to study the underrun protection system.

Then why did MIROS used the Alza to crash into the underrun? If this test was indeed meant ONLY for the underrun study, shouldn't MIROS crash a simulation or analogue (like a concrete block on wheels) into it, like how NCAP, IDIADA, etc. test side-impact protection? It will be cheaper that way right?

Clearly MIROS intended to study the effect of the vehicle crashing into it also. My only concern is why did they crash it at 30 km/h? Sure, we can all speculate, but MIROS should have stated the reason(s) why the test was conducted at this speed.

And like Jackhammer said, 'all out of a sudden' they awarded Exora and Alza 4-stars MyVAP ratings.

To prove that I read the article thoroughly, let me state the following points:

When was these tests that awards the MyVAP ratings conducted? Where are the videos? How do they actually rate the test results? Especially when their closed, in-door testing facility was still under construction in Malacca?

Not to forget, this underrun-crash study was MIROS' SECOND test, after a test conducted involving a car and a motorcycle in January. Neither Exora nor the Alza was mentioned. So, how DO they award these vehicles 4-star ratings?

Finally, here's another thought to ponder: The Alza was meant to serve as a family vehicle – so inevitably a family with young children will buy it, as per stated by Perodua when the study the potential market segment for the Alza. Hence, a crash at 30km/h on a non-static trailer means that a child would not have survived?

Go figure.

• Kepala Hangguk on Feb 28, 2010 at 6:15 pm

MIROS – show boating agency, conducting 'play' test. Other road safety agencies have conducted more test, with internationally recognized standard, without the drama.

Either employ real professional to do the job, or just close shop. MIROS, just another Proton, buang masa, buang duit!

• Hangguk la sgt on Feb 28, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Kepala Hangguk said,

February 28, 2010 @ 10:15 am

Kepala hangguk..? u r really kepala hangguk la..

"Other road safety agencies have conducted more test, with internationally recognized standard, without the drama" – Do you know that MIROS was established on 3rd jan 2007..it's been about 2 and a half years since then…go visit the website to get to know more about MIROS..what do you expect from this young org?? for me, it is a good start..and if you read the article clearly, it is not a crash test, it is to test the underrun protection…

if you have better ideas, spurt that out loudly, don't just making worthless comments like that again..n if u r good enough..set up ur own crash test n we'll see after that..

and for those who don't know what is MYVAP, please fo to MIROS website "http://www.miros.gov.my/web/guest/events?p_p_id=101_INSTANCE_d3Jk&p_p_lifecycle=0&p_p_state=normal&p_p_mode=view&p_p_col_id=rightbar&p_p_col_pos=1&p_p_col_count=4&_101_INSTANCE_d3Jk_struts_action=/tagged_content/view_content&_101_INSTANCE_d3Jk_redirect=/web/guest/events&_101_INSTANCE_d3Jk_assetId=26373. "

FYI, this test has nothing with the MYVAP star rating.

• botak on Feb 28, 2010 at 9:36 pm

when comparing the real scenario coupled with real Malaysian driver habit, there's no safe to ride the car. For safety adhere to speed limit.

• JoeBlade on Feb 28, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Kepala hangguk..? u r really kepala hangguk la..

“Other road safety agencies have conducted more test, with internationally recognized standard, without the drama” – Do you know that MIROS was established on 3rd jan 2007..it’s been about 2 and a half years since then…go visit the website to get to know more about MIROS..what do you expect from this young org?? for me, it is a good start..and if you read the article clearly, it is not a crash test, it is to test the underrun protection…

if you have better ideas, spurt that out loudly, don’t just making worthless comments like that again..n if u r good enough..set up ur own crash test n we’ll see after that..

and for those who don’t know what is MYVAP, please fo to MIROS website &ldquo ;http://www.miros.gov.my/web/guest/events?p_p_id=101_INSTANCE_d3Jk&p_p_lifecycle=0&p_p_state=normal&p_p_mode=view&p_p_col_id=rightbar&p_p_col_pos=1&p_p_col_count=4&_101_INSTANCE_d3Jk_struts_action=/tagged_content/view_content&_101_INSTANCE_d3Jk_redirect=/web/guest/events&_101_INSTANCE_d3Jk_assetId=26373. ”

FYI, this test has nothing with the MYVAP star rating.

—————————————————————

you must be a staff of this 'show boating' agency who felt it was your responsibility to respond, how sad.

Regardless of how you putt it, defended it, regardless of how many years or how young this dwindling 'civil servant' agency is, its NO excuse.

Either show results, or 'tutup kedai'. Period.

If this was part of NKRA or GTP, the the government has failed.

If MIROS was a REAL company, then the Pengarah down to the staff would have been fired for being damn slow in implementing or driving transport vehicle safety.

Excuses is easy you government servant, but action speaks louder. So rather than getting into this forum and trying to refute, we rather have you working 24 hours improving things in MIROS.

You run your operation on public funds, not your grandfather money, so do it well.

• they should do that test with Malaysian proper speed (160km/h++)..haha..its all about your driving behavior..you being fast, you hit something fast and you die fast..just simple as that.."bertimbang rasa dan ingatlah orang yang tersayang..anda mampu mengubahnya"..1Malaysia.. (^_^)

• so every time u hit someone at 35km/h in front of your house and you have to change your air bag?..that thing not cheap lor..the airbag should deploy at 60 right?..

• shidan on Mar 01, 2010 at 12:05 am

this all just wayang to all people outside there ….MIROS just to set up their own crash test lab so need 'Daddy' to do that if wait gov ..may a lot of paper work kot…..p2 want alza to become BOOM like myvi ..

Moral of story..this is the real life :

alza will b like this :
    http://www.hmetro.com.my/myMetro/articles/Suamiis…

• chiewwl on Mar 01, 2010 at 4:21 am

sent Alza and other p1 and p2 to NCAP….and see the results…

• ezralimm on Mar 01, 2010 at 5:26 am

oh ffs ppl, this is not about P1 or P2.

What's so wrong about a country having it's own test facility?

It's just a freaking test lab.

• if 30 km/h could do that… i can't imagine at higher speeds.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

hahahahaha….agree. nothing impressive about the car though. this should be a norm a long time ago. the myvi isn’t very safe for a start. but still more safe than p1.

this guy is big joke–or another produa salesmen guess

im driving a waja manufactured 2000 & was hit by a new myvi sometimes ago…guess what?

only the painting of my waja's back bumper got scratched….

the myvi that hit my waja?

its front lamp compartment is already in bad condition & looks likes a pile of scrapped metal

• these proton bashers who talk big here should conduct a "real test" by slamming their "proven" Myvi/etc to any proton waja/savvy/new saga (yes i mean these models only as its the only proton models with solid&rigid bodyframe as i know until now)..exora?no idea…

& should observe the the "real result from the real impact heads-on"

hahahahahha…dont dare to test it?

STUPID

• azrai on Mar 01, 2010 at 3:53 pm

The Euro NCAP test is done like this; 1st they bought the car from the dealer just like ordinary buyer. Then they did the test without even the manufacturer know about it. In Malaysia, the manufacturer give it for free the car. So, the car sure will be tampered like more fortified in some points? No tranparency. We need the real car in the market.

• hanif on Mar 01, 2010 at 4:38 pm

The speed only 30km/h? Junk Alza. Try to make people proud on p2 product. try higher speed, solid object and see the result. Jangan jadi jaguh kampung la p2.

• amatku17 on Mar 01, 2010 at 4:51 pm

objektif ujian ini adalah untuk melihat kesan daripda pemasangan

alat underrun di bahagian bawah lori atau treller. Oleh kerana lori dan treller mempunyai ruang yang luas di belakang gandar, banyak kereta yang melanggar dari belakang, terperosok di bawahnya. Pemandu @ penumpang cedera @ maut kerana ditindih oleh bumbung keretanya.

Maka dengan pemasangan alat underrun di bumper lori@treller, kereta yang melanggar dr belakang tidak akan terperosok. Jenis kereta yang yang melanggar tidak penting kerana sudah diuji dengan direct collosion test oleh manufacturer masing2.

• madimat on Mar 01, 2010 at 5:11 pm

I saw an Alza driven at >120kmh at NKVE, zipping in and out of traffic lanes, all seats filled. If at only 30kmh it suffers this kind of damage, imagine what happen if that driver (and his whole family or friends in that car) hit the back of a stationary trailer. Total damage. Wreckage. Dangling metal plus human body parts. Blood. A foolish act by an egoistic maniac.

• learner on Mar 01, 2010 at 5:28 pm

shidan said,

February 28, 2010 @ 4:05 pm

this all just wayang to all people outside there ….MIROS just to set up their own crash test lab so need ‘Daddy’ to do that if wait gov ..may a lot of paper work kot…..p2 want alza to become BOOM like myvi ..

Moral of story..this is the real life :

alza will b like this :
    http://www.hmetro.com.my/myMetro/articles/Suamiis…

i condolence to the couple. even though it is unethical to show something like this here since the accident is very fresh, but now i really question the 30kmj speed they used in the test. i believe that myvi have killed the couple not at the speed of 30kmj. real life situation even some says 30kmj is actually the the impact of vehicles traveling at 110kmj with 80kmj = 30kmj, but in really most of the case of fatality is not at 30kmj. even statistics of accidents involve trailer or lorry at highway happen when the vehicle is stationery.

• learner on Mar 01, 2010 at 5:36 pm

oh one more thing, at that speed, not even ABS or airbag can save the life. lesson: drive according to speed limit. if at highway, don't drive at emergency lane laaa, if not how can kiss the lorry butt. i believe those that kiss the lorry butt at emergency lane is those that beneath inside the heart already embedded with attitude of driving at emergency lane during rush hour, but of cause many reasons also can be the cause.

• initial R on Mar 01, 2010 at 5:42 pm

MIROS do crash test was good intention but the reality is crash happen not around 30km/h…. like this crash test was only for entertaiment only. Let's say like this, normaly we see the trailer broke down & park at the side of the the road or highway… put the worse scenario like the trailer hazard light not clear & thing happen around 11.30am to 1.30pm. The road clear with most car traveling around 110km/h. suddenly let's say this ALZA "terbabas sedikit" from road, he/she see the trailer & hit the break but still hit the back of the lorry. All passanger got seriously injure & some are kill coz the colision hit normaly above 40km/h. Still the data shown that even at car park, the accident happen normaly around 40km/h. That at car park & normal trailer broken park at highway scenario… not to mention u travel 110km/h on highway with distance 2 car ahead from front car & still u will hit it around 55km/h to 65km/h… Also please, just only 1 crash test on 30km/h with just only trailer park with normal load (still i doubt about the load) have recived 4 star ?????…. Pity….. I don't know if this are joke or "sarkas"….

• initial R on Mar 01, 2010 at 5:50 pm

1 more thing…. the load not "diikat" as normal load on trailer… so think your self…

• Eyesore on Mar 01, 2010 at 6:08 pm

paul… you should give p1 credits for this activity too…. the one who helped setup the test, the dummies and work until 12 am for the test are from P1…. p2 only supply the car… I'm suprise that MIROS did not even mention P1 contribution to this activity… ungrateful in my opinion…

ouh and btw littlefire… air bag does not deploy based on speed of you crash…. it depends on the impact of the crash, the G-Force recorded by accelerometers placed within the impact area.

• Peter on Mar 01, 2010 at 6:24 pm

What???? Testing at 30km/h???????????Thats nt even the standard test. Feels like this test is another crap? Why would u wan to test a car with a speed of 30km/h? At least 70km/h-90km/h………………Not an accurate test.

• > the airbag should deploy at 60 right?

Some C-NCAP tests showed that the driver and the front passengers already suffer quite a bit of chest and head injuries in a 50 kph relative-speed frontal impact. So, airbags should be deployed well below that speed to reduce the extent of injuries.

• ganz (Member) on Mar 01, 2010 at 7:15 pm

what ever test done in malaysia.. it all wrong kekeke

wonder.. we (Malaysian) have to many engineers, tech savvy people can talk lots of thing about cars, regulation, specification.. custom made car etc.. but why our car still looks stupid?

• KeretaJugaMPV??? heh on Mar 01, 2010 at 8:29 pm

hehehe..

Alza violate a lorry at the 30kmh speed?? joke / cheat test

• Paul Tan on Mar 01, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Eyesore – sorry, MIROS didn't mention anything about P1 at the event so we did not know. Maybe you can explain abit in detail what P1's involvement was in the comments here so we can know.

• really membazirkan duit rakyat. seriously. those crash test dummies are really expensive. those light bulbs are also expensive. MIROS patutnya test pada at least 60km/h. baru la rasa x membazir beli peralatan mahal mahal.

• aksMs on Mar 01, 2010 at 10:47 pm

JoeBlade said,

February 28, 2010 @ 3:13 pm

"Excuses is easy you government servant, but action speaks louder. So rather than getting into this forum and trying to refute, we rather have you working 24 hours improving things in MIROS.

You run your operation on public funds, not your grandfather money, so do it well."

—————————————————————-

I second you on this.

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 01, 2010 at 11:10 pm

MIROS.. great name..

but..

since this JV event with Perodua, no more respect from me..

unless do another real crash test.. same par with EuroNCAP..

no more 30km/h.. we are well educated..dont lie us..

• David-G on Mar 01, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Nice to see things like that going on :) Next thing they should try is a face on crash test… jus like how the TV show "Fith Gear" always do… then from there you can see :)

• Eyesore on Mar 01, 2010 at 11:41 pm

hehehe…paul, i can't really tell that.. well you know 'code of conduct' stuff… but maybe you you can ask about that to MIROS… like I said, it's really suprised me that they did not even mention P1 contribution in the event…

• Tiadaid on Mar 02, 2010 at 1:05 am

Here's a result of a similar test conducted in Australia in 2001. Note the speed. Not quite 60, not quite 30.

http://www.dvexperts.net/pubs/simulation_of_truck…

• Hantu jalan raye.. on Mar 02, 2010 at 1:19 am

Kira o.k lh 30km..klu 60km BMW pun bleh dok bawah lori beb…ko ingat 60km 2 mcm ko bwk basikal ke…xkn lh ko x break klu ade same thing kt depan (alza ade ABS lg )..lepas break xkn 60km lg bang..mesti lh 30km ke bawah..kecuali kete buruk yg xde break mmg akn langar terus je..so bg yg angap diri dia 2 engineer jgn lh p.k mcm org x pg sekolah..

• pomen_gtr on Mar 02, 2010 at 1:23 am

miros need more money to build the proper crash-facilities faster so they can test@64km/h crash with stationary concrete block with your beloved p1 and p2 cars…

bashers,

will u allow that your so called rakyat money to be used on that facilities???

or u will keep on bla bla bla….talk is cheap..typing is free…(i wonder if paultan will set a posting comments charge here) :lol:

• atuk uban on Mar 02, 2010 at 1:46 am

aiyoo test 30km jer…

kalo nk test pun biar la laju skitt..so yg speed slow2 ni bleh agak la kan mcm mana..

• MBX Boy on Mar 02, 2010 at 2:16 am

Hantu jalan raye.. said,

March 1, 2010 @ 5:19 pm

Kira o.k lh 30km..klu 60km BMW pun bleh dok bawah lori beb…ko ingat 60km 2 mcm ko bwk basikal ke…xkn lh ko x break klu ade same thing kt depan (alza ade ABS lg )..lepas break xkn 60km lg bang..mesti lh 30km ke bawah..kecuali kete buruk yg xde break mmg akn langar terus je..so bg yg angap diri dia 2 engineer jgn lh p.k mcm org x pg sekolah..

———————————

Bro, kalau pandu kereta 60km/h pastu tertidur, tu lah speed yang kita langgar, bukan kurang dari tu. Banyak kes terlanggar belakang treler tu sebab mengantuk, tertidur.

• MBX Boy on Mar 02, 2010 at 2:22 am

Here’s a result of a similar test conducted in Australia in 2001. Note the speed. Not quite 60, not quite 30.

http://www.dvexperts.net/pubs/simulation_of_truck…

———————————

Thank you for the doc. Crash tested at 48km/h and 75 km/h. 75km/h is a little more sensible!

• only 30km/h ??!!!

stupid people is stupid!

• Idiada Mali on Mar 02, 2010 at 3:24 am

Hemm….very interesting video you have there Paul. Thanks.

Only two comments;

1) Airbag volume (PAB) looks good.

2) Airbag fully inflated too early (based on Paul's video laa). Around 2 second before the car fully bottoming/crash.

Therefore, for this low speed crash, seatbelt with pretensioner playing their role.

Anyway, I know why MIROS only do 30km/h test, because they forgot to mount the dummy weight at the truck end. If they go for 64km/h sure that dummy weight terbang oneee……

• Paul Tan said,

March 1, 2010 @ 2:24 pm

Eyesore – sorry, MIROS didn’t mention anything about P1 at the event so we did not know. Maybe you can explain abit in detail what P1’s involvement was in the comments here so we can know.

——————————————————————

miros ..want to buy Hybrid3 dummy ..bt normal laa gov ..must go to saman somebody to get some money ..

so what miros do ..borrow p1 dummy (becoz i already saw the same dummy when p1 tech week last year) n also the same engineer gv spec on p1 techweek setting the dummy on alza …

so What MIROS do since now ?

just show their face n force p1 engineer wearing their thirst to set up dummy bcoz their cant..y? all people outsite there already know ..rite? ..just using our money for thier rubbish reseach …

• TESTDRIVER on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:16 am

Man, this is a slow speed crash test. What about high speed ? Perhaps just starting to learn and hope they inprove the test. Can't wait to see proton crash test !!!

• firefox on Mar 02, 2010 at 7:14 pm

it is a good start for malaysia car, btw the speed it is too low? tested on 35km/h? actually ppl want to see if the speed can go to 70-80km/h or above, this is a city drive speed ma…

• alvin on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:02 am

I wondering how is the passenger airbag are inflated as the Alza(premium) dashboard (one whole piece) do not have the airbag compartment as like other cars.

• OH MY GOES!PERODUA what happen to you?30km/h?ROLF X.X tolong lah at least Proton Exora send to Euro NCAP test specifications lah!54Km/h!they get a 4 star Euro NCAP equivalent of crash!haiz…PERODUA…haiz…

• Peter on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Agree with I said……

Exora being sent to ECAP test and awarded 4 star where 32 Exoras went in for the test. Furthermore……I think Perodua never sent it for the test……..Because Toyota/Daihatsu has already sent its "passo sette" for the test. Then Perodua can just anyhow say it is a 4 star ECAP test because "passo sette" is awarded a 4 star…….Thats just plain bullshit……..

• what they trying to do??tipu org ka??proton more better than this tin susu.

• roda2 kotaraya on Mar 04, 2010 at 5:38 am

i heard that p2 send their car to daihatsu for the crash test. p2 engineer..please speak-up..

• In Msia most child are very vulnerable in cars. Common to see baby/toddlers sitting in front seat wt airbags without proper child-restraint seats…scary if anything happen

• Arcane (Member) on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:27 am

roda2 kotaraya said,

March 3, 2010 @ 9:38 pm

i heard that p2 send their car to daihatsu for the crash test. p2 engineer..please speak-up..

============================

what engineers? Bumper assembly engineers?

• Baldwin on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:32 pm

30kmh only? Malaysia Boleh action once again!

Anything in the real world would be of a higher speed than that..

waste of time this MIROS

say Tak Nak..or more like Tak Payah-lah..

• who drives like a nenek and crashes a stationary lorry anyways? i believe it can do more damage on the underrun if the crash has more velocity + weight above 1tonne

• exora is much more better then alza

• think 2 or 3 time on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:00 am

Baldwin said,

March 8, 2010 @ 11:32 am

30kmh only? Malaysia Boleh action once again!

Anything in the real world would be of a higher speed than that..

waste of time this MIROS

say Tak Nak..or more like Tak Payah-lah..

—————————————————————-u know what???… not even 30km/j just 23km/j aje Bro.

and now P2 put 4star rate to their commercial in newpaper..don't believe..u all can see in to day news(metro).

pz sorry for dos person that buy a car according to P2saleman and commercial.

before this we always ask the crash test…no one even p2 keep quiet…

waste of time this MIROS

• Fucking proton on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:11 am

I can say this is bull shit car

• exora crash test in spain,and this kucing mengeliat hentam belakang lori at 30 kmh,what a joke!!!!perodua and miros,please dont insult malaysian intelligence la!!!!! there is internet remember,our generation dont belongs to zaman jepun la,we can always check the euro crash test websites la.langgar bontot lori macam org naik basikal,esok????????????/// masuk paper 4 star konon!!!!mmg memualkan.please la,nak tipu org masa zaman kancil bole la,nowzaman apa ha?enuf la dgn badge engineering ni!!! beli yang jepun buang,pastu tipu rakyat.p2 explain la why alza still using cast iron toyota engine??? why? tak berani la nak cakap

• Masalah Perodua Alza on Mar 23, 2010 at 6:58 pm

1) Masalah Bunyi – Bunyian dari tingkap

– Punca : ia dtg dari cermin kecil sebelah side mirror sebelah kanan.. dan dia ckp keluaran tahun 2010, masalah ni takkan timbul.

– Penyelesaian : ????? belum ada

2) Bila Brek Berbunyi

– Punca : tidak pasti sama ada berpunca daripada keadaan brek yang masih baru.

– Penyelesaian : Tunggu Respon daripada HQ Service Center

3) Bunyi Enjin Kuat pada kelajuan 110-130

– Punca : ?

– Penyelesaian : Tunggu Respon daripada HQ Service Center

4) 3rd Row Seat side Kanan Panas bila Pemanduan lama

– Punca : ekzos di bawah seat tu sebabkan kepanasan?

– Penyelesaian : Tunggu Respon daripada HQ Service Center atau ianya adalah kes terpencil?

5) Bila hujan turun bunyi bising dari atas kereta Alza macam duduk dalam rumah beratap zink. Dah pergi ke SC Perodua (servis pertama 1000km)

– Punca : dan jawapannya bunyi tu sama dengan semua kereta keluaran Perodua. Kalau betul pun saya tak ada masaalah dengan kereta Proton (tak kan Proton lebih baik ?).

– Penyelesaian : Pergi buat sound insulations

6) Rustproff bawah kereta Alza tak dibuat 100% covered. Saya jumpa few sections di undercarriage yang tak di spray dengan rustproof coating. Potential untuk berkarat.

– Punca: robotic spraying program tak betul.

– Penyelesaian : –

7) Paint coating yang tak sama tebal (nipis pada bahagian bend) pada badan kerata Alza.

– Punca: robotic spraying program tak betul.

8) Bila Pasang Aircond Berbunyi Cit Cit Cit (mcm tikus)

– Punca : Aircond Belt tidak ketat

– Penyelesaian : hantar SC dan suruh ketatkan tali belt.

• i know why they need to do this test… bcos alza brek macam ade problem sikit… ada bunyi bila tekan & on slope tak makan…… ie. still rolling. When hantar servis center, mekanik say wait. One week after servis, brek problem start again….. pening my new alza got this problem :-(

• Danny on Mar 24, 2010 at 9:19 pm

agree with Fard. Proton spend 8 figure to convience their customer. Nape perodua wat kat M'sia pulak dengan kelajuan 30km pulak tu. he…he…joking ker?.

• anak dato' kk on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Kepada pemilik dan bakal pemilik Alza. Berhati2lah ketika memandu. Check this out:
    http://www.myalza.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=13&a…

• waklanproton on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:03 pm

anak dato' kk says:

25/3/2010 at 7:53 am

Kepada pemilik dan bakal pemilik Alza. Berhati2lah ketika memandu. Check this out:
    http://www.myalza.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=13&a…
    —————————————————————————————————————

issshh…………

jgn ada org duduk kat 3rd row.

terlalu merbahaya….

• fikir on Mar 26, 2010 at 3:46 am

salam sejahtera,

duduk kat kenderaan mana pun bahaya sebenornya. kalau tak jaga keselamatan. Bagi orang Islam.. banyakkan berdoa.. berhati2 semasa memandu..

• JerryTan on Jun 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm

this is just a the “Malaysian type” of small test to cheat the public. a real test is not strikes the car to a shaky trailer.
    a real test should be strikes on a 1000mm X 540mm (width X depth) deformable concrete barrier on a speed at least at 40MPH (64KM/H).